BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/13/2012

Hutchins Roofing & Construction LLC

Phone: (972) 734-6060Fax: (972) 736-6033

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
01/15/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised written warranty or guarantee

Complaint: Warranty was never given to us. Installation issues not recognized after several inspections and agreements made to make correct.
As of 10/14/2012,Hutchins Roofing Company put a roof on my home and not to the specifications of my insurance company and they did not remove all materials to the decking. I have been tossed around from sub contractor to sub contractor promising help. Until I was able to reach the owners of the company and was lied to and stood up for an appointment on the anniversary of my mothers death 3/17/2013. They left the original felt and they put green summit over the felt. They were to remove and reset the satellite dish per scope of work. We requested it be removed and not put back up. It was never touched. As a starter strip they use new and old shingles from my home which is now starting to crack and come apart. There are overdriven nails and shingles that have razor cut marks on them. Flashing and vent covers were not replaced that were covered by insurance monies. Valley metal was purchased and installed that was not part of the insurance scope as well. We have reached out to the owners several times to remedy the situation and have been meet with nothing but conflict and accusations of wrong doing on our part. They would only agree to work with us if we would give them a glowing review on this website. They have also torn down our gutters and refuse to replace them after a contractor they hired ripped them down. We referred another contractor that we knew because we were told everyone they had were to expensive and after they met with him without our knowledge he has never returned to finish this job or the job he was hired to complete for us. They have also restrung my window screens with poor quality and in correct materials. They no longer protect us from the sun. There was also an agreement for repair for my shed and fence. Those agreements were not honored as well.

Initial Business Response
Hutchins Roofing & Construction has tried numerous times to correct the problem at Mrs **** *****'s house. We had an ***** representative come out and inspect the roof. The representative said the shingles were perfectly fine. Every time we tried to fix something she would say she wanted it done a different way. We would do it her way and she would still not like it. The side work she is mentioning is not in the contract nor on the insurance scopes. We have already passed this case over to our lawyer so we can settle this out since anything that we try to do will not make her happy.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As far as the response that Hutchins Roofing has given it is false. They have not corrected anything at my home but only created more issues. The only time they contacted ***** was before I contacted them in June and they were advised then it was an installation issue. They insisted that I contacted them due to the fact that ***** was a supplier of one of Hutchins subcontractors and not theirs and felt that they would not replace the roof due to that fact. When I contacted ***** and was able to talk to their customer service department and requested Hutchins to take samples I was told by *** Hutchins that they would not do that. I was then advised to obtain a third party inspection which I have done and it shows improper installation. They did not complete the work per the insurance scope as they did not replace or remove materials per the scope. I have been insulted in my home as well in numerous text messages and in phone calls. I was told on numerous occasions by both *** and *** that if the claim had originally came to them instead of the subcontractor they would have never taken the claim because it was not profitable to them and would not have touched it with a ten foot pole. I was promised one thing in person and then when I would call to confirm them coming out *** would change what was promised. He would lie and then tell me he was lying because he did not know what to tell me and did not want to make me upset. He advised that the subcontractor that no longer worked for his company was responsible for all of this and I would have to file a law suit against them if I wanted it taken care of. Even though, my husband and myself pointed out countless of times that his company accepted payment he still claimed he could not touch anything that was wrong with the installation, while admitting that there were numerous things wrong with the installation.

My husband and I have tried to work with this company on the recommendation of our attorney so that we could avoid this and avoid any type of lawsuit. I reached out to them in June and requested this to be resolved by the end of August. I kept being told that they were to busy with paying jobs and their other businesses and they would get to me as soon as possible. *** promised to take care of all of my concerns as long as I wrote a more than glowing review for the company on this BBB web site after the work was done and wanted me to then file a law suit on the subcontractor for insurance fraud. I took this to my attorney in September after I could not longer take the abuse from *** ********.

Complaint Resolution: Company agreed to arbitration in accordance with their BBB agreement, but the consumer declined.

12/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Repair Complaint Issue

Complaint: Hutchins Roofing is non-responsive relative to their agents' initial poor quality work. Hence, I am without warranty or recourse.
Hutchins Roofing and Construction was engaged (August 2012)to replace wind storm (07-21-12) damaged roofing on my house. The lack of adequate and knowledgeable supervision resulted in an inferior installation of the new roofing product. Much of their new work was removed and replaced. One roof plane, of approximately 1500 square feet in area, remains to be replaced as declared necessary by the Hutchins agent *** ********** sent to inspect the work 20 March 2013. However sufficient materials and crew were not dispatched for repairs on the day I scheduled to be off work for replacement to be effected. I have called the business five times in the interim - since March 20 - inquiring on completion schedules of work, and no agents of the business have responded. I have only been told that responsible personnel (*** ********) would be informed that I called and that someone would be in contact with me. Indications are that not only will the inferior work not be remedied, but since the business is non-responsive, I effectively have no warranty on the work done. I have an inferior and non-compliant installation relative to manufacturers listing and labeling. I am dissapointed that I hired this firm and paid them for work. I would urge BBB to remove this firm from their accredited list immediately so others searching for a roofing contractor will move on to other providers.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***@hutchinsroofing.net
***, I would first like to say that I'm very very sorry what has happened with your roof, *****, our contractor who is no longer with us,did a poor job all the way around. The singles he used were the Altas Pinnacle, which I'm not a fan of. We now no longer allow our contractor's to use Altas products. Main reason is because we have already had to replace four other roofs that had Altas product, but the Altas company did the customer and us right in taking care of the issue by putting on new roofs. Now we only use GAF. We will work with you and Atlas to get you a new and better roof on your house.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr. ********,
Upon cursory review, your response seems acceptable, as I know your are certainly familiar with the poor installation your company provided. I would certainly appreciate a roof that is installed correctly. However, the practical difficulty is that I cannot receive any response from your firm. If you will contact me and establish the replacement program you refer to, I believe we can resolve all issues. I look forward to this action and will consider the matter resolved upon completion of that replacement effort.

Complaint Resolution: Company agreed to arbitration in accordance with their BBB agreement, but the consumer declined.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General, Windows, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Roof Repairs, Windows - Installation & Service, Contractor - Tile Roofing, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Commercial Roofing, Roofing Contractors, Patio & Deck Builders, Contractors - Gutters, Contractor - Remodel & Repair

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.