BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Empress, Inc.

(972) 630-66008828 N Stemmons Fwy Ste 118, DallasTX 75247-3720 Send email to Empress, Inc.http://www.empresshaircare.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Empress, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Empress, Inc.'s rating include:

  • 37 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 21 complaints filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

37 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues5
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service28
Total Closed Complaints 37

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (37)BBB Closure Definitions
05/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
ON DECEMBER 16TH I ORDERED A PRODUCT FROM THIS COMPANY BY INFORMERCIAL. I INFORMED THE SALES PERSON OF WHAT I WANTED AND SHE VOICED UNDERSTANDING. SHE QUOTED ONE PRICE AND CHARGED ANOTHER AMOUNT TO MY CREDIT CARD WITH OUT MY APPROVAL. THE CALL WAS RECORDED. I DISTINTLY TOLD HER ONLY THE ADVERTISED ITEM ONLY, NOT THE EXTENDED OFFER. ON DEC 27,2012 I MADE NUMEROUS ATTEMPTS TO CONTACT THE COMPANY BY PHONE AND EMAIL. I GOT NO RESPONSE. ABOUT A WEEK AGO I RECEIVED ANOTHER SHIPMENT OF THE PRODUCT AND MY CREDIT CARD WAS CHARGED AGAIN WITH OUT MY APPROVAL. I CALLED AND TALKED TO A RHONDA WHICH WAS RUDE AND REFUSES TO FORWARDED ME TO SOMEONE THAT COULD HANDLE THE PROBLEM. I TRIED TO EXPLAIN AND SHE DID NOT ACKNOWLEDGE. THIS IS BAD BUSINESS AND CREDIT CARD THEFT. I WOULD LIKE A REFUND FOR THE LAST PRODUCT THAT WAS SENT.
Product_Or_Service: HAIR CARE PRODUCT/ EMPRESS REGRO
Order_Number: XXXXXX
Account_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement
I WOULD LIKE A REFUND FOR THE LAST ITEM SENT AND CHARGED TO MY ACCOUNT IN THE AMOUNT OF 25.94. I WILL GLADLY RETURN THE PRODUCT. ALL OF IT. THE ONE BOTTLE I DID USE CAUSE SEVERE AND A RASH TO MY SCALP AND FACE.

Business' Initial Response
Ms.****** ****** was refunded 25.94 on 4/12/2013

05/27/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
12/24/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/17/2012Problems with Product / Service
08/27/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
06/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
February 16th or maybe February 17th I saw a commercial come on t.v. about a hair product(Empress Regrow hair care) which helps to grow your hair. I remember at the end of the advertisement it stated that the product was $19.99 plus $5.99 for shipping and handling. So I pretty much estimated how much would be taken off my credit card for this order. I called my credit card and the total was not what I expected. The total taken from my credit care was $31.89. I called them(Empress Regrow) back and asked why I was charged so much. A representative stated that it was because the shipping and handling was $11.99 not $5.99(which was said on the commercial)So I went ahead and agreed to it and let that incident(false advertisement)slide because I really wanted to try this product for hair growth. I decided to call today(3/1/13) to check on the statues of my order. Upon giving the representative, Gloria(whom stated that she was also the manager and that she only gives her first name not her last name...no I.D.number or anything)my information she got really RUDE and UNPROFESSIONAL about me wanting to cancel the order. She stated that they had run out of the hair products and they MAY be receiving some more between today 3/1/13 and sometime next week. I told her that I would just like to go ahead and cancel the order because I've been patiently waiting everyday for this order to arrive and now you're telling me that there are no more products available at this time and when/if they do come available I still have to wait. Then she told me that I would be sent a check in the mail because they could not put the $31.89 back on my card card. ?????Then I asked did she know exactly how long that would be. She stated WHENEVER the accountant gets to it. She stated the accountant only comes once a week. So therefore I feel like I just gave my money away and that this may have been a scam. She was very rude and wanted/tried to continuously cancel the call. asked was there anyone over her that I could speak to.No!
Product_Or_Service: Regrow hair care products

Desired Settlement
Since there was no one else over her(Gloria) I could speak with so she claimed. I would like to be refunded my entire $31.89...actually $40.00 if I could because if a check is sent out it will cost me to cash it. They had no problem taking monies from my credit card but now there's a problem with how, when, and IF I will be refunded my monies. And last but not least whose to say her name was really Gloria and if she really was the manager.

Business' Initial Response
****** ****** contacted our customer service department on 3/1/2013 @ 10:30 am. She stated she wanted her order canceled and requested a refund. Ms. ****** also informed us the credit card she used has been canceled. Our customer service rep told her that the refund would then be in the form of a company check,because we are not able to change out card information in our system. Her check request has been submitted and will be mailed out to her this month.

