BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Fox Concrete Innovations

Phone: (214) 395-2221

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
05/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
***** concrete, L.P. was never payed for their concrete!
I payed **** *** $3500.00 on September 30 to begin the project and on October 5 at the end of the project payed him the remaining balance of $4000.00! This money was to cover the entire job according to the estimate that I have. After phoning **** *** numerous times He stated to me he needed more time to pay the concrete company and that He would pay them. It would appear to me He never intended on paying them since now He claims to the Bodin concrete company I never payed Him for the concrete. The ***** concrete company has now processed a lien against my property for $1991.80 because **** *** has never payed this!

Desired Settlement
Pay the concrete company what you owe them! Dismiss this lien on my home title!

Business Response
I would like to provide the following response to the above referenced complaint.

Difficulties arose after this project and complications prevented the payment necessary at the time. However a deal has been reached and progressive payments will be made until the balance is paid in full to the concrete supplier.

***** ***
owner

12/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
*** failed to pay subcontractors, walked off of the job and did not complete the work for which they were paid. They are crooks.
I contracted *** Concrete Innovations to pour a concrete pad and build a fireplace for an outdoor living room. They poured the pad, but did not pay the concrete mix supplier. They wrote two bad checks to the concrete mix supplier. They hired a subcontractor to build the fireplace. They did not pay the subcontractor. I wound up paying the subcontractor and the concrete mix supplier even though I paid *** for this. I paid for the materials to build the fireplace. *** did not purchase the stone to wrap the outside of the fireplace and I had to purchase this even though *** asked for a draw to pay for this the day the material was supposed to have been ordered. It was never ordered. I paid $4,500 on 8/19 for an additional flagstone patio. That work has never been performed. With the work that I paid for and did not receive along with the payments that I had to make to the subcontractor, *** Concrete Innovations owes me over $15,000. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I have tried to work this out with ***, but they repeatedly lie to my face and in writing.

Desired Settlement
If they provide me with a cashier's check in the amount of $15,000, this claim will be settled. If they are unwilling to do this within 14 days, I will file criminal theft of services charges with the Dallas Police Department.

Business Response
Currently working with customer to finish up job and resolve issues.

07/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I hired Fox Concrete to install a driveway and a culvert. The culvert does not drain because it is too high and the driveway is cracking everywhere.
In August of 2014 I contracted Greg *** to install a circle driveway and a new culvert entrance onto my property. One of the primary things I continuously told him was that the ditch needed to drain through the new culvert. The slope had to be correct so that it would not hold water. On the day he installed the culvert I was home and watched him put it in. I noticed that it seemed to be too high on one end and I told him so. He insisted that it would be fine. Also, when he poured the concrete for the culvert he did not pour it all together. There are two concrete walls that abut the culvert on both sides to form a support. He called them "ears". These ears were poured separately from the rest of the culvert in essence creating a separated pieces of concrete. They have already cracked and pulled away from the main culvert walls. Extremely poor quality of work. The driveway that was installed was supposed to be high tension strength concrete so that it would withstand multiple cars parked on it. The driveway is cracking everywhere and it just looks awful. I called Greg on multiple occasions and asked that he come and look at the culvert to explain why it would not drain. I also asked him to shoot a survey level on the culvert to see if it was in fact higher on the draining end than where the water entered the drain He told me that he would have someone check it and let me know. They supposedly sent someone to check it and they said it was fine and that the reason the water was not draining was because the ground was not "percolating". HIs suggestion for fixing the problem was to dig a hole near the end of the culvert and fill it full of rocks. I rejected that theory and that solution. After waiting for weeks for him to "Get back to me" I finally hired a Civil Engineering Survey company to come and survey the ditch to determine the actual slope. I paid $425 for this service. They supplied me with a report stating that the drainage was not correct. It is several inches higher on the draining end than where the water enters the culvert making it impossible to adequately drain. I emailed the report to Mr. *** and got no response. After a week or two of trying to get in touch with him, I learned that he had filed for bankruptcy. I have not been able to reach him since then. The quality of his work is terrible and I would never recommend him to anyone else. I don't want him to repair the problems because I just don't think he would care or do it right. I would prefer that he refund all of my money AND pay to have the current driveway removed so I can have another built. At one point, I had to pay the concrete company a $7000 invoice because he didn't pay for the concrete he used on my driveway, so the concrete company put a lien on my house. I had to pay for the concrete myself after I had already paid him.
This gut is nothing more than a criminal with a business card. I am not sure about this, but I hear he has started another company. I guess he is looking for more people to screw over. What a crook. I would appreciate anything you can do to apply some pressure to get him to do the right thing.

