BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Azpen Innovation

Phone: (855) 297-3672

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues6
Problems with Product / Service10
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints16

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (16)
02/23/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a tablet from this company,it quit working after a week and I'm unable to get a response from them regarding my warranty.
On 12/17/14 I purchased an Azpen A1320g tablet from tigerdirect.com (order # JXXXXXXX-XXXX. On 12/27/14 the tablet completely quit working. To date I have sent 5 emails which have gone unanswered, and multiple phone calls which go directly to an answering machine that cuts off before you can leave a message. TigerDirect will not honor the return as they say I need a RMA from Azpen. I was entitled to a refund the first 14 days of this purchase which has lapsed due to their (Azpen) neglect to address this matter. I want a refund.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund, apparently they sell inferior items and I do not want a replacement or warranty service.

Business Response
I apologize to the customer for not being able to return to the store or get a hold of us. He should have been able to return to the store within 30 days as long as under warranty and has a receipt of purchase. He can email me at **********@azpenpc.com or call me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX ext 101 to get this taken care of. Our customer service number is XXX-XXX-XXXX or XXX-XXX-XXXX M-F 9am-5:30pm CT.

12/30/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought an a9b earlier his year. I have numerous problems with it.
I even returned it using their RMA # of RR2118. They sent me another tablet supposedly an updated version. This tablet will not charge. They keep saying that I need to send it back but I have not been able to get them to send me the RMA forms in order to send this one back. We have been without the use of the tablet going on 3 monthes. My wife is the principle user of this tablet and is getting very upset

Desired Settlement
I would like to have a tablet that actually works like it is supposed to.

Business Response
We have already taken care of this customer. I have mailed out a return tablet to this customer.****** is mailing his other one back.

11/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
when plugged in battery stays lit up on screen and can't use tablet. sometimes tablet will not charge.
bought from office max their model #XXXXXXXX purchased on XXXXXXX. paid by debit card in the amount of 69.99. contacted mfg numerous times by phone and email and no response. want 69.99 and the 19.99 replaemnt plan money back from mfg. if I get another tablet from them that one might not work as well.office max was not any help either. will not back up their replacement plan. my order number thru office max is XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I want 69.99 back from the manufactuer and 19.99 back from office max. nobody thru phone calls and emails responded. office max says that it is all on the mfg. and they just sell plans.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *********-Operations
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ext 101
Contact Email: **********@azpenpc.com
If the product has a manufacturer's defect, it will be covered under our one year Product Warranty and we will replace the tablet with the same or similar model. The warranty doesn't cover cracked screens,dropped or mishandled, water damage,or an attempt to repair the tablet.

Based on the information above and without seeing the tablet, a battery or will not charge issue would be covered under our warranty.

The customer can call me to get it exchanged out.

Thanks,
****

04/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
DEFECTIVE RATE IS TOO HIGH!
I PURCHASED A TABLET FROM OUR APPLIANCE CENTER, AFTER ONLY 2 MOS, IT PRESENTED AN ISSUE SO I SHIPPED IT OUT TO THEM. THEY COULDN'T FIX IT SO THEY SENT A NEW ONE(OR SO THEY SAY) AND NOW AFTER ONLY 2 MOS, THE NEW ONE IS DEFECTIVE. I ALSO BOUGHT ONE FOR MY SON FOR XMAS AND THAT ONE ALSO WENT OUT ON HIM IN FEB. WHEN YOU TRY TO CALL, YOU CAN'T GET THRU TO A REAL PERSON. AND IF YOU CALL AFTER HOURS, IT INDICATES THAT YOU CAN LEAVE A MESSAGE BUT AFTER THE RECORDING, THEIR VOICEMAIL SYSTEM IS NON-EXISTANT. IT DISCONNECTS THE CALL ALL TOGETHER. ALSO, WHEN I SHIPPED THE ORIGINAL TABLET OUT TO THEM, THEY DID NOT COMMUNICATE WITH ME AT ALL WHATSOEVER AS TO WHEN THEY SHIPPED, AND WHEN IT SHOULD ARRIVE AND SINCE I DO NOT HAVE MY OWN MAILBOX, THE DEVICE SAT OUT ON THE LANDLORD'S PORCH FOR 3 DAYS BEFORE IT WAS FOUND. THE REPS ARE RUDE AND THEY ASSUME THAT YOU DON'T KNOW WHAT YOU'RE TALKING ABOUT. CUSTOMER SERVICE FOR THEM IS UNREAL AND THEIR DEFECTIVE RATE AT OUR COMPANY IS WAY TOO HIGH. WE ARE CONSIDERING DROPPING THEIR PRODUCTS ALL TOGETHER.

