BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Dallas Construction

Phone: (817) 477-1249

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
01/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Water leak between my existing home and the new additional added to my home
After the construction was complete I advise the owners that my room leaked after it rained. He returned to my home after several calls with a calk gun to do a quick fix to solve the problem he thought. He used my water hose running water at night for at least an hour trying to convince me the leak was repaired. After it rained again few weeks later once again my whole wall from the existing home leaked which now this was the 2nd time he assured me this was fixed after calking again. A 3rd time it rained I called the owner again advise him this would be the last time he needed to come to my home doing these quick fixes before this causes major damage to the room. So when he came back after several calls he brought the other workers with him this time they got on top of the house with no tools but once again the caulking gun as a quick fix assuring me again it was fixed. Now it rained again and it is still leaking so I had no choice but to report this because he is not understanding these quick fixes are not working. After spending my entire saving to get this work done he still is not giving me the customer service I desire . I paid him how he wanted to be paid. He is very slow about returning calls his company sent me threatening letter for the final payment after I seen it leaking. He would not allow me to make sure it was not leaking before he received his last check. Assuring me that if it leaks again they would return but what he did not say is they would be slow about coming and that he was only going to do a patch job which did not fix the problem. I am at end of my patience I want this fixed not patched

Desired Settlement
I want this fixed properly and not this quick fixes even if he has to send another company that will do it right

Business' Initial Response
We Have made several attempts to check on the situation. I have called and knocked at the door with no responses. I finally received a call back this Tuesday and we set up a time for Saturday afternoon. We will gladly take care of this for our clients. We apologize for any inconvenience and will do everything we can to make our clients happy

Consumer's Final Response
I called left message on *** voicemail advising him of my availablity on Wednesday 07/03/2013 waiting on response. Can make any arrangements with him if he or his representative of Dallas Contruction ***** & ******* is not returning my calls

04/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Patio structural construction issues. Mortar joints are separating along stone and brick columns. Company will not come out to look and repair.
3.5 years ago, Dallas Construction (Affordable Housing) built our patio for about $12,000. Stone and brick columns were built and also shingled roof, gutter system and three lights. The mortar joints are separating along the porch stone columns soon after construction was completed. We contacted the company and they came out to fill in the separations in the mortar. However, the issues are still happening, the base of one brick column has mortar separation and now the stone mortar separation is about one inch in places. The wood surrounding the porch is beginning to separate from the porch due to the leaning of the porch. We have contacted Dallas Construction by leaving voice mails and text messages. Every now and then a reply would occur or a phone call back to us but never have they come back out to assess the current damage. We finally had to have another company come in to assess the problem. Their assessment is that Dallas Construction did not build the porch correctly. Our next step must be litigation if nothing will happen to help fix our porch.

Desired Settlement
We would like Dallas Construction to come and fix the porch masonry/structure once and for all. Dallas Construction has not returned out callas nor has honored their promise to come and assess the porch.

Business Response
We went out and took a look at the patio. There appears to be some movement on the foundation that is causing some cracking in a little area in the center arch. This house is located at the peninsula at Joe pool lake. There is ground movement on all lands in that proximity to the lake. The actual patio cover appears to be in good shape. We did not Do the foundation on this project. The foundation appears to be in good shape as well. When the weather gets better we will go ahead and Do repairs on the mortar cracks at no additional charge for Mr *********. This Patio was built at least 5-7 years ago

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We do not accept response from Dallas Construction because we had another company (Brick Doctor) look at the issue. The Company stated that (see written statement) the column of the Patio were not grouted in the center or built with enough footprint to support lateral pressure of the adjacent arches. The company did not find any problems with the foundation. Brick doctor quote specified that a rebuild is needed due to the pressures of the arches causing the end column to lean.
Dallas construction is not acceptable and we would like to get this fixed ASAP.

