BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

ResidentCollect, Inc.

Phone: (800) 491-2580Fax: (800) 495-4842

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

84 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 26 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues78
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints84

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (84)
08/09/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid this collection account in Sept of 2014. Madeira property manager knew the claim was falsely applied to us. Never removed from our credit report
My wife and I paid this account in Dallas Texas fro the Madeira Apartments of Waco, Texas in September 2014. We were issued this lien due to property damage that we did not create. (We were accused of water damage to the premises wall when in fact the damage was caused by water overflowing from broken pipes in the apartment above us. We proved this, the manager concurred, yet we were still charged). The account number is 344507. We were issued letters to verify that this account was closed. Copies of these letters were sent to all the credit reporting agencies. This account was then sold to other collection agencies and is back on our credit report.

Desired Settlement
Fix our credit report. We paid our account in full. WE expect to be treated with honor and respect.

Business Response
Please be advised that this account is closed with our office and we re-requested deletion of the tradeline on 08/03/16. It can take 30 to 90 days for the reporting to change. Let us know if you have any questions.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


05/23/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid the balance on this collections notice $432.81 on May 8, 2015 over the phone. It was never removed from my credit report after promised.
I paid the balance on this collections notice $432.81 on May 8, 2015 over the phone. On May 29, 2015 I received a letter from ResidentCollect stating the debt was resolved and all derogatory marks would be removed from my credit report. The debt still shows outstanding let alone resolved. A year later, it was never removed from my credit report after promised. I have tried to call Resident collect on (XXX) XXX-XXXX and never get through. I have left multiple voicemails and have yet to receive a return call.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking at the minimum Resident Collect show this debt as resolved. As of today, the debt still shows outstanding. I would love for them to follow through and remove this item from my credit report completely.

Business Response
This debt has been closed with our office and was reported as paid to the credit bureaus on 06/19/2015. We will request again.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

03/01/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Payment not Credited for over 5 months
I paid $350 on or around September 4th through my bank bill pay account and funds have not been credited to my account. I have been talking to Randell for the past 5 months trying to get this resolved before we move forward with paying off my balance.

Desired Settlement
Credit account and honor the offER sent to me to settle account balance for 50% off correct balance minus accrued intrest and fees.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ***** attorney
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ******@residentcollect.com
We did receive your payment and revised that amount down and applied it to your account. The current balance is $1508.05. I can settle for $1000.00. Please let me know if you would like to accept. Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No, the letter that I received said a settlement for 50% when the balance was $1858.00 ( which did not reflect my payment previous to your letter that I sent in more than 4 months ago before the offer of 50%), which would have me paying you $929.00. Now you are offering to settle for $1000 after acknowledging my payment, which would bring my balance to $1,508, and if you were to offer the same terms of the settlement, it would be $754.00. I still have not received the documentation acknowledging that you received my payment and I want everything in writing considering the past occurrences. I want the same offer that you were sending me of 50% it is an insult to try to settle this by offering me a less than 35%. I have been trying to resolve this for more than 5 months and just want more consistency from your organization and honest practices. I want you to honor the previous offer of 50%, nothing less.

Final Business Response
You have paid $350.00, so the remaining balance of $750.00. If you want to pay the $750.00 then the account will be settled in full. Thanks, ******* *****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

02/23/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Collection from 2010 that I knew nothing about.
My Husband and i rented an apartment in 2009. We moved in 2010. We left a forwarding address at the apt complex. We have NEVER recieved a bill from anyone regarding this. In the meantime my husband passed **** and when I went to lease a car in January of 2015 is when i found this on my credit report. When my husband died in 2012 I paid all my bills off and have been trying to reestablish my credit.How do they expect people to pay if the customer knows nothing about the bill.The apartment complex had all our information so why was there no communication. If I owe this I want to pay it and have it removed from my credit report immediatley. This is unfair that they can put it on peoples credit report and NEVER notify thwm. i want this resolved PLEASE.

Desired Settlement
If I owe it send me a statement and I will pay it and then I want it removed from my credit report. and they can explain to me what it was for and why they never contacted me. Or they can write it off and remove from my credit report. I just want this taken care of ASAP.