Desired Settlement
I WANT A BETTER PRODUCT, BETTER QUALITY, AND BETTER CUSTOMER SERVICE. IF YOU WANT RESPECT, YOU HAVE TO FIRST PROVIDE A RESPECTABLE SERVICE.

I WOULD LIKE TO REQUEST A REFUND IN THE AMOUNT OF $238.56 SENT DIRECTLY TO ME AT MY COMPANY. (ALABAMA POWER COMPANY)

Business Response
I'm sorry you had some issues with your tablet. Please contact customer service at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX or me at XXX-XXX-XXXX ext *** to get it fixed or exchanged out for another tablet.

Thank you,

**** *********

Consumer Response
I have received the third replacement tablet and before I can have a chance to personalize it, it fails again. I can't get it to come back on again. It displays the company logo but won't go further.
I am an Administrative Assistant in a large company. I need to be able to access work emails on the go, handle bills, and track progresses. How in the heck am I supposed to feel secure with this company's products?
I want a refund!

05/16/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The phone does not want to except any network sim card
The phone does not want to except any network sim card

Desired Settlement
I want a replacement phone

Business Response
I don't have a record of this customer contacting our Customer Service in the US. Also, we don't sell phones in the US so I suggest the customer contact our China office at ******@azpen.cn or *****@azpen.cn. as they sell and support the phones out of this location.

Let me know if there is anything else I can help this customer with.

Thank you,
****

10/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been emailing Azpen Customer Support about my Azpen A745 tablet that stopped downloading files between my pc and the tablet!
I contacted Azpen Customer Support on September 1, 2015 about my Azpen A745 Tablet not connecting to the PC to upload, download and transfer files between the tablet and the computer.

I received several responses followed with my explanations of the problem.

Azpen Customer Support claims they do not know what the problem is and wants me to reset the tablet but I will lose my information. I have been researching on the internet and learned that my USB installer utility is missing, the USB Launcher is disengaged on my tablet and I do not know how to reactivate it. I have also learned that the "S3C USB Host driver" is not found on my tablet from doing an online diagnostic test.

Azpen Customer Support has stopped responding to me when I last emailed them this week asking for specific instructions on how to install or reactivate my USB Driver utilities and how to activate the "USB Launcher" on my tablet.

There are ways to fix this issue but Azpen Customer Support does not want me to fix the issue but to reset the tablet and lose my data which I will not do nor will I purchase any hardware not a new tablet or any device.

This deceptive criminal fraudulent con-business needs to be ended. Why have a pseudo-customer support when no one really wants to troubleshoot nor provide simple instructions on how to resolve issues not even provide the web address or link to the customer!

Desired Settlement
I have been researching online and have learned that I need the "USB Device Utility reactivated or reinstalled along with S3C USB Host driver.

The customer support wants me to reset the tablet but I will lose my information the tablet, the information that I am trying to download to the pc.

I have been researching online and learned that users do not have to reset the tablets because the USB drivers and USB utilities are available on the internet. I need to know which USB driver(s) and USB utilities to download off the internet to the tablet to make it work. Azpen customer support does not want to supply this information and I am not resetting the tablet o lose my information nor will I purchase a new tablet or hardware.

I need the website and instructions on how to fix the USB connection problem between my Azpen tablet and the computer to download upload and transfer

Business Response
I don't show this customer contacting us unless under a different name. The customer may be calling the retailer as their support information is in the box for this model. The customer can contact our Customer Service at 1-855-297-3672 or email us at online@azpenpc.com.

