BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Ranch House Roofing & Construction Inc.

Phone: (855) 383-6610Fax: (972) 635-6677

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
02/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contracter delivered a broken oven and promised to pay for repair and still has not.
We closed on our first rent house on July 26, 2013. RHR started like gang busters the very next day. ***** estimated the job would take 7 days, which became 10 days, which finally turned into 67 days. His initial bid he gave me included roofing, extensive interior finish out, plumbing and foundation repair. There were no line items totals on his bid only a total bid of $24,000. We paid him $10,000 up front. After the initial "day" of work, most of all other work ceased. He kept putting off my job for other jobs he had in Houston. He finally finished the interior minus a few deficiencies. Which at this point I was ready to just give him his money and get rid of him and all the headaches. But the foundation would not pass *********** He told me he never promised a foundation that would pass *********** The problem was since he didn't put line items in his bid, I had no way of knowing what he charged for it. So I got a bid from a REAL foundation company for $4,000 and took that amount off his final amount owed. He disputed this amount; he said he charged me "like" $1500 for the foundation. In the final days, he started begging me for his money. He said he had company checks bouncing left and right. Not my problem. I told him all I wanted was a done house. He finally threw together the last items on the list (minus the foundation) and I gave him his final amount of $2,000.
I had the new foundation company lift the foundation and it passed inspection but it would not pass * plumbing test. All the plumbing had to be re-done as well as new cracks in almost every wall in the house. My husband and I went through the house with our own paint and spackle and tried to fix this last minute damage that should have been done from day 1 of the job. In addition, we had to install a shower door, an exterior door, a new thermostat and all smoke alarms. Also while ***** attempted to fix the foundation, he broke up the concrete patio and dumped it hidden behind the shed. I had to pay someone $400.00 to clean that up. We were not happy after paying ***** $20,000. So what could happen next, of course all the plumbing separated under the house. So, $3500.00 more to get that fixed. So my renters finally get to move in (a month later than promised) and they discover the oven doesn't work and the microwave has no plate inside. I knew ***** would use used appliances and I accepted because they were very nice. I told him about the broken oven and micro plate, he agreed to pay for the repair and bring a plate out to the house. After all the headaches I was willing to let the other stuff go but he promised to pay for the oven repair. I have sent him numerous emails and texts but he still refuses. He still owes me $434.52.

Desired Settlement
A reimbursment for repair of oven of $434.52.

Business Response
this customer was paid the 400 dollars she had a problem with her PayPal account and filed this grievance because she thought we didnt pay . We did pay it way before she also never called our office is but try to communicate via textI have proof that she both was told via text and via email showing proof we pay this bill

12/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We hired them 9/4/13 to redo our driveway/add circle drive. Service still not completed, ignoring phone calls/texts. Promised to be done 9/19/13.
On 9/4/13, we signed a contract with ***** ****** of Ranch House remodeling to redo our existing driveway and add a circle drive. He told us he would communicate with us all the time and the job would take 2 weeks, 3 weeks tops, depending on rain and city inspection. The total cost of the job was $9450. We paid him $5000 as a down payment, with the remainder due at the completion of the job. He immediately cashed my check that night. The next day he went to the City and got the permit, called me and said they couldnt put the permit out since we were not home but he would the next day, Fri 9/6/13. He never showed up. The following Wednesday 9/11/13 his workers showed up and cut down the tree in the way, I spoke with him, he told me something about he needed some extra permit to cut down the tree. The next day, Thursday 9/12/13 his workers tore out the existing driveway. Left all the concrete and the tree still in my yard. Did not show up on Friday. **** spoke with him Friday night, he said they would be there first thing Saturday morning to continue the work. By noon, I called him since no one was here working. He called me back later in the afternoon, left me a voicemail that the job would be done by Thursday 9/19/13, he would be there first thing Monday morning to work on it. Monday at 1 in the afternoon he texted my husband that he was short handed. Then said he would take $500 off the cost of the job. Tuesday they brought a dumpster trailer and put a few of the concrete blocks in it and the tree. Then left, leaving the trailer here. We could not park in front of my house, I texted him telling him it needed to be moved. He said it would be in the morning. Wednesday they came and took it away, still tons of trash in my yard. Thursday, he was here working but then left, when we asked him what was going on he said his son got hurt playing football. He called me, I asked him when the job was going to be done since he had said it would be done as of that day. He started screaming at me on the phone, called me a liar. I hung up on him. **** spoke with him, he said he would get the job done. Monday the 23rd, he told **** the job would be done by Thursday. By the 24th, they had dug up the ground for the new circle drive, still has not cut the sidewalk/curb to extend the circle drive to the road. After that very little work was done. Monday the 30th, same story, job will be done by the weekend or we would not owe him anymore money. They came and put down rebarb, nothing else. Still a huge pile of dirt, concrete in my yard. On Oct 8th, texted that the guys were going to cut out the curb/sidewalk that afternoon or the next day and concrete would be poured on Thursday. But no one showed to do the work. On the 9th he said guys would be here, but nope. Said it would still be finished. On the 10th 4 of his workers were here but he never showed and they said they could not work without him. ***** would not answer the phone for his workers or us. He has not called us at all since. My father called him Oct 11, ***** said he had every intention of finishing the job. havent seen or heard from him. Today, Oct 19th, the company that owns his equipment showed up and took it. Says that ***** owes him $2600.

Desired Settlement
We already paid him $5XXX X X/2 weeks ago for a job that should have been finished over 3 weeks ago. He is not responding to us, lied to us many times, it is going to cost us 7-10 grand to fix what he did not do, we already got an estimate. We can't walk though our front yard, I have 5 kids and I can't just let them run out the front door to our park. There is rebarb laying around dangerously. A huge hole between the curb and sidewalk. We want a full refund for the inconvenience he has put us through.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *********** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****************@yahoo.com
The customer was harassing and abusive towards my employees, myself and my company. They were trying to add a bunch more work that they were not willing to pay for. I informed them that we can do any extra work for free and they became more irate. I was receiving 3-4 calls a day when we were working there. I informed them that I was no longer going to work for them and they should find another contractor. I was at the point where all we had to do was poor the concrete. The job was 90% done. At this point they would owe me money.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We were never abusive to him or his employees, we never saw him. We did call ***** sometimes multiple times a day because no one was at our house working on the job when he would say someone would be there, most times ***** would not answer his phone. I have texts to prove how many times we were told someone would be there and then he would make an excuse as to why no one was working. The one time we were home when his employees were there, they were waiting on him to find out what to do and no one could get ahold of ***** so they left. He never told us he was not going to finish our job, if he did why would he leave his equipment there? The rental company was the one that came and got the equipment because he owed them money. This job is no where near 90% finished, I have the pictures to prove that. The forms he has down now for our driveway are NOT the way we discussed the way we wanted them, he kept saying he would fix everything. The last time we spoke to him he said he had every intention of finishing out job. The curb and sidewalk still need to be cut to finish the circle drive to the street so no, they were not ready to pour concrete.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General, Geotechnical Engineering, Windows, Roof Repairs, Windows - Installation & Service, Remodeling Services, Construction & Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Roofing Service Consultants, Commercial Roofing, Roofing Contractors, Commercial Painting Contractor, Painting Contractors, Contractor - Insulation, Home Improvements, Home Builders, Contractors - Gutters, Contractor - Remodel & Repair

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.