BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/09/2009

MetroPCS Corporate Office (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (888) 863-8768Fax: (972) 860-2607PO Box 601119, DallasTX 75360-1119 Send email to MetroPCS Corporate Office

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/09/2009

BBB has determined that MetroPCS Corporate Office meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised MetroPCS Corporate Office's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 920 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

920 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 691 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues59
Billing / Collection Issues59
Delivery Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues13
Other506
Problems with Product / Service280
Total Closed Complaints 920

Additional Complaint Information

Complaints regarding product issues. Specifically, customers state that the mobile phones they purchased with a contract through the company began to drop calls and totally malfunction within a month of purchase. Many customers were requesting refunds or exchanges.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on MetroPCS Corporate Office

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (920)BBB Closure Definitions
03/31/2015 | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I RECEIVED A TEXT MESSAGE 11/7/14 MULTIPLE TIMES 51 (5X TO BE EXACT)FROM THE METRO PCS STORE LOCATED ON 133 FULTON AVE, HEMPSTEAD NY XXXXX FOR THE PROMOTION THEY SENT ME STATING THEY HAD A "GALAXY S5 MINI" FOR THE PRICE OF $69.00 ONLY. I DECIDED TO GO AND PURCHASE THE PHONE THEY WERE ADVERTISING. WHEN I GO TO THE STORE I REALIZED MANY THINGS WERE OUT OF THE NORM FOR A METRO PCS STORE, BEGINNING WITH FAKE OTTERBOX CASES & NUMEROUS COUNTERFIT CASES THAT LOOK LIKE FAMOUS BRANDS, BUT THEY ARE THE COUNTERFIT VERSIONS THAT ARE EASILY PURCHASED IN DOWNTOWN CHINA TOWN. I ASKED TO SPEAK TO THE OWNER THERE AND I ASKED IF THE STORE HAD SENT ME THE TEXT AND HE SAID YES. HE ORIGINALY THOUGHT I ONLY SPOKE SPANISH, AND I SPOKE TO HIM IN ENGLISH AFTER HE NOTICED I KNEW THE LANGUAGE WELL. I ASKED FOR THE PHONE HE ADVERTISED AND PROCEEDED TO TRY AND SELL ME THE SAMSUNG GALAXY LIGHT AS THE "SAMSUNG S5 MINI". I TOLD HIM VERY NICELY THAT IS NOT WHAT HE WAS ADVERTISING AND EXPLAINED TO HIM AND I EVEN SHOWED HIM ON MY PHONE IT WAS 2 VERY DIFFERENT PHONE WITH VERY DIFFERENT SPECS AND IM SURE THAT METRO PCS WOULD NOT BRAND THE BOX AS A GALAXY LIGHT IF IT WAS ANOTHER PHONE. HE WAS VERY AGRESSIVE AND STARTED YELLING AT ME SINCE I SHOWED HIM WHAT HE WAS SENDING ME AS A TEXT AS FALSE ADVERTISING THAT MADE ME GO TO THE STORE. I WENT SPECIFICALLY TO PURCHASE THAT S5 MINI SINCE THAT IS WHAT HE SENT TO ME NOT ONCE BUT 5X. I ALSO ASKED HIM IF HE SENT THE TEXT MESSAGES TO ME REGARDING THE SALES AHE HE DID AGREE HE DID SENT IT AND HE WOULD NOT HONOR IT. I KEPT ASKING WHY AND HE KEPT YELLING AT ME OVER AND OVER. I TOLD HIM I WAS GOING TO MAKE COMPLAINT WITH METRO PCS AND BBB REGARDING FALSE ADVERTISEMENT. HE THREATEN TO CALL THE POLICE WHICH I SAID PLEASE DO SO. BUT UNFORTUNATELY NO POLICE EVER CAME TO TAKE MY CLAIM.I WAS TOTALLY HUMILIATED AT THE STORE AND DISAPPOINTED THAT I HAD TO GO TO THE STORE MADE EVERY EFFORT TO GET THE SALE, A SALE WHICH WAS NOT TRUE AND WAS FALSELY ADVERTISED.
Product_Or_Service: Other /SAMSUNG/
Account_Number: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
PLEASE INVESTIGATE THE FRANCHISE OWNER/STORE NO ONE ELSE SHOULD FALL VICTIM TO THE SCAM AND PURCHASE COUNTERFIT ITEMS.I REALIZED SINCE I AM HISPANIC AND THE NEIGHBORHOOD IS PREDOMINATELY HISPANIC, HE ATTEMPTED TO TAKE ADVANTAGE OF ME SINCE I AM SPANISH. HE SENT THE AD ALSO IN SPANISH & ENGLISH 5X. I WAS UNECCESARILLY RIDICULED AND HUMILIATED AT THE STORE.NO ONE SHOULD HAVE TO BE LIED TO WHEN TRYING TO BUY ANYTHING AND THEY ARE ATTEMPTING TO SELL YOU SOMETHING ELSE WHICH IS NOT WHAT IS ADVERTISD