Desired Settlement
I paid Greg *** $17,700 for the driveway and the culvert. The entire project is ****. I also paid another $425 to have the drainage surveyed. In addition, before the driveway can be redone, the entire thing would have to be demolished and hauled off. I suspect that would cost another $5,000 to $7,000. For me to be satisfied I would want a refund for what I paid, plus the $425 for the survey, plus the cost of removing the existing driveway and culvert. That would be a total somewhere in the area of $23125.00. That is what I want. If I find that he has started another business while going through bankruptcy on his old company, after ripping me off, I plan to sue his butt off.

Business Response
In response to Mr. ******' complaint there is much to be explained. First of all there are many inaccurate statements and some that don't even relate to his particular issue, and seem to be pure slander. Mr. ****** went through the invoice once it was presented to him and literally crossed items off and said he was not going to pay for them. This actually voids any warranty that we would be willing to offer him. However in attempt to service our clientele and avoid a bashing on the internet like he has still chosen to do we offered him a few alternatives to fix the drainage issue. He declined and only appears to just want a refund as he stated above in this complaint. He also says we never emailed him back or talked to him, however I have personally responded to every song email that was sent to me and have them in my sent box to prove so. The driveway is fine. As far as concrete goes it will always end up with some sort of surface cracking (it's guaranteed to do so) the driveway was poured extra thick with proper reinforcing and is sturdy. There is no structural issues with the work that was done at Mr. ******** house. The other things that he states in the emails are all lies as well (we have went out of business and started a new company) that is in fact a lie. He is out just to hurt the reputation of good contractors who get messed around by clients and have absolutely no protection because he can post it on the Internet. People who cross items off the list and refuse to pay for some item and also brag about "beating them up on the price" don't deserve to have a place to complain. We performed a great job at Mr. ******** reaidence and even went the extra mile by offering a solution to the problem after he didn't pay the total bill and this is how he acts. Nothing more than a criminal who is trying to get everything he wants for free.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not agree that there are inaccurate statements in my complaint. When I first asked for a bid from Fox Concrete I told him specifically that I wanted the area to be graded, even if he had to add that to his bid over and above the concrete costs. But I wanted that included in his bid. I told him several times that I wanted everything included in his bid. After he poured the concrete he then presented me with another separate invoice to do the grading, and I told him no, that it should have been included in his estimate. I don't see at all why that would affect any kind of warranty. The problem is not with the grading, the problem is that fact that the culvert is too high on one end. There is no place for the water to go except in the ditch between the existing culvert and the new culvert. I had this independently surveyed and I have the drawings that show that the culvert is higher than it is supposed to be. I was told by the engineer at the survey company that there was no way for this water to drain with the elevation on the new culvert. No amount of grading can help the culvert drain if it is higher than the level of the ditch. It is simple physics.
Mr. Fox says that they offered a few solutions to fix the drainage issue, but he only offered one. The alternative he offered was to dig a hole next to the culvert and fill it with rocks. I refused that option because it simply does not fix the real problem. That is the only option that he offered. Period.

I completely resent his accusations that I am lying about anything. As far as them going out of business, I got that information from the internet where it told about Fox Concrete filing for bankruptcy. You know you hear all the time about fly by night contractors that work out of the back of a pickup truck. They start a company, screw some people over, file for bankruptcy, then start another company using some other family member as the owner of the new company. They then look for new clients they can make promises to, and then screw them over.

Don't tell me that doesn't happen because I know for a fact that it does. When I read that they had filed for bankruptcy my first impression was that they did that in order to not have to deal with the problems they created here for me.

I am not out to ruin anyone's reputation as Mr. Fox has stated, nor have I bragged about "beating them up on price". I have no idea where that even came from. All I am trying to do is get what I paid a lot of money for. That is a culvert that works and doesn't hold water. I paid him a lot of money, and he did not do a good job at all, I don't care what he says. The only extra mile he went is to the bank with my check. And if there is any criminal activity going on here as Mr. Fox has stated, it is his activity, not mine. I am simply a homeowner who hired a BAD Contractor and I just want to get what I paid for. The reason I stated I wanted a refund is because I do not trust Mr. Fox to fix this problem correctly, and I would just be right back where I am right now if I allowed him to do so. Next time I will hire a contractor that knows what they are doing. Mr. Fox apparently doesn't seem to.

P.S. I plan to continue "Bashing", as Mr. Fox called it, his company on the internet and anywhere else I can, so that I can let others know what kind of results they can expect to get if they choose to use him as a contractor. I would not recommend him or his company to anyone for anything.

