BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Tucker, Albin and Associates, Inc

Phone: (469) 424-3033Fax: (972) 767-3354

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

57 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 16 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues12
Billing / Collection Issues33
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service11
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints57

Additional Complaint Information

Complaints are regarding sales practice issues. Specifically, consumers state that the company attempts to collect debts with high call volumes and harassing tactics over the phone.

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (57)BBB Closure Definitions
05/12/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unreasonable solicitation
This company calls our office and to start off the conversation says he is an investigator and that he and the police are coming to pick you up. We are a business and do not have time for prank calls. Very poor business practices by this company. We have never contacted them and we will never do business with them. They need to stop calling so we can run our business.

Desired Settlement
Stop calling.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* vp/gm
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX x503
Contact Email: **@tuckeralbin.com
we do not show any calls being made in our system. The numbers were previously deleted from our system. Not sure how or when these calls took place. No calls should be taking place, if one is received, please call me immediately so I can handle any issues.

04/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
An employee is harassing me with calls that have nothing to do with me. I have asked Mr. ***** to stop calling me.
Mr. ***** ***** continues to call me and leave very rude messages on my phone. He is attempting to collect a debt that I have nothing to do with. Apparently it was a business deal between his client and my husband before we were even married, that is why I have no knowledge of the incident, but Mr. ***** continues to make Harrison phone calls to me. I have asked nicely, but he refuses to stop calling. I have contacted my Attorney, who will be sending him and his company a letter regarding harassing phone calls.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting that the employee, Mr. ***** ***** refrains from calling me and harassing me, as well as leaving unwanted threatened voice mails.

Business Response
Dibs Pro was placed for collection in our office back April 2014. ****** was our main point of contact during the collection process. We have removed her name and do apologize for any inconvenience she feels we may have caused. No more calls will be made to her.

03/16/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have numerously emailed and left messages back in December and even spoke with the front desk lady and left a message on ******* (REGUS agent )
I have numerously emailed and left messages back in December and even spoke with the front desk lady and left a message on ******* (REGUS agent ) personal cell that I want to cancel, because I never used your service and no longer required it.

Since then your fraudulent company has tried to draft my bank account which fortunately by calling my bank I was able to put a stop payment and reverse the draft.

Any further contact to me will result in legal action.

In fact here's my attorneys info
Any further contact to me will forwarded to him. Here's his information:
********* ** ***
State Bar #XXXXXX
Office: XXX XXX XXXX

***@clazlaw.net
WWW.clazlaw.net

5160 Campus Drive
Newport Beach, CA XXXXX

I am making a BBB complaint

Desired Settlement
I was drafted $232.23, which includes Balance at 14 October 2014
October Invoice XXXX-XXXXX
$52.25
$89.99
November Invoice XXXX-XXXXX
$89.99
= $232.23

Business Response
****** ***** has never contacted this company by phone, we did send 1 email making a demand for payment. This complaint should have been with our client Regus Management Group. TAA has never attempted to debit any funds from a checking account in regards to this account. This account was placed for collections on March 4th and by reading the complaint it happened prior to TAA being involved. I have sent a message to Regus to make them aware of the complaint you are having and for them to contact you directly. If I can be of any further assistance, please let me know.

02/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This firm buys unvalidated/unsubstantiated busies "debt" and uses extremely aggressive bullying tactics to extort money.
Said company continues to make threats for freezing assets in the absence of any legitimate agreement for services, despite asking several times for any said agreement. It's a typical bullying approach with their patent attorney client fabricating hours after not delivering. Fully prepared to prove my case and use social media to both they and their clients detriment - despite numerous communications and offers to settle.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting a refund of a $100 from the previous retainer provided to our IP law firm.

Business Response
****** ***** doesn't purchase debt, we represent active clients in trying to resolve outstanding payments and disputes. It is apparent Mr **** feels he has a valid dispute however, we have convinced our client to reduce the balance to 4000.00 to settle his account, Mr **** has offered 2500.00 as a gift for this to go away. This will not happen. Regarding the bullying, we are just trying to work out a resolution with Mr **** and he is unwilling to reach a reasonable amount to settle this. We are more that willing to help Mr **** get this resolved
We are going back to our client in hopes we can convince him to meet in the middle, if this is acceptable with Mr ****. If Mr **** will call his rep at TAA to work this out, I believe we would be able to help him. Regarding the 100.00 reimbursement, that would be between Mr **** and our client.