Business Response
***Document Attached***
I am providing a copy of the documents you are requesting. Also, the balance is $68.46 if you would like to settle.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There response shows i owe $43.46 and on my credit report says $68.00 Why is there a difference in amount owed.? it clearly states balance owing $43.46. And that amount I will pay. They have the wrong forwarding address thats why i never recieved anything but they had my cell phone # which they never bothered to try. I am not the first to complain about them they have several dissatisfied people. These papers i recieved today are the first time i saw them. Somebody messed up and now I have to deal with it. Send me a bill and a return address to send payment please. My address is **** E ******* ******* *********** XXXXX. Once I recieve that I will send payment of $43.46 to get this off my credit. I will not pay 68.00 it says i owe $43.46 and that is what you will get.

Final Business Response
We will mail out a new letter to the Madison Heights address above. We sent a paid in full letter to you but not to this address. We will get a new one to you as soon as possible. Thanks, ******* *****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I have one question when I called to make payment I was told I only had to pay 34$ which I did that day. When I looked at credit report it shows my payment but says I still owe another 34 $. So what does that mean?

02/02/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Collection agency did not respond to my request for validation of a debt, and reported a negative account to the credit bureaus without my knowledge.
Violated the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA) and Fair Debt Collection Practice Act (FDCPA). I have contacted both the apartment and ResidentCollect and they failed to provide me valid documents to verify the validity of this debt (Property Code Chapter 92) and thus this debt is invalid. I have disputed the inaccurate information on January 7, 2016 to present by the established procedure for disputing consumer credit information. Despite my effort, ResidentCollect has failed to conduct timely and reasonable investigation of my dispute after being contacted by relevant credit reporting agency, have willfully continued to report such invalid debt to the credit reporting agency. Therefore, ResidentCollect violated 15 U.S.C.§§ 1681n and 1681o of the FCRA by engaging in reporting invalid debt to relevant credit reporting agency and failing to properly participate in re-investigation conducted by relevant credit reporting agency concerning this invalid debt. ResidentCollect also violated FDCPA. Violations include, but not limited to, violations of
15 U.S.C. §§ 1692e(2)(A), 1692e(8), 1692e(10), and 1692f. I followed the correct procedures and have USPS tracking information to confirmation that dispute paperwork was received and signed for by ResidentCollect. This is the only chance that ResidentCollect can remove the collection account immediately or provide me with detailed, valid documentation of the itemized amount I owe and what the charges are for. My next step will be legal action.

Desired Settlement
If ResidentCollect is unable to provide an itemized statement that this debt is due, then the account needs to be closed and deleted (and marked as an error) from my credit report. I have never received any bill from the creditor or ResidentCollect, and do not believe that I owe anything.

Business Response
We received the consumers complaint and responded by providing documentation in writing by mailing it to his address listed above on January 21, 2016. We received a letter from the consumer on 1/26/16 wherein he offered to settle and pay this debt in full. We will agree to his offer if he would still like to make an arrangement.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept this response, and agree to pay this debt in full PROVIDED that I receive written confirmation via mail that paying this debt with remove it from my credit reports with the three bureaus.

Page 1 of 3
06/17/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to notify me of charges and provide sufficient validation for the amount charged.
On 6/1/13, I moved into a shared 2 BR apt at 'The Arbors', a complex for college students in Huntsville, TX. I left that apt in July 2014 and moved into a one bedroom apt in the same complex in Aug 2014. I moved I always paid my rent/utilities on time and never received any notices regarding damages to either apt. Utilities were divided between the apts in each building and added to the monthly rent.

