BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Mitchell D. Bluhm & Associates,LLC

Phone: (866) 945-8627Fax: (903) 893-4157

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

201 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 87 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues198
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints201

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (201)
07/11/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Repeated attempt to collect an alleged bill from Allegheny General Hospital, part of the West Penn Allegheny Health System. MBA Account# XXXXXXXX
Repeated attempts are being made by Law Offices of Mitchell D Bluhm & Associates (MBA, regarding an alleged bill that we owe for services rendered 9/30/2012. We have a billing summary from the hospital showing all my billable services within the health system from 9/30/2012 through 1/15/2013 which shows a balance owed of $35.20 which I paid 1/18/2013 check 529.

I received no prior written notice of this in the past 3 years and 9 months. I have lived at the same address for 20 years+. MBA cannot provide any legitimate verification. MBA did provide generic statement that showed a balance of $0 owed!!?

I consider the continued the continued action to be harrassment and a fraudulaent attempt to collect money that is not owed. I request correction to show that this amount was paid and the account closed. In addition, if this erroneous information was furnished to any credit reporting agencies, I request an immediate retraction be made to correct my credit record.

Desired Settlement
I want this debt removed from my credit report, collection activity to cease and this account to be closed.

Business Response
BBB of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc.
1601 Elm Street, Suite 3838
Dallas, Texas XXXXX

Attn.: **** ***** Director of Complaint Resolution Department

Re.: Case #: ******** - ***** *********

Mr. *****

This firm has received correspondence regarding the above-referenced consumer complaint. The activities regarding this matter have been investigated through a review of system notes and also through the interview of employees. This correspondence will serve as reply and resolution to the matter.

An investigation shows that the account forming the basis of this complaint was placed with this firm on or about February 23, 2016. The information provided indicated that the account is Ms. *********'s responsibility. Accordingly, MBA believed the account to be due and owing.

We apologize for any inconvenience our efforts may have caused, but believe they were in compliance with applicable state and federal laws. However, in light of Ms. *********'s complaint this account has been closed and we will make no further attempts to contact her regarding this account.

Should you require any further information, please do not hesitate to contact us.


Sincerely,


The Law Offices of Mitchell D. Bluhm & Associates


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

07/01/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Collections on my credit report for medical bills that I never received by mail to pay from this law firm.
I had gone to the emergency room in December of 2014. I am a veteran and the Veterans Affairs were supposed to pay the medical bills for my x-rays and emergency room visit. Apparently the VA did not cover the expenses. I only received one phone call trying to collect the money in the full and I asked for documentation in writing so I knew what I was paying and why, but I never received the letter. Now I just checked my credit report because I am trying to buy a house and it says that I have two bills in collection from this law firm for my medical bills. I tried to call them but no numbers are in service that are listed for this company.

Desired Settlement
Pursuant to the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, 15 USC 1692g Sec. 809 (b) this claim is disputed and validation is requested. I respectfully request that your office provide me with competent evidence that I have any legal obligation to pay you. Please provide me with the following:
1)What the money you say I owe is for;
2)Explain and show me how you calculated what you say I owe;
3)Provide me with copies of any papers that show I agreed to pay what you say I owe;
4)Provide a verification or copy of any judgment if applicable;
5)Identify the original creditor;
6)Prove the Statute of Limitations has not expired on this account;
7)Show me that you are licensed to collect in my state; and8)Provide me with your license numbers and Registered Agent.

If your offices fail to respond to this validation request within 30 days, all references to this account must be deleted and completely removed from my credit file and a copy of such deletion request shall be sent to me immediately via certified mail.

Business Response
BBB of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc.
1601 Elm Street, Suite 3838
Dallas, Texas XXXXX

Attn.: **** ***** Director of Complaint Resolution Department

Re.: Case #: ******** - ****** ******

Mr. Fife:

This firm has received correspondence regarding the above-referenced consumer complaint. The activities regarding this matter have been investigated through a review of system notes and also through the interview of employees. This correspondence will serve as reply and resolution to the matter.

An investigation shows that the accounts forming the basis of this complaint were placed with this firm on or about March 24, 2016. The information provided indicated that the accounts are Mr. ******'s responsibility. Accordingly, MBA believed the accounts to be due and owing.

