BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Century Payments, Inc.

(866) 706-40662601 Network Blvd Ste 200, FriscoTX 75034-9063 Send email to Century Payments, Inc.http://www.centurypayments.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Century Payments, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Century Payments, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaints filed against business.
  • One complaint filed against business that was not resolved.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues4
Problems with Product / Service7
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Century Payments, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (15)
07/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charged for them Canceling contract
I signed the contract on 6/24/13 for there services the sales man(Nicholas Parenti XXX-XXX-XXXX) told me we could use are machines and there would be no fee if we needed to cancel for any reason. After many tries they could not program are machine at that point the sales man told me to just stay with my original company that was on 7/10/13. On 7/15/13 the took out $495 from my checking account. I called and they said it was for early termination. They are the ones that canceled the services. I also under stand that all contracts can be canceled with 30 days of signing. I have tried to call many times and have left messages and e-mails but know one seems to call back. I have talk to Worldpay # 800-859-5965 and they said they can not refund any monies until they get the ok from Century payments
Account # LKXXXXXX
Thank You
******* *****
Owner Mr. Beef & Pizza

Desired Settlement
Refund of the $495 fee they took out of my checking account

04/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were promised in writing a $495 refund after we canceled our service. They never issued the refund.
Three days after we started using Mercury Payments/NCR Merchant Solutions as our credit card processor, we discovered that Mr. Greg Lynch, Account Representative, misrepresented his company's solution. We discussed the issues/concerns with Mr. Lynch as well as with Mr. Jeffrey Sanders, Senior Vice President, Mercury Payments/NCR Merchant Solutions and informed them that we wish to cancel the agreement effective February 11, 2013. Both Mr. Sanders and Mr. Lynch confirmed on Feb. 11, 2013, that because we were within 30 days from our start date with their company, there will be no cancellation fee. We wrote to them to confirm that and received an email back that there will be no cancellation fee. On March 13, 2013, NCR Merchant Solutions charged our bank account $495 as a cancellation fee. We called their 800 number and were told that Mr. Sanders did not submit the cancellation notice until March 8, 2013, which is 31 days after our start date, which means there is a cancellation fee. We contacted both Mr. Sanders and Mr. Lynch, who sent us an email on March 13 saying that we should receive our $495 refund within 1-5 business days. Eight business days have passed and we haven't received our refund. We tried to contact both gentlemen numerous times but they have ignored our messages.

Desired Settlement
Refund the $495 you took from our bank account.

Consumer's Final Response
The company issued the refund yesterday. I wish to withdraw my complaint. Thank you

12/23/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We sent a certified return receipt letter 12/12/12 requesting them to provide backup for their increase of $129.00 annually. NO response.

The problem is this company is a sales group only and contract sell for World Pay. We are being billed on my credit card and every time we try and discuss with World Pay they tell us we must go to Century Payments. At this moment I have been on the phone on hold for the next available customer representative for over 30 Minutes on a Monday 3:50 p.m. their time. My bank has been charging back World Pay charges for me since we stopped using them back last Dec.12th, 2012. Merrill Lynch/Bank of American is getting a little tired and so am I. Century needs to tell World Pay to STOP putting in charges. If Century had reponded to our mail or phone calls this would not have come to this problem over 9 months after we cancelled their service.

Desired Settlement
To have World Pay stop charging my bank account.

Business Response
We have reviewed this account and we don't show any communication on this account about deactivation. The account has now been deactivated. This customer has closed their bank account and caused the WorldPay fees to go into collections. The customer will need to call WorldPay at 800-859-5965 Opt: 3. Per the contract the customer siged, in Section 5.4 and 5.5 it states the annual fee. As a courtesy we will issue a $25 refund for the inconvenience.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We tried by phone and by Certified Return Receipt mail to get them to respond to us. We have the signed copy that they received our letter on 12-12-12. If they had responded to our concerns this would not have ended this way. I will be glad to scan this signed Certified Receipt for the BBB, just let me know. I would also like Century to acknowledge that they received this Certified Letter.

12/26/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
unsolicited service.
This company stole my company info to open an account without my consent.
for this reason I had to close my bank account, so they do not debited money from my account, since they stole my bank information (voided check), this caused my store online have to go down for six weeks leaving my business down and causing great economic losses.

Desired Settlement
I;m not seek any economic compensation, all i seek is to sanction the person behind all this, so this is not will be repeated, and draw the name of my company's from the collection dep..