In Nov 2015, I received a letter from ResidentCollect, Inc (RCI) dated 11/23/15, in which they stated I owe the Arbors $512.54. It did not include an explanation for the charges so I asked for one when I responded. I then received a letter dated 12/21/15, along with a copy of the lease for the 1 BR apt and a 'Move Out Statement' (final bill) from the Arbors that I never received. The statement description begins with "Balance as of 7/01/2015 (0.40)" then goes on to list inaccurate charges for July 2015. For example there are charges dated 7/27/2015, for 'replace end table $65' and 7/29/2015 for 'Final balance never paid from 324A $298.22'.
There was nothing wrong with the end table when I moved out and this was the first I'd heard of charges from the 1 BR apt.
I asked for definitive proof of these charges in letters dated Jan 5, 2016 and Mar 6, 2016. In response I received the same documents, then a letter dated March 23, 2016, stating the Arbors 'wants resolution so RCI is prepared to accept a considerable discounted amount to settle my account in full'. They offered to accept $421.04 as full payment when I spoke to them in April 2016. I have not received this offer in writing.
I wrote another letter dated April 30, 2016, asking for definitive proof of the charges for the 3rd time and received a letter dated May 9, 2016, identical to the one dated Dec 21, 2016. It states the amount due is $512.54.
I believe I owe the Arbors $172.28 for Jun-Jul 2015 electricity and nothing more. I would also ask that my credit reports show paid upon receipt of the $172.28.

Desired Settlement
I believe I owe the Arbors $172.28 for Jun-Jul 2015 electricity and nothing more. I would also ask that my credit reports show paid upon their receipt of the $172.28.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* *****
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ******@residentcollect.com
Thank you for contacting us. I believe that we have sent you all the documentation in our office regarding the balance. In order to try to resolve this account, I can offer $280.00 to settle. Please let me know if you would like to accept this counteroffer. I look forward to hearing from you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don't know what I would be paying $280 for. I've repeatedly asked for definitive proof of the charges such as the collective electric bill for the building, copy of the final walk-thru form containing my signature (for end table damage and $238 charge for my XXXX-XXXX apt). Explain how you determined the amounts I'm being charged. Where did these amounts come from? The invoices don't make sense to me.
For example, the 1st one shows my balance on 7/1/15 as (0.40)- meaning you owe me forty cents. The last charge on it is dated 7/29/15, and is for "Final balance never paid from 324A- 298.22". I moved from apt 324A on July 12, 2014, to another one in the same complex Aug 2014-July 2015. I never received a bill for $298.22 and lived in the complex for an entire year! Suddenly this amount is placed on a bill in 2015 without any explanation.
The second invoice you sent shows my balance on 4/9/14 as $0.00. The next entry is dated 8/3/14, and shows my payment for the Aug 2014 rent.
The original charges were $512.54. After my 3rd letter I received an offer to pay a "considerable discounted amount" and instructed to call RCI. The first person I spoke with stated they "didn't know what I was talking about." A week later the person I spoke to said I "don't owe that much so they could only decrease the amount to $421.04." After my written reply to this offer, I received another bill for $512.54. Now the offer is $280.00.
I graduated in Dec 2015 and am working part time so any amount is a lot from my perspective. Especially when I still have not received definitive proof I incurred these charges.
Thanks BBB for your review.

06/07/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I wrongfully had my account from my apt sent to this collection agency. I paid the apt in full and the collection is still on my credit report.
Sept X XXXX My account from the apt that I lived in was put in to collections. I was not noticed prior to It being put in to collections. After becoming aware of this I tried to contact the property manager but she would not rectify the account. I eventually was able to pay my account in full, after management switched. I have tried to contact this collections agency to get this removed from my credit but they will not do it. What can I do to get this off my report? This collections agency has been so disrespectful to me and all I wanted to do was get this off my report.

Desired Settlement
I am looking to get this off of my credit report on all 3 bureaus and also not allow the collections agency to put it back on.

Business Response
Once the account is settled and paid, we will request deletion from the credit bureaus. The amount still due and owing is $876.41. Please contact our office if you wish to settle. Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have already paid the original company of this account. They have sent the collections agency written notice that the account was paid in full. This matter should be taken up with the original company of this account so that the collection agency can get their money. I have satisfied my responsibility.

05/17/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Have made attempts to have debt resolved without no response from Resident Collect.
I've made contact with this collection agency numerous times to discuss my debt. I have been promised a call back from the girl who is handling my account which I never received. That was 3 weeks ago. Today is 2/27/16..all I'm asking for is communication. I would like to resolve the debt.

Desired Settlement
communication and debt settlement

Business Response
I will have a representative contact you today to discuss this account. I apologize for any delays or inconvenience.