We apologize for any inconvenience our efforts may have caused, but believe they were in compliance with applicable state and federal laws. However, in light of Mr. ******'s complaint these accounts have been closed, credit reporting agencies notified to delete any relevant trade lines and we will make no further attempts to contact him regarding these accounts.

Should you require any further information, please do not hesitate to contact us.


Sincerely,


The Law Offices of Mitchell D. Bluhm & Associates


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
As long as it does not affect my credit score then I am fine with their response. I still, however, do not understand why I was not notified by mail about this account if I was responsible for owing them. It just doesn't add up to me. If the accounts are closed though then I would assume there are no further actions needed.

06/15/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Repeated attempts to collect a bill from the Cleveland Clinic that was paid two years ago.
Re: Account # **************; MBA Account # ********
Date of Service: 10/30/2013

Repeated attempts are being made by this company to collect the alleged outstanding payment of $209.44 for hospital services rendered on 10/30/2013. This bill was paid in full to the Cleveland Clinic on 5/19/2014 by my personal check, Number 7911. The total amount paid was $269.62, which included the $209.44 hospital services and $3.92 physicians services on 10/30/13, as well as $56.26 for charges incurred on 11/12/13.
I mailed the law office a copy of the billing statement that indicates my full payment, along with a copy of my cancelled check.
I consider the continued action regarding a bill that was paid in full over two years ago to be harassment and a fraudulent attempt to collect money that is not owed. I request review of the record, correction to show this account was paid in full to the Cleveland Clinic, and immediate action to stop sending me these erroneous notices. In addition, if this erroneous information was furnished to any credit reporting agencies, I request an immediate retraction be made to correct my credit record.


Desired Settlement
I request review of the record, correction to show this account was paid in full to the Cleveland Clinic, and immediate action to stop sending me these erroneous notices. In addition, if this erroneous information was furnished to any credit reporting agencies, I request an immediate retraction be made to correct my credit record.

Business Response
BBB of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc.
1601 Elm Street, Suite 3838
Dallas, Texas 75201

Attn.: John Fife, Director of Complaint Resolution Department

Re.: Case #: 91374756 - ***********

Mr. Fife:

This firm has received correspondence regarding the above-referenced consumer complaint. The activities regarding this matter have been investigated through a review of system notes and also through the interview of employees. This correspondence will serve as reply and resolution to the matter.

An investigation shows that the account forming the basis of this complaint was placed with this firm on or about January 26, 2016. The information provided indicated that the account is Ms. ****** responsibility. Accordingly, MBA believed the account to be due and owing.

We apologize for any inconvenience our efforts may have caused, but believe they were in compliance with applicable state and federal laws. However, in light of Ms. ****** complaint, this account has been closed and we will make no further attempts to contact her regarding this account.

Should you require any further information, please do not hesitate to contact us.


Sincerely,


The Law Offices of Mitchell D. Bluhm & Associates


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
While this firm has agreed to close the account and cease further action,their response is unacceptable. No information is provided regarding why they maintain that money is owed. I provided proof of payment with my cancelled check and account number, however the information that I submitted as evidence was ignored in their response.
I also request that the BBB redact the firm's written answer to my complaint and delete any identifying information.

05/31/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
continue to be contacted about said monies owed to
Walker Baptist Hosp ****** ***
I was contacted by Atty Mitchell D . Bluhms office
the week of May 16, 2016 and again today May 23, 2016. The person calling said that I ******* ****** dob 09-28-1950 owe Walker Baptist $250.from service received FEb. 2014.
i long ago notified Walker Baptist ******,Al and later on some collection agency, in writing I do not intend to pay Walker Baptist any money .
They did not follow up on my lab reports and notify me of a disease I had, which could have been deadly, they did not contact me to tell me I should discontinue the ABX, which exacerbated my disease.
Todays caller, after after I told her I am not paying these charges , said they will call back again.

Desired Settlement
Discontinue the charges from my credit record.

Business Response
BBB of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc.
1601 Elm Street, Suite 3838
Dallas, Texas 75201

Attn.: **** ***** Director of Complaint Resolution Department

Re.: Case #: ******** - ******* ******

Mr. *****

This firm has received correspondence regarding the above-referenced consumer complaint. The activities regarding this matter have been investigated through a review of system notes and also through the interview of employees. This correspondence will serve as reply and resolution to the matter.