Business Response
Hello:

This account was deactivated on 9/3/2013. There is also a signed CPA on file with the merchant's signature. Th customer also used the account to process credit cards.

After reviewing the complaint and speaking with the sales agent, we don't believe there was any error on this customers account.

Thanks,

Century Payments

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Basically, on behalf of my company "Fix Phone Training" I apply and sign an application, for a Merchant Account (Credit Card Processing Service Machine) with Trans Tech Merchant Group. A week later, I received a Credit Card Machine, I believed it was from Trans Tech Merchant Group, and I called to activate it, an hour later we proceeded with the first customer transaction of $52.00 dollars, and them I realized the machine belonged to Century Payments.
Immediately, I called Century Payments to verify if they were associated with Trans Tech Merchant Group. They said that they are not been affiliated with Trans Tech Merchant Group at all. Then I ask them, how they got my information and opened a merchant account on behalf of my company. They could not give me a coherent explanation. I never sent any information to Century Payments.
In order to open a Merchant Account any company requires important banking information (Including a void check). That information, I only provided to Trans Tech Merchant Group not to Century Payments. It's obvious to me, that someone stole the completely file and gave it to Century Payments. For that reason, I am filing a complaint against Century Payments for unsolicited service.
Unsolicited services includes:
- Transaction of $52 dollars on 7/10/2013 that was never transferred into my bank account.
- Refusing to cancel the service that I did not sign up to.
- Charging me an excessive amount of cancellation fee, for breaking a contract that I never signed with them.
- Continuing to charge me fees up to the present:
o 7-5-2013 WordPay charged my account $65.00
o 8-1-2013 WordPay charged my account $65.00
o 8-6-2013 WordPay charged my account $35.00
o 8-30-2013 WordPay charged my account $65.00
I request a cancellation of the service but Century Payments refuse to comply unless we pay an excessive amount of cancellation fee. Century Payments then proceeded to charge us through WordPay, that caused to my bank account an overdraft. Up until now, Century Payments still have not transferred the $52.00 dollars transaction that I accidentally made with their machine while they continued to charge us with fees.
I did not sign any form of documentation from Century Payments and I am complaining to the reason of them illegally acquiring information including the void check that was not meant to them and using it without my consent.

12/26/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Breach of contract.
Promised refund never given.
Century Corporate Headquarters
December 6, 2012

2601 Network Blvd. Suite 200
Frisco, TX 75034

Merchant: ***** ******
TERMINAL LKXXXXXX


To Whom It May Concern,

I am outraged at paying for fees that were not part of my original contract and am tired of spending my time speaking with Worldpay customer service (who keep referring me to you) or trying to reach Century Payments about these issues.

My issue is with the contract I signed. I believe it has been breached by Century Payments/Worldpay and am requesting termination of the contract WITHOUT an early termination fee. I am requesting a refund of the following fees:

Sep 2012                      $129.00 Annual Fee
Apr-Nov 2012              $34.00 Fixed Acq Network Fee ($4.25/month)
Mar, May, Sep 2012     $19.06 Minimum Processing Fees ($11.58, $6.81, $0.67 respectively)
Oct 2011-Nov 2012    $139.30 PCI Compliance Fee ($9.95/month)
Jul-Sep 2011                 $38.85 PCI Compliance Fee ($12.95/month)

Total Refund Due          $360.21

If you will review my contract, you will see no listing of an "Annual Fee", "Fixed Acq Network Fee" or "PCI Compliance Fee". On Page 2 of the contract, "$0.00" is listed for "Minimum Processing Fee". These constitute breach of contract.

I would like to leave Worldpay/Century Payments on good terms. Please make it easier for both of us by closing my account without penalty and refunding the above fees that were not part of my original contract. Please find enclosed a copy of my contract for your reference.

Sincerely,

***** ******
Certified Hellerwork Practitioner
Licensed Massage Practitioner


ADDITIONAL NOTES:

On 12/17/12, Ms. Glenda Preen from Century Payments offered me a choice:
"We value you as a customer and what I can do for you is offer you 2 options:

You can pay for ALL the monthly fees which total $360.21 OR
You can pay the early termination fee of $295.00."

On 12/19/12, I was charged $295 by Worldpay/Century Payments for an early termination fee. As of 10/11/13, I still have not received the $360.21 referenced in the above quote by Ms. Preen.