Consumer Response
I have contacted Resident Collect re this debt which has been resolved as of March 8, 2016. I only call to follow-up on the status of the debt because it is still showing open /unresolved. Instead of an explanation , I receive atrocious treatment by a receptionist named ****. This representative has exhibited unprofessional demeanor more than once and it is unacceptable. I need to know the status of my case with Resident Collect please.

01/28/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
False representation of debt.
ResidentCollect, Inc. has been falsely representing my debt to credit bureaus. On three different occasions during the first year that the collection attempt commenced, I requested that they investigate the debt alleged by the apartment company. After communicating with the apartment company, they advised me that they were making attempts to collect for missing key charges, vacuuming, attorneys fees (even though no judgment was allegedly entered?), and several other charges that were falsely represented. I advised the ResidentCollect, inc. that these charges were, in fact, false, and provided them with documentation such as the managers signature indicating that the apartment was in clean condition, and that the keys were received. I provided other pertinent documentation and ResidentCollect continues to mis represent the debt owed to the credit bureau. Mis representation of the debt is a violation of 15 U.S.C. §§ 1692e(2)(A). Further, ResidentCollect has violated numerous FFDCPA regulations. There actions surrounding the alleged debt is also in clear violation of 15 U.S.C. §§ 1692e(8),1692e(10). ResidentCollects actions have unwarrantedly and fraudulently hurt my credit report and the credit report of the alleged joint individual attached to this alleged debt. After consulting with legal council, we were advised that ResidentCollect, Inc. has had several complaints against them regarding similar issues and that we will have no problem seeking damages against them. We want this off our credit, and for them to cease and desist any further collection attempts on this fraudulently constructed debt.

Desired Settlement
1) Remove the entire collection from my credit and from the credit of the alleged joint individual (Luis Roman) listed in the collection.
2) Cease and desist from any further collection of this fraudulently constructed debt.

Business Response
ResidentCollect has never been provided any documents from the consumer with any evidence of his statements in this complaint. Instead, he has been calling our office since 2011 and offering very small settlement offers over and over to take care of this matter. The debt is valid, due and owing. If he would like to settle this case, please contact our office.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As provided in my initial complaint. We have demonstrated to the collection company and notified them that they were attempting to collect on a debt that was fraudulently created. If there were in fact "very small settlement offers," it was merely an attempt to remove the collection from my credit reporting in a less expensive way. However, due to the fact that the alleged debt was falsely represented I have no interest in settling this case for more than $300. The only option is for the company to remove this from my and my co-account holder's credit report. Again, failure to do so will result in a Civil Lawsuit.

We intend on filing the lawsuit by February 8th 2016.

Final Business Response
We are more than happy to work with you. I will submit your offer to my client and we will be in touch with you with their response.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Until an actual "resolution" is reached, I will not accept the business' proposed resolution... Again, we intend to file the civil lawsuit on February 8. This debt claim is utterly fraudulent, and is to be removed from both account holder's credit reporting, and further attempts to collect are to cease and desist. I strongly urge the business to review 15 U.S.C. section 1692e(2)(A) when considering their resolution.

