BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Michaels Stores, Inc. (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 642-4235Fax: (972) 409-19398000 Bent Branch Drive, IrvingTX 75063 Send email to Michaels Stores, Inc.http://www.michaels.com

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Michaels Stores, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Michaels Stores, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Failure to respond to 3 complaints filed against business.
  • 3 complaints filed against business that were not resolved.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

62 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 16 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues19
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service41
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 62

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Michaels Stores, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (62)
08/30/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Lack of Customer Service Followup. I first contacted Michaels regarding the defective or poor quality of the product on 6-27-16 and spoke with Lindsey, and she was supposed to followup with me the next day as I recall. I then spoke with Karen on 6-29-16 regarding the status of my complaint but they had none. On 7-14-16 I left a voice message for Karen requesting a followup call on my complaint, but she never returned my call. On 7-15-16 I called again and tried talking with James on the matter, but he knew nothing. James did say that Prismacolor was supposed to reach out to me on the matter. Prismacolor did contact me one time but basically referred it back to Michaels to resolve. I also spoke to Emily on 7-15-16 whom was supposedly a manager. Emily was going to reach out to their buyers on the matter and get back to me no later than 7-19-16, but she never did. I then called back to Michaels on 7-22-16 and talked with Tim whom was supposedly a Supervisor. I explained to him what I had been going thru in talking to previous Custer Service reps at Michaels and that they had not followed up with me as promised. He had no answer to this either only stating that Prismacolor was going to reach out to me. As you can see by my statement, the Michaels Customer Service department only gave me run-around a and promises that they never kept.
Product_Or_Service: 150 piece Prismacolor Art Pencil Set

Desired Settlement
Replacement of product as was discussed with the Customer Service Department.

Business Response
The customer's complaint was sent to the vendor who has been working with him. They were willing to replace the product be he wanted them to send them a different brand of pencils that they don't make. At this time we are willing to offer a $50 gift card toward the purchase of new pencils and a coupon.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I'm accepting their offer just to be done with them.

06/03/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Diplomas custom framed; to my order various upgrades were made without my permission; picked up at store and was very unhappy with the way they looked
Dear Sir/Madam, On May 10, 2016 I arrived at Michael's in Charlottesville, VA. I was surprising my daughter by having two diplomas framed. From the moment the process began, the staff member (who turned out to be a manager) never once talked to me about pricing as we went through each step. I ended up being "upgraded" for three items that I did not ask for, but did not realize it until about a week or so later. The order was ready within two weeks. When I picked them up and brought them to my daughter, she was very unhappy with them. As I examined them further, I began to find fault as well. During the process of choosing a frame/border, etc., this manager never once discussed pricing with me; and, being an experienced framer, I think she failed to give me proper and experienced advice on framing diplomas. I had never done this before, so I was relying solely on her to help me. One diploma was smaller than the other. My daughter asked to have the frames the same size. The smaller diploma was placed on a border which was very wide and it looked awful. The other frame's border appeared to have pulls in different areas. I went back the very next day and spoke to the same manager. This is what she offered me: She was willing to make the changes my daughter wanted which was to place each diploma in a smaller frame so they would not look like they were drowning, and to change the width of the border on the smaller diploma to give it some depth. As I stood there, I was expecting to be refunded something because I was now going from a larger frame to a smaller frame. However, I was told I would still have to pay the original price of $775.20. When she added up the new cost, which receipt she never gave me, it had come out to $500 and something dollars. Even that seemed like a lot of money for two framed diplomas. In any event, she refused to give me any discount, saying that it was "all about the labor involved." I am furious, and I am not rich. I will be paying the same amount of $775.20 for frames that will now be smaller frames, and less border. I really feel there was some dishonesty during this entire process. I appreciated that she was willing to work with us to make us happier by changing everything, but it is my feeling that I should be paying for what I asked for, and nothing more. I am in debt for $775.20 for nothing.

Desired Settlement
I would like to receive a full refund because I feel there was some deception during this entire process with the pricing.

Business Response
The store manager has attempted to contact the customer. She will offer to refund the customer the difference between the two orders.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept Michael's response because I realize this order was customized and I realize that to re-do it would cost them money as well. I appreciate the offer for this settlement. Thank you.

04/11/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I went to a store for a product and it was not there after i called
I went to a store and the product was not there. i was upset because I traveled 30+ plus minutes each way. i called into customer service that night and spoke to Kathy who advised me the call center was about to close. I asked to speak to a manager who could waive the shipping because of the inconvenience of traveling to a store. She told me to call back the next day and press extension - i think it was all for 6.95 waiving of an order. I feel like she didn't want to handle my concern. Also I have two defective items purchased form your store (I can send pictures of them).

