BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/12/2008

DFW Improved

Phone: (972) 377-7600Fax: (972) 294-37559741 Preston Rd Ste 106, FriscoTX 75033-2553 Send email to DFW Improved

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Turn-key general contractor specializing in all aspects of residential remodeling and light commercial tenant finish. A "one-stop" call for everything from flooring & paint to kitchen & bath renovation, room additions, and new custom home construction.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/12/2008

BBB has determined that DFW Improved meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised DFW Improved's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on DFW Improved

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
02/04/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company failed to honor an appointment for a quote and never called back as promised, causing a huge inconvenience to me.
Called this business on Monday, January 11, 2016 and set up an in-home appointment for a quote on Monday, January 18, 2016 at 9 am. Shortly before the appointment was scheduled to take place, I received a voice mail message stating that they would not make the appointment as scheduled. I called them back and asked when they could come out as I had already planned a huge portion of my holiday around them coming to my home. The lady from DFW Improved stated that one of their employees had some type of emergency which caused them to need to cancel the appointment, but she would see what they could do to get someone else out to me and a call back was promised. The call back never occurred.

Desired Settlement
I would like a call back from the owner/manager of the company and would like to know what they are prepared to do to earn my business and compensate me for this huge inconvenience and failure to follow up as promised.

Business Response
Our staff has been to this client's home on several occasions to discuss the project they want to complete. During these visits he was dealing with the husband/spouse with a different name. When the client called in this last time we were not made aware of her spouse's past communication with our sales staff therefore didn't realize the history of events between our company and the clients. Once we realized the connection/history we tried to get the original sales consultant lined up to come back out to their home to continue the conversation regarding their project. It was an unfortunate situation with the emergency that arose for the sales consultant and missing the scheduled appointment. We recognize we had an internal office issue and have corrected our procedures accordingly. We sincerely apologize to the client & have called her again this morning to offer our apology & to try to re-schedule for a different sale person to come out & look at their project.

We strive to ensure our clients have the best possible experience with our company & hate that this one did not go as we would have hoped. We have now instituted a checks and balance to aid in connecting these dots on the front end.

We look forward to discussing their project further.

04/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
1. Failure to pay referral fee
2. Failure to perform warranty repair
Complaint Summary #1: During initial sales call on 3/27/2013 the sales person of DFW Home Services LLC DBA DFW Improved offered me a $300 referral fee. The referral fee was for the name and phone number of my neighbor and a personal recommendation from me to my neighbor to do business with DFW Improved. I provided the name and number to the DFW Improved Sales Representative, I personally recommended DFW Improved to my neighbor, and my neighbor contracted to do business with DFW Improved.
I made two requests for payment of the referral fee. The first to the original sales person. The response to that request was that DFW Improved did not make its expected profit on the work it performed on the neighbor's house and intended to breach the oral contract between me and DFW Improved through the agent of its sales representative. This employee of DFW Improved referred me to a second DFW Improved employee. I made a second request to this subsequent DFW Improved employee at my house who called the DFW Improved office while I was standing next to him to inquiry why I was not paid. The home office said the referral fee appeared in its computer system but it has not been paid. I subsequently never received payment.

Complaint Summary #2: During initial sales call on 3/27/2013 I stated to the sales person of DFW Home Services LLC DBA DFW Improved that the roof to my house was leaking and that I wanted it repaired. The sales representative assured me that DFW Improved could do the work and warranty the work. I also discussed access points in the roof through which varmints were entering the attic. I contracted with DFW Improved to repair the leaking roof and to seal opening in that roof remaining from the initial construction of the roof and house in 1989. DFW Improved performed the work and I paid DFW Improved in full (Invoice dated 5/21/2013). The roof continued to leak. I contacted the initial sales person who personally inspected the roof, personally did repair work on the roof, and believed that the unacceptable workmanship was remedied. That initial sales person then referred me to a second DFW Improved employee for addition warranty work and for resolution of payment of the referral fee due to me. The second DFW Improved sales person refused all warranty service stating that DFW Improved does not warranty roof work.