11/07/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 1/2/12 I signed my move out statement that showed I was paid in full. 1yr later Resident Coll is reporting neg info on my credit report.
On 12/28/11 I moved out of my apartment that I had rented for the past 4 yrs or so. I was leaving 3 months prior to when my lease was up. In my lease it clearly states that if I break the lease I am responsible for the remainder of the lease OR until The Village of Avon is able to rent that apartment. Once I moved out all of my items out of the apartment I went to the office to finalize my account and was presented a move out statement that showing a zero balance which I signed. Then 1yr later Resident Coll is reporting negative information on my credit. When I realized this I called them to inquire about why they reporting this on my credit report. They indicated that the past due balance they were reporting was for the 1/12 rent that I was obligated to pay unless they were able to rent my apartment. So I got out my move out statement and on the statement it clearly shows my receiving 29 days of credit for 1/12 rent, which the lady in the office said I received because they were able to rent my apartment starting in 1/12, which according to my lease releases me of the last 3 months of my credit. So I brought thisup to Resident Coll and they stated that regardless I was resonsible for 1/12 payment. I then asked so why was I given 29 days of rent credit on my final move out statement. I was thne basically told they have no clue why and I better pay them or them will continue to damage my credit. I tried sending them the move out statement showing that I was given a credit for 1/12's rent and my final invoice after deducting my security deposit showed a 0 balance. When I called back they would not even acknowledge the final statement and kept telling me I owed them for Jauary's payment. I then asked why it took a year for them to determine that I owed them for January and she responded because we can. I then requested a breakdown of the debt and an explanation as to why after a year they are now saying I owe them for 1/12 rent even though my final statement clearly shows that they were able to rent the apartment in 1/12 thus I received a rent credit for 1/12. They have refused to provide me anything other then a copy of the final move out statement that showed the 0 balance, the only difference on the bottom of the statment someone had hand wrote $1271 on the bottom of the page. Mind you everything else was computer generized, except the hand written note on the bottom that was clearly added after the fact, with no explanation. To this day I have never received any explanations as to why I was charged $1271 a yr later. As I was notified by a hand written not on the bottom of a statemnet I had signed over a year earlier. Once again my lease stated that I would be released from lease once my apartment was rented and when I was in the office signing the final statement they acknowledged to me both verbally and in the staement(rent credit) that the apartment has been rented.

Desired Settlement
The only settlement I am seeking is for Resident Coll to contact Trans Union, Experian and Equifax and request deletion of this account from my credit report. Once they have requested deletion from the 3 credit reporting agencies, send me a letter stating they have requested this account to be deleted from the 3 bureaus. I do not want them to report this collection as paid because it never should have been sent to collections. I never had a past due amount the entire 4 yrs I lived there and I definately never had one after I moved out.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *******, Collections Coor
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@residentcheck.com
My name is *******. I am Collections Coordinator for ResidentCollect. I have reviewed the account and found that this is a just debt. We are not closing our file. We have not violated any collection laws. We have already provided Mr. ***** copies of his lease and the account ledger.

This debt arose from a lease agreement Mr. ***** entered into with Associated Estates Realty Corporation on May 1, 2012. When he moved out, he left charges for cleaning, damages, and final water bill, which accumulated to $1,221.62. Mr. ***** is still liable for this balance due.

Mr. ***** has made a variety of claims from being an attorney licensed in OH to that he had paid our client directly. We have searched through the Ohio State Bar Website and contacted our client to verify that none of his disputes thus far have been proven.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It seems like this company will go to any length to try to collect money that is not owed. First I never said I was an attorney, I indicated that my sister was in fact an attorney. So why would this company lie about my claims? If in fact this was a "just" debt there would be no reason to try to discredit me. When I first called them about this "unjust" debt they indicated that the reason my balance went from zero to $1271 was because a mistake was made by them and I should not have received the rent credit for January that was signed by both parties. Mind you this was a year later that they claim to have found the error. Now after reading their response the $1271 is now $1221 and it is no longer the result of January's rent. They are now claiming it was due to cleaning, damages and final water bill, which is completey a fraudlant statement. According to the final move out statement the cleaning was $50, the damages were a broken blind which one of the strips of the blind was bent which they charged me an outrageous $175 and a little stain on the carpet, which after living their for 4 yrs with 2 young boy that can be expected. Anyway they charged $125 for the stain. As far as the water bill, in my final mmoveout statment I actually received a credit for my water bill, just like the credit I received for 1/12 rent. When I moved in a gave the Village of Avon a $450 security deposit which more then cover those 2 small issues. The fact that Resident is now retracting their contention that my past due bill was due to 1/12 rent and the debt is now the result of damages, cleaning and past due water bill shows that they realize their mistake and are now trying to find other reasons for the debt. They stated they provided me a copy of my lease, but I already had a copy. I knew full well if my apartment was not leased I would be responsible for the expenses of the unit. However, in the final moveout statement it clearly shows that my apartment was rented on 1/3 and that I received a rent credit for those 28 days in 1/12 which I confirmed with the office worker. If Resident would provide the move out statement I signed showing there was a $1221 charge for damages, cleaning and water bill along with the 28 days of rent and water credit I received I would be happy to look at it. The fact is they can't. I have been dealing with this on my own and for 8 months they have told me my past due amount was a result of an error on their part(giving me a rent credit on my move out statement) Now after filing a complaint with the BBB they have now come to the conclusion this debt was not for 1/12 rent it is now because of damages(spot on rug, broken strip on blind) cleaning and a water bill which I also received a credit on the move out statement becuase the person who rented my united was now responsible and it only took them almost 3yrs to figure this out. I find *******'s and Resident Coll's response apprehensible and totally unprofessional. Their response did nothing to prove their claim all it was was ******* trying to discredit me by making outrageous claims about me and totally changing the reason for my past due amount to make me look like I just left the unit in shambles. She never once mentions 1/12 rent which shows the integrity of this company because they know that their past contentions about this debt is completely diffeent from what they are now claiming and this total disregard has caused me a great deal of financial damages which I now plan on exploring ways to recoup my damages as a result of ******* and Resident Coll fraudulant actions.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
On 10/9/2014, ******* from Resident Collect responded to my complaint. My complaint basically stated that Resident Collect was reporting an invalid debt on my credit report and that they have never explained the debt now have they verified the debt. After reading her response and that of their "general counsel" I can now see why they could not verify my debt.