I placed an online order and had to pay shipping which I want reimbursed.

I particularly like Michael's because of their wide selection and because I frequent their so much because of a small decorating business I have on the side this experience left a bad taste in my mouth. I keep all my receipts for tax purposes and I spend at least $1,500 a year on papercrafts and other items from Michaels.

Desired Settlement
refund of shipping on my order and replacement of the stickers that are defective. This can be in the form of a gift certificate since I am there so much. When I mean defective I mean the words are spelled wrong.

I can email the pictures.

Business Response
We have contacted the customer and apologized for her experience. We have sent her a gift card to cover her shipping and to compensate her for the stickers. We are also sending replacement stickers to the customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The rep resolved my concerns. She was awesome. Thank you

03/09/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bait customer to signup for the email list with a 20% off coupon and putting terms that is not align with what it said.
I recently looking to purchase items from Michaels. When I get to the site, it was asking to join the mailing list and they will send me a 20% off coupon "for regular and even sales items" for the entire order.
After I signed up, I tried to make a purchase and the code they send me said it is not valid. I went a chat with one of the rep this morning and they told me that the item I am looking to purchase is "NOT" either a regular or Sales item... It is a Buy one get one half off item... well, please explain if a "Buy one get one half off" item is not a sales item??? She then explained this is written in the temrs...
I am only here to purchase an item and Does the Big corp expect people to read everything that put in their 200 pages fine print? If the sign up is not for everything, they should not advertise it that way.

After I spent all the time shopping and looking for the item in the site. I have no choice to make the purchase without the item and now I am signed up for the email list and felt I am being baited.

Desired Settlement
Refund the 20% as advertised with the coupon code I received. (order number. Order Number: XXXXXXXXXXXXX)
Stop the false advertisement.

Business Response
I called the customer and apologized for his frustrations and offered him a $40 gift card which covers the savings he would have received.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Although I was looking for a refund on my order initially, but I accepted their gift card solution as they have responded to me quickly.

02/22/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On December 15, 2015 I brought three artworks to Michaels to be framed, Sam said they'd call me when they're ready for pickup. They were ready two days ago, nobody called me. I called today, came to the store to find one painting severely damaged with nine scratches. It's almost a hundred years old family painting and Sam put a note "handle carefully".Sara was helping me, got manager Carmen who just said someone will call me tomorrow and had no clue how claim process works.I wanted the issue resolved today,because if they didn't call me to let me know paintings are ready,how do I know they'd call me tomorrow?So she went away and supposedly called the store manager and assistant manager, nobody was available, I demanded that she calls district and regional manager and she was gone for an hour and a half, leaving me standing by the framing counter. I called customer service, spoke with Felicia who gave me case # icc0524621 and said she spoke with Carmen who said she was on the phone. Half hour later still no Carmen back to framing counter, so I called customer service again and got Ashley on the phone. Ashley was EXTREMELY RUDE,would not even listen to me,kept interrupting me and talked over me without letting me say what was still going on in store.I asked her to please let me say what I have to say and she said "I already told you that's the policy,you have your case # and someone will call you". I said how is it possible that nobody can be reached in the whole company,no store manager,no assistant manager,no district manager and no regional manager???She started yelling at me and being extremely disrespectful, said "I repeated the same thing to you five times!!!"So finally Carmen came back and said Herschel the district manager said he'll call me tomorrow and that's it.I agreed just to get a refund on a frame but she said a claim has to be filed and nobody knows how long it will all take.She couldn't give me a refund,how can they have person with no power in charge
Product_Or_Service: frame
Order_Number: 82054
Account_Number: order 82054

Desired Settlement
I simply want the refund on the frame cost, because they damaged my original painting. There is a total of nine scratches on it. The original order printout clearly states: " Damage and return policy: Michaels Stores Inc's total liability for any loss or damage to a customer's property shall not exceed $250. All returns will be processed based upon the original payment method." In my case it did not happen, my total price was $149.42 and I paid it in advance and did not get it back when they have damaged my painting, although there was a note on the order in bold letters "handle carefully". I want a refund and they did not give it to me.