12/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failed to complete the work and honor his contract warranty.
The concrete around the back door was not cleaned after completion. Destoryed the grass on the right side of the front yard and have not replace the grass.The windows of the man cave need to be caulked and screens need to be installed. Air vent in the closet need to moved in the bedroom. Bathroom sink faucet is not handicapped accessible. There is a hole in the sheetrock exposing the toilet piping. Plug to cover the screw at thebottm of the french doors needs to be inserted. The electric box in the garage eeds to be taped and bedded. The light in the storage area needs to be installed. The fans in the bedroom and man cave had to be lowered.Leak in the shower floor improper draining in the shower water flows into the non- shower area, shower handle falls off. Pocket door need to be replaced.Ramps were improperly installed and cracking inside the garaage at the end of driveway and back door. Improperly rewired the electric outlets inside the house and outside the house do not work. The vanity on the right side isn't properly aligned. Bathroom mirror isn't handicapped friendly Towel holder in bathroom isn't handicapped accessible. Bottom on the vanity has fallen off. Doors, trims, and portals was painted with flat paint not with semi-gloss. Roof was improperly installed cause leaking Threshold in the man cave been damaged by the leaking also den floor. Damaged to a halogen light and fan. Refund owed for light fixtures and plug covers. Man cave was improper painted.Had to repair the plumbing that was installed improperly over the roof rafters. He want honor his work warranty. Will not returned phone calls or emails. 1st complaint September 2012, December 2012, March 2013, and last attempted was September 2013. Was paid in full $81,000.00

Desired Settlement
Refund the money that is costing to fix the poor workmanship,and the money for my halogen light and fan.

Business Response
We Constructed a room addition for Mr. ******. Upon completion he was very satisfied with the work. and has been living in the addition for the past two years. All the items that Mr ****** states in this complaint were completed correctly upon completion of the project in 2011.
1. The concrete around the back door was cleaned
2. All new sod was installed around the the new addition and work areas
3. The windows of the man cave were caulked per code
4. The air vent in the walk in closet was installed per building code
5. Bathroom sink faucet was picked out and approved by Mr. ****** prior to installation
6. There was not any drywall holes exposing any pipes when we completed the project
7. The plugs to cover all the screws were installed at time of completion
8. The drywall at the breaker box in the garage was tape and bedded at time of completion
9. There was no light for the storage area requested, planned or charged for.
10. The ceiling fans in the man cave were installed at the height and location per Mr. ******. And were working properly at completion of project.
11. The shower floor was specifically made exactly the way Mr. ****** instructed us to do it.( I had recommended a higher slope but he said no this is how he wanted it.)
12. Shower handles were on properly and secure upon completion of project.
13. Pocket door was installed properly and in good working condition upon completion of project.
14. Ramps were installed per code and as instructed by Mr. ******. They were completed in good condition and functioning properly upon completion of project.
15. All electrical outlets were inspected and passed ** the city during wiring and at final. and were working properly at completion of project
16. The vanity on the right was placed exactly were Mr ****** instructed us to put it. with his presence at installation
17. Bathroom mirror was installed exactly were Mr. ****** instructed us to put it. With him sitting in front of the mirror on his wheel chair during installation.
18. Towel holder was placed exactly where Mr. ****** instructed us to put it. With Mr ****** sitting in front of the vanity instructing us during installation
19. the Bottom of the vanity was installed properly and in good condition at time of completion
20.All painting was completed per contract and per colors selected by Mr ****** at time of completion.
21. We came out and repaired the roof last year and repaired flooring.
22. We had finished the electrical. Mr ****** went out and purchased fancy expensive cover and wanted us to switch them all. we did at no additional cost. The cost for the fancy covers and light fixture are not our responsibility. Per contract
23. Man cave was painted in good condition per colors selected by Mr ****** at completion of project
24. No plumbing was installed by us over any roof rafters per contract.

Mr ****** still owes a Balance of $2,742.86 for the final payment. We con not do any additional work until that payment is paid.