*******'s response was "This debt arose from a lease agreement Mr. ***** entered into with Associated Estates Realty Corporation on May 1, 2012. When he moved out, he left charges for cleaning, damages, and final water bill, which accumulated to $1,221.62. Mr. ***** is still liable for this balance due." As you can see she never once mentions anything about January's rent. Then after showing that her claim was fraudulant(per the move-out statemen that her company provide) I then received a response from Resident Collect's "general counsel" and his response was as follows;

"As General Counsel for Resident Collect I have reviewed the complaints filed by Mr. *****. There is still a balance due and owing on this account. Mr. ***** is incorrect about the reletting date. The apartment was re-rented on January 28, 2013, and he was given credit for the 4 days on the move-out statement. Credit for these days totaled $165.03, making the balance due and owed $1221.62. This debt is being reported to the credit bureaus"
As you can clearly see, he makes no mention to the debt being a result of damages, cleaning and past due water bill. No he states the reason as being unpaid rent from 1/1/2013.
So now you have 2 Reponses from the same company and they are not remotely close as to agreeing on what the debt is a result of. Yet they continue to report this negative information to the credit reporting agencies with no regard to the damage this incompetence is causing me. Then the only thing they did agree on was the amount they were fraudulently reporting to the agencies, $1221.62. I then provided a copy of my credit report to show even the one thing they agreed on was not accurate. Yet they continued to reported knowingly incorrect information to the agencies. AS for the "general counsel's" response about the debt being a result of unpaid rent for January of 2013, if you look at the move-out statement that Resident Collect provided, you will see they provided me 28 of rent credit for 1/2013 and they also gave me credit for garbage disposal since they rented the apartment on 1/3/13. Also if you look at the move-out statement you will see they charged me for my water bill that went from 11/29-January 3rd. Why wouldn't they have charged me for the whole month of water if what they are claiming is true. Also, the most obvious proof that I do not owe Resident Collect for January's rent is on the move-out statement they provided it clearly shows a rent credit of 28 days due to the apartment being rented.
Then after the BBB came to the conclusion that Resident Collect did not supply adequate proof of this debt, Resident Collect continued to caused me distress by refusing to correct their fraudulent claims on my credit reports. Instead they provided another move out statement that was exactly the same as the first one they provided. The only difference being the amount owed is now different. So the one thing they both agreed on originally, they are now tiring to say was not accurate. So basically they failed to prove anything about this "debt" other then I moved -out before 1/3/13. Everything else, the reason for the debt, the amount being reported and the actual amount they are claiming I owed still hasn't been determined by Resident collect. Yet once again, they continue to report this fraudulent debt on my credit with no regard for the repercussions it is causing me, even though they have yet to agree on the amount, the reason and the being reported. I will attempt to recover some of my damages as a result of Resident Collect's incompetence.
*******'s response was "This debt arose from a lease agreement Mr. ***** entered into with Associated Estates Realty Corporation on May 1, 2012. When he moved out, he left charges for cleaning, damages, and final water bill, which accumulated to $1,221.62. Mr. ***** is still liable for this balance due." As you can see she never once mentions anything about January's rent. Then after showing that her claim was fraudulant(per the move-out statemen that her company provide) I then received a response from Resident Collect's "general counsel" and his response was as follows;

