BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1998

Mustang Contracting Services of Dallas, Inc.

Phone: (972) 488-9889Fax: (972) 488-0008View Additional Phone Numbers5495 Belt Line Road, Suite 120, DallasTX 75254-7654 Send email to Mustang Contracting Services of Dallas, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1998

BBB has determined that Mustang Contracting Services of Dallas, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Mustang Contracting Services of Dallas, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Mustang Contracting Services of Dallas, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
06/18/13, charged me $101.50 to fix leaking pipe. Leak continued. 08/27/13, charged me $112.50 to fix the same leak in the same piece of pipe.
06/18/13 Mustang replaced leaking undergroundsprinkler pipe ("U-shaped")withaa new pipe section painted at both ends with purple primer. Rest of pipes in immediate area remained white; no purple. Next day, I shoveled two bags top soil over water-soaked soil without stepping on the soggy spot. Added soil seemed to dry out after few days, but within few weeks became as water-saturated as before. Called Mustang; told them same spot still leaking as badly as before. Man answering my call said I couldn't possibly know it was the very same leak and there would be no guarantee on the previous repair. On 08/27/13 the same two men from Mustang who had made the previous repair came back and dug up the very same spot as before. When they reached the leaking pipe and realized water was coming from the very same section of white pipe with the purple at both ends, they starting asking questions and making statements that made it sound like it was my fault that the pipe kept leaking or it just kept leaking by an act of nature. 1st question: "Did you put dry soil over the soggy spot last time? I said, "Yes" 2nd comment: "Well, no one should have walked over it while it was wet." I said, "No one did." 3rd comment: "The ground must have shifted." 4th: "Tell me again, this house is how old?" I told him. 5th: "Well, you're going to have to spend $600 to fix this whole sprinkler area; if you don't, it's just going to keep on breaking!" One of the men then cut out the very same section of"U-shaped" white pipe that he had painted purple at both ends on the previous repair call and replaced it with a straight piece of white pipe. When he started to write me a bill for this second repair, I told him, "I need to keep that "U-shaped" piece of pipe." He got the piece out of his truck and gave it to me. He kept me standing in my yard for more than 10 minutes while he sat in his truck writing, and writing, and writing on the bill. Although I cannot read but a few words of his handwriting on the work description portion of the bill, I think it starts out saying, ". . . leak in same area as last time. . . . ." My thought is that he took so long to write it because he was trying to find some way of saying it was the very same leak, but no, not really! because of this and that and this and that, and, ...... For this second repair of the same leak, I had to pay another $112.50. Having retired after 25 years as a customer service advisor with a Fortune 100 corporation known for its superior customer service, I am quite familiar with the 'blame-the-custome' tactic, which includes the veiled threat,'if you don't pay us lots of money to replace your old equipment, don't blaim us if you have to pay for repeat service calls.' I also know that the unethical ways in which employees treat customers is a direct reflection of the personal code of ethics of the employer. So, if you are reading this as a potential customer of Mustang Contracting, and you have a few extra big bills to waste, you might want to go ahead and hire them. I only hope that if Mustang cheats you, that you have the same sense of responsibility that I feel toward other unsuspecting potential customers and take the time to let others know how they can expect to be mistreated by Mustang Contracting. Now, I have to fill out this form to say what resolution I expect. What I want is for all businesses to treat custmers with respect. But then, a "want" is not the same as an "expectation" is it?

Desired Settlement
A written apology for treating customers with disrespect and a written, public statement on their website that says they welcome all reviews, both negative and positive, in an on-going dedication to total customer satisfaction. This would make a refund of $112.50 not appear to be given for political reasons alone.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** ** ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@mustangcontracting.com
This is a customer that has used Mustang starting 7/25/2008. That signed invoice was for $336.00. Then a 2nd time 7/18/09. That signed invoice was for $216.00. We then did not service her system for approx. 4 years. We were called out for a leak on 6/18/13. During this service call our Technician , **** *** informed the Ms.***** that the leak was going to require multiple fittings to be replaced which was going to cost more money. Ms. ***** chose to replace just the fitting that was leaking only, the most economical solution. This signed invoice was for $101.50. Over 2 months later, we were called back for "the same leak". On 8/27/13, the same Technician, **** *** returned to investigate the area of concern. Upon exposing the area, it absolutely was a different fitting leaking in the same area we working in on 6/18/13. **** ** informed Ms. ***** that this was what was discussed during the 6/18/13, which was needing to "rebuild the whole area, if she did not want to have issues down the road". Ms. ***** was confrontational from the second she was informed of the exposing of the area. Confrontational to the point of our men feeling very uneasy about being on Ms. ***** property. Needless to say, we have a signed invoice from 8/27/13 for $112.50. The area still should have been more exposed and replace the area of concern. Ms. *****, once again refused our assessment to rebuild the whole area. We warranty our work for one year on the parts and 90 days on the labor as per the bottom of our invoice. The thought of our proven track record of an A+ rated Accredited Business, being in business for over 23 years in DFW, our over 25,000 clients, and what I built our business on...treating ALL clients the same, rich, poor, white, black, brown, or green, Highland Park or S. Dallas, Garland or Coppell, Southlake or Lewisville... THE SAME! I wish I could say something that could change this issue, but after the reading of her account and what my men have informed me of and the way we were treated, we respectfully decline to apologize, refund any amount, or return to Mr. ***** property. The politically correct response to this situation, is to say, we respectfully decline to meet her demands for a written public apology for our actions, or a statement on our website in regards to customer satisfaction. Our desire to treat ALL customers the SAME is enough for us. If we treated our customers with disrespect, we would not be in business! I ask the BBB to look at both accounts, look at our track record, and look at the amount of money involved in both signed invoices that were just over $100 each and look at the first 2 invoices we did for Ms. ***** in 2008 and 2009 for double and triple the cost of these 2 recent invoices in 2013. One other issue I have with Ms. *****... she did not bother to call me before writing a complaint against Mustang with the BBB. Mustang Contracting Services of Dallas, Inc. is the most honest, reliable, shoot you straight sprinkler repair company in DFW, period, end of story!
******** ** ********
Owner/GM

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General, Contractor - Sheetrock, Contractor - Commercial, Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems, Construction & Remodeling Services, Painting Contractors, Home Improvements, Drywall Contractors, Drainage Contractors, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Building Restoration & Preservation

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/09/1998Business started: 04/01/1990
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
PO Box 13087
Austin, TX 78711-3087
(512) 239-1000
http://www.tceq.state.tx.us

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shafford McKinney (Owner)Mr. Brad McKinney (General Manager)
Business Category

Contractors - General, Contractor - Sheetrock, Contractor - Commercial, Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems, Construction & Remodeling Services, Painting Contractors, Home Improvements, Drywall Contractors, Drainage Contractors, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Building Restoration & Preservation

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mustang Contracting Services of Dallas, Inc.

5495 Belt Line Road

Dallas, TX 75254-7654

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5495 Belt Line Road
    Suite 120 

    Dallas, TX 75254-7654(972) 488-9889
    Fax: (972) 488-0008

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mustang Contracting Services of Dallas, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (214) 369-3353
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Contractors - General

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.