Final Consumer Response
Michael's filed the claim with Gallagher & Basset company, they have sent me a settlement check, and I had to send them a notarized release of liability. So this case should be closed.
Thank you.
Aida K****

Page 1 of 4
03/23/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was in the Michaels store today, in Feasterville, PA XXXXX and bought several items. When I went up to pay, I gave the cashier the items, she rung them up, and then I showed her my AARP card for the discount. She told me that they don't give AARP discounts anymore.

I pointed to a sign about 15 feet from her, that said they give AARP discounts everyday ! She, and the cashier next to her said they don't do that anymore. The other cashier mentioned that "that sign should come down" to me, indicating that it was wrong.
I have enclosed the picture of the sign, along with the other cashier to show you that she very easily could have just turned around and taken it down, but she didn't. My guess is, the sign is still hanging!!
Anyway, I don't think it is right, nor legal, to advertise things that are not true. I should have received the discount, whether they do it or not, and the sign should have been taken down immediately.
I would have first filed this complain directly with Michaels, but I could not find any email address for customer service or complaints on their website. I wanted to include the picture, so I could not fill in their online contact form, because I looked, and there was no way to attach a photo. My only other option, was to email the photo to you (BBB) and involve you with the complaint.
The barcode on the receipt is X-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX and the receipt is dated November 2nd, at 13:32 (time). The store number is ******
(Photo is attached)
Regards,
******* *****

Desired Settlement
In order for this to be resolved to my satisfaction, I expect Michaels Stores, Inc., to (at the very least) remove the sign from the wall and mail me a check for the amount of the applicable discount that should have been applied at the time of sale.
If they want to resolve this, AND make a customer happy, they should include a gift card as a bonus for putting me through the trouble of all this - but that would be if they want to go above and beyond what I believe they are legally expected to do.
Thank you,
******* G. *****

Business Response
Mailed customer a letter stating that we no longer have a AARP discount and apologized for the inconvenience. We sent a $10 GC.

Consumer Response
In Michael's (corporate) response, they said that they were going to mail me a gift card for their not giving the discounts that were advertised.

To date, I have NOT received any gift card. I now have a new address (as of 12/30/2015), but all mail was being forwarded by the post office, so it still should have reached me if it was indeed sent.

I would like to reopen the case against them. This is totally unacceptable for a company to handle customers like this.

Thank you,
******* *****

10/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 07/06/2014 I subscribed to a Course 2 - ****** ******* Cake Design via on -line. The Course will start on 07/10/14 for a total of 4 weeks. Each class will be for 1 hour long at this location **** S Decatur each Thursday. The instructor ***** ***** (XXX)XXX-XXXX e-mail *******@cox.net welcomed us to the class and the class went not too well, due to an inconvenience between the instructor and one of the Mother's class mate. When I got home after the class I sent an e-mail to ***** ***** to express how the inconvenience and misunderstanding was affecting the class. Second class was on July 17, 2014 we were all there at the class room couple minutes later we were informed the class was cancelled again for the same misunderstanding between the class mate Mom and the instructor. The store manager *********. (XXX) XXX-XXXX walked into the class room to let us know the class need to be suspended until further notice. On July 17, during the night I sent an e-mail to the Instructor to express my concerns, but he never respond to my e-mail. On July 20, I went to Michael's store I spoke with ***** (Store manager at the time) who told me was nothing she can do without instructor. I also express my frustration about spending money and time to be ready for the class and seems like no one care. On July 29, ****** mother of one of my class mates called me to let me know the class will start again on 07/31/2014 I thank her since no one from the store called me. July 31, we all there at the store it was no class again. First days of August I received a phone call from Michael's (*****) to let me know that classes will re-start on August 07. We all were there with another two new students and same instructor. (***** ****** Instructor (*****) gave us the class and the class went well. He gave us the instructions to practice during the week and ask for more supplies for next class. August 14, we all there again a couple minutes later before the class start ***** the store manager walk in into the class room and inform us the class was suspended again since the instructor ***** ***** quit his job. No other classes will be schedule until they can find another certified instructor. I went back to the store since no one contact me and I spoke with another manager on duty his name is Justin who offer me to refund the registration fee which he did with no apologies or any courtesy or any concerns about our time invested on practicing and spending extra money on supplies.
Product_Or_Service: Classes and tools
Account_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement
I wish Michael's Management would handle this matter with more professionalism. We are and the month of September and I still have not heard from them. I really expect more from Michael's unless they are doing a false advertise. I expected a full refund of $350.00 dollars for the inconvenience, for supplies and tools that I spent at the store not including the babysitter fee's. Thank you in advance for taking your time to review this situation. Sincerely, Flavia Abarca

Business Response
When the customer received her refund, the store manager offered to refund her for the merchandise that she had not used. The customer stated that she didn't want the refund as she was planning to take the class elsewhere. The store manager then assisted with arranging for the customer to take the class at another nearby Michaels. He called the store and spoke on of the managers, who in turn contacted the customer as to when the next class would be. Prior to the class starting the customer called the store and informed them she decided to take the class at different Michaels store, however she did not participate in their classes as well.