"As General Counsel for Resident Collect I have reviewed the complaints filed by Mr. *****. There is still a balance due and owing on this account. Mr. ***** is incorrect about the reletting date. The apartment was re-rented on January 28, 2013, and he was given credit for the 4 days on the move-out statement. Credit for these days totaled $165.03, making the balance due and owed $1221.62. This debt is being reported to the credit bureaus"
As you can clearly see, he makes no mention to the debt being a result of damages, cleaning and past due water bill. No he states the reason as being unpaid rent from 1/1/2013.
So now you have 2 Reponses from the same company and they are not remotely close as to agreeing on what the debt is a result of. Yet they continue to report this negative information to the credit reporting agencies with no regard to the damage this incompetence is causing me. Then the only thing they did agree on was the amount they were fraudulently reporting to the agencies, $1221.62. I then provided a copy of my credit report to show even the one thing they agreed on was not accurate. Yet they continued to reported knowingly incorrect information to the agencies. AS for the "general counsel's" response about the debt being a result of unpaid rent for January of 2013, if you look at the move-out statement that Resident Collect provided, you will see they provided me 28 of rent credit for 1/2013 and they also gave me credit for garbage disposal since they rented the apartment on 1/3/13. Also if you look at the move-out statement you will see they charged me for my water bill that went from 11/29-January 3rd. Why wouldn't they have charged me for the whole month of water if what they are claiming is true. Also, the most obvious proof that I do not owe Resident Collect for January's rent is on the move-out statement they provided it clearly shows a rent credit of 28 days due to the apartment being rented.
Then after the BBB came to the conclusion that Resident Collect did not supply adequate proof of this debt, Resident Collect continued to caused me distress by refusing to correct their fraudulent claims on my credit reports. Instead they provided another move out statement that was exactly the same as the first one they provided. The only difference being the amount owed is now different. So the one thing they both agreed on originally, they are now tiring to say was not accurate. So basically they failed to prove anything about this "debt" other then I moved -out before 1/3/13. Everything else, the reason for the debt, the amount being reported and the actual amount they are claiming I owed still hasn't been determined by Resident collect. Yet once again, they continue to report this fraudulent debt on my credit with no regard for the repercussions it is causing me, even though they have yet to agree on the amount, the reason and the being reported. I will attempt to recover some of my damages as a result of Resident Collect's incompetence.


Final Business Response
Unfortunately, since we have a cease and desist on file from Mr. *****, all we can do is respond to the BBB complaint with verification of the debt uploaded.

Page 1 of 2
09/19/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
incorrect amount due please give explanation of charges and reduced settlement
30 day notice given in advance. End of lease was December 15th, move out date was December 5th. Why pay a full months rent when my lease was up in the middle of the month balance due should be prorated for half of the month and not the entire month charges should also be the amount of days actually in apartment for them month. Explanation of charges should be given.

Desired Settlement
explanation of charges and reduced settlement.

Business Response
I have attached an explanation of the charges. Also, if you would like to settle, I can offer $400.00 to settle. Please contact our office if you would like to settle or have any additional questions.

09/19/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Advised couldnt settle account for lesser amount, could not dispute add'l billed months of lease after eviction. Rep laughed, said lawyer cant help me
The landlord filed eviction after I advised I was laid off from work. Charges includes, relet, termination, and additional months of rent. I am disputing the additional months' charges due to the charges occurring after my eviction date. I advised the representative I would be willing to settle for amount owed to landlord including late fees and evictions fees, but will not pay for the additional months where I did not reside at the residence. This company relies on inaccurate information and harasses people. Representative was very rude and laughed at my situation and told me that no matter how much I dispute and hire lawyers, no one in their right mind would help me.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting the company reduce the amount of debt reported to the credit agency and settle for the actual amount owed without the additional months of charges.