Any items that may be warranted we will take care of at no additional charge. I will look at their electrical to make sure their house is safe. all other items stated in this complaint are not under warranty. As most these items would will be at an additional cost to Mr ****** we can not do any additional work until the balance owed has been paid. I can be contacted anytime by Mr ****** at XXX-XXX-XXXX

Thank you
*** *******

Consumer Response
He is not telling the truth I try to get him to come back To do all the repairs as they was seen and he ask me to give him time.I have picture and a letter from my insurance company. Saying they would not cover the part of the roof he install.He keep telling me he was going to be back to fix it.He known I could'tn see a lot from my wheel chair.A lot of things I did not see my friend told me.He is a conman he got me to pay come he never came back.When my roof strated linking every where he sent a guy to stop the links long anenougth until the next rain.I can show you pitures they don't lie.I after he smooth talk me into giving him that last, payment he did enougth to make me .Beleive he would keep his word.He stalled me and never come back to honor his warrty.

02/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Breach of contract. Failure to provide competent workers and failure meet building codes.
The following letter, edited for space,is what was mailed certified to Dallas Construction explains my discuss.
This is to inform that the contract signed and dated 8/14/13 and all addendum as well as any work order agreements between Affordable Homes/Dallas Construction, the Contractor and Owners, is to be considered breached by Contractor with exceptions to Contractors obligations set forth under General Provisions in Contractor's contract and as well as any damage/problems to property. Any part of project that Affordable Homes/Dallas Construction had completed, Contractor will be held responsible for its quality of workmanship. This action is due to Contractor's failure to meet the obligations as set forth in contract, poor quality of work and abandoning project there for breaching contract by Contractor. All obligations of Owners is considered void and without merit.

Contractor failed to complete project on 9/24/13 date as set by the Contractor.
Contractor abandoned the project without cause and failed to contact Owners of Contractor's intentions, if any, for completion. Contractor abandoned project 9/23/13. No attempt of communication was made to Owners by Contractor for 14 days. Owner text Contractor for their intentions on project and did not receive a reply.
Contractor failed to have materials on site for workers to complete project as agreed in contract.
Contractor failed to have and keep competent workers on site to complete project.
Contractor failed to communicate with Owner during the duration of project when workers would be on site as agreed.
Contractor failed to meet obligations set forth in contract and has breached the contract.
The Contractor can be held responsible for any additional charges due to Contactor's poor workmanship or neglect of meeting "Building Codes" for work Contractor performed.
All waste/trash from project generated by Contractor must be removed by Contractor before October 16th 5:00 p.m. to proper landfill. If not removed by Contractor by that date and time the Contractor's name, contact information will be turned over to proper authorities to have Contractor remove their waste/trash from **** ***'s property. A fine of $100 per day will be assessed if waste is not removed on time.
Contractor will pay any and all attorney's fee, court cost and pay restitution to Owner if any legal action accrues to Owners due to Contractors failure to compensate any employee or sub-contractor of the Contractor. If any employee or sub-contractor contacts Owner for monies unpaid them by Contractor, all attorney's and legal fees as well as any action needed to clear Owner's name will be paid by Contractor.
Contactor does not have permission to take any photo of property/house and use it for any type of advertisement, web-site or handouts. If found to be true, Contractor will owe and pay Owner $5,000 for use of the property/house.
Owner paid monies to Contractor as stated in contract on time as due, correct amount and when requested by Contractor. Owner also purchased material with Owners monies, which was not required, only to keep project moving forward. There are no other monies due to Contractor from Owners.
Owner reserves the right for restitution to offset any additional expenses caused by Contractor's failure to meet Building Codes. Restitution will be paid by Contractor for all Owner's attorney's fee, court cost and all other expenses due to Contractor's negligent.
All the above actions are caused by the total neglect, lack of communication, lack of consideration, lack of integrity, lack of professionalism, lack of common decorousness of Contractor's representative (said to be owner) *** ******* to perform what the Owners and the Contractor agreed to in the contract. This has been a long and very exhausting ordeal that did not need to accrue except by the actions and lack there of by the Contractor.
No one should have to go through this dealing with Dallas

Desired Settlement
At present time due to Dallas Construction not meeting "Building Code" for slab- extra cost to me $4,000 for piers.