06/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The Contractor installed concrete steps bordered by red bricks. The bricks have a white concrete/mortar film when dry.
I contracted Fox Concrete Innovations to remove and replace my front stairs and driveway. Also, they were to add a walkway going to the street. In addition, I contracted them to remove and replace the backyard patio. The contract was signed Jul. 26th and 29th with estimated start date of Aug. 26th and finish date of Sept. 2nd. Work started Aug. 27th and completed Sept. 23rd. The total agreed to cost was $10,117.60

The current problem is that the bricks bordering the front steps are covered with a concrete/mortar film that turns white when the bricks are dry. Also, the brick walls in my entryway have the same type of coating. I had not paid much attention to the white coating since it was not showing all the time (when wet). Once it became apparent that the coating was not going to wash off by it's self, I tried scrubbing with water and sugar previously used by the Contractor. When this did not work, I tried scrubbing the bricks with TSP-PF with no success.

I contacted the Contractor concerning this problem on Oct. 4th. The Contractor quickly responded that they would be out the following week with a product that should "do the trick". On Thursday (Oct. 10th) of the following week and again on Oct. 12th, I sent emails asking when they would be here. The Contractor responded on Oct. 13th acknowledging responsibility and that he would look at his schedule and let me know exactly when they would be here. Seven days later, I have not received any further communication from the Contractor.

When the job was completed on Sept. 23rd, I was pleased with the final result and felt they had "gone the extra mile" to provide a quality product. However, the Contractor needs to finish the job by cleaning the concrete/mortar residue covering the border and entryway bricks. So far, I've only received empty commitments which do not resolve the problem.

Desired Settlement
The Contractor needs to finish the job by cleaning the concrete/mortar residue covering the border and entryway bricks. So far, I've only received empty commitments which do not resolve the problem.

Business Response
I would like to provide the following reply to the above referenced complaint.

Customer was satisfied when we left the job and wouldn't pay the balance until she was.
As far as the concrete there are no structural issues that exist. Major structural issues are covered under warranty, however upon inspection there are none that exist. When installed, the driveway and patio were both built to higher specs than required and required and are structurally sound. As far as what our recommendation for not sealing the driveway it is not a common thing to do, and most driveways poured by our company are not sealed. We made this known to the customer and she seemed to be ok with that especially after we mentioned that if she really wanted the driveway to be sealed we would for an extra fee. The customer didn't want to pay the extra fee for sealing the driveway so it was left at that. Any stains from the outer elements, animals, and vehicles are not the responsibility of our company to clean. Keeping the concrete clean falls solely on the hands of the homeowner.

Heath Fox
owner

FOX // CONCRETE INNOVATIONS
XXXXX ******* Way
Forney, Tx XXXXX
XXX XXX XXXX

Business Response
I would like to provide the following reply to the above referenced complaint.

Customer was satisfied when we left the job and wouldn't pay the balance until she was.
As far as the concrete there are no structural issues that exist. Major structural issues are covered under warranty, however upon inspection there are none that exist. When installed, the driveway and patio were both built to higher specs than required and required and are structurally sound. As far as what our recommendation for not sealing the driveway it is not a common thing to do, and most driveways poured by our company are not sealed. We made this known to the customer and she seemed to be ok with that especially after we mentioned that if she really wanted the driveway to be sealed we would for an extra fee. The customer didn't want to pay the extra fee for sealing the driveway so it was left at that. Any stains from the outer elements, animals, and vehicles are not the responsibility of our company to clean. Keeping the concrete clean falls solely on the hands of the homeowner.

***** ***
owner

*** // CONCRETE INNOVATIONS
XXXXX Buffalo Way
Forney, Tx XXXXX
XXX XXX XXXX


Consumer Response
I was never notified of the contractor's response. The contractor never contacted me nor came by to evaluate the complaints. The complaint has not been resolved.

Why didn't the BBB contact me??? Please call me at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

***** *****

10/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Repaired a stucco wall, left gaps, poor facing, and very poor protection and cleaning of deck and patio area.

I hired *** Concrete Innovations to repair an exterior stucco buttress wall that had been infiltrated by a bee hive located on a 2nd floor balcony of my condo. The contractor sent two technicians, one who didn't speak English. The foreman said he knew the technique for making the wall facing finish to look like the wall on the opposite side of the balcony.

The crew worked on the wall for two days and did not use any tarps or plastic to protect either the balcony wood deck or the patio below. When they were finished I made a cursory inspection of the wall and area they had just hosed off and it looked ok. But after drying, the balcony deck was well dusted with stucco now dried in place, as was the patio below along with clumps of stucco that had dripped through and dried, and the plants in the garden area were ruined.

Even my grill cover was now spotted with stucco dust. The facing of the wall did not come out appearing textured like the opposite facing wall, and some large gaps appeared around the railing and floor. I contacted Mr. *** who said he would be out the next day to inspect the wall, but he did not show. Further calls went unanswered and he did not return my messages.

