BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/09/2000

S & H Distributing

Phone: (214) 638-3311Fax: (214) 638-3585View Additional Phone Numbers8717 Directors Row, DallasTX 75247-5505 Send email to S & H Distributing

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/09/2000

BBB has determined that S & H Distributing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised S & H Distributing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
04/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: Product was delivered and installed. Immediately upon installation the room divider was catching on door and starting to bow.
Purchased and paid for new floors on 2/22/2014. The floors were installed on 2/25/2014 and 2/26/2014. On 2/27/2014 S & H Distributors called to make sure everything was installed correctly and if I was happy with the installation. I advised I was but there was an issue with the back door. I explained the back door was catching on the room divider each time I opened the door. She said that was an issue and would create a work order to have someone come out and see what needed to be done to correct the issue. She did say it would be the following week before the contacted me. I did not hear anything so I contacted *** ****** on 3/12/2014. I explained to *** what the situation was, he said he would look into the situation and get back to me. He thought it would be covered under the warranty. I asked if he would like me to take and send him pictures. He said yes that would be great. I took the pictures and sent them to Mr. ******* He contacted me again 6:49a.m on 3/17/2014, he said he was struggling with a new cell phone and could not look at the pictures. He requested I send them to the installer. I sent them to the installer. 8:58 3/17/2014 Mr. ****** advised this is a door issue and I have to have the door adjusted and this would not be covered under the warranty. There was nothing they could do further to assist me. I am not the professional floor installer. This is something that should have been advised immediately by the installer. It should not have taken several weeks for them to respond and then refuse to do anything about the situation. If they had advised immediately upon installation that the door needed to be adjusted, I would have had someone look at it and see if that was the issue before the floor started to bow. The door did not catch on the flooring that was there before. I should have been informed and the issue should have been reviewed immediately before the room divider was damaged.

Initial Business Response
March 28, 2014
BBB Serving Dallas and Northeast Texas
1601 Elm Street
Suite 3838
Dallas, TX 75201
214.220.2000
Re: Case#XXXXXXXX
To Whom It May Concern:
All repairs in reference to the above case number have been completed to Ms. ******* ****'s
satisfaction.
If there are any further questions, please contact me.
****** *****
Vice President

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/24/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They refused to replace a poor installed glued down hardwood floor as previously promised by the sales lady and her sales manager
I bought some glue down hardwood floor from Marion, who is a sales lady at S & H distribution. Initially I wanted to install myself but then decided to hire a contractor to do the job. I contacted Marion and she told me that she could let her contractor to do the job and all the warranty issue would be handled by SH distribution. She assigned the job to her contractor Israel, Israel then sent his contractor, Mario, to install the floor. On 7/19/2013, two days after the installation, I noticed that almost 1/3 of the floor was not glued down and the transition piece came off. I contacted Mario, he came back and did the inspection. He agreed to replace the floor for me. After three days of waiting, I contacted Marion, the sales lady about the problem, she was very responsive at that point and told me she would take care of the problem going forward. On 07/24, she and her sales manager came to my house, and promised me they would take care of the problem and replace my floor. Since then, I have kept contacting Marion asking for update. At one point, she told me that they were ordering the board, but due to heavy rain in the area, it was not easy to put my job on the schedule. more then three weeks have passed, then suddenly this week when I asked for update, she told me that I need to go to the installer for warranty issue and insisted she was not liable. I have the text messages saved which clearly shows that she told me that the warranty will be handled by SH distribution not the installer, it also shows that she and her manager have agreed to replace my floor. If she think the warranty should be handled by the installer, why did she told me that they are ordering the board, why did she and her sales manager even bother to come to my house to inspect the floor? As a good business practice, they should keep their promise and replace my floor. I don't know the installed, the installer is their contractor. They should be responsible for the job their contractor does for the customer.