Business Response
Attempted to contact the cusomer. Engaged Accout team to contact local store to facilitate a resolution.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Dear Metro pcs,

I did receive a call from a Metro pcs store regarding my complaint recently. I called back 2x and no one has returned my call since 11/20/2014, I left 2 messages for a callback. I would love to take the time and speak about the problem that occurred that day. Unfortunately, I haven't been able to speak the person yet.

This situation that occurred at your Hempstead store was truly upsetting, humiliating and embarrassing when I only wanted to take the time and take advantage of the sale that was text to as advertised. My main goal was to upgrade my phone and get an additional 2 phones for my parents as a gift.

I am open to discuss this matter and as I said to the metro pcs rep. when I gave my 1st complaint on the phone, I am willing to cooperate 100% and I have the message saved and I can forward to your main offices or even go to your main office her in NY if need be to show you the original text. I did not appreciate how I was treated and no one especially a customer should be treated in such a way.


Final Consumer Response
I keep getting harassed by this store located on Fulton Street, Hempstead Ny XXXXX. I have repeatedly told them to stop texting me.
I keep getting harassed by this store located on Fulton Street, Hempstead Ny XXXXX. I have repeatedly told them to stop texting me. I already had a previous issued with this store and after my bad experience with this store I never want to be harassed by them. I have sent a representative who was kind enough to assist me on the first occasion ******** ******* Now again I am getting non-official metro pcs texts in both Spanish and English trying to sell me another phone. I have made it quite clear I do not want any contact from this store calling me or texting me and it has continued.

I do not know as of yet. I will discuss my options with an attorney or your representative and see what options are available at this time.

Final Business Response
3/17/15- Reengaged MPCS Account Team to work with local business owner to comply with the consumer's request.Additional information to follow.

03/16/2015 | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On or about january 2013, i purchased a cell phone with a metro pcs authorized dealer, at that time i also opted for the premium handset protection. I was notified at the time of purchase that the deductable to replace my phone would be about $20-$30. I agreed to that since i had paid 60 for the phone it was reasonable to replace the phone if needed. On or about february 12, i called metro customer service indicating my phone had gotten damaged and needed a replacement, a little over a year from date of purchase. Metro informed me that my deductible is now $100 dollars almost double the cost of the phone oringinally and will not replace my phone until said amount is paid. I never agreed to that unreasonable amount at the time of sale or i would not have paid the monthly insurance. Had i been notified i would have canceled the insurance due to a replacement costing more than what i purchased it for. No one in their right mind would agree to pay insurance, than when you actually utilize the insurance the deductible cost more than the phone, exactly why would i have paid insurance for the last year. I have contacted many supervisors and none of them will abide by the contract expressed when i purchased the phone.
Product_Or_Service: LG /lg f6 /unlimites
Account_Number: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like to have my phone replaced for the amount that i agreed to when i purchased the phone. The reasonable amount of 20-30 dollars for the deductable of a 60 dollar phone. If not i want a refund of my 6 dollars a month for the premium handset protection i was not provided properly.