An investigation shows that the account forming the basis of this complaint was placed with this firm on or about May 10, 2016. The information provided indicated that the account is Ms. ******'s responsibility. Accordingly, MBA believed the account to be due and owing.

We apologize for any inconvenience our efforts may have caused, but believe they were in compliance with applicable state and federal laws. However, in light of Ms. ******'s complaint this account has been closed and we will make no further attempts to contact her regarding this account.

Should you require any further information, please do not hesitate to contact us.


Sincerely,


The Law Offices of Mitchell D. Bluhm & Associates


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

05/24/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
received bill in mail for a service that we have a paid in full receipt for.
My wife went to the Bartow regional health clinic on Feb 28,2014 due to a severe cold. She received treatment and a cost and because it was a self pay they offered a 65% discount. Original amount $ 2,515.16 - $ 1,634.85 = $ 880.31
She paid the amount in full. We have full documentation of this. The letter dated March 9th,2016 from MBA does not have the correct account # or the amount. It seems this is a generic letter demanding money stating we have not reviewed your file but pay now and we will give you a discount. This firm needs to be held accountable for what they do to people. This could create havoc for elderly or emotionally distressed individuals.We have already paid in full.

Desired Settlement
we would like no more contact from this firm and if it does affect our credit score have that removed as well.
Thank you ***

Business Response
BBB of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc.
1601 Elm Street, Suite 3838
Dallas, Texas 75201

Attn.: **** ***** Director of Complaint Resolution Department

Re.: Case #: ********* ****** ******

Mr. *****

This firm has received correspondence regarding the above-referenced consumer complaint. The activities regarding this matter have been investigated through a review of system notes and also through the interview of employees. This correspondence will serve as reply and resolution to the matter.
An investigation shows that the account forming the basis of this complaint was placed with MBA on February 25, 2016. The information provided indicated that the account is Ms. ******'s responsibility. Accordingly, MBA believed the account to be due and owing.
We apologize for any inconvenience our collection efforts may have caused, but believe they were in compliance with all applicable state and federal laws. However, in light of Ms. ******'s complaint this account has been closed, credit reporting agencies notified to delete any relevant trade lines and MBA will make no further attempts to contact her regarding this account.
Should you require any further information, please do not hesitate to contact us.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Page 1 of 20
06/29/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Allege I owe monies to St. Joseph Hospital North

It's a women's health provider

I've never been there nor am I married

Never received a Invoice
My credit report changed due to this Law office putting my info in about an account which is not mine

Desired Settlement
Remove my information from credit report

restore my credit

Business Response
BBB of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc.
**** *** Street, Suite ****
Dallas, Texas XXXXX

Attn.: **** Fife, Director of Complaint Resolution Department

Re.: Case #: ******** - ***** *****

Mr. *****

This firm has received correspondence regarding the above-referenced consumer complaint. The activities regarding this matter have been investigated through a review of system notes and also through the interview of employees. This correspondence will serve as reply and resolution to the matter.

An investigation shows that the account forming the basis of this complaint was placed with this firm on or about April 13, 2016. The information provided indicated that the account is Mr. *****' responsibility. Accordingly, MBA believed the account to be due and owing.

We apologize for any inconvenience our efforts may have caused, but believe they were in compliance with applicable state and federal laws. However, in light of Mr. *****' complaint this account has been closed, credit reporting agencies notified to delete any relevant trade lines and we will make no further attempts to contact him regarding this account.

Should you require any further information, please do not hesitate to contact us.


Sincerely,


The Law Offices of Mitchell D. Bluhm & Associates

06/29/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company trying to collect a debt that is not my responsibility.
I got a letter in the mail from MBA Law Offices asking me to pay for a Patient debt from Northeast Hospital. I don't even know this person. When I called to dispute the letter Craig told me they would research and get back to me. I asked for more information regarding the patient they are referring to. They told me it could be my step child. I don't have step children. This patient was at the time 24 years of age. They gave me the birth date. Why would I be responsible for someone I don't know and that is 24 years old at the time 2014 was the date of service. This company has my SS # and My Birth date. They told me to call the police. They also said I could sent them a police report of identity theft. Then they said it would not be necessary. I want this cleared up today and my name SS and date of birth out of this companies hands if not I will go to the local Media and make a big problem for this so called law firm that is trying to steal hard working Americans money.

