BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Chase Paymentech (Headquarters)

Phone: (214) 849-3000

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

43 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues18
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service22
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints43

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (43)BBB Closure Definitions
03/11/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were advised by Chase to accept a fraudulent credit card, now are being charged ridiculous fees and our bank account is on hold.
We suspected possible fraud on a $9000 transaction dated 1/28/2015. We called Chase Paymentech on 1/28 and 1/29 to verify, and were advised the card was good, we should accept it. Because it still seemed suspicious we called Citi, the card-issuing bank, who advised us that the name on the card does not match and we should issue a credit. We immediately issued a credit for $9000, then were charged back by Chase an additional $8000 for "risk-prevention". No warning or explanation was given for these funds, which I now know are being held because our account now falls in a higher risk category, even though as a merchant we did all our due diligence to inform Chase of fraud before it occurred. In another phone call on 1/30 (not exactly sure of this date) we were promised a call back from "Level 2" supervisor in 7-14 days, after which time all this should be resolved. No call back was given, and we continued to have held funds until I called again on 2/14. I was promised a call back on Monday, 2/16 from a "Level 2" supervisor, but none was given. Meanwhile, because of the $8000 in held funds, my bank account has been inaccessible and we have been charged fees from both Chase Paymentech and outside companies that are set for direct payments. My auto-debit lease payments have been rejected and I have accrued additional late charges (approx $170) because the resolution was not given in a timely manner as promised. The last call I made was today, 2/18. I have been told that we cannot avoid the $8000 held because we are now "high risk". They also will not refund any of the processing fees ($417) that were charged because of this transaction. Recorded conversations from 1/28 and 1/29 will show that we were told that no fees would be charged if the transaction was declined. Problem is, this is a terminology issue, because the transaction was "approved" by Chase then immediately credited as a separate transaction. All this leaves me no other course of action besides cancelling our merchant account in order to release the held funds. Today they promised me a call tomorrow, 2/19, from the "Risk Department", who I'm sure will tell me the same. So they are strong arming me into either closing my account.

Desired Settlement
Previous terms reinstated, held funds released, and refund of credit processing charges.

Business Response
This e-mail is to acknowledge receipt of your correspondence from ****** *********, Case no. XXXXXXXX. Chase takes consumer feedback very seriously. We have fully reviewed the matter and responded to the customer on February 27, 2015, regarding the issue.

In order to protect consumer privacy, the consumer has the option to share the response directly with you. If you have any questions or concerns, I may be reached at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX, ext. XXX-XXXX.

Sincerely,

**** J. ******

02/02/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unethical practice of business, deduct money out of my bank like its their own!
The company without notify me regarding the chargeback from a customer using my credit card service and deduct money out of my business account. I did not receive any email or any sort of communication regarding why the money was deduct out of my account. I have to make several long phone calls to find out why. At the same day they force closed my account stating the charge back is too big and refuse to help me going though the dispute process of this charge back! They are practicing unethical business conduct and taking large portion of my money without any notification. Force close my account so I can't not dispute the charge back, right now my account is a negative balance because of this! If I did not check my bank balance they could just get away with this and I am still confused to where the money is going to. Also did not provide any confirmation number or any reason until I called them!

My Chase Payment Tech account number is: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Return my money of $1,550 back to my account and reopen my account so I can dispute this charge back with them. Provide me with all the charge back documentations as I am suppose to receive!

Business Response
This e-mail is to acknowledge receipt of your correspondence from ***** **** - Case No. XXXXXXXX. Chase takes consumer feedback very seriously. We have fully reviewed this matter and detailed response was provided verbally to the customer on January 20, 2015.

In order to protect consumer privacy, the consumer has been advised they have the option to share the response directly with you. If you have any questions or concerns, I may be reached at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX, ext. XXX-XXXX.

Sincerely,

******** ********

12/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In November 2014 Chase PaymentTech accused our company of fraud and closed our credit card processing account,
In October 2013 we contracted Chase PaymentTech as a processor of credit card payments to our business.
In November 2014 we received a call from Risk Department questioning one transaction as a fraudulent one. We provided relevant information to resolve this billing issue.
One week later we found our account closed on the basis of "fraud".
we cannot process credit card transactions, this is causing damage to our business.
We did not commit any fraud and Chase PaymentTech did not have even simple business decency to advise us about closure of our business.
We consider their action illegal and we probably seek legal remedy.