Michaels apologizes for all the frustrations the customer has experience. We are willing to arrange for the customer to receive a refund for any of the supplies that she has not used. She can contact us at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX and reference her incident # ICCXXXXXXX

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is Irrelevant .I was not able to return the tools or merchandise because of course I used them on the first day of class and during the week practicing at home like the instructor recommended, however, either Jaston or ***** never mention it.
I was told if I want to continue with the course I can go at different location wish I called at XXX-XXX-XXXX **** **** & ****** store and I spooked with Ronda the store manager who said will have Krystal the class coordinator contact me. Krystal called me and stated that ******* the instructor was about to end the course she was teaching the last class of the course.
I did not participate to the class because I was expecting 4 classes course is what Wilton course 2 offers.
I will like to remark that Michael's management handled this matter in a very unprofessional manner.
Michael's management doesn't know our or my frustrations and stress we went thru about expenses that I paid for babysitting, tools and gas. They did not show any care. I feel management of the Store is doing false advertisement offering something they are not providing.
In addition, I will like to mention that I keep contact to another 2 students of the same course (Amie Garcia and ****** ******* one of the minor's class mate mother). They are very disappointed. Michael's management have not contact them or reverse any fees.
Sincerely,
****** ******

11/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 10/06/13 @ 2:35 PM, MY DAUGHTER AND I WENT INTO MICHAELS TO PURCHASE A HALLOWEEN CAROUSEL AND SOME OTHER ITEMS. MY DAUGHTER PICKED OUT THE CAROUSEL SIMPLY USING THE PICTURES ON THE BOX. WHEN WE GOT HOME, I ASKED HER TO CHECK THE CAROUSEL TO ENSURE IT WAS NOT BROKEN AND ENSURE IT WAS WORKING. THE CAROUSEL WAS IN ITS ORIGINAL PACKAGING. SHE PULLED THE CAROUSEL OUT OF THE BOX BUT THE CAROUSEL IN THE BOX WAS NOT THE CAROUSEL PICKED ON THE BOX. I ASKED HER TO CALL THE STORE TO SEE IF SHE COULD EXCHANGE IT BUT EXPLAIN THAT THE REASON FOR THE EXCHANGE WAS BECAUSE IT WAS NOT THE PRODUCT PICTURE ON THE BOX. SHE WAS INFORMED THERE WOULD BE NO PROBLEM WITH THE EXCHANGE. WHEN WE GOT TO THE STORE AND ADVISED THE CASHIER WHEN WE WERE THERE, SHE CALLED FOR A MANAGER AND A PERSON WHO SAID HER NAME WAS IRMA CAME TO THE REGISTER. WE INFORMED HER WHY WE WERE EXCHANGING IT AND SHE IMMEDIATELY ACCUSED US OF CHANGING OUT THE PRODUCT BECAUSE "HOW ELSE COULD IT HAVE BEEN SWITCHED." I TOLD HER WE WERE NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR THE PACKAGING OF THE PRODUCT SO HOW COULD WE RESPOND TO SUCH AN IDIOTIC QUESTION. SHE THEN MADE SOME OTHER COMMENTS TO MY DAUGHTER IN A LOUD, RUDE VOICE AND I WENT TO MY DAUGHTER'S DEFENSE. WE DID NOT CHANGE THE PRODUCT NOR DID WE HAVE ANY WAY OF KNOWING, UNTIL WE OPENED AND SAW THE ITEM, THAT IT WAS DIFFERENT. THE MANAGER EXAMINED THE CAROUSEL AS IF TO SEE IF IT WAS USED AND ONLY AGREED TO THE EXCHANGE BECAUSE AT THAT POINT, ALL THE CUSTOMERS AT ALL FOUR REGISTERS AS WELL AS THOSE NEAR THE AREA WERE LISTENING TO THE CONVERSATION. I HAVE BEEN A CUSTOMER OF MICHAELS FOR MUCH OF MY 63 YEARS OF LIFE AND HAVING BEEN RAISED BY ETHICALLY AND MORALLY RIGHTEOUS PARENTS AND HAD ACCESS TO MILLIONS OF DOLLARS IN JOBS WHERE I HAVE WORKED - WOULD NEVER THINK OF CHEATING OR STEALING FROM A COMPANY. TO HAVE THIS RUDE AND OBNOXIOUS MANAGER TREAT BOTH MY DAUGHTER AND I IN THIS WAY WAS UNCALLED FOR AND UNDESERVED. I HAVE A FILED A COMPLAINT WITH THE CORPORATE OFFICE VIA E-MAIL. I DEMAND AN APOLOGY.
Product_Or_Service: VILLAGE SCARY GO ROUND HALLOWEEN CAROUSEL