Desired Settlement
No further contact in any way. correcting the error, by getting rid of any personal information of mine that MBA Law has. SS# Birth Date.
Correction to my credit report if needed.

Business Response
BBB of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc.
1601 Elm Street, Suite 3838
Dallas, Texas XXXXX

Attn.: **** ***** Director of Complaint Resolution Department

Re.: Case #: ******** - ******* *******

Mr. *****

This firm has received correspondence regarding the above-referenced consumer complaint. The activities regarding this matter have been investigated through a review of system notes and also through the interview of employees. This correspondence will serve as reply and resolution to the matter.

An investigation shows that the account forming the basis of this complaint was placed with this firm on or about February 16, 2016. The information provided indicated that the account is Ms. *******'s responsibility. Accordingly, MBA believed the account to be due and owing.

We apologize for any inconvenience our efforts may have caused, but believe they were in compliance with applicable state and federal laws. However, in light of Ms. *******'s complaint this account has been closed, credit reporting agencies notified to delete any relevant trade lines and we will make no further attempts to contact her regarding this account.

Should you require any further information, please do not hesitate to contact us.


Sincerely,


The Law Offices of Mitchell D. Bluhm & Associates

06/09/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Erroneous collection placed on my credit report by Mitchell D Bluhm & Assoc without any notice or explanation.
After checking a credit monitoring site, I realized that Mitchell D. Bluhm and Associates had placed a collection account on my credit reports. I have received absolutely no communication from them (written or otherwise) to explain or validate this debt. I can find no account number listed on my credit reports. The original creditor as reported on my credit report is Florida Hospital.

Desired Settlement
Pursuant to the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, 15 USC 1692g Sec. 809 (b) this claim is disputed and validation is requested.

I respectfully request that your office provide me with competent evidence that I have any legal obligation to pay you. Please provide me with the following:
1)What the money you say I owe is for
2)Explain and show me how you calculated what you say I owe
3)Provide me with copies of any papers that show I agreed to pay what you say I owe
4)Provide a verification or copy of any judgment if applicable
5)Identify the original creditor
6)Prove the Statute of Limitations has not expired on this account
7)Show me that you are licensed to collect in my state
and 8)Provide me with your license numbers and Registered Agent.

If your offices fail to respond to this validation request within 30 days, all references to this account must be deleted and completely removed from my credit file and a copy of such deletion request shall be sent to me immediately.

I would also like to request, in writing, that no telephone contact be made by your offices to my home or to my place of employment. If your offices attempt telephone communication with me, including but not limited to computer generated calls or correspondence sent to any third parties, it will be considered harassment and I will have no choice but to file suit.

All future communications with me MUST be done in writing.

Business Response
BBB of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc.
1601 Elm Street, Suite 3838
Dallas, Texas 75201

Attn.: **** ***** Director of Complaint Resolution Department

Re.: Case #: ******** - ******* ********

Mr. *****

This firm has received correspondence regarding the above-referenced consumer complaint. The activities regarding this matter have been investigated through a review of system notes and also through the interview of employees. This correspondence will serve as reply and resolution to the matter.

An investigation shows that the account forming the basis of this complaint was placed with this firm on or about March 28, 2016. The information provided indicated that the account is Ms. ********'s responsibility. Accordingly, MBA believed the account to be due and owing.

We apologize for any inconvenience our efforts may have caused, but believe they were in compliance with applicable state and federal laws. However, in light of Ms. ********'s complaint this account has been closed, credit reporting agencies notified to delete any relevant trade lines and we will make no further attempts to contact her regarding this account.

Should you require any further information, please do not hesitate to contact us.


Sincerely,


The Law Offices of Mitchell D. Bluhm & Associates


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Although I appreciate the creditor taking swift action to resolve the matter, I will accept the response once the accounts are indeed deleted from my credit reports.

Final Business Response
Please note we have no control over how long it takes for the bureau(s) to update their records. Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Although I appreciate the creditor taking swift action to resolve the matter, I will accept the response once the accounts are indeed deleted from my credit reports.