Desired Settlement
Payment of referral fee of $300 and refund of faulty roof repair work $900.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Sherri St **** **********
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ******@dfwimproved.com
On or before 3/26/13 Mr. ******* accepted the bid for the repair of his roof. He did not want a bid for water stains that were evident on the ceiling in his living room or bedroom. Repairs on his roof began on 3/28/13 and completed 3/30/13. DFW Improved replaced approximately 20 shingles on one of the ridges of his home that had been blown off by the wind. Final payment was due at time of completion 3/30/13, but Mr. ******* was not home at the time. After several failed attempts to contact him by phone for payment, on 5/1/13 a DFW Improved representative stopped by his home and did collect final payment.
In November of 2013, Mr. ******* contacted ***** and told him he had a leak in the living room again. ***** inspected the roof and found 4 or 5 shingles had been blown up by the wind, he made the necessary repairs and advised him to call the warranty manager for any future issues.
On 4/28/14, Mr. ******* contacted our office for warranty repair. I returned his call and he informed me of the leak in November and the stain he has on his ceiling. We scheduled to meet on Thursday 5/1/14 at 9:00 AM.
When I arrived at his home we engaged in conversation. I did advise him that a roof repair is normally not warranted because we cannot control acts of nature such as wind gusts and storms, but since it was not stated on his invoice and the invoice does state a 1-year workmanship warranty from date of completion, DFW Improved would take care of any texture damage but he would be responsible for the paint. I also called the office to check on a referral fee, office would have to check into it. He showed me the water stain on the ceiling in the living room, I got my ladder, checked the texture and informed him there was no texture damage. At that time he told me to get out of his house.
At the time of my visit on 5/1/14 there was no roof leak, that was resolved in November of 2013. Mr. ******* wanted DFW Improved to address the water stain on his ceiling. The 1-year workmanship warranty on Mr. *******'s repair started on 3/30/13 and ended on 3/29/14. On 5/1/14 DFW Improved was still willing to help him out with texture repair but found no texture damage.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The company's response is silent as to complaint number 1 failure to pay referral fee. The respondent for the company, presumed to be Mr.*****, admits that I requested the payment, that Mr.***** called the office to inquire about the payment due me but then neglects to state the response of the office worker on the telephone. Instead Mr. ***** continues the runaround routine saying in his response "office would have to check into it". The office worker on the telephone told Mr. ***** that the referral fee was in the company's system and had not been paid. The company owes me a $300 referral fee and has not paid me.
Regarding complaint number 2 Mr. ***** blatantly misrepresents innumerable facts of which he has no firsthand knowledge and on which he is not competent to report. If DFW Improved is a serious company attempting a serious resolution it would allow the person with firsthand knowledge of the fact to respond.
The facts of which Mr. ***** has firsthand knowledge are those facts regarding his visit to my house.
In his response Mr. ***** admits that a warranty statement was part of the contract. While at my house Mr. ***** steadfastedly refused to admit that a statement of warranty was included on the contract. Mr.***** in his response admits that he refused warranty repair while at my house because DFW Improved does not warranty roof repairs. Mr. ***** then went on to say that he would nonetheless be glad to help me were only the damage more severe. That is, if the damage as a consequence of the faulty workmanship was such that the wallboard disintegrated to the point
that the applied texture were no longer intact. With this absurd position, Mr. ***** attempted to abrogate the warranty provision of the contract. When it became clear that Mr. *****' intent was to find any excuse to not perform the warranty service he was directed out of my home.
Mr. ***** in his response scurrilously impunes my reputation with the subtle innuendo that DFW Improved had to track me down for payment. That statement has no bearing on the facts of the dispute and is factually incorrect. In fact, Mr. Brian McClendon insisted that I pay him in person and not by mail because he required my signature on a release form stating the work had been completing in order that DFW Improved would pay him.

The response submitted by DFW Improved lacks candor, genuiness and is imbedded with irrelevant statements that one can only attribute to a sense of ill-will on the part of Mr. *****.

The simple, obvious, and upright response is simply to pay the referral fee due me and to refund the money I paid for faulty workmanship on the part of DFW Improved.



Final Business Response
Mr. ******* claim has a miss use of terms & we feel is what is causing the confusion for him.

We did replace the corner boards running vertical with Hardie as proposed. We did not replace the horizontal trim boards under the chimney cap flashing (& was not proposed in the scope of work either). What he's referencing was not claimed to have been done on the chimney. We only proposed & completed replacing the corner boards & siding of the chimney (per receipt sent to ****).

To add clarification....The reason we don't replace these horizontal trim boards is because the chimney cap flashing would have to be pried off of those horizontal boards would cause damage to the chimney cap. This was not proposed in any of the scope of work which is why it wasn't done. Just to give a point of reference - if we would have proposed/completed/touched that section of the chimney that particular scope would have been an additional $700 retail because you cannot complete efficiently without replacing the chimney cap.