Consumer's Final Response
I am responding to the letter which was sent in the mail stating that the case was closed because someone assumed that it had been resolved. It has not been resolved. I am not happy with the decision at all.I still have not yet received a check for $31.98 and it was said that I would receive it at the end of the month(which was suppose to be in March and it is April already) I have been given the run-around about MY monies every since March 1st when I called asking had a check been sent out for me yet. It went from, the accountant doesn't come in but once a week TO the accountant only comes once a month. Then I was also told that there was no information on me. So if they didn't have information on my how would/could they be able to send me a refund check for $31.98? The representative stated these exact words to me...."Your check just got thrown in the garbage, you won't be getting a check from us and who constantly calls about $31.00". Those were her exact words. so that's why i left it up to BBB to handle this problem for me and it's still at the same stand still point. PLEASE help if you can! I need my money back. Thank you, Rita Hunt

06/10/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Product do not work borchure states money back guarantee they sent another bottle of this product without my permission and charge it to my account. I call the company anf ask them to canel any future order nd refund me back money because I return their merchandise by refusing to expected it from the post office. They stated that they did not give back refund only a credit for another product. They do not hold up to their contact money back guarantee
Product_Or_Service: Thickening cream and shampoo
Order_Number: XXXXXX
Account_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement
Cancel any future orders

Business' Initial Response
******* ****** entered into a program for hair care products on 1/6/2013. She purchased products under a 90 day trial. Ms ****** was instructed to call during the 90days if she chose to cancel. In the event a customer does does not cancel it converts to a monthly auto shipment of products. On 4/8/2013 is the date the auto shipment began.On 4/23/XXXX XX:XXpm,Lavern ****** contacted the customer service department to cancel any future shipments.On 4/26/2013 We received the product back as RETURN TO SENDER.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When I enter the program there was never a conversation about call and cancel after 90 days. When I call the company about the shipment that is when I was informated about the 90 days program. Yes I did return the merchandise and I asked them for a refund and they state that they diud not return back your money and that I would have to keep the product, but I had already return it. They stated that they were going to send it back to me, because they do not accept returns and then they ended the call by hanging up on me.

08/09/2012Problems with Product / Service
07/22/2012Problems with Product / Service
07/22/2012Problems with Product / Service
07/22/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
09/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Product was ordered returned not able to use, no refund received after request. Also more product sent after requesting not to receive more product
Product was ordered for use by spouse *******, upoon receiving and reading product, she was not able to use it. Product was returned to company in May of 2014 at that time a request for refund and also a request not to receive more product was made. However, more product was received in June and again in July of 2014. After several phone calls to customer service by myself and my spouse, we were informed by Customer Service supervisor ****** (I believe that is her name), that unless we could provide them with a definite date that it was returned no refund would be made. ****** asked to speak with some one in the return department to see if they could help him out. Again a Supervisor (who did not give her name) informed me that she would not be able to help me because items returned had to be made by express shipping only so they would have a record of the return. Upon speaking with the post-office when returned latest shipment we were informed if returning product that was not wanted no receipt of express shipping was needed. Again we requested refund and were denied. We are filing this complaint with your company to hopefully receive some settlement, before we decide to proceed with further legally.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking a full refund for all products returned to company.

09/04/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have a complaint.! This is my first time ordering Re-grow and i haven't had a chance to use your product. But, I am total disappointed in how your Sale Rep use trickery in explaining how much would be charged to my card. I asked her up front how much would be charged to my account and was told $31.99. And at the end of the sale and me saying no to all the add on sales " That had nothing to do with hair care". And at the end she went over my order and told me that my sale total came to $63.78. Now, that wasn't what I agreed to be charged to my credit card. When I told her that that what I agreed to and to cancel my sale. I was informed that she couldn't and was giving a customer service # (866 697-3476) to call. "That wasn't available till Monday - Friday 8:00am - 5:00pm CST. in order to have my sale cancel. That is consider to be fraud to tell a customer one price and charge their credit card a totally different price. I will be reporting this to: My bank , Master Card, Better Business Bureau, consumer affaires and the Postal investigation departments.

You will not get away with doing business like this.!!

Sincerely,

*************

On Sun, Aug 3, 2014 at 5:19 PM, Empress Sales <*****@empresshaircare.com> wrote:
Thank you for your order!
Order Information
Merchant: Empress Hair Products, Inc.