$250 for hauling off trash created by Dallas Construction.

$150 for removal of concert from sidewalk

Completion of fireplace and reconstruction of firebox extra cost to me $1,500

Est. Total to date is $5,900

This figure is above the balance of contract signed with Dallas Construction.

*** hired sub-contractors he never worked with, had no idea what to expect from the quality of work, 2 crews walked of job site due to ***'s actions. A prolong nightmare that keeps on each time we have to go to the backyard and see the mess he created.

If no settlement is reached through BBB I am considering legal action.

He truly has no defense. His work was so inept, service was so unacceptable, he had no consideration, no integrity.

Business Response
We entered into a contract with Mr **** & ******* Rausche to build a patio cover on 8/21 13. We completed the project by 8/31/13. at that time Mr ******* was very pleased and signed a work order to add a flagstone fireplace to the back corner of the patio. The final payment for the patio cover was due in the amount of $950.00 Mr ******* kept putting off making this payment even though the patio cover was completed.(in breach of contract per our signed contract which reads;"If Payment is not made when due contractor may suspend work in the job until such time as all payments due have been paid.) to date this payment has not been paid.
We started construction of his fireplace which would have taken about a week. But Mr **** ******* kept making changes as he was there every day all day watching my contractors work. My contractors became very frustrated being micro managed and having to constantly redo work per Mr ******* instructions to them. At the end of the week they quit off the job. stating they had put more work into the fireplace than needed to be and would not return. The following week We sent out another crew to finish the fireplace. Again Mr ******* was micro managing for two days. This crew quit the morning of the 3rd day because when they arrived Mr ******* had removed all the work they had finished the day before and told them he wanted the stone pattern a little different(even though he had sat there watching then and directing them how he wanted the stone pattern the previous day) The Following week we brought out a third crew to finish the chimney but the gate doors were locked and Mr ******* would not answer his door, phone or texts that we sent him. We Have been out to his property six times where the gates were locked and we get no response from Mr *******. We have picture and video of the times and dates we have been on site to complete the project but were denied access by Mr *******.
(1)We can Not complete a project without Access
(this is a breach of contract by Mr *******
(2) payment of the the Patio Cover in the amount of $950.00 needs to be paid
(this is breach of contract by Mr *******

We have Tried to work with Mr ******* from the biggining. During the patio cover he was micro manageing my carpenters as well and they were very tolorant. Mr ******* is a Very detailed person and that fine. I can work with that. But not allowing us access to finish the project and now making a complaint that is not how projects get completed.

I need to know when we can have access to complete project.
When we will receive the payment that is now more than 60 days passed ****

The project is almost complete There is only 2' of stone chimney left to complete the chimney and be done with this project.

Please have Mr Rausche provide answers to these questions. So we everyone can move forward and have this behind us.