Business Response
MetroPCS does not manufacture wireless devices or related accessory equipment. However, at activation customers are given the option to purchase "Premium Handset Protection"." Premium Handset Protection" is an equipment insurance program provided by Old Republic Insurance Company and administered by Asurion Insurance Services, Inc. Asurion Insurance Services is a privately held company that provides device replacement insurance. To receive a replacement device, customers must first file a claim with Asurion, after the claim has been approved, customers would then provide Asurion with a deductible payment.
Asurion's records indicate that in July 2014, they underwent changes to their deductible prices and monthly premium costs. Customers with devices that are classified by Asurion as Tier C (such as your LG F6), saw an increase in the deductible price from $69 to $100. Customers were notified of the changes via text message blasts, postings at phoneclaim.com (Asurion's website), and signage and brochures located in MetroPCS locations.
Our records indicate your device was activated on January 31, 2014 and priced at $99. To offset the cost of replacing your device, we have placed a credit in the amount of $31 on your MetroPCS account. The $31 is the difference between the original deductible cost of $69, and the now deductible price of $100. Insurance can be cancelled at anytime, but please be advised that in order for Asurion to replace your device, an insurance claim must be filed before the feature is removed from your MetroPCS account.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not agree with this. Firstly, when i purchased the phone i was never told from the metro dealer, that the insurance was threw a whole different company, number one. The lack of communication from the employee of metro pcs, when i purchased the phone, is the reason for this entire issue. Had i been properly notified of all of this at the time of purchase, i would not have agreed to the insurance. The decitfulness of the metro pcs dealer regarding the actual terms of service is what i do not agree with. If at the time of purchase i would have been told my deductable was 70 dollars to recieve a new device if needed, for a device i just paid 60 for, plus 6 dollars a month, that would have been rediculous for me to agree to, obviously i would not have agreed to those rediculous terms that significantly rip me off. I specifically asked what the cost to replace would be, again he said, "oh about 30 dollars, something like that" i asked if he was sure it would be that, he said yep" . All im asking is for the original deductable that i agreed to be validated. How as a company do u justify making those changes to my account, one with no notification, and second for no reason. The value of the phone did not go up, the only thing that went up is my monthly payment and the deductable, for what reason? How is it that you can change the terms of agreement that i do not agree too, without my knowledge or consent. Second, i was never, never ever once notified by any means of communication regarding any changes, what so ever, at any time. I was never notified of this tripleing of my original agreed upon deductable. Nor was i notified that my monthly payment for the insurance of originally 5 dollars a month, was changed to 6 dollars. As a company to decieve your customers into signing up for these services and later changing the terms of the original agreement within the first few months, to unjustly benefit your company in a way that completly takes advantage of your loyal customers. That is sad, then to offer 30 dollars and still have your customer pay more for the phone than the originally purchased cost of the phone, plus the payments of 6 dollars a month for over a year. I am being ripped off, the point of insurance is to not have to spend more than your original costs. That is why i purchased the permium handset protection, not to pay more than if i were to purchase the phone new again.


Final Business Response
At purchase, the customer's wireless device came with a separate one year limited warranty from the manufacturer. If a customer experiences a problem with their device within 1 year of purchase and there are no signs of physical or water damage, a customer has the option to visit a MetroPCS corporate store to receive a warranty replacement. After 30 days of device ownership, the cost of an over the counter instant warranty replacement is $30. The customer may have confused the cost of a warranty replacement with the cost of a replacement device provided through the Premium Handset Protection.

Also, as previously stated, the Premium Handset Protection is provided by Asurion Insurance Services Inc not MetroPCS. Therefore, MetroPCS cannot make adjustments or amendments to the deductable price to provide you with a replacement device for $30. However, we have applied an additional $46 credit to your MetroPCS account, $77 in total, to cover the cost of the Premium Handset Protection monthly premium. Your service was started with MetroPCS on January 31, 2014, from January 2014 until July 2014; a monthly premium at the rate of $5 per month was paid. Then from August 2014 until February 2015, a monthly premium of $6 per month was charged, making the total cost to have the Premium Handset Protection feature $77. If you no longer wish to have the Premium Handset Protection feature, please contact MetroPCS Customer Service (1-888-863-8768 / *611 from your MetroPCS phone) or visit a MetroPCS store and request to have the feature removed. Yet, please be advised if you still wish to receive a replacement device through Asurion, you must file a claim before the feature is removed from your account.