Desired Settlement
I AM DEMANDING AN APOLOGY FOR MYSELF AND MY DAUGHTER. I FEEL THIS MANAGER NEEDS MASSIVE CUSTOMER-SERVICE TRAINING AND SHOULD NOT BE A MANAGER AT ALL. THE CASHIER THAT ORIGINALLY CHECKED US OUT WAS AN EXAMPLE OF GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE. IT WOULD BENEFIT IRMA TO WORK ALONG SIDE THIS INDIVIDUAL TO LEARN HOW TO TREAT CUSTOMERS. THE CAROUSEL WAS EXCHANGED BUT ONLY AFTER OTHER WORDS WERE SAID.

Business Response
11/5/13 The district manager contacted the customer and left her a message regarding her complaint.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have not been contacted by the company.

09/19/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I stopped a Michaels today in KC to get a wooden box in hopes of using it to make a wedding card box for my daughters wedding on 8/27/2016. They only had three and all three were in rough shape. The one I bought the lid did not fit right it was off center. I asked for a discount and the best they could do was 30% but I argued that there was a 40% off coupon in the paper which I had and wanted to use on a good box. So instead all they said was they could only give me 40% the cost of just using the coupon. I bought it in hopes the bbb can present my concern to them because really they did me no favor I had a 40% off coupon and still got junk. But then I got almost home and realized they only gave me 30% off and not the 40% they promised. On top of that I wrote this entire complaint on my phone while on hold with the store to tell them they failed to give me the 40% off. So not only would I have to drive another 24 miles (I live in Lawson MO) back to the store but they wasted 15 minutes so far of my cell phone minutes. I will advertise the boxes and my experience on social media if no additional discount will be given. They should not put it out on the shelf if it is not made properly.
Product_Or_Service: Wood box

Desired Settlement
I think at least an addition $6 plus the $2 that they failed to give with the 40% off that they promised for a total of $8 refund. I feel that would be fair.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* W***, Sr. Agent
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: w***l@********.com
We apologize for ******'s experience. I contacted her on 8/25 to assist her with a resolution but she responded that the store was taking care of it for her.

07/21/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Gift card that will not swipe through system. Advised to call the 1-800 customer service number after repeated attempts at local store in Germantown.
December 2015 attempted to finally use my gift card after many years of having it in my purse. Used it once for 20.00. Went back to the store to buy Christmas crafts and the card would not register. It did not say Zero balance ( this was a 50.00 gift card from my son for Mother's Day many years ago)The store manager and staff attempted to correct the problem, even as to call the 1-800 number and suggested I call myself. I called this morning and gave the number and was told the card does not register. That there was nothing they could do. I asked to speak to a supervisor and was stated that there is no supervisor. This card was bought with 50.00 of hard work from a struggling college student.

Desired Settlement
I would like this resolved with an email concerning this card, the number on it. and a card with the remaining balance.

Business Response
We have contacted the customer and issued her a new gift card.

07/12/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Yesterday on June 9, 2016 around 7:00pm-7:30pm, myself and my daughter went into Michaels to make a return and to buy something. I had two separate returns. So the cashier (Madison) did the first return and when she gave me back the change she placed the dollar bills on the counter and the coins in my hand, the whole time my hand was out ready for my change. When she continued with the second return, I had my hand out and again she placed the dollar bills on the counter. I said ma'ma can you please place the money in my hand? So she gave me this look like she had an attitude. So I gave her the money back and said can you place the money in my hand. At this point she took the money and just slapped it in my hand. So she rang up my purchase and I had my hand out and again she placed the money on the counter. I then asked for her manager and she said she's right here, which was next to her at a different register. So Holly the manager came over and I explained to her the situation and how I asked Madison on the second transaction to place the money in my hand because I handed her the money in her hand and the receipts of the items I was returning and I felt it was very disrespectful for her to continue to place the money on the counter and not in my hand after I asked her to. So Holly and Madison were both arguing with me and Holly proceeded to tell me that the whole situation was unnecessary and that it was disrespectful of me to tell Madison to put the money in my hand. So then after that, the items that I did purchase, I asked for a refund because they were both very rude and disrespectful. When Madison gave me the change for that, she basically threw the money on the counter. So I asked Holly if she could write her name on a piece of paper, so she said "It's Holly" with an attitude, so I asked again. She finally wrote it on a piece of paper and just put it on the counter, so I asked for her manager and she told she is the manager, so I asked for corporate's number and she said 1800michaels

