BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Directline Distributing, LLC

Phone: (972) 423-4160Fax: (972) 424-7901

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
06/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Order was not as described. I received the wrong color and could not use for my graduation
I placed an order with Gradshop on April 9th 2013 for a graduation gown, master hood, cap and tassel. I choose the hood color as Drab for the velvet, royal blue for the lining and antique gold for the chevron. After several weeks have passed and I did not receive my order I contacted gradshop on May 9th and I was told it was shipped. They could not give me a ship date or a tracking number and asked that I call back the next day. I called back on may 10th and was told the order was not shipped since they issued me a refund. I insisted that I did not receive a refund and they inquired with their account department and agreeded that a refund was not issued to me. Nichole told me that they will ship the order overnight. On Tuesday 14th May I still did not receive the order and called Gradshop again. They again told me they issued me a refund and I insisted no I did not get one. I then asked to speak to the supervisor who assured me that the order will be received soon. I did get the order on may 17th directly from a warehouse in China shipped via UPS. However the color of my graduation hood was not what I ordered. I got a gold color for the velvet and I ordered Drab which is a light beige or brown color. I immediately contacted Gradshop and spoke to Jennifer. She asked that I email her a picture of the hood. I took a picture and emailed her. I never heard back from anyone at Gradshop. I contacted them again and Nichole told me they "we will see what we can do". I called back again (it take about 20-30 minutes on the phone to connect with someone there)and the supervisor answered and she told me they will not replace it since this is their shade for Drab and even if she ask me to send it in so they examine it I would not get it in time for my graduation and she apologizes. I then showed my school and I was told it is not Drab and cannot use it for my graduation since it is not the schools color. Due to the short time I have for the graduation ceremony I was almost impossible to get any graduation shop to make this custom hood in time for me and so I visited three fabric stores to see if I can find some kind of material to have the hood altered and could not. The three fabric stores also agreed with me that the color was not Drab it was gold. It was the same color as the inside (Chevron) which is in antique gold. I eventually had to purchase a another hood from Barnes and Nobles and use it to alter the one from Gradshop kind of mix and match to get what I needed. Since Barnes and Nobles did not carry my school color on the inside of the hood. It ended up spending more than $150 for the alternate hood and paying a Tailor to make the alterations for me. I do not need an apology from Gradshop I need my money back since they did not provide what I asked for and I could not use what they sent me from China. The Color chart shown on their website shows Drab as a beige they send me gold. Getting a master degree and attending your graduation ceremony happens is something every hard working individual dreams and this occasion happens once in a lifetime. This could have ruined my graduation plans and cost me the graduation ceremony.

Desired Settlement
I emailed Gradshop and asked for a partial refund of $75.00 which I think is a fair and reasonable amount based on my expense to have to hood altered. To date they ignored my email and request. I cannot return the hood in the original state since I was forced to have it altered due to the short time frame I was left with. I would be happy to settle for $75.00 verses the $131.00 I paid to them.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** McCaslin
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@apparelgroup.com
After personally reviewing the photos the customer sent of the hood she received, we have agreed to refund her the requested $75.00.

05/22/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Never received product. Can't get anyone to answer calls. No response to emails sent.

Ordered 4 kindergarten cap and gowns from gradshop.com
E-mail confirmation stated a shipment notification e-mail would be sent with a tracking number. Never received the tracking number. Called to find out about the status of the order and was on hold for an hour. Tried calling a different number and got no answer. Sent an e-mail to the company and got no response.

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund of the $78.75 as it will be too late to use the cap and gowns.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@apparelgroup.com
Once this complaint was received, we contacted the customer. We reiterated our processing and shipping times and notified her that her order was in fact ready to ship if she still wanted it. Customer verified that she wanted the order and the shipment was sent. We consider this complaint resolved.

06/03/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered two products and they were NOT delivered to me. The Postal Service is claiming they delivered, but it was NEVER delivered to my address.
My order number is XXXXXXXXXX

Tracking NumberXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like my order resent to me immediately. If the post office is going to deliver it, make it where they leave a slip and I go directly to the post office to pick up from items.

