BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Elighters Management, Inc

Phone: (972) 422-2255Fax: (214) 291-5664

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service9
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints12

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (12)BBB Closure Definitions
09/24/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
08/17/2012Problems with Product / Service
07/18/2012Delivery Issues
06/20/2012Delivery Issues
06/15/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
11/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: Co. unwilling to pick up shipping charges to send new item b/c it is defective beyond 30-day warranty; making me p/u shipping b/c its beyond 30 days
Purchased as gift on 7/29/13. Person who was gifted just informed me the item leaks and would like fixed/replaced. Contacted Co. today & was first informed I would have to pay shipping to return it b/c outside of the 30-day return policy & falls under "warranty" period b/c it's under a year but with that, must pay shipping fees. Asked to speak to a supervisor who first said nothing she could do-"that's the policy". Then asked to speak to HER supervisor; came back saying they were in a "meeting" but was authorized to send me a pre-paid return label but I would still be responsible for paying $7.95 to get replacement sent back to me. Argued the point that it was not fair to make me pay any shipping to return or receive an new item based on having received a defective one and neither I or my friend who received the gift had control over if/when the item became defective and should not be penalized for it being out of their 30-day return period. I stated all I wanted was a repaired or replaced item, free of shipping; I already paid enough for the item and was not interested in paying for receiving a replacement of their distribution of a defective one. I was told they would not be able to repair it so it would be replaced (and engraved as the original one was) but they could/would not waive the return shipping fee to me. I asked to speak to another supervisor and was told that the person in the meeting was the only one available but she would take my name and number and have him call me. I reluctantly agreed knowing full-well, I will receive no call back so I am making my complaint online to you. The supervisor I spoke to was named, "Yolanda" and her supervisor is "Mr. Patel". Both work out of the Plano Tx office. I hope you can help me amicably resolve my issue and get a new item. Thank you. Sincerely,
******** ********

Initial Business Response
As per our return policy on:
http://www.eflasks.com/return-policy.html

Customer has to return an item within 30 days for free replacement.
We clearly specify on the return policy that Shipping charges and expedited engraving fees will not be refunded and if an item is returned for an exchange, a $4.95 re-shipping charge will be applied.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Their direct response to my request is not clear and I would like for them to spell out clearly what they will d to exchange or replace the monogrammed flask: what is my financial responsibility consist of regarding fees for shipping & returning, replacing leaky flask and re-monogramming?

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

07/20/2012Problems with Product / Service
10/06/2011Problems with Product / Service
02/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: The company promised a replacement because their engraving was shoddy at best. Now they say they're refunding 26.96 & refuse to replace, as promised.
I have all email correspondence with this company, and will forward it wherever is needed.

DATE: 12-Nov-2012
ORDER #: XXXXXX
REFERENCE #: XXXXXX
SOLD TO:
========
Linda ******
429 S Oak Ave
Broken Arrow OK XXXXX

Ordered: 1 Shipped: 1 zippo270 Zippo Vintage High Polish Brass Lighter with Free Engraving $26.95
Engraving Fonts For Line1 = Roman Block
Expedite Engraving? = No
Free Engraving Line 1(15 characters) = G.L.S Giftwrapping = No
Approx Ship Date: 14-Nov-2012

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

02/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: Never received package. Package was returned to sender but customer service has not reimbursed me.
Placed order with elighters.com (Order No. XXXXXX) on December 13. On December 24 I called customer service to find out why I didn't receive it. I was advised it was shipped to 82 Route 520, Morganville, NJ (an address I haven't lived at for over 12 years). I couldn't understand how they got that information when I didn't put that address in their shipping field on the ship to form. Apparently they went by an old adress PayPal had when I opened my PayPal account. They were not nice about it and said I provided that address to them, which I did not. Anyway, I after they were being nasty to me, I told them to cancel my order. They said they would reimburse me my money when they receive the package. I was advised by Rasheed at the USPS in Plano, TX (972) XXX-XXXX that they picked up the package. The USPS Tracking Number is XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX. The UPS tracking number is 1ZXXXXXWYWXXXXXXXX. Customer service never even called me to find out why the package couldn't be delivered, they told UPS to drop it off at the local postal service which was my old address in another town.

I called customer service and told them that I knew they had the package and I wanted to be reimbursed. I was adivsed that they will not be dealing with holiday returns until January 31? Having to wait for over three weeks to get reimbursed when they have the return is not acceptable!

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Cigar & Cigarette Lighters, Internet Shopping, General Merchandise - Retail, Cigars and Cigar Accessories

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.