Desired Settlement
I would like for someone from the corporate office to contact me. That is not how you provide customer service. I also so want a customer satisfaction gift card from the store. I shop there very often, I've never had an issue with that store before. And both Holly and Madison needs to be disciplined and apologize.

Business Response
We've contacted the customer & offered to send her a gift card, which she accepted. We've also notified the store management of the issue & they are investigating the incident with the appropriate team members & are addressing with everyone involved so that they can know how to better handle customer situations in the future.

04/01/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Michaels refuses to honor sale price for merchandise purchased just the day before it went on sale.
On Feb 12 and 13 I placed several orders online at michaels.com The order numbers were: XXXXXXXXXXXXX,XXXXXXXXXXXXX,XXXXXXXXXXXXX,XXXXXXXXXXXXX, XXXXXXXXXXXXX,XXXXXXXXXXXXX,XXXXXXXXXXXXX. On the 14th of February all of the merchandise I purchased went on sale. I contacted Michaels via email on the 14th and asked for a price adjustment as Michaels in the past per their policy has given a price adjustment for the exact same merchandise. I received an email back from Michaels that same day as follows:

"Dear ******,
Thank you for contacting Michaels Customer Care.
We have submitted to refund the price matched difference in item fee. Please know that you will see this apply to the following orders: XXXXXXXXXXXXX,XXXXXXXXXXXXX,XXXXXXXXXXXXX,XXXXXXXXXXXXX, XXXXXXXXXXXXX,XXXXXXXXXXXXX,XXXXXXXXXXXXX.

Furthermore, please know that we will send you an email notification for each credit process that is completed. These are to occur in 2-3 business days. We thank you for your understanding in this matter!


If we may assist you further, please feel free to reply to this email, or call our Customer Service phone number at ************** (X-XXX-XXX-XXXX). You will reach a Customer Service Representative Monday - Friday, 7AM CST - 9PM CST and Saturday and Sunday, 8AM CST - 7PM CST. Thank you again for contacting us.
Sincerely,
Lindsie **
Michaels Customer Care

Ref:MSGXXXXXXX"

Now on later date I receive a new email stating that it is the policy that Michaels will only price adjust if their price was a permanent price decrease.

The following is Michaels price match policy. It does not address matching it's own price clearly they would match the price if it were a competitor.

"Michaels will match any competitor's advertised price on items identical in brand and size. Advertised product must be currently valid and not expired. Price applies to current, locally advertised prices. Online Only specials will not be honored in store. We will not match prices on private label brand items. Competitors allowed to match include ** ****** ***** ***** and Jo-***'s. To receive a competitor's price in store, customers must present the competitors advertisement either though print version or mobile/digital (e.g. phone). See a store associate for details."

See following email from Michaels with regard to another order of which had the same merchandise. This clearly explains the price match policy. In this case I had submitted a price match request that was from a purchase longer than 14 days previous to the sale so the price match was denied.

"Dear ****** *********,

Thank you for contacting Michaels Customer Care regarding your order number XXXXXXXXXXXXX.

We are very sorry, but we can only offer a price match if your order was placed within two weeks of the product dropping in price. Since your order was placed on October 14th, we are unable to offer a price match on the Star Wars Masks. Thank you for your understanding.

If we may assist you further, please feel free to reply to this email, or call our Customer Service phone number at ************** (X-XXX-XXX-XXXX). You will reach a Customer Service Representative Monday - Friday, 7AM CST - 9PM CST and Saturday and Sunday, 8AM CST - 7PM CST. Thank you again for contacting us.

Sincerely,

Linda
Michaels Customer Care

Ref:MSGXXXXXXX"


Also, see the following email. This email confirms a $264.00 price adjustment to my order #XXXXXXXXXXXXX. The exact same merchandise was purchased as was with regard to this complaint. The items went on sale right after and Michaels adjusted the price per their long standing policy.