02/23/2015 | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have contacted Metro Pcs numerous of times trying to fix the problems I am experiencing with my phone, I have also went inside of the store, they did the the same exact thing that the agents did over the phone still no help. I am unable to recieve text messages, phone calls (only way I know someone called is through my voicemail), and I am not able to use the internet nor hotspot through my phone. I have been dealing with this problems since the beginning of this year. I have never had this problem before until now. The customer service is horrible, they are not nice nor helpful. I called Metro PCS one last time before deciding to make this commplaint and they still did not want to help me furthermore, they did not show ANY concern towards the problems I have with this phone. I reccommended most of my family and friends to switch to Metro and they did, I dont understand why I am going through this with this phone company.
Product_Or_Service: Other /Alcatel One Touch Fierce 2/Unlimited Data, Talk, and Text
Account_Number: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like a replacement phone, worth the same value or a better phone. I am also willing to take a Refund.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Cust Op Mgr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@metropcs.com
There has been a software update for her handset. Called her and advised her to download the new software and that should reolve her issuses.. If she continues to have the issues she will contact me directly.

Consumer Response


Final Business Response
We are aware that ****** was dissatisfied but have already reached out to her with a resolution and she accepted our arrangement and was satisfied.

02/16/2015 | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been having issues with the phone# for over a week. I have the same phone that I bought from them a year ago in which they have not sent me my rebate back yet (in which I tried contact them 3 times with no response). I am unable to make outgoing calls and when someone tries to call me it went straight to someone else voicemail which was in spanish. I took it to a metro pcs store for repair and they found nothing wrong with the phone or line and told me to call for service. I called their service hot line and was asked to relay the phones IME# and they asked if I had told them the correct # because that is not the # they have on file. I told them that I had the same phone from a year ago. They tried sending out new signals to the phone for the line to refresh but they were unable to troubleshoot. They then tried sending me to the same store I originally went to that told they didnt know how to fix the line issue. I then asked for credit for the unused service and he then gave me $20 credit. Then I asked how can this be repaired and he said I would have to get a new phone and that they dont know how to repair it. He said he tested the line and the line was fine. Of course its fine if it was switched to someone else's line. I then asked to cancel the line and he obliged. I asked if they were going to mail a check for the credit and he said I lost the credit when he cancelled the line. Also, after we had issues, we attempted to switch carriers using the same ph#, they told me that the number could not be ported out. This was another indication that the line had been hacked.
Product_Or_Service: LG /Optimus/Unlimited data, talk, and text
Account_Number: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like credit for the unused service. I feel that they somehow switched the lines in error or they were hacked and I was the victim.If none of the above happened then they purposely manipulated the line so that I have to buy a new phone. The phone works perfectly fine and over wifi I can browse the internet so I know there is nothing wrong with the phone itself. I now have to buy and new phone, switch carriers, and get issued a new number. Getting a new number is a big hassle for me.

Business Response
Attempted to reach consumer. Spoke with 3rd party person. Offering assistance to either reactivate account with working handset or assist in allowing the consumer to port out to another carrier.

Consumer Response
So after going back and forth with Metro PCS and Walmart/TMobile for over a month, I finally got my old number back. We had many issues including multliple porting tries. Through one of the porting attempts, it was determined by Walmart/Tmobile that there was a duplicate number "floating" around. We relayed this back to Metro PCS and it somewhat got resolved as I was able to retrieve my number. I have since been getting a lot of phone calls from people looking for someone else. This morning I received a phone call from a woman asking why we had her number and we had to explain the situation. I stressed to Metro since the beginning that the number was given away and they didnt believe me so now this woman has to straighten everything out with her carrier.

Final Business Response
The consumer ported out on 1/19/2015. There is no record of a duplicate number as the consumer states. When searching the coonsumer's supplied mobile telephone number, only the cancelled account belonging to Mr. *****, ending in 6988.
MPCS cannot speak to another carrier.
MPCS considers this matter closed.

02/13/2015 | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought the phone for my girlfriend and I. When we got back to her house in Joppatowne, Maryland I realized we didn't have service. We are there 75% of the time. So not having service at her house is definatley a deal breaker. So I took them back to the kiosk at the white marsh mall then returned the phones and I got the money for them. Then he goes on to say they couldnt get the money for the phone service cards which eqaul out to 120$. While at the kiosk I call customer service and the guy I talked to stated that there would be a refund. There is nothing stating on the receipt stating not being able to return it. I didnt even have the phones for 24hrs. I tried to have the sales person talk to the customer service person and he told me there was no reason to. Since this contact I've contacted customer service atleast three times asking to talk to a supervisor and was placed on hold to never talk to him. Then I also received the managers number for metro pcs and placed several calls with him and never received anything back from him either. I can't afford to let this issue un resolved.
Product_Or_Service: ******* //unlimited data, text, talk
Account_Number: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like to receive my money back for phone cards which equal out 120.