Thank you,
Mike Glasscock

02/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
had the table for 2 year the table stop working complet i am a minister all my info is lost on the
table,the table will not,boot up are show a strem

i purcher it last christmas from baddock funtuire
store an the told me to contact the company,i will
lika a refune,please all my minstry work are on that table

Desired Settlement
300.00 and i will have to purcher my material that
on the table

Business Response
If she has had the tablet for 2 years, the tablet is out of the manufacturer's warranty period. ******* may want to see if she purchased an extended warranty through Badcock. If there is no warranty, we can repair or replace the tablet at a reasonable cost. Please call our customer service number at XXX-XXX-XXXX or email *******@azpenpc.com to find out some solutions and options.

12/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I need to have my charger replaced for the Azpen A740 7" Tablet, that is all I want the tablet is find right now.
November 20, 2014

Purchase Date: Nov. 9, 2014
Sales Rep: Walmart Online
Payment $82.31
Payment Method: Credit Card
Details of complaint: Azpen is responsible for taking care of any problems with the items ordered (Azpen A740 7" Tablet until Walmart's warranty takes over. I have been calling the since 9:30 this morning and no one will answer the phone for customer service nor sales. They seems to be not trustworthy of their product and have bad customer service. The tablet is find right now, all I want is the charger replaced and can't do that because they won't answer the phone. What I'm I to do?

Desired Settlement
I just want the charger replaced because the one they sent with the tablet is broken. Walmart said they are responsible right now to replace all items until my warranty kicks in with them with in 3 months.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Sybil Yates, CS Superviso
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******@azpenpc.com
We have shipped two USB chargers that are Azpen authorized. USPS XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XX

11/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My tablet was mailed to be repaired for a discolored screen display, then they email me stating that the screen was crack. They cracked it.
I purchased an Azpen tablet in January of 2014. Shortly after I received it the product began to malfunction so I sent it to Azpen for repairs. It was "repaired" but shortly after I received it the sound went out. I did not send it back right away because aside from that it was still functioning. A few weeks later the screen blacked out. I contacted the company for repairs again. I mailed it back for the second time. I eventually get an email stating that the screen was cracked, which was absolutely not the condition I mailed it out in. I contact the company once again to inform them of this and asked if the repairers could be asked if anyone of them were responsible for cracking my screen. The guy who answered the phone told me that those kinds of accidents do not happen from them. I asked if he could just double check and ask anyway. He then told me that he was basically a "one man band". He explained to me that he repairs the tablets, answers the phones, and handles other things dealing with HIS company. I then asked if there was a general manager I could speak with or even write to the owner and he told me that was his title. After that I got off the phone lost for words. Just to add I did have the item stamped as fragile so I really do not believe it was the USPS negligence, the way that he handled the situation seemed as though someone on their end had done it meanwhile they were using this issue to hustle funds out of the consumer.

Desired Settlement
I would like for Azpen to repair the item, at least give it back to me the way that he received it. I have had nothing but problems out of this product. Also, in the email it was stated that their was no proof of purchase which is not true. I specifically remember checking all of my paper work before I mailed it, making sure that everything was included. In addition to this, he sent me two different emails with two different repair prices but both referred to the same kind of damage to be repaired. The first email had a lower price. This is what brought me to the conclusion that he was trying to hustle funds out of me.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: SD Yates, CS Supervisor
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******@azpenpc.com
Response to: Case #91308868 - *****, ******: Azpen has provided a document (BiancaBanks.pdf) that includes a picture of the following: Azpen Warranty Policy, Customer RMA Policy and Procedures (signed by ****** ***** as acknowledgement to terms and conditions) and a picture of the tablet's condition when it was received at our Azpen facility.

Our facility has 9 employees at this location (three technicians, 2 CSRs, 1 CS supervisor, 1 accountant, 1 sales manager, 1 CEO). Tablets are received in from USPS, FedEx and UPS and are put on the "Reception Desk"; they are then carried back to the accountant's cube where they are "unwrapped" from whatever materials they were shipped in. After that they are logged into the ticketing system as "received", then placed on a shipping table. From there the CS supervisor will take a tablet, test it (run diagnostics) and then if necessary send an email, phone or fax the customer to let them know if anything was not received or if there was any form of damage to the tablet. If there was no need to contact the customer, after testing the CS supervisor places the tablet on a rack awaiting repair or replacement.