Invoice Number: **********


________________________________________
Billing Information
***********************************
*********** ** XXXXX
US
********@gmail.com
**********
Shipping Information
*************
***************
WOODSTOCK, AL 35188
US
________________________________________
Total: US $63.78


MasterCard

Date/Time: 3-Aug-2014 17:19:37 CDT
Transaction ID: **********

03/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told my account would be cancelled my first call & a refund would be given of $25.94.
Hello...
I ordered a 90 day package from Empress /Regrow, October 13, 2013 a Sunday at 10:00
am in the morning. The shipment came two weeks later. I used the product in full for the thirty days, so I knew I was not going to return it. They have 120 day refund which explains for the 90 day kit. Nowhere on the website has it stated this also includes their monthly refills.
I received the first refill a week after I notice I was charge on my account 1/16/2014 $25.94. At that time I had a personal family situation going on so I didn't call right away. When I able to contact the company on Friday 07, 2013 I called their 1-866-697-3476 number and let them know can they note in the system I no longer wish to continue this product and what do I need to do to return & receive a refund. The representative stated to return the package and also included a letter of why you wish to discontinue the product.
No rush because I wasn't given a time limit, I went to the post office on 2/12/2014 and have a USPS tracking #XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX for the item to be delivered on Saturday 2/15/2014. I called back the same 1-866-697-3476 on February 20, 2014, by that time I was charged again for another package of $25.94. When I spoke with this representative she said yes you are canceled & we received the package back & she will try to stop the second package from going out & get a refund.
On 2/27/2014 I called again to follow-up this time I called the number on my statement X-XXX-XXX-XXXX everyone I spoke with was very unpleasant to speak with. I was told you do not get refunds back for the monthly refills. I told them everything as above, the number I called and the only thing they said was we do not show in our database you called and they do not know why a representative would tell me to send the product back. They are not going to be held responsible for someone else mistake. The supervisor I spoke with name was ****** (she would not give me her last) I ask for the president of the company name and she only gave me Mr. *********. I did go on-line and his first name is ****.
I just can believe they basically called me a customer a liar and did not want to listen to what I had to say. Why would one representative tell me to return a package that was never open?After the conversation I asked if they could at least refund the charge $25.94 on February 17, 2014 and I was told no. I called my bank and as well to put in a dispute at Wells Fargo.

Desired Settlement

To be more courteous to their customers and to refund the amount of $25.94.

02/21/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
An unauthorized charge to my account and receiving an product in which I did not order. My information was suppose to be deleted from their system.
I **** E. ******* had received a product in which I did not ordered and was charge $25.94 in which I did not authorized. Last month I did orderedr3 months of product in which I paid a little over $60.00. This purchase was a one time buy and my credit information was no longer to be use. On January 24th I received a package in the mail for regrow in which I still have. I tried calling and their phone message said their mail box is full and cannot receive any calls. (X-XXX-XXX-XXXX). I would like a full refund to my account and for them to delete any information of mine. Please help me to resolve this situation. I truly feel they are taking advantage of Senior Citizens. Thank you for all the help you do.












Desired Settlement
refund and for them to delete any information of mine.

02/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
January 8, 2014

TO: Better Business Bureau
1601 Elm Street, Suite 3838
Dallas, TX XXXXX-XXXX

FROM: Lessie *****
403 S. Pearl Ave
Compton,CA XXXXX

RE: Complaint against:
Empress Regrow, tnc., 8828 N. StemmonsFWV, Suite 118, Dallas, TX XXXXX-XXXX

This letter is to express my extreme dissatisfaction with the Empress Regrow Inc. I ordered product
from this company on December 2, 2013 and was told I would receive product in approximately (3)
weeks. I called the company today to find out If my order had been shipped since my checking account
had been debited on December 4,2013 for $51.88 and collected by Empress Regrow.
When I called today, January 8, 2014/ I was told by the rep they had no record of me placing an order
and could only check on the order by the last four (4) numbers of my debit card. I gave her the last 4
numbers and the company rep said she saw no transactions for that number and that there was
absolutely no other way she could check status. I told her I'm looking at my statement which shows
Empress Regrow, Inc had been paid and I could fax a copy of the proof from my credit union statement.
She said that wouldn't help. She seemed annoyed and told me to contact my bank. I asked for the
corporate address for this company so that I could write a letter to them to let them know about the
situation as she said there was no one at a higher management level that I could speak to and nothing
she could do to get my order or my money back.
What I want to accomplish Is to get my money back, an apology and if they really want to provide good
customer service they should send me the product for FREE at least to show goodwill, At the very least,
I want my money back and if they can't do any more than that I'll be sure to let everyone I know not to
trust this company at all , however good their product is supposed to be forget about it, you can be
charged without getting it or even over charged, Judging from other complaints filed against this
company.
Thank you in advance for your assistance.

****** *****

Page 1 of 5

Industry Comparison| Chart

Cosmetics - Wholesale & Manufacturers, Hair Products and Equipment, Beauty Supplies & Equipment

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/20/2007Business started: 01/01/2004
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 2009, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Greenberg (CEO)Mr. Mark Greenberg (President)
Business Category

Cosmetics - Wholesale & Manufacturers, Hair Products and Equipment, Beauty Supplies & Equipment

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Empress, Inc.

8828 N Stemmons Fwy Ste 118

Dallas, TX 75247-3720

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 8828 N Stemmons Fwy Ste 118 

    Dallas, TX 75247-3720(972) 630-6600

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Empress, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.myregro.com
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Cosmetics - Wholesale & Manufacturers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.