02/10/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This debt is owed by GemCo sign Group and LLC I owned, sold the business in 2012 including all of the AR, and AP this debt is not mine, owed by corp.
the gentleman called and asked for an address so he could serve me on a lawsuit, he lied he was calling to collect a debt, which is not mine. The amount in question is an invoice to GemCo Sign Group, LLC which I owned and sold in June 2012 along with all of the accounts receivable and accounts payables as noted in sell of business contracts. This company has no business calling me for a debt of a corporation. And certainly not to misrepresent themselves in claiming they need an address to serve lawsuit papers. If you file a lawsuit the papers are served via service and the address is not in question.

Desired Settlement
remove my number from their list have them call GemCo Sign Group for the debt which is the correct party to address.

Business Response
we were trying to locate a good phone # for Gem-co because we found the company had gone out of business. During on research we found that **** ******** was the only officer still listed to the company with the State of Texas. This is why a call was made to Mr. ********. We have now closed our filed and exhausted our efforts. No more calls will be made to mr ******** and we do apologize for any inconvenience you feel we may have caused.

Page 1 of 9
03/02/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Business keeps texting and calling my personal cell phone although I am not the debtor.
This business keeps calling and harassing me although I am not the debtor. They have not ceased calls even though I have sent a formal letter from my attorney to cease all communication. They are very rude on the phone and the person that calls me changes his name every time he calls. They disclosed information about the debt to be collected and of the debtor to me although I am not the debtor which is illegal under FDCA. Their calls have not ceased while I am at work and they still call me and leave voicemails and text me even though my attorney has told them to stop communication with me since legally they are not to contact someone, other than the debtor, about obtaining the debt.

Desired Settlement
I would like for them to cease communication with me since I am not the one who owes the debt nor am I obligated to disclose any information about the debtor assuming I knew any contact information about them.

Business Response
this is a commercial account therefore the FDCPA isn't applicable. The phone #'s that have been called were provided to us by our client Slater Oil for ****** Ranch. Payments have been made to the account and there is still a remaining balance that we need to speak with someone to get this resolved. If this has made someone unhappy because we are calling the phone numbers provided by our client which was on a credit app, im sorry. We need for the owner of this company call our office to get the balance resolved.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not the debtor and if I am in fact the debtor you must provide paperwork showing that I am the debtor. Since I am not the debtor then you must cease communication with me. Your client, Slater Oil, has not updated records, therefore you should resolve this issue with them and cease communication with the numbers provided. Furthermore the manner in which you do business is not professional and is considered harassment. I have proof of receipt of cease and desist letters from my attorney.

Final Business Response
all numbers have been removed from this account and no more calls will take place. we have closed our file and returned it back to our client. Hopefully this will resolve any open issues. If anything additional is needed, please let me know.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would accept this response if they would stop calling my brother's number (XXX)-XXX-XXXX. Although the calls happen less frequently now, he still receives threatening calls from people hired by your company posing as private detectives.

11/18/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company used unethical treatment
I should never have even been sent to this company. On Friday October 17,2014 I gave **** **** credit card payments in the amount of $4002.66. On Monday morning October 20, 2014 I was told that nothing was processed because he didnt see it was already sent to Tucker, Albin & Associates.

The 12 days that we had dealings with Tucker, Albin & Associates (****** ***** ******* ***** & **** ***** have been far from professional, ethical or even humane. We have been called multiple times a day on multiple lines, all hours of the day, given different amounts to pay and spoken to in a belittling manner and threatened all after explaining that we had agreed to pay Blueline and would still do this if it was for the amount we agreed. They refused to take less than $6201.28, that was then moved down to $5300 and the final amount $4961.02. This morning October 31, 2014 around 7:40 am they called and spoke to my mother. Who hasn't been involved in any of this situation. He was rude, condescending and getting her upset about "this debt" when she wasn't aware of everything. I called back in to Tucker, Albin & Associates after 9 am and asked to speak with the President of collections and I was given to ****** ********* who said he was the Vice President and would help. I once again explained everything and he advised me that because they were commercial collections they do not follow FDCPA, they can call any time, any amount and speak to whomever. This may be true however treating people like this is a poor practice and unfair. I gave him the credit card information and he took the payment. About 20 minutes later he called back and said there was a 3% charge for credit card transactions. At this point we are all beat down and exhausted. We paid the $147 to get this done.
Once I gathered my strength back up I decided to look up some information about commercial collections and Tucker, Albin & Associates. I learned that commercial collection is exempt from FDCPA however most businesses want fair and ethical treatment. I also found that Tucker, Albin & Associates has a BBB rating of F largely due to the 56 complaints filed against them. I learned my experience was not so unique and that harassing, threatening and using scare tactics is their preferred method. When responding to their complaints the usual response is "For clarification this collection matter is commercial in nature, not consumer, and upon XXX, not the individual claimant.Tucker denies all wrong-doing in this matter and has not violated the law."