Business Response
The escalation was forwarded to the market manager of this authorized dealer location. Since no alternate phone number was provided, the market manager has emailed the customer directly to resolve.

Consumer Response
I had made a complaint January 7th of this year against Metro PCS. A gentleman by the name of ******* contacted me last January 15th regarding the issue. He said he wss going to look into the issue then get back in touch with me by Sunday or Monday. I have yet to hear anything back from him. I emailed him and havent heard anything back from him. My complaint # XXXXXXXX. I'd like to know what's bgoing on with my refund. My telephone number is XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Final Business Response
The market manager of the location informed us he has made arrangements to have the refund processed. Once the customer confirms a suitable time and date via e-mail, they will have to bring their credit card to the MetroPCS Kiosk located at White Marsh Mall.

Page 1 of 152
04/16/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have been into the Metro PCS store on 1st street in Garland Texas 4x to exchange the LG phones we have. They keep giving us refurbished junk phs.
Feb 3, we went into the 1st Street location in Garland Texas to exchange the phone as the phones keep breaking down. Not only were we told our plan was somehow changed from 4 lines to 3, but somehow it was when we got android phones. We keep getting refurbished phones that are not any better than the ones we returned. We also purchased an android phone for my son. We were told his 3G phone was faster than our 4G phones because it was on the Metro PCS & TMobile network by the Manager *******. The Manager's ****** and another (forgot her name) told us today this is not true that his phone is actually slower. Between that and the fact that our phones keep breaking I am very upset at the business. The rep today was listening to music while waiting on us singing along. It wasn't until I brought the Manager ****** over complaining about the music playing then he came over and turned it down. I complained that 4x in 17 days is horrible service, so the rep shoved their "Warranty" documentation across the counter to me. I told her this is not acceptable and I planned on complaining. I asked if we could upgrade under warranty or from our insurance and they said we could but had to pay for it. Why are we paying for insurance and why is there a year warranty when the phones don't even last 10 days. This is totally unexceptable. We only get 2 bars max at our hour (less than 5 miles from their corp office). We were dismissed as "it's the apps on your phones causing them to act up." I asked how the apps cause the phone to disconnect, the memory to be lost and more. The apps have nothing to do with the phones not recognizing the memory cards, speaker phone not working, voice mail not working and more.

Desired Settlement
I would like all 3 of our phones to be changed out for new phones that are 4G on both networks like they should be. Then perhaps the phones will work rather than act up within a couple of days. They need to be accountable for all the changes THEY make on the accounts as well as the quality issues on the phones.

Business Response
Contacted **** ***** she explained her experience at the corporate store, her main concern was the handsets had been replaced more than twice to the same model phones for the same issue and her warranty was running out on the devices. I explained to her the warranty options and suggested that if her warranty runs out she has the option to file an insurance claim. We agreed to have handsets replace **** will be going to our corporate on 2/28 to pick up replacement handsets.


Consumer Response


Final Business Response
The text messages that the customer is receiving are not from MetroPCS as **** ***** no longer has a MetroPCS account. As stated in our last response insurance complaint/concerns would had to be directed to the Insurance company Asurion on X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. Handset prices that were displayed in the store reflected promotional prices making the handsets $30 respectively without promotional prices the handsets would have been $79.00. Mrs. **** ***** can contact the manufacture of the devices that she is using if she is experiencing malfunctions with her handsets that were purchased at MetroPCS. The manufacturer covers the handset for 1 year from the date of purchase as for the customer's request refund we are referring the customer to review MetroPCS Terms and Conditions of Service that the customer agreed to when she started service which states AMOUNTS PAID FOR SERVICE CHARGES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE. IF YOUR SERVICE IS TERMINATED FOR ANY REASON AND YOU HAVE A POSITIVE BALANCE IN YOUR SERVICE ACCOUNT OR IN YOUR METROPCS METROCONNECT ACCOUNT, YOU WILL NOT BE ENTITLED TO RECEIVE ANY REFUND.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
MetroPCS doesn't make their policies known to their customers! They suggested I leave their service rather than offering to fix the issue. I had issues with the phones since the day I bought them without any assistance from the customer service representatives. I went yet again for assistance and this time was told to leave their service if I wasn't happy with them. This was only a few days after I paid my bill. I did as I was told thinking they would honor a refund of the paid bill, but to my shagrin that wasn't the case. MetroPCS didn't fix the issue, in fact I took the phones to another service provider and they didn't work; therefore it was the phones not the service as I had been telling them all along. The complaints about the phones fell upon deaf ears for the entire time since we purchased them. We complained from the day we purchased them. They refused to honor the 1 year warranty by fixing the issue, in fact, they kept telling us there wasn't an issue and dismissed us which is why I finally filed a complaint. This phone complaint has been an ongoing issue for a long time.