Initial Business Response
To: BBB Dallas
RE: Case# XXXXXXXX
From: Rachel Stacy
Mr. ***** purchased only product from S & H Distributing. S & H Distributing sold the job as labor
direct and Mr. ***** was to contract with a installer and pay the installer directly for the installation. S
& H did not sell or imply any warranty on the installation. The sales person did get in touch with the
man who did the installation and he was going back on 9/13/13 to correct the installation problem. S &
H Distributing is responsible only for the material warranty on Mr. *****. We did not sell the
installation and are not responsible for the warranty. We have tried to accommodate and help him get
this resolved.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: S&H reps promised,but did not return my calls and emails to discuss the purchase of carpet for my church. They ignored me for no obvious reason.
On 6/21/13 I called and left a text msg with Trey Smith regarding getting a quote for carpet for my church. I called Mr. Smith again on 6/24/13 and talked to him about my request. He asked me to email him the information. Sent the email on 6/24/13 along with a sketch of the rooms where the carpet would be installed. I called & left a text msg to Mr. Smith on 6/25/13 to check that he received my email. NO RESPONSE. I called S&H office on 6/26/13 and they transfered me to Mr. Smith. He said that he received my email and was working on an estimate for me and he would have it to me by the next day. HE DID NOT RESPOND.

I called the S&H office back on 7/9/13 and asked if I could work with another rep, since Mr. Smith was not being responsive. They transferred me over to another rep, Joe Polito. Mr. Polito ask that I email him the information that I had sent to Mr. Smith. He gave me 2 email addresses and I sent the email to both. He promised that he would respond to me within 2 day. I HAVE YET TO HEAR BACK FROM HIM OR ANYONE ELSE FROM S&H.

I think that it is unprofessional, and in poor taste for S&H to "leave me hanging" waiting to hear back from them on several occasions. I had a fairly good size job for them (3555 Sq. Ft. of carpeting). I wanted to give them our business because I thought that they would give us the best price, based on having done business with them in the past.

Furthermore, Mr. Smith has a really bad attitude and does not conduct himself with a high degree of professionalism

Business' Initial Response
Mr. ********* has been a valued prior customer of our company! We appreciate his taking the time and effort to detail unsatisfactory communications and follow up from two of our sales representatives. By copy of this memo, I am formally apologizing and expressing what I previously told him in our phone conversation. Next time his church needs flooring I will personally handle and insure he has handle and insure he has a unbelievable deal! Mr. ********* a unbelievable deal. Mr. ********* previously accepted my telephone apology.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/15/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation did not disclose key conditions of the offer

Complaint: They did not install carpet and will not refund our money nor return our phone calls. They took our carpet and padding with them when the job was canc
Did not measure space and did not tell us the approximate measurement we gave them needed to be exact. We were left to assume the carpet professionals would measure and fit.Not enough carpet upon installation. Took our carpet and padding when they left and will not refund our money or return phone calls and texts. We are left with a concrete floor with nail strips to hold the carpet down and I have a 2 year old!

Business' Initial Response
My name is ****** ****** and I am the owner of S & H Distributing. Mrs. ****** brought her measurements into our store and ordered a 12x21 (252 square feet) for her home. When we arrived the room was considerably larger and required additional carpet. I have personally spoke to Mrs. ****** and she advised me that she and her husband had made a decision to put laminate down in lieu of carpet. Normally we would charge a 25% restocking fee when we have made a cut for a job. We waived the restocking fee and only charged her a $75 trip charge. She advised me she had no problem and understood that our laborers lost a days work. We are sending out the refund check today in the amount of $105.56 which is the amount of her deposit less the $75 trip charge that she agreed to. We have been more than accommodating when all we did send her what she had purchased.

Thanks,

****** ******

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/19/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
02/15/2013Problems with Product / Service
09/07/2012Billing / Collection Issues
08/27/2012Problems with Product / Service
05/17/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - Flooring, Stone - Natural, Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Carpet & Rug Dealers - New, Granite, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Floors - Raised

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/30/1994Business started: 01/01/1988
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Ann Stacy (President)Customer Contact: Mr. John Stacy (Vice President)
Business Category

Contractors - Flooring, Stone - Natural, Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Carpet & Rug Dealers - New, Granite, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Floors - Raised

Alternate Business Names
S & H Carpet Distributing, Dallas Flooring Warehouse

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for S & H Distributing

8717 Directors Row

Dallas, TX 75247-5505

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 8717 Directors Row 

    Dallas, TX 75247-5505

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*S & H Distributing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 880-1717
  • (214) 383-1144
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Contractors - Flooring

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.