Desired Settlement
The same day the account went to this company I had given payment in full to the original debtor. The amount was $4002.66. Because of a miscommunication between the debtor and Tucker, Albin & Associates I ended up paying $4961.02 PLUS 3% ($147)in fees for making my payment on a credit card. I would like the difference paid back to me. This was not my fault and I shouldn't have to be the one penalized.

Business Response
TAA received Exodus Demolition for collections on 10/15/14 from our client. The reason the account was placed for collections the invoices are dated 5-7-14 and X-XX-XX with net 30 day terms. Only one payment was made to our client in June for a different invoice. The amount placed for collection was for the principal amount of $4,961.02. We contacted Exodus for payment on XX-XX-XX and ******* **** contacted our client to make a payment arrangement and was advised they needed to contact TAA for any payments. We continued dealing with ******* until XX-XX-XX before payment could be made. We advised ******* that the principal balance and collection fees were due however, we would waive the collection fees to help them get this resolved. Per the contract with our client collection fees and any attorney fees would be due if you failed to meet your payment terms. The invoices were from May and now its getting paid in October. The calls to our client wouldn't have happened if the account wasn't placed for collections. Again, we waived these fees to help ******* get this paid. If ******* wants to 3% transaction fee refunded, we would then need the collection fees paid per the contract with our client. Hopefully, this will resolve this complaint as we did cooperate with ******* and discounting the collection fees, per her contract.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The information in the response from TAA is inaccurate. Exodus had a dispute in the billing with Blueline rental and made them aware of it as soon as invoice was received. There was ongoing communication with Tena Anderson and **** ***** The last conversation with Blueline was with **** Bogg on 10/17/14 in which he had agreed to remove the 5 days that were in dispute and took my credit card information including the code on back of card for payment in full of $4002.66. The call ended at 4:50pm on 10/17/14. The first information that I have from TAA is from a fax that came in on 10/17/14 at 5:49pm to which I didn't see until Monday morning 10/20/14. I then spoke to ****** **** at TAA and explained that this was already paid in full on 10/17/14. ****** said he would look into it and call back. He called back about 15-20 minutes later stating that the credit card info was not ran because it was too late and that it went to collections. He demanded payment of $6201.28!!! This is when the nasty treatment began. There is no doubt that we were upset about this. One day we think this ongoing dispute is resolved and then BAM.. not only is it not resolved the balance jumped up by an additional $2198.62, I am getting told that legal action is being taken against me and that we failed to meet terms. The response from TAA that "we would waive collection fees to get this resolved" is absurd. Nothing was waived for me, in fact I ended up paying $4961.02 plus $178 in processing fee. ($958.36 in principle and $178 in fees that should NEVER have been charged to me.) I do not think this is resolved!

Final Business Response
After reviewing the email exchange between our client and Exodus, there was a call into our client. Exodus wanted to be credited for having possession of the equipment and not pay because of the rain and was unable to perform work. Once equipment leaves the yard its your responsibility on how you use it. The contract doesn't say if its raining you don't have to pay. My offer still is the same, If ******* wants the 3% fee refunded, I will do so immediately. Regarding the principal amount, this is assigned by our client, we did not add any collection charge to this payment. Hopefully this will bring closure to this issue. You may contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX x503 or **@tuckeralbin.com to make arrangements on your refund for the 3% charge.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am glad you read the "email exchange" (ongoing dispute) with your client however you/they failed to disclose that on October 17, 2014 at approximately 4:50 pm Exodus had a conversation with **** **** (branch manager) where he agreed to remove the 5 days totaling $958.36 AND accepted my credit card information. If Blueline and TAA had an agreement of anything else I was not aware of nor should be responsible for their mistake. I believe I am owed $958.36 in addition to that 3% fee. It is not my responsibility to correct the communication gap between you and your client.