02/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
New Optimus F60 is defective, no LTE speeds, and touch screen defective.
On 12/09/2014 I purchased the LG Optimus F60 from Cell Touch Orlando Inc. at *** ****** **** ********* Florida XXXXX. *************** The phones Serial No. is XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX.I paid $78.72 for the phone in cash. When I got home I connected to Wifi and did not use the LTE connection to cut back on data usage, since I am on the $50 3GB plan. A few days later when using the 4G LTE my phone was so slow I did an Ookla speed test and found that the speeds were under 3Mbps. I called customer service and was told to take out the battery and SIM, wait and put it back together. Still slow, so I call the store and they tell me to do the same thing. It didn't work, so I contacted MetroPCS on Facebook. They reset my data, and it didn't change anything. They said to contact the store but the store says that it can't do anything about it. They told me to call customer service. I have been hung up on by CS reps four times, and told that they were putting in a work order to have a technician check my account to see if they could find the problem. I believe that this phone is defective since on speedtest the speeds are the same whether I am connected to 4G, or 4GLTE. My old phone was getting consistent speeds over 22mbps here, and my upgrade is not. The touch screen is also making selections without me even touching the screen.I have done everything that I can. The account number is XXXXXXXXXX, the phone model is LG Optimus F60, MS395.

Desired Settlement
I would like a replacement phone that works correctly. Thank you

Business Response
We have reached out to customer with a resolution.

Consumer Response
I still have not received a replacement phone. Nobody knows anything about it.

Final Business Response
The dealer forgot to order the handset but now has ordered. Customer has been contacted and should have replacement handset no later than Friday January 23rd

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
On January 14th the store called and had a replacement phone. I picked up the phone and it was malfunctioning. I took it back to the store and after troubleshooting the phone the employee said it was defective and would order another replacement phone. Now I have a completely unusable phone and gave to wait another week for another replacement. I just want a refund for the money that I spent on this phone. I have had a defective phone since December 9th. My work has suffered from not being able to text and call I've only been able to receive calls.

01/22/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
***** ********** Broke Promise to Customer
Dear BBB,

I have complained to MetroPCS Area Manager, ***** ********** (CELL: XXX-XXX-XXXX), on several occasions. The first was how one of their Authorized Dealers on Craig and Jones in Las Vegas, NV defrauded me. I explained that they took money that they stated would be credited to my account, but only partially did. When I told *****, he stated he would have a colleague contact me, but that never happened. I contacted him again and nothing happened.

I also contacted him about definite areas, near major intersections in Las Vegas, NV, such as ***** Hwy and **** as well as ********* Pkwy and ******** which had gaping holes in service. I left several messages about this areas and nothing happened. These areas were never fixed. This hindered many business communications because it resulted in many calls being dropped.

I called ***** ********** again when I heard that MetroPCS was turning off it's CDMA network to inquire about what would happen with my service. He stated MetroPCS service would now be carried on T-Mobile's Network and that we would get phone of equivalent quality and features free. I went to the store and the phone MetroPCS swapped with us is slower (even though the CPU says it's the same speed), and the Speed of the internet isn't 4GLTE as I had, but 4G. I was told that 4GLTE on the old Network was slowing than our new 4G Network, but this isn't true. They did offer a 4GLTE, but wanted to charge me extra for each of my phones. Additionally, when **** transferred the Data and other contact to the phone, he lost all of the phones contacts. This means my Partner lost important Contact that were needed for business.