The fine print of the 3-year contract allows Century Payments to assess any new charges anytime they see fit to do so. This was not made clear to me at the time of signing and I was given the impression by the salesperson (Sales agent #XXXXX, ***** ********* that the 3-year contract would benefit me by locking in the fees for those three years. Similar to renting an apartment, the landlord does not suddenly increase the rent 4 months into a 12-month contract. It is my fault for not understanding all the fine print upon signing. However, I still believe the service was misrepresented. In retrospect, the only benefit of the contract was for Century Payments, it provided me no security.

Desired Settlement
Refund of:

$360.21 fees referenced above
$295.00 early termination fee assessed 12/19/12
=======
$655.21

I would like to state for the record that I did not receive from Worldpay/Century Payments any "freebies", such as a physical credit card processing machine.

Please submit refund check to:
***** ******
** ****** ***
********* ** XXXXX
(XXX) XXX-XXXX

Business Response
We apologize for the delay. We've called and e-mailed Mr. ****** several times with no response. We are trying to resolve the complaint, but have not had success.

11/26/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
century will not respond to repeated request to end service. Continue to ACH withdraw from bank. Contract has expired 6 months ago. Non responsive.
Contract was over in June. We gave 60 day written notice before end of contract our intention to not renew. We gave notice again at end of contract. Century Payments partner group (world pay) refused to turn off ach withdraw until notified by century payments. Century payments would not respond to repeated calls and emails. Finally put an ACH block on our bank account. Then, Century Payment turns us over to the credit collections group. BAD BUSINESS people.

Desired Settlement
refund of all ACH withdraws past our notice of contact cancel / non renewal.

written letter of apology.

verification to the collections department and credit bureau that we were no fault party and they were negligent.

Business Response
This customer was in communication with our office during this time and was advised per the CPA and Terms and Conditions they signed that they could cancel, but there would be an early termination fee. I'm attaching the e-mails and CPA for review. Below is the notes from the agent that took this call and was working with this customer. Please feel free to reach out to our office to further discuss this account and come to a agreement to resolve this complaint.

*** & ******,

Below are the bullet points from **** about this account. I also received the BBB complaint for this customer on Monday, 11/4.

05/13/2013--I spoke with the merchant (Ticket #XXXXXX) and referred her to her Reliable agent. Took the number and that was it.
05/16/2013--Spoke with the merchant again. Principal wanted to deactivate (Ticket # XXXXXX). ****** was very rude to me when I tried to save the account. Again I referred him to the Reliable agent. He got upset and said he can never contact his AE. I gave ****** the phone number we had and advised I would email the Agent for him. Emailed AE and never got a response.
05/16/2013--Sent me an email to deactivate the account and refund all charges. I told ****** I would proceed per his request, but before I proceed I advised him of the $495 ETF per CPA. ****** got very upset, demanded I send him the CPA. Sent him the CPA per request. Advised ****** that he would need to let me know how to proceed, and if I did not get a response, the account will remain open and he will continue to be billed. He then advised me he felt it would be easier to ride out the contract, and felt the contract on file wasn't legit. Wanted me to forward the CPA to James Waring (the Reliable AE). I told ****** I would forward it to the AE, but it is still his decision on what he wants to do with the account.
05/17/2013--His response was "Great, please insure no more ACH debits are withdrawn by WorldPay." I advised ****** that I cannot stop ACH withdraw, per Section 4.4 of the Terms and Conditions. If he leaves the account open, WorldPay will deduct via ACH only (as well as the ETF). I asked him again "how would you like for me to proceed?" No response from merchant.
Per Ticket #XXXXXX, ******** ***** deactivated the account per AE's request.

After that, I never heard back from him again, and he never advised me how to proceed. Therefore, the account remained open. He's since gone to the BBB, FTC, etc about this.

I have attached my email conversation with him, and the signed CPA for your records.

Please also refer to Ticket #XXXXXX, and Ticket #XXXXXX that I have created at the time we spoke.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The only data World Pay has shared to corroborate their perspective are their own internal notes that include subjective references such as 'customer was rude' and internal jargon such as AE.

We / I supplied dates / times / contacts and exact message content supporting my position.

We / I have audio files where World Pay agents state that they see and agree that we had made every possible effort to close this account accordingly.

None of this would have ever happened if 1) they or their agent had been responsive to our initial calls. Instead, for 60 days preceding this event, we received either no return calls or 2) we were not ingored and deflected back and forth between non action World Pay and non responsive Centruy Payments.

Finally, this does not seem to be an exceptional event with this company. There are and extraordinary amount of customers that are listing their grievances with this exact issue. Therefore, this is evident to be a systematic and reoccurring issue, one that if not a unscrupulous part of their business model, then at the very least is the embodiment of a significant disregard for customer care and corporate stewardship.