This crew obviously works at construction sites and not at already built homes. Their neglect in protecting the surrounding area from wet stucco dust and drips have left my deck and patio looking ratty. Replacing the grill cover was cheap, the garden will regrow, but there is no way to remove the clumps of stucco from the patio and the deck must be restained.

Desired Settlement
I'm not even sure where to begin. Obviously, the patio cannot be replaced as that would probably cost more than $1000. I don't know if it can be cleaned off except maybe with a sand blaster? The same for the balcony deck above with the stucco dust on the wood, I'm not sure if re-staining will cover the problem. I replaced the grill cover for $15 and the plants can be replaced for $30. I filled the holes with foam cement, but the area is just a mess. Don't know how well re-staining and sand blasting would work, unless there is another way to remove stucco clumps from the patio.

Business Response
We will resolve this matter. We just need to schedule a time to go over and ***** as well as remedy the issue.

When we finished the job the customer seemed happy and willingly paid the balance. We though everything was fine and roughly a month later we receive a call saying that the work was no good. We tried to meet with the customer but were unable to. We never heard from the customer again until this complaint showed up and we no longer have the contact info for him so we are unable to contact him.

We have no problem addressing the issue but a time needs to be scheduled to get it done and at this point we are unable to contact him.

07/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Concrete patio expansion did not follow the plans and was not delivered in a timely or quality manner. We poured a approx 950 sq foot extension.
Where to start?
* FCI failed to locate and mark sprinklers prior to forming or even prior to dumping the leveling sand. They hit a line with a stake and this required me to excavate the pipe and repair myself inorder to even continue with leak testing.
* FCI simply capped the existing sprinkler nipples under where the new slab was to go with screw on caps. I had to tear these out and place glue on caps to prevent water from coming out under a 950 sqaure slab.
* Depth of footing was specified on drawings filed with the City, but only dug to 60-80% of that depth much of that was due to homeowner digging it deeper.
* Form broke when pouring and concrete spilled into yard. Left on site.
* # of steps delivered was insufficent and did not match drawings.
* Dirt from footers was left on site and piled up around edge of work to hide the lack of a smooth vertical retaining wall surface that was specified.
* Forms were set crooked (not parallel with exising patio and were off 7" over an 18' run almost 1/2" off per foot. Wow!! Wow!!
* Trash was left on site pipes, rebar, food plates, water bottles.
* Form stakes were broken off above ground level and buried under lose dirt to hide it.
* last area poured cracked immediately when drying because concrete sat in truck for over 4 hours with temperatures approaching 100 degrees. This was due to contractor not having a pump unit on site and having too few crew for the work at hand. Granted there were six crew on site, but it wasn't enough.
* Contractor generally showed up at 9:00 to 9:30 and left around 3:30 to 4:00 each day and took a full hour plus of lunch. Basically they put in "long" day of maybe 6 hours.
* Despite being a VERY digging intesive project to achieve proper footing depth for future structures, there was only one worker that showed up and dug.
* After complaining, the owner **** got two day laborers on site, but neither he nor ***** stayed on site to supervise them, so they basically stood around not doing anything. I as the homeowner had to dig for them.
* Ramps were not poured per spec and left 4-6" above grade not very useful for a ramp.
* Prior to pouring, there
* Owner **** *** re-routed sprinkler pipes feeding a valve back under the footer for the slab to save time. I made him rip it out and replace it, but goes to show that the lack of quality starts right at the top of this company.

Bottom line, they will promise you what you want to hear and they even put it in writing, but they fail to deliver. They cut corners at every turn and do sloppy, sloppy work.

Desired Settlement
Short of ripping out a 11.4' (supposed to be 12')x 20' piece of engineered concrete, there is little that FCI can do to correct the issue. They failed to properly use a tape measure and read it accurately when placing the forms. The only resolution I will accept is for them to rebuild the section that they made too small. Even a full refund would be insufficient since another contractor will have to tear out the existing shoddy work. The good thing about concrete is it is very permanent. The bad thing about concrete poured by *** Concrete is that it is permanently the wrong size. Wow! How is it possible to mis-measure that badly?

Industry Comparison| Chart

Concrete Contractors, Concrete Mixers, Concrete Construction Forms & Accessories, Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair, Concrete Patching Compounds, Concrete Blocks & Shapes, Swimming Pools- Above Ground, Piping Contractors, Paving Contractors, Patio & Deck Builders, Basement - Contractors, Concrete - Custom, Concrete Repair/Leveling, Concrete Removal, Cabanas - Beach & Pool

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.