Thank you
Have a Blessed Day
*** *******

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We entered into a contract with Mr **** & ******* ******* to build a patio cover on 8/21 13. We completed the project by 8/31/13.(HE DID NOT COMPLETE PROJECT AS READ,AN ADDENDUM THAT HE SIGNED AND SET THE TIME FRAME, TIME AND DATE. HE DID NOT *****. HE LEFT PROJECT FOR 14 DAYS AFTER PROJECT WAS TO BE COMPLETED, PROJECT NOT FINISHED, NEVER HEARD FROM HIM AGAIN) at that time Mr ******* was very pleased (I WAS NOT PLEASED HE KNOWS IT) and signed a work order (WORK ORDER WAS SIGNED LONG BEFORE PATIO WAS NEAR COMPLETION) to add a flagstone fireplace to the back corner of the patio. (I, RAUSCHE, HAD TO WRITE THREE DIFFERENT ADDENDUM S JUST TO TRY AND MAKE SURE HE DID WHAT HE SAID HE WAS GOING TO DO, TO NO AVAIL.)The final payment for the patio cover was due in the amount of $950.00 Mr ******* kept putting off (NOT TRUE, PROJECT WAS NOT COMPLETE, NOT ONCE DID HE ASK FOR PAYMENT NOR DID I PUT IT OFF, IF ASKED I WOULD HAVE DECLINED BECAUSE BY THIS TIME THERE WAS A HISTORY OF TYPE OF WORK AND THE PROJECT WAS NOT COMPLETE TO PAY)making this payment even though the patio cover was completed. (TOTALLY NOT TRUE) (in breach of contract per our signed contract which reads; "If Payment is not made when due contractor may suspend work in the job until such time as all payments due have been paid.) (WHY DID YOU START FIREPLACE IF CONTRACT WAS BREACHED ON PATIO AND I OWE YOU MONEY) to date this payment has not been paid. (HE NEVER FINISHED PROJECT WHY PAY) We started construction of his fireplace which would have taken about a week.(HE KEPT TELLING ME TWO DAYS AND THEN IT RAN INTO 2 MONTHS LATER NOT FINISHED) But Mr **** ******* kept making changes as he was there every day (I HAD TO BE THERE TO CORRECT ALL ERRORS THAT WERE BEING MADE AND SLOPPY WORK AND I LOST MONEY AS WELL FOR TAKING OFF WORK) all day watching my contractors work. (NO, *** COULD NOT FIND ANYONE WHO WOULD WORK FOR HIM. PROJECT SET DAYS, NO WORKERS) My contractors became very frustrated (WITH ***) being micro managed and having to constantly redo work per Mr ******* instructions to them. At the end of the week they quit off the job. stating they had put more work into the fireplace than needed to be and would not return.(TOTALLY NOT TRUE) The following week (ONE AND 1/2 WEEKS LATER) we sent out another crew to finish the fireplace. Again Mr ******* was micro managing for two days. This crew quit the morning of the 3rd day because when they arrived Mr ******* had removed all the work they had finished (I REMOVED FIVE SMALL LOOSE STONES) the day before and told them he wanted the stone pattern a little different (even though he had sat (NO I WENT TO WORK A HALF DAY AND CAME BACK AND FOUND THAT NIGHT WHAT I DID NOT WANT TO PAY FOR, THE STONES WERE LOOSE SETTING ON A LEDGE) there watching then and directing them how he wanted the stone pattern the previous day) (WHY THEN DID THEY CALL ME AND WANTED TO WORK FOR ME AND NOT ***. TOTAL FABRICATION ***) The Following week (A WEEK LATER) we brought out a third crew to finish the chimney but the gate doors were locked and Mr ******* would not answer his door, phone or texts that we sent him. (COMPLETE AND TOTALLY NOT TRUE AND FABRICATED, INCREDIBLE) We Have been out to his property six times (NOT TO MY KNOWLEDGE) where the gates were locked and we get no response from Mr *******. (COMPLETELY NOT TRUE, I'M GLAD YOUR PUTTING THIS DOWN ON PAPER ***). We have picture and video of the times and dates we have been on site to complete the project but were denied access by Mr *******. (SHOW ME)
(1)We can Not complete a project without Access (this is a breach of contract by Mr *******
(2) payment of the the Patio Cover in the amount of $950.00 needs to be paid (PROJECT NOT COMPLETED)
(this is breach of contract by Mr *******

We have Tried to work with Mr ******* from the biggining. During the patio cover he was micro manageing my carpenters as well and they were very tolorant. Mr ******* is a Very detailed person and that fine.(YES DETAILED ENOUGH TO HAVE ALL RECORDS AND ACCOUNT, WITNESSES AND TIMES PHONE RECORDS OF CALLS AND TEXT MESSAGES) I can work with that. But not allowing us access to finish (COMPLETELY AND TOTALLY NOT TRUE, AFTER TWO MONTHS FROM START DATE WE WANTED IT COMPLETED)the project and now making a complaint that is not how projects get completed. (YOUR RIGHT, THEY GET COMPLETED BY PROFESSIONALS WITH INTEGRITY,***** AND DOING WHAT THEY SAY THEY WERE GOING TO DO. QUALITY WORK ON TIME.)