When Mr./Ms. ******* tablet was received on 9/25/14, it was delivered by USPS in a USPS basket along with other tablets (we normally receive between 5 and 15 tablets each work day). The accountant who opened the package the customer's tablet was in, did so several days later (approx. 10/1), it was then put on the shipping table until the CS supervisor took it to her cube to be tested (10/6). At that time, the CS supervisor attempted to power on the tablet and noticed the condition of the screen. At that point she noted the ticket and emailed the customer that the tablet was received in a damaged state and per the warranty, the damage is not covered. The attachment has a picture that was taken at the time of testing the damaged tablet's screen when it was powered on. The attachment also has a screen print of our warranty policy and highlights the notification to the customer that we are not responsible for any damage of the product due to shipment. There is also a screen print of the document the customer signed (Customer RMA Policy and Procedures) which highlights the note on the form that Azpen is not responsible for items lost or damaged in shipment to us. This form is signed by the customer acknowledging that he/she read and agrees to the terms and conditions stated in the form. Also we have attached a screen print of the email sent to the customer on 10/6/14 letting him/her know that the tablet was received "damaged".

We are a smaller company who sells to various retailers throughout the US. The actual manufacturing of tablets is in China. Our facility is the only US facility and we handle all issues relating to tablets sold in the US by the various retailers. As stated we have a small staff but please understand that our "return" rate is not large (receiving around 5-15 tablets a day from customers and we do sell thousands of tablets in the US). The way we handle tablets from the time they are received from USPS, FedEx or UPS is always the same. There are actually only two people who handle the received tablets until they are tested and put on our rack to be processed, those are our accountant and our CS supervisor (who handles the shipping and receiving of all tablets received after they have been logged into our ticketing system as "received"). They are not placed in any location where they could be damaged, accidentally or otherwise. Please note when the customer originally called in the issue with the tablet, the CSR who handled the call noted what the customer described as the problem with her tablet and that was "White screen with lines running through it" (called into Azpen 7/9/2014). As you can see in the picture of the screen damage, it has those "lines running through it". The plastic layer above the LCD is not physically damaged but the LCD where the "lines" are actually located is damaged and this is due to abnormal pressure being placed on the screen. In the customers complaint he/she refers to "cracked" screen. The outer screen is not "cracked", the LCD is physically damaged and it sits below the outer plastic. Also in the attachment is a screen print of the email that was sent to the customer on 10/6/14 and nowhere in the email does it refer to the tablet screen as "cracked", it refers to the tablet as "physically damaged". The damage is the screen's condition when it was received at our facility and that is the LCD being physically damaged.

Azpen attempts to be as honest with our customers as possible. If the tablet had been received with no damage, it would have gone through full testing to determine what the issue or issues were and then normally we would replace (rather than repair) the tablet. Per the warranty policy, we normally use refurbished tablets but these carry the same warranty coverage that the customer's original tablet had.

In her complaint he/she refers to the tablet as being shipped to us because of a "discolored screen". When the customer contacted us he/she described the tablet issue as "White screen with lines running through it", as shown in the picture of the received tablet, the screen does have lines through it but could be viewed as "discolored" also. He/she also refers to the tablet being "repaired" when it was shipped to us on 3/27/2014. We did reimage the tablet because the issue was that the Android operating system on the tablet had become corrupted, most likely due to a virus acquired while the customer was on the internet. We did reimage the tablet and return it to the customer on 4/1/2014. The customer contacted us again on 7/9/2014 regarding the screen issue. No mentioned was made of a speaker issue and we show no other tickets opened regarding a speaker issue.

Our Customer Service Representatives open a service ticket when a customer contacts us. A search using the customer's name found only the two times the customer contacted us. The person he/she spoke with regarding his/her screen issue was our sales manager and yes he has various responsibilities, those not only include sales but also lending a helping hand when we need assistance with customer service calls. He may even pull a tablet from the rack and give it to the CS supervisor so that it can be "prepped" for shipment to the customer. All of us at Azpen provide assistance when needed and where needed. Please remember we are a smaller company and not a large corporation that may have many departments and many employees in each department.