Business Response
Contact Email: *****@*******************
I do apologize if you do not feel that you were able to reach an amicable solution during your call to our office. The balance is $3755.07. I can offer to settle for $1955.00. I will notate your account and if you would like to accept this, please contact Debra at our office or email the address below if you'd like to discuss this further.

08/24/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refusal to accept payment and send itemized summary.
I have called them twice already. I asked how to make a payment online and they said I couldn't. I asked if I could make a payment online and was told I couldn't because my payment wasn't large enough. I asked if I could send a check and they said yes but it could take up to 8 weeks for the check to process out of my account. I asked for a summary of what I owe and they said they don't send those. They refuse to tell me where the money is owed as I had already moved into another apartment when my roommate got evicted.

Desired Settlement
I would like an itemized statement of my bill as well as the ability to actually make payments and have them resolved in a reasonable amount of time. If this is not resolved within 30 days the next phone call they'll be recieving is from my lawyer and they wont be recieving any money from myself or my roommate.

Business Response
Attached is the itemized list of charges. Please call my office if you would like to settle. We can accept a payment by mail or over the phone.

08/08/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The basis for my dispute is " ResidentCollect, Inc.,******* B. *****" XXXXXX
was required to notify me prior to 9/4/2014, or no later than 30 days
The basis for my dispute is " ResidentCollect, Inc.,******* B. *****" XXXXXX
was required to notify me prior to 9/4/2014, or no later than 30 days after furnishing the negative
information to credit bureau reports, in writing...under such section 623, subsection (7)(A).
However, in my records I am unable to locate documentation you complied with this requirement,
which is a violation of the FCRA & FDCPA.
Also, ResidentCollect, Inc.,******* B. ***** failed to give me my "Mini-Miranda" five days prior to
placing this derogatory item on all of my credit reports, per Section XXX(XX) & FDCPA 809, which
is $1000 per violation and the state of CA allows treble damages.
Under 809. Validations of date and Mini-Mirandi under Section XXX(X) ResidentCollect,
Inc.,******* B. ***** failed to send me my initial communication before placing this alleged item
on my credit reports further violating the FCRA, with $1000 per violation.
ResidentCollect, Inc.,******* B. ***** is held liable as well for defamation and in the state ofCA a
creditor is who collects their on debt is considered a debt collector under TDCPA.Smith v. Heard
980 S.W.2d693(Tex.App-San Antonio 1989 reh.den.)citingMonroe v. Frank 936 S.W.2d
654(Tex.App-Dallas 1996 writ dism'd w.o.j.)

Desired Settlement
I will if the account is not taken back and removed from any and all credit bureau reports, I will turn
this over to Gary Nitzkin FDCPA and FCRA national Attorney to look and take over this complaint.
Therefore, provide me documentation of notification (i.e. a copy of the notification sent), and proof
that it was delivered to me in a timely manner (i.e. a dated certified mail delivery confirmation with
my signature).. 30 days before or 30 days after ( 9/4/2014) the date it was opened with the
bureaus as you have listed.

Business Response
This file is being closed with our office and the reporting will be deleted with the credit bureaus.

08/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Keeping me from paying off a balance in order to get a new apartment
I have repeatedly attempted to pay a leftover balance for an apartment debt, but everytime I have called to pay my balance, they claim the systems are down. This keeps me from a)clearing this off my credit b)being able to obtain a place to stay. I have also explained the urgency to pay over the past two weeks. Yet, I'm connected directly to Fernando, who tells me I cannot pay, and they will call back when systems are back up (has not happened). The amount is 696.00. I have called since July 3rd, 2016. The balance was from Arrowood Crossing Apartments

Desired Settlement
I am seeking for this to be closed and taken off of my credit/rental history and given letter of good standing.

Business Response
This balance was paid in full on 07/26/16. The reporting to the credit bureaus will the updated and can take anywhere from 30 to 90 days to update. If this is incorrect, please contact our office.


Page 1 of 13

Industry Comparison| Chart

Collection Agencies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.