I need to know when we can have access to complete project. (YOU LEFT, DID NOT FINISH, I WAITED 14 DAYS, NEVER HEARD A THING)
When we will receive the payment that is now more than 60 days passed ****

The project is almost complete There is only 2' of stone chimney left to complete the chimney and be done with this project. (WHEN YOU LEFT,YOU FORGOT, THE ONLY THING WAS COMPLETE WAS FIREBOX, NOT BUILT CORRECTLY THAT I WILL HAVE TO PAY TO CORRECT. AGAIN INCREDIBLE.IF 2' IS LEFT WHY WOULD I NOT ALLOW YOU TO FINISH YOUR QUALITY WORK YOU SAY YOUR SO PROUD OF? IF 2'IS LEFT TO COMPLETE WHY HAVE I SPENT OVER $4,000,THAT I WOULD RATHER NOT,TO CORRECT THE MESS THAT WAS LEFT. COMPLETELY FAILED TO MEET BUILDING CODES THAT NOW IS COSTING MY WIFE AND I A GREAT DEAL TO CORRECT. THE TOTAL LACK OF INTEGRITY, HONESTY AND JUST BEING A HUMAN WANTING TO DO THE RIGHT THING IS UNBELIEVABLE.)
______________________________________________
______________________________________________
ROD AND HIE WIFE ROXANN AND I KNOW THE COMPLETE TRUTH. HE KNOWS WHAT I HAVE STATED IS TRUE AND ACCURATE.

THERE WILL BE A GREAT DEAL MORE I WILL BE PRESENTING LATER. AS YOU SAID I AM A DETAILED PERSON. WORKING WITH PEOPLE LIKE THIS ONE HAS TO BE.

ROD TO YOU I SAY, IF YOU CLAIM TO BE A RELIGIOUS PERSON WITH YOUR SALUTATION "HAVE A BLESSED DAY" ALSO ON YOUR VOICE MAIL THAT I LEFT MESSAGES ON TOO MANY TIMES TO REMEMBER WITH NO REPLY, IF YOU HAVE A BIBLE, SCRIPTURES YOU SHOULD READ THAT WILL ANSWER ALL YOUR QUESTIONS (IF YOU ARE GOD FEARING) READ FIRST CORINTHIAN 6:9-10. BE INTERESTED IN YOUR THOUGHTS ABOUT IT.

WE KNOW THE TRUTH WHAT TOOK PLACE. THE TRUTH WILL COME OUT ***. YOU WANTED ANSWERS TO YOUR QUESTIONS,YOU ALREADY HAD THE ANSWERS BEFORE YOU ASKED. LAST TEXT MESSAGE TO YOU I ASKED "DID YOU HAVE ANY INTENTIONS OF FINISHING PROJECT" NO ANSWER FROM YOU AT ALL.

MY WIFE AND AND WANT YOU OUT OF OUR LIVES, AFTER RETRIBUTION.