***** ********

Desired Settlement
reestablishment of credit card processing

Business Response
Re: BBB Complaint ********* - ***** ******** dba Medivisit - MID XXXXXXX


I am in receipt of the complaint filed by the Merchant. As Merchant knows, the parties' relationship is governed by the Merchant Application and Agreement, along with the accompanying terms and conditions, executed by Mr. ******** on November 7, 2013 (the "Merchant Agreement").

In the Application, Mr. ******** represented to Chase Paymentech that the business of Medivisit was "medical devices and billing software". Chase Paymentech discovered that the Merchant was actually processing payments for medical visits in the United States and United Kingdom. Chase Paymentech relies on information provided to it by the Merchant in order to underwrite a merchant's account. Things like the products or services sold by a merchant, the future delivery aspect of those goods and services, and the dollar amount of transactions to be processed, among other things, have a great deal to do with the associated risks Chase Paymentech underwrites as the acquirer.

Because of this misrepresentation, Chase Paymentech elected to terminate the Merchant Agreement. Chase Paymentech acted in accordance with the provisions of the Merchant Agreement. Nothing contained herein shall be deemed to constitute a waiver by Chase Paymentech of any of its rights or remedies under the Merchant Agreement and Chase Paymentech hereby expressly reserves all such rights and remedies. Chase Paymentech believes this response clarifies its position in this matter. Should you have any further questions, please let me know.

Thank you,

Chase Paymentech
Executive Office

12/22/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We dealt with Chase Paymentech for the first 3 months and then suddenly they decided to close the account and withheld our funds of approximately $11k
As a new small business we decided to choose Chase Paymentech since we also have our checking account with Chase so we figured it would be a benefit. Boy were we wrong! For the first three months, thing were going well, even though the fees were becoming higher and higher which is understandable since our business was picking up. All of sudden going towards the fourth month, we noticed our funds were not being deposited into our checking account from the merchant aaccount. For two weeks, we called and called to find out why our funds(approximately $11,000) were being held and we get the same answer, "well have our supervisor call you back". Finally, we get a call from ***** who informed us that the account was being closed. He would not give us a straight answer just said there is nothing we can do. As a new small business we rely on the funds that we bill to cover our expenses. Now, we are in a bind and scrambling for a new merchant to once again pickup our business. Also, we tried to contact someone at Paymentech to see if they could at least provide us 50% of the funds but they continuously said no and that it would take 6 months before funds are released! Even 25% of the funds and again they said no. Finally, we did get a straight answer and were told "we could not verify your business"??!! This was after we provided everything they requested (business license, contracts, etc) At this point I would not recommend Chase Paymentech especially to a small business, since at any given point they will close the account without warning and hold your funds. Do yourself a favor and shop and be 100% positive in choosing a merchant account for you business.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking to have our funds from chase paymentech released immediately.

Business Response
I will assist.

**** ****** Client Relationship Manager, Executive Office (EO) Chase Paymentech
P.O. Box XXXXX Phoenix, AZ XXXXX P: 866.722.0288 x7492 F: 480.428.3023
***********@chasepaymentech.com

11/05/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paymentech replaced outdated machine and has never asked for the old machine back and kept charging monthly rental for two years.
In August 2012, Paymentech voluntarily replaced the outdated and troubled credit card terminal. The company send out the new terminal but never notify customer what to do with the old ones. Also, Paymentech never notify customer that there will be monthly rental charges on the replaced old terminal if customer did not return it. It is totaly unfair and unreasonable and I demand the company to refund the total monthly rental charge since August 2012.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have total refund plus interest of the monthly rental on the old terminal since August 2012 up to today.

Business Response
Re: BBB Case #******************************************************************************************

I am in receipt of the complaint filed by ****** on behalf of ******************************************* (collectively the "Merchant"). This will serve to notify you that Paymentech and Merchant have discussed and settled the dispute. Paymentech has agreed to refund Merchant $566.72. Such action is in not intended as an admission of any wrongdoing by Paymentech, but is simply intended to resolve this dispute. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at 866-722-0288 ********. Thank you.

Sincerely

***********

Page 1 of 9

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Card Processing Service, Credit Cards & Plans - Equipment & Supplies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.