09/15/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
******* ***** from Tucker, Albin & Assoc. is claiming that a construction company I have worked for hired him to collect a debt from us (in MN), in which is a outrageous amount and wrong. This debt was settled, I contacted the contractor and he claimed he did not hire him nor even knew his name. Is this company searching the web for debt collection and harassing random company's? He is harassing my home and family, he is making threatening calls to my wife and myself, with law suits and having a man call my wife with the name Tom ***** with Davis Investigations, with a cell number from MN 651-248-5544. This POSER is threatening to come onto my property to take pictures, demanding interviews with employees, all my personal info. as well as banking info, and wanting to know VIN #'s to all my property and vehicles. Invasion of privacy and against the law. I am in MN!! This started approx. Aug 4th. There is not debt to collect and I want the harassment to stop.

Desired Settlement
TO STOP THE HARRASSMENT, THERE IS NO DEBT TO CELLECT.

Business Response
The creditor, **** **** Construction, will be providing our office the supporting documentation of this matter which will be forwarded to *****'s Decorating of Rush Lake Inc.

Until said time our office will suspend any activity on this file.


Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I spoken 3 times with the owner of **** **** Const. he is still claiming he did not hire them. This debt has been settled and the amount given is completely wrong. I will not tolerate this harassment. Nothing is owed.

09/15/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Relentless calling, badgering, and harrassment.
This company was hired by another company we work with daily for a debt that is owed. ******* Baker is the person who has been contacting us. He calls us numerous times a day, emails us just about daily, started contacting contractors we do work for, calling our homes, and even has a "*** Davis" for "Davis Investigation" stating he was hired by ******* to bother us and follow our employees, builders, etc. I have asked ******* for his Certificate of Authority which he refused to send us. I have told him numerous times we are represented by an attorney in which he doesn't care. We have asked him to not call relentlessly in which he has not done. Now it is to the point he is contacted our family members as well. We have turned him to to the Attorney General in our state along with filing complaints with the Federal Trade Commission as well. He asks us if we are going out of business, if the owners left the country, everyone's relation to one another, etc... It is just so hard to run a business when you have a person like ******* ***** interferring on a daily basis numberous times a day.

Desired Settlement
We are paying our debt to the creditor. We have a daily interaction with them as well. We just want ******* ***** to leave us alone. Also to abide by the state laws in which we are located. There is no need to call numerous times a day, block his number, have someone call us implying he is someone ******* hired, and when we give him an answer he needs to stop badgering us and threatening us.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *****, GM
We understand Ms. *****'s frustration in working with us in trying to resolve the indebtedness they have with our client Nicklas Supply. We have been collecting for Nicklas supply from some time and they have never made any deals with their customers to pay just when they want to. We have tried on several occasions to work something out that could be done on a regular basis. After many attempts to do this, we were always told once their company is sold this debt would be paid. I personally would be more than happy to work out a payment arrangement with Ms ***** if she would contact me. If she doesn't feel comfortable in doing this she can have her attorney contact me.

****** ***** has worked very hard with all our client to have an open line of communication to get this issues resolved. ******* ***** will no longer be involved with handle this case. I hope someone would call me to get this resolved.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
You just got hired by Nicklas Supply recently and from what I understand too it was under false pretenses. We did not hire you. We have been paying them directly. And where do you get we are "selling" our company??? Plus our attorney has spoke with your company and stated if they need something or have a question to contact him directly...not us. Contacting our homes and badgering our family members and contractors we do work for is ridiculous. We have been and will continue to pay Nicklas Supply directly in which they have not had a problem with. We again did not hire you...they did! Speak with them if your company has a problem with them accepting money from us. Again, we are represented, and like our attorney has stated, if you have an issue with anything go through him!

06/27/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Business Response
****** denies all allegations and merely contacted the debtor on a claim as placed by a creditor.

Regardless, we have ceased collection activity and closed this file.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They should be put out of business for the threatening tactics they use when speaking to a company on the telephone.

They are rude and non-co-operative in producing evidence to support their claim verbal claims.

They did not admit to their nasty behavior and
How they said we should close the doors, the judge would make us pay for more then the amount due and they didn't have to send us a copy of the bill they referenced.

We are not satisfied with the results of this complaint filing.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Collection Agencies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.