12/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have water damage in the add-on. there are water stain in loose boards on the ceiling. All of this is from poor roof installed.
Dallas Construction finish the job I told them that the roof material have to many bubbles in it and the flashing wasn't seal right, they came back out, repair the flashing in said it will not leak. They did the add-on in Nov 2011.*** signed a form said that if it leak he would put on a special roof. After call him to come out he finally did, said the guys will be out in 2 to 3 days, that was the first week in Nov. we are still trying to call him he will return our call I also send him a certified letter two week ago in still no response. Please help

Desired Settlement
Dallas Construction installed a add-on to my house Nov. 2011 When we did a walk thru I notice that the roof material has a lot of humps ,bubbles, and blisters. They came back out to repaired the roof material and flashing, it look like a temporary fixed. *** told me that once we get into the summer months it will go down. I had *** to signed a form saying if the roof leaks he would repaired it with a differ type of roof, he signed it in said that we have a ten years warranty on the roof. Now our ceiling has water stain on it in we have loose board. Call *** and he came out said that they will be out in 2 to 3 days. Two week later in four phone calls, he will not answer. I sent him a certified letter and two week later still no response. Please help!!!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***@dallasconstruction.com
Dallas Construction was contact By phone call by Mrs ******* about some concerns with her roof, at that time we made an appointment to come look at her concerns. After we looked at her roof we have determined that the roof materials have not performed as expected. the roof is not leaking but it has some bubbles that it should not have. we have contacted the manufacturer so their rep can come look at the materials to determine what is warranted by the manufacturer.Mr and Mrs ******* were told by us that we would take care of it as soon as we could. As soon as we find out something we will let them know. We have not received any letters or any other phone calls from the ******** until this complaint was filed. Surprisingly We will do all that we can to help them resolve this issue.

07/31/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contractor failed to perform the labor in a good and workmanlike manner consistent with the terms of the contract agreement.
On March 18, 2013 *** (owner) had his construction team begin building my patio cover (15' x 26') and outdoor kitchen with bar top (10 lf) for $19,000. The targeted completion of this project was scheduled for three weeks with segmented payments scheduled upon completion of specific tasks towards project (payments were always received ON TIME). Construction of the outdoor kitchen was delayed due to staffing issues *** had with his brick construction team. The team lead vented to me that he was not getting his expected payment from the owner (***) on time and *** had failed to be present during critical decisions that were necessary for the kitchen project. The consequence of failed presence caused numerous delays throughout this project. During the middle of the outdoor kitchen project the brick construction crew quit their employment from ***. Their absence further delayed an already late project timeline. *** then resourced the brick labor from the wood frame/electrical crew, which had earlier stated to me that upon completion of their electrical work that their services would no longer be needed. Due to the lack of experience by the wood frame/electrical crew in brick laying the bar top fell down during construction and had to be reassembled May 2nd. On May 25th the entire project was noted as completed by *** and confirmed that I could now entertain guests on the patio for a Memorial Day cookout (held on Sunday evening of May 26th). On May 26th at 9:20pm the entire bar top collapsed again due to three men (party guests) resting their elbows on the bar top. This slightly injured the guests and the falling bricks narrowly missed children playing nearby. No medical treatment was necessary at that time. *** and crew stated that this was not due to their workmanship but my guests intentionally pulling the bar top off. His assumption was completely FALSE and had no evidence to support such accusation. After repeated attempts on my behalf to reach *** he finally agreed to view the damage himself to assess the materials needed to correct the matter. *** arrived at my residence on Monday, June 4th at 8:30am. He once again reinstated that the bar top was no fault to his workmanship and it often takes years for the mortar and concrete to properly cure. I firmly requested that he does not reuse the same materials and personnel as the prior brick laborers. I also asked for a timeline on when this project would finally be completed. He stated he would provide this information by the evening of June 4th but failed to follow through on his promise and has avoided my repeated attempts to contact him.

Desired Settlement
I want Affordable Home Construction provide a reasonable timeline for completion of the entire project and meet the target date without further cost to myself. The final project should meet all safety and structure compliancy codes dictated by the City of Grand Prairie Building Permit. If the target date for completion is not met I wish to receive financial compensation of the worth of the outdoor kitchen (~$9000) to be outsourced to another contractor. My 10 year warranty must also remain valid for the work provided by Affordable Home Construction as stated in my contract. The value of the outdoor kitchen derives from an estimate provided by Affordable Home Construction.