The biggest problem, is that My phone ran out of room the 1st day and my emailing, Texting, and other features stopped working. The thing is, I had hardly installed any new Apps to my phone. In fact, my old phone had many times the Apps installed as this new phone had. I looked into even buying new memory to fix the issue, but most of the Apps I had on my phone weren't able to be transferred to the new Mini SD Card.

I called and Texted ***** ********** at his cell number again several times and never received a response. I find this unexceptionable. Except for the service that MetroPCS should have upgraded/fixed, my cell worked fine. I should have to be forced to get a inferior phone. They should have provided us equivalent phones or better, not less than. I would like new phones that are equal or better.

Best Regards,
*********


********* ** ******
(XXX) XXX-XXXX
****************@cox.net

Desired Settlement
I shouldn't have to be forced to get a inferior phone. They should have provided us equivalent phones or better, not less than. I would like new phones that are equal or better.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****, Market Operations
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Attempts to reach custoemr unsuccesful. Voicemail left with call back number to try and find resolution. Including contact info on this case for future reference if customer has any further issues or service inquires.

Consumer Response
I had previously contacted MetroPCS through this Better Business Bureau complaint form back in June 2014. ******* ***** contacted me to resolve this same matter. He has not tried to resolve my matter and has instead pushed off my requests for redress until months later or has simply not answered my calls. I made a call last week and again today and have not heard anything again.Back in June 2014, MetroPCS forest their customers on to their new T Mobile network. This involved us being required to switch to a new phone. The new phone does not have 4G LTE speed data,. D phone also is far less in quality and substance than we had before. For instance, the phone does not have any storage on it compared to the last phone which had about 7 gigabytes. Currently it has 1.3 gigabytes and most of that is used up by the system resources. Currently, there is an update pending that cannot proceed as this phone does not have the space to accommodate the 200 megabyte download. If I had the new phone then I could probably accommodate it as long as, again, it has enough room. I at least want the same quality phone I had before. Our account not only has my phone on it but 3 other phones as well. As such, I need to get these phones taken care of as well. I have been a loyal metro pcs customer, as well as amoral T Mobile customer in the past. I was with t-mobile prior from XXXX-XXXX. Please contact me about this matter so we can get this resolved. I don't plan on letting this go as you can see. If need be I'll send registered letters to the CEO of the company letting them know of what's happened. If you don't think I will, just ignore this complaint and you'll find out. I don't mean to be rude but I'm tired of getting pushed aside and nothing gets done.
Account_Number: XXX-XXX-XXXX
I'm requesting all for phones dbe switched over to and phone that is at least what we had prior. This includes 7 gigabytes of data storage, 4G LTE data speed camp compatibility, Android 4.4 KitKat operating system, front and back facing 10 card compatibility, etc etc?


Final Business Response
Phone line XXXXXXXXXX was already upgraded with the exception by regional manager on 6/30/14. Phone was then damaged by customer and switched back to previous device on 7/17/14.

The LG devices currently on the account have a warranty that will cover any defects in the device but do not cover dislikes withj the models build. Customer is welcomed to look into any of the handset promos we are running and purchse new phones at any time.

We feel that MetroPCS has gone above and beyond to meet the initial complaint resolution as handset was replaced with no costs but was later damaged by consumer.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1st, to the Prospective MetroPCS Customer, don't sign up with them. You will surely regret you did.

2nd, the MetroPCS representative responding to this complaint, who purposefully omitted their name, isn't being honest. This seems to be a pattern with MetroPCS including the ******* *****, MetroPCS Regional Manager for Northern California and Nevada.

******* ***** swapped my phone for an inferior phone that didn't operate properly. I tried many times to contact him to let him know of the situation and never returned my call. Let me repeat, he never returned my call. Out of mounting frustration with the situation I thru the phone down. He didn't return my call, but I finally reached him some two weeks later. He stated that He would give me back the phone I originally had and would look for another model phone for this and the OTHER 3 PHONES I had on my account, but would need some time. I offered to pay for the phone I broke, but he declined.

I called him back a month later. I heard nothing. Another month went by and he never called, but I called him and he picked up. He said he was still looking for a replacement for my 4 phones on the account. He said he needed more time. I said OK. I have called since then and he has never returned a call, or answered his phone.

The problem originated when MetroPCS shut off their towers and