Business Response
Hello BBB,

We are disputing this as the customer placed an order with us on 4/14/14 or 2 items, they were delivered on 4/25/14. FedEx Tracking # provided to the customer is XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX. Delivered at 4/25/14 at 10:42am to Miami FL. FedEx is our carrier and the package was given to FedEx, FedEx then gave it to USPS to deliver. The customer would need to reorder. If the package was stolen from her property she can alert her local police department, or do a drivers follow-up with FedEx. As per our policy we did everything correct in shipping her order within a timely manner.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The company did nothing to correct the problem. They informed me they are not responsible once it leaves them. I was never told it would go through the US Postal Service or never given the option to have it picked up at a location. When I informed the agent that I wanted to file complaint she was rude and did nothing to help. They that customer service is an integral part of their job but has FAILED.provide

06/18/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered items, check was cashed but now I cant get a hold of anyone to find out where our merchandise is.
BEAM placed an order for caps and gowns on 5/13. Requested an invoice be sent, took two days to get an invoice. Check was sent on 5/15/13 in the amount of 1466.15. It was check #1441. Was told that it would take 14 days, 7 days for processing and 7 for shipping. On Monday June 3, 2013 - tried contacting company as to inquire when items should be arriving. Left messages for every option on the voicemail. No one called me back. Checked our bank statement and the check was cashed on 5/21/13. Tried calling back today(6/5/13). Still cannot reach anyone. All options go to voicemail.

Desired Settlement
At this time, I would like a full refund for the merchandise in the amount of $1466.15. Check was cashed an no merchandise has been sent or contact from the company can be made.

Business' Initial Response
It seems that there was a misunderstanding with the customer in regard to our standard processing and shipping times. Once the payment for the order was received on 5/20/13, we have 14 BUSINESS days to process plus standard shipping times of 7-10 business days. We are still clearly within that time frame. The order has been shipped and is in transit for delivery on 6/11/13. If the customer is still unsatisfied, she can contact us again to obtain an RMA number to return the product for a refund.

In regard to not being able to reach anyone, the customer was leaving messages in an obscure voicemail box that were only recently discovered. She can reach our customer service department at XXX-XXX-XXXX Monday - Friday 8:00 am to 6:00 pm or by email at ****@gradshop.com.

05/09/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
from the google search engine you put in "cap and gown" Gradshop is the 1st to appear it reads "As Low As $12.95 + Free Shipping. Enter code GRAD2013 and save 10%!" You enter the site where it still states at the top of the page free shipping. after searching and attempting to purchase my item i discovered it is NOT free shipping. I called and was advised that i would have to purchased over $900 for free shipping. It doesnt state that from the home page or from the search engine.

Desired Settlement
to honor the free ship and 10% as indicated. however time is of the essence so i will probably have to search out another store

Business' Initial Response
The consumer called our offices complaining of false advertising due to results displayed in a Google search and a "Free Shipping" banner on our web site.

Our customer service manager explained to her that we do offer free shipping on orders over a certain dollar amount. She also directed the consumer to view our shipping policies and prices, which are available in two separate locations on our site-the home page and under Customer Service. We also told the consumer that we would be happy to honor the 10% discount as it applies to all orders. The consumer did not want to navigate the site further. She told our manager she was complaining to the BBB and taking her business elsewhere. She ended the call at that point.

In regard to the Google search results, these are managed for us by a third-party and vary daily. I've attached a screen shot taken this morning that does not reference shipping in any way. Please note that the same search terms the consumer used were entered. The "Free Shipping" issue is clearly addressed on our home page which states "Fast Free Shipping - Nationwide - Orders over $999." I have attached a screen shot of this as well. Both these instances are examples of common marketing practice not only in our industry, but for online retailers as a whole.

I hope that the information provided can resolve this complaint. The consumer did not leave us any contact information to further try to rectify the situation. We strive to provide excellent customer service and regret that anyone had a bad experience with our site or any of our employees.

Sincerely,

****** ******


****** ****** - Senior Accountant - APPAREL GROUP
Office: 900 Alpha Drive, Suite 410 - Richardson, TX XXXXX
*****@apparelgroup.com - Office: XXX-XXX-XXXX - Fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Websites: Gradshop.com - Churchgoers.com - Stoles.com - Judicialshop.com

Industry Comparison| Chart

Clothing - Retail

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.