Business' Initial Response
Mr. ***** contracted us to build a 12'x 26' patio cover and outdoor kitchen and flagstone decking witch we completed in a timely manner. The size was changed to be bigger to 15'x 26' to date he still owes $350.00 for the additional sealer and $750.00 balance of the additional 3' a total of $1,1000.00 which is now over 30 days late

I have pictured showing everything completed and in good condition.

This became a problem when Mr ***** had a party the weekend of the May 26. We had just finished putting the bar tops on that Friday and they were not given enough time for the mortar to set up well. at that party the tops behind the grill were knocked off. Mr ***** told us that it just fell of when his guest pulled on it. We went ahead and put new tops on it at no extra charge. A few weeks later He had another big party. I get a call Monday from Mr. ***** saying that the bar top fell off. this time it was the other side. (not the side that got knocked down the first time) I sent my guys over there to look at it and repair it. But the tops had been broken too much to repair. I went by to look at them to see what was needed to replace them. when I arrived Mr. ***** became rude and offensive and threatening to me. so at that time I decided we do not need to be in a hostile environment that Mr. ***** was creating.
I know for a fact that the tops did not just fall off. Me and one of my workers had stood up on top of the tops that had supposedly fallen off to do a caulk and paint detail to the ceiling.

If Mr. ***** had not acted in his hostile demeanor when I went to look at them he would have gotten them repaired at no extra charge. Even though I know there was nothing wrong with them and they were knocked down intentionally by someone.

When Mr. ***** first contacted me about the tops he stated to me he did not see how it happened but he heard the crash. And the same person was involved with the second and the first time. and supposedly he just rested his arm on the bar top.(same bar top that held the weight of 350 lb. of me and my worker on top of it with no problem)

I understand that intentional or un-intentional things can happen. I was not at these parties to know what all went on all I can do is do my best to make the situation the best it can be. and I work with my clients as good as we can.

We were going to help him out with his bar tops until he became loud, rude, offensive and threatening.

Per our contract all work will be suspended if payments are not made when due. There is a $1,100.00 balance past due.

If Mr. ***** wants us to help him with his tops. first he needs to get current with his past due balance. Second we need to have his word in writing that he will not get Loud, offensive or Threatening in any way to anyone associated with our company. Then we will take care of this for him at no Additional charge

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As of 6/25/2013 no mention of additonal payment was communicated to me in written or verbal form. I will not deny a final payment is due but as per his contract it was not to be received until "ALL WORK SHALL BE COMPLETED IN A WORKMAN-LIKE MANNER AND IN COMPLIANCE WITH ALL BUILDING CODES AND BUILDER SPECIFICATIONS." He has never requested additional payment because he knows that he had not completed all final work. He has avoided all my repeated attempts to contact him. If payment was due he would at least make effort to reach out to me. *** has repeatedly failed to communicate to me since his promise made on June 4th that he would schedule someone to come out and fix his "lackluster" brick work. There has been no further communication since his visit. His job remains incomplete and he shall not receive payment until all necessary work has been made with honor to his 10 year workmanship warranty. As for my behavior upon his visit his comments are greatly exaggerated. He has taken advantage of my kindness to such an extent that he now cannot accept the fact that I will remain firm in no less than satisfactory workmanship on his behalf. I will no longer accept false promises as his lack of committment and professionalism. I wish to receive financial compensation of the worth of the outdoor kitchen (
$9000) to be outsourced to another contractor. He has breeched his contract and has now resorted to distorting the truth to accommodate his total lack of intergrity.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General, Contractor - Industrial, Contractor - Commercial, Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction, Roof Repairs, Remodeling Services, Bathroom Remodeling, Construction & Remodeling Services, Roofing Service Consultants, Roofing Contractors, Patio Builder, Patio & Deck Builders, Home Improvements - Additions, Home Improvements, Home Builders, Kitchen Remodeling

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.