I hope my description of our procedures and what transpired when the tablet was received at our facility provides all the information needed to show we are not trying to "hustle funds out of the consumer". We have procedures we follow and have been set up to make sure our customers are treated fairly, but we are also a business and sell a product that has a standard warranty policy that we must enforce in order to stay in business.


Consumer Response
I did not find a resolution within the companies response, I only read a detailed story of their side of the story.

Final Business Response
Azpen Innovations response:

Azpen will not be repairing the tablet. As explained in our answer to the initial customer complaint, the tablet was received in a damaged state and the damage is not covered under the Azpen Warranty. The customer initially called Azpen Customer Service with a description of the problem as "White screen with lines running through it". It has a white screen with lines running through it but the issue is not due to hardware failure, it is the fault of the customer either prior to shipping to our facility or due to the fact that the customer did not properly package the tablet for shipping and the screen was damaged during that shipment.

Either way Azpen is not responsible for the condition of the tablet as the LCD display was damaged prior to arriving at our site. Also note, the tablet was not returned in the original box by the customer, which would have provided additional protection against damage during shipment.

With regard to the proof of purchase (receipt dated 1/23/14), we have located the "Total Return" email that does provide required purchase information. However, the tablet was damaged when received and this invalidates the warranty due to the physical damage.

Our Statement: Azpen is not responsible for the damaged to the tablet caused by the customer (either prior to or during shipment) and Azpen will not repair the tablet unless the customer wishes to pay for the repair (notification of cost - emailed 10/6/14: $39.00).

Azpen caused no damage to the tablet and the normal processing of damaged products being received at our office is the same. If a tablet is received damaged, it is the customer's responsibility to cover any repair work. This is directly stated in the Azpen Warranty Policy contained in every tablet box issued and again in the Customer RMA Policy and Procedures document that the customer "****** *****" signed off August 22, 2014 where it states: NOTE: AZPEN IS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ITEMS LOST OR DAMAGED IN SHIPMENT TO US and the customer signed this form, a copy of which was provided in the original response.

As we normally allow only 14 days for a customer to remit payment for any unwarrantied repair work that may need to be done and this tablet was received 9/25/14, it is well beyond the 14 days normally provide and the tablet will be returned to the customer (unrepaired) within the next few days, unless payment is received.

In cases where a customer does not remit payment for an unwarrantied item, it is assumed the customer does not want the work done and we normally return USPS 2nd day Priority Mail within a few days after the expiration of the 14 day email notification (in this case the expiration was 10/21/14) to the address listed on the RMA form the customer submitted to us with their tablet. At this point I do not believe it is the intent of the customer to have the tablet repaired and so will schedule the damaged tablet's return at the end of this week (11/14/14). Again Azpen was not responsible for the damage to the tablet and so will not be held accountable for any repair work unless the customer wishes to pay the normal tablet repair costs associated with a damaged A720 tablet when it is received at our repair facility.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When I originally spoke with the guy who claimed to have been over the whole company, he told me that there was no proof of purchase received with the merchandise. The company response eventually contradicts this statement and reveals that they did receive the proof of purchase. This goes to show that they tried to make up any reason for them to be unable to take responsibility and repair the merchandise that they obviously damaged. They also never addressed the fact that they sent me two different emails with two different repair prices and what the reason for this was. This goes to show that they were trying to get as much money out of me as they could. The fact that they have had my merchandise since September and this is now November 21 goes to show that they really want me to pay them something. I say this because according to their response of the complaint they said that they would send the merchandise a few days later. On top of that I have contacted the post office to see about using my insurance that I paid for when I sent the merchandise and they told me that they would need for the party who received the package to take to packaging to the nearest post office to be evaluated so that I could possibly use my insurance through them. What make this impossible is that when I spoke with the real manager ****** and not **** who said that this was his position, she informed me that the box was tossed out only because she did not see it as damaged. In my defense I believe that decision should have been made by the post office since that is who I paid for insurance and that is what they need to use my insurance. I will never in life recommend this company to anyone.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Computers - Wholesale & Manufacturers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.