06/06/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This letter is in response to information I just found on my credit report, I never received any letters from you or the hospital regarding any debt.
Dear Mitchell D. Blohm & Associates llc / Florida Hospital
This letter is in response to information I just found on my credit report, I never received any letters from you or the hospital regarding any debt that I have accrued. I also haven't lived in the state of Florida for four years now, and have not received any treatment in a Florida Hospital for six years now. The last date was August 30, 2010 when my daughter was born. I also had full Medicaid coverage at that time.
I dispute this alleged Florida Hospital account in its entirety.

Desired Settlement
This needs to be taken off of my credit report immediately and I want a certified letter stating that it has been taken off.

Business Response
BBB of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc.
1601 Elm Street, Suite 3838
Dallas, Texas 75201

Attn.: John Fife, Director of Complaint Resolution Department

Re.: Case #: ******** - ****** *******

Mr. Fife:

This firm has received correspondence regarding the above-referenced consumer complaint. The activities regarding this matter have been investigated through a review of system notes and also through the interview of employees. This correspondence will serve as reply and resolution to the matter.

An investigation shows that the account forming the basis of this complaint was placed with this firm on or about March 28, 2016. The information provided indicated that the account is Ms. *******'s responsibility. Accordingly, MBA believed the account to be due and owing.

We apologize for any inconvenience our efforts may have caused, but believe they were in compliance with applicable state and federal laws. However, in light of Ms. *******'s complaint this account has been closed, credit reporting agencies notified to delete any relevant trade lines and we will make no further attempts to contact her regarding this account.

Should you require any further information, please do not hesitate to contact us.


Sincerely,


The Law Offices of Mitchell D. Bluhm & Associates

05/25/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Five-year-old bill collection, no account of charges, dates or evidence of failure to pay
I received this bill today. I also received a similar bill in 2013, for $50.00. I did live in Georgia in 2011 and did receive medical care, so regarding the 2013 bill collection, I paid it, with my apologies. Now I'm receiving a second collection notice, account number XXXXXXXX. The letter was sent from "Dept. 322, P.O. Box 4115, Concord, CA XXXXX. The office itself provides two addresses: the physical address 2222 Texoma Pkwy, Suite 160, Sherman TX XXXXX; and a second address, P.O. Box 3269, Sherman TX XXXXX. The issue is, I have not received a bill from the Northeast Georgia Physicians Group, Inc. I called the number provided, XXX-XXX-XXXX, and the woman on the line knew no details and could give me no information regarding my account. She also told me not to contact the Northeast Georgia Physicians Group, Inc., saying the physician group would simply tell me to contact the debt collection agency. She refused to discuss anything, in fact. Instead, she referred me to the "patient advocate" department at XXX-XXX-XXXX.There was no answer. I left a message that has not been returned. I would be happy to pay a bill, if I received one. But I have not received a bill. I have seen many complaints in regard to this company, and considering the late date, this second attempt to collect from me, their lack of information and the fact that the company misspelled my name (Lyndsey Robinson) I am led to question the validity of this collection.

Desired Settlement
I expect the company to drop the collection notice for 146.00 and refrain from ever contacting me in the future. Should I have a legitimate balance with the Northeast Georgia Physicians Group Inc., I need to receive a bill, which I would be happy to pay.

Business Response
BBB of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc.
1601 Elm Street, Suite 3838
Dallas, Texas XXXXX

Attn.: **** ***** Director of Complaint Resolution Department

Re.: Case #: ******** - ******* ****************

Mr. *****

This firm has received correspondence regarding the above-referenced consumer complaint. The activities regarding this matter have been investigated through a review of system notes and also through the interview of employees. This correspondence will serve as reply and resolution to the matter.

An investigation shows that the accounts forming the basis of this complaint were placed with this firm on or about April 28, 2016. The information provided indicated that the accounts are Ms. ****************'s responsibility. Accordingly, MBA believed the accounts to be due and owing.

We apologize for any inconvenience our efforts may have caused, but believe they were in compliance with applicable state and federal laws. However, in light of Ms. ****************'s complaint these accounts have been closed and we will make no further attempts to contact her regarding these accounts.

Should you require any further information, please do not hesitate to contact us.


Sincerely,


The Law Offices of Mitchell D. Bluhm & Associates

Page 1 of 21

Industry Comparison| Chart

Collection Agencies, Attorneys & Lawyers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.