11/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Services paid for and never received as quoted by their representative. Unprofessional conduct, expecting a employee discount, just to list a few.
Sales rep. was doing business on the side of his employer. Stated that he knew about security systems. Charged us $500.00, which I paid in the form of a personal check. Security system was not delivered as promised, took months to get any kind of response, did request our money back. Came in after the manager was gone, to take back the parts that were paid for, and we have not heard from him since. I feel Century Payments is lacking in a professional business ethics and a standard of behavior for employees.

Desired Settlement
Reprimand for the employee involved, and a return of funds paid.

Business Response
Our company provides Merchant Services to business owners to accept credit cards at their place of business. We do not have any input in regards to any other business that the agent might provide outside of providing merchant services. Our outside sales representative through this sales channel are 1099 independent contractors operating under his own business name and not an employee.

I did get an email from this merchant directly and this was my response then:

Please be advised that Peter is a 1099 sales agent, operating under his own business name, Orca Merchant Services and is not a Century Payments employee.We have done what we can to assist in the matter, if you need anything further you can contact me directly.

I have filed a compliant with the Better Business Bureau in regards to unprofessional behavior by Century Payment employees.
Peter Elkblad would come into the store requesting the employee discount, not making appointments he scheduled, and doing business on the side. I would be delighted to give his old security camera back for a return of our $500.00. I am willing to let the $200.00 in free product he received go. But, for his unprofessional conduct and lying to my staff, I find reprehensible and this does not make him a trustworthy individual to do business with. I'm sorry you are in the middle of this but, this would not have happened if there was a profession code of conduct within Century Payments.
Thank you for your time,
Best Regards,
Maryke Cutler

09/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
sign up for 2 gateway for credit card process one gateway was set up and worked fine the other was not and they took money out of my account monthly
The company just took money from my back account monthly for a credit card processing that has not been set up . and refuse to return my money when made them aware also was told they would charge me a 500 canclation fee. That i was on a 3 year contract and they clearly broke the terms by not setting up the account i just like my money back
and others to no who they are and how they do stuff.

Desired Settlement
please refund my money and a hand written letter saying sorry

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Joseph Clapier
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@centurypayments.com
We have reviewed this account and the customer does have a signed contract with Century Payments. There are several notes in the account assisting this customer. As a courtesy we will refund the $295 early termination fee.

Page 1 of 2
10/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company continually increased the fees for processing, but when I tried to cancel they charged me a large cancellation fee.
My company continued to receive increases in fees for processing. I was told I could reject the fee increase by cancelling the processing. I did this and was charged 2 months worth of monthly fees on top of a $250.00 cancellation fee.

Desired Settlement
$300.00

03/21/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I signed up for credit card processing. They kept charging me but never provided the service.
In June I was contacted about signing up with Century Payments by ******* ******* Once I signed the contract she left the company. I tried to set up my old terminal multiple times. I would go to work early, and no one would call. I never received a new terminal either. In July I find I am being charged by "Bankcard" on my checking account. I call and tell them what has happened. They say they are going to return the fees, and that they will cancel the account. They kept charging me until January when I put a stop on the monthly fees, and a 350.00 cancelation fee. I told them in the fall again that I had received no services yet I was being charged. Now I am trying to get my 650.00 in fees back and no one will return my calls or emails. I have also been in contact with payment multiple times. This company does the processing for Century Payments.

Desired Settlement
The fees I was charged for services I never received. Approx. 650.00 in fees. There is also a collection against me for 99.00 and 350.00 for stoping payment on more fees. I would like the 650.00 back and the 450.00 waved.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Card Processing Service, Credit Cards & Plans - Equipment & Supplies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/11/2010Business started: 01/01/2009
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 2009, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Ms Hila Shpigleman (Chief Marketing Officer)Customer Contact: Mr. Tom Bannon (COO)Ms. Kristen Scott (Chief People Person)
Business Category

Credit Card Processing Service, Credit Cards & Plans - Equipment & Supplies

Products & Services

Century Payments is an innovator in the payments processing industry, creating and adapting new opportunities to benefit merchants, agents and partners.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Century Payments, Inc.

2601 Network Blvd Ste 200

Frisco, TX 75034-9063

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2601 Network Blvd Ste 200 

    Frisco, TX 75034-9063(866) 706-4066

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Century Payments, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Credit Card Processing Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.