Dear ******,

Your item(s)/order has been credited.

Thank you for shopping at Michaels.com.

We have processed your credit for the item(s) listed below.

If you have any other questions regarding your order, please visit the Customer Service area of our website.

Best Regards,
Customer Care Michaels.com
REF: XXXXXXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Refund per the long established policy. 411.14 plus tax I paid. I don't know of any reputable retailer who would not honor a sale price when the item went on sale just a day or two after purchase.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ****, Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@michaels.com
We contacted ****** and honored the price match.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Pursuant to my conversation with the BBB recently there are two issues with the complaint. The first being the price match to items that went on sale. This has been resolved to my satisfaction. The second pertains to failure to honor a coupon contrary to the Michaels coupon policy. This second part of the complaint was submitted recently and I was told was added to this complaint. The second issue has not been resolved as of this date.

Final Business Response
We have exchanged 9 emails with Mr. ********* over the past 9 business days. While we have explained to him that the promotion in question did not include the product he attempted to purchase (which is why the promotional code was not accepted), he is still in 100% disagreement. Of the 3,000+ orders placed on 2/24, he is the only customer that had an issue with the promotion. We have offered him several alternative promotions, one of which was specifically designed for him based on his previous purchases on our site (to date he has not accepted any of them). While we appreciate his business and hope that he accepts one of our generous offers, we will not be honoring his request. We consider this matter closed.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Michaels states that their is an exclusion for "online only" items, however the text of the coupon policy has no exclusion. After my BBB complaint Michaels quickly now changed the coupon policy to show that "online only" items are excluded, but they refuse to honor the coupon(s) that were placed under the old terms of which clearly the coupon is valid.

03/09/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased an electronic item at the store location and found out item is opened and missing part then was denied return.
I went to this Michaels Store at Fresh Meadow, store #1173 and bought an electronic item at this location. The purchase took time at 7:38p and after the purchase we left and on the way home I realize that this should be a bundled purchase but I don't see the bundle so I stopped on the side and open the box to see if the bundle is inside but inside there is nothing except the manual and the machine itself which almost all the parts are missing!. Immediately I went back to the store and asked the representative about the product and the bundle, lead her to the section of this product and the representative also realize that there is missing parts, then tell me there is nothing she can do except refer me to the manufacture. At that moment it was 8:04p( I took a picture of the michaels pos with my receipt as proof) and told the representative we just bought it a moment ago and she insist that I need to go to manufacture because this item is open. I asked for the manager and the representative just called her on the internal phone until I say I have to talk to the manager in person to talk about the situation. Manager came out and said that the box is open and she cannot process the return or exchange but this was how I got it from the store!. I cannot believe Michaels is selling this open box item with missing parts and now I cannot even use it and lost my money. Manager's name Sabrina, cashier's name Cyan, store #XXXX (XXX)XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
Refund on the merchandise

Business Response
The customer contacted us on 2/3/16. We let the customer know that we would take back the merchandise. He stated that he was going to return to the store on 2/6 or 2/7

Page 1 of 8
03/02/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They had a 70% off all custom floral sign sitting with the floral at the store. This was confirmed by a texlon, but they wouldnt honor it.
I was atthe Auburn Hills, MI location and they had a sign with the custom floral that said 70% all custom floral. This was verified by an emplyee with a texlon but when I went to the register it rang up at full price and they sould not honor the price even with the sign thede

Desired Settlement
I want them to honor the price in a form of a gift card for the value so I can fo into the store an purchase the product

02/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
the Manager was incredibly rude and did not offer any assistance in shopping, checkout or fixing problems. She was notified that there was problems with the transactions but still never offered assistance, in fact she decided to go out for a personal break in the middle of it letting other customers give up and walk out because they were tired of waiting. After about 1.5 hrs of this I finally left with my 7 receipts 5 charges to my account and 2 refunds and committing tax fraud as I purchased tax free but was told that she could not remove the tax from the refund.
Product_Or_Service: crafts

Desired Settlement
settlement in the form of credits for purchase, steep discounts or free product would be acceptable