Our referral program is based on a sliding scale & is UP TO $300 (depending on what the referred client elects to move forward with). His neighbor's invoice total would allot for Mr. ******* to receive a $50 referral fee.

We will gladly send Mr. ******* the $50 referral fee ASAP. This was an over site on our office's part that he hasn't already received it & we apologize for it.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The DFW Improved representative recommended replacing all the wood on the chimney with hardie board to eliminate future maintenance.
The contract says "replace all corner borders and siding from chimney" with no exclusions or exceptions stated.
The contract does not say replace all the siding that DFW Improved chooses to replace or is not too expensive for it to replace.
When I asked the DFW Improved representative, after the fact, why he replaced the wood with wood and not hardie board he said it was to match the chimneys in the neighborhood.
So which is the truth? DFW Improved did not replace the hardie board because it was too expensive or DFW Improved did not replace the hardie board for cosmetic reasons?
Once again, DFW Improved chooses to ignore the plain language of the contract for its own gain. That is called breach of conflict.
Even more to the point, DFW Improved's response is contrary to fact. It says "The reason we don't replace these horizontal trim boards is because the chimney cap flashing would have to be pried off of those horizontal boards would cause damage to the chimney cap. This was not proposed in any of the scope of work which is why it wasn't done."
In fact, the flange of the chimney cap are cut at the corners of the chimney cap, the flange is easily pried off the wood siding, the wood siding is easily replaced with wood siding, the flange re-nailed to the wood siding, and all with no damage to the chimney cap.
And, I have picture to prove it.
When I asked the DFW Improved representative, after the fact, why he replaced the wood with wood and not hardie board he said it was to match the chimneys in the neighborhood.
The words of the on-site DFW Improved representative with firsthand knowledge match the facts of the chimney.
The words of the DFW Improved's response to my complaint is a story made up in its office.
In review of DFW Improved's response to my complaints:
Its first response
1. Defamed my character
2. Completely ignored the referral fee DFW Improved owes me
3. Made false statements as to the state of the faulty roof repair workmanship
4. Admits that while in my house DFW Improved claimed that DFW Improved does not perform warranty on roof repairs and therefore no warranty was available to me notwithstanding a warranty statement in the contract
5. That is called breach of contract
6. Nonetheless, while in my house, DFW Improved claimed to be willing to repair the damage from its faulty workmanship if only the damage were more severe but sorry.
7. And then only in its written response to my BBB complaint suddenly realizes and admits that warranty repair was included in the contract
8. And now DFW Improved claims the warranty period has expired
Its second response
1. DFW Improved representative, its legal agent, offered to me and I accepted a $300 referral fee to refer my neighbor to it.
2. That is the definition of a contract.
3. I performed the referral
4. It has been two years and DFW Improved has not paid me the referral fee
5. That is the definition of breach of contract
6. Suddenly DFW Improved remembers it owes me a referral fee
7. But, DFW Improved has decided that it owes me $50.00 referral fee
8. That is called unilateral modification of contract
9. That is a second breach of contract
Its third response
1. Ignores the plain language of the contract it wrote wherein it states: "replace all corner borders and siding from chimney"
2. Re-interprets the contract to say replace only that portion of the chimney that is not too expensive for it to replace
3. That is yet another breach of contract
DFW Improved owes me $300 referral fee, all the wood in the chimney replaced with hardie board, and compensation for the damage resulting from its faulty workmanship of the roof repair.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General, Construction & Remodeling Services, Roofing Contractors, Painting Contractors, Home Improvements, Concrete Contractors, Outdoor Kitchens, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/22/2008Business started: 09/01/2004
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary St. John (Partner)Customer Contact: Mr. Jeff Renfrow (Production Manager)Mr. Ron Price (Partner)Mr. Gary Simms (Partner)
Business Category

Contractors - General, Construction & Remodeling Services, Roofing Contractors, Painting Contractors, Home Improvements, Concrete Contractors, Outdoor Kitchens, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Products & Services

Home renovation, kitchen remodeling, bathroom remodeling, flood & fire restoration, roofing, windows, flooring, interior/exterior paint, carpentry, custom cabinets, room additions, custom home building, light commercial tenant finish.

Alternate Business Names
DFW Home Services, LLC, DFW Homes, LLC

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

8 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for DFW Improved

9741 Preston Rd Ste 106

Frisco, TX 75033-2553

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 9741 Preston Rd Ste 106 

    Frisco, TX 75033-2553(972) 377-7600

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*DFW Improved is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Contractors - General

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.