03/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Just this afternoon, I decided to visit a local Michael's store during my lunch hour. At this store's location, you enter on ground level (where many promotional items are offered) prior to taking an escalator up to the main store. As soon as I entered the lobby, I noticed a large display of their cardboard 'memory boxes' that fit 1000 pictures, etc. The sign above the display very distinctly stated $1.42. Therefore, I chose 2 in the pattern of my choice. I then proceeded up to the actual store. I spent the next 1/2 hour or so walking the store for anything else that caught my eye. As it approached time for me to get back to work, I went to the register. When the cashier rang up the item, it came up $2.39. I told him the sign stated $1.42. He then said "that was yesterday's sale". He then communicated with another employee who went downstairs to 'check the sign'. This action was bogus because the employees already knew they changed the sign while I was in the store. It all comes together now...as I reached the top of the escalator, where there is also a large display of the same 'memory boxes', I heard an employee asking a co-worker for a check on the price of this item. I also noticed she was doing something to the sign, though I was to the back of it all. Apparently, another customer also questioned why the sign said $1.42 and rang up $2.39. I can only guess that the employee soon went downstairs to change the other display sign. Please note, this is the SAME employee who made the action of going downstairs to 'check' the sign on that display...the sign she already changed.... Now she and the cashier are telling me the price is $2.39. They pretended that the sign never said $1.42..... Not only was it distressing, as I know what I saw and why I was purchasing the item, the employees attitude and statements were embarrasing to me as other customers were now at the registers. I left the items and on my way back to the escalator, I told a woman who 'appeared' to be a manager(?) what they just did. After this incident at Michael's, you can be sure I will not be back to this store or the other two locations I normally shop. Instead of acting properly and charging me the price that was still up and advertised, they have lost me over a total difference of $1.94 plus tax. I have worked many retail jobs in my 30+ years of work and I have NEVER seen an employee or manager that I worked with do this to a customer. I was the customer at Michael's and I was treated very badly and I still cannot believe they changed this sign AFTER I put the items in my basket. What kind of practice is this? Shouldn't they have honored the 'sale' price that ended the day before since that is what I SAW??

Desired Settlement
I want to know what kind of 'sale price' policy Michael's has....why was this displayed price NOT HONORED at the register? We are not talking about a lot of money here! AND, I did not appreciate being treated like I was stupid and would not realize they changed the sign and were not admitting to it. To have the employee go through the 'motions' of checking a sign that SHE CHANGED! I want an apology for not honoring the price that was advertised when I arrived at the store, as well as an apology for how the employees treated me...especially the one who changed the sign and did not even admit to it.

05/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
There was an incident on may 23rd involving two micheal store employees. There was a women who came walking out of the store, immediatly being sought after by store employees. The one girl looked like a cashier and the guy was dressed in plain clothes, when they caught up with the women the man started grabbing at her purse on her arm. He repeatedly continued to use force with this women. The women was shouting and yelling at him to leave her alone, but she wasnt resisting him at all. He then put a choke hold on the women and dragged her inside a room. At that point bystanders were getting involved trying to help the man restrain her. He had tbe women in a choke hold she looked like she wasnt able to breathe. He then threw her down on the ground and shoved his knee into her back. The way the situation was handled was very unprofessional. This women should file a lawsuut against micheals he violated her and her rights. The guys name was jose he works for loss prevention. I understand the women was shoplifting but they could have approached her in a different manner. She wasnt running she was acting in self defense. The whole situation was handled unprofessionally.

Desired Settlement
No settlement

Industry Comparison| Chart

Craft Supplies, Art Supplies, Hobby & Model Construction Supplies - Retail

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/27/1996Business started: 11/01/1973
Business Management
Principal: Danielle Pereyra (Manager Customer Care)
Business Category

Craft Supplies, Art Supplies, Hobby & Model Construction Supplies - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Michael's Arts and Crafts Store, Michael's Corporation, Michaels, Michael's

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Michaels Stores, Inc.

8000 Bent Branch Drive

Irving, TX 75063

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Central Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Michaels Stores, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Craft Supplies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

On Apr 21, 2015, The Department of Justice, in conjunction with the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC), filed suit against Michaels Stores, Inc and Michaels Stores Procurement Co Inc., ("Michaels") in US District Court for the Northern District of Texas, for violating the reporting requirement of the Consumer Product Safety Act. This is a pending action.
The Department of Justice alleges that Michaels knowingly violated the reporting requirements of the Act with respect to glass vases that had a high propensity to break and/or shatter. The suit seeks civil penalties and permanent injunctive relief. Michaels sold the vases during the 2006 to 2010 time period. For more details, please go to:
Press Release -> http://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/united-states-files-suit-against-michaels-stores-inc-failing-report-serious-safety-hazard
Complaint Suit -> http://www.justice.gov/sites/default/files/opa/press-releases/attachments/2015/04/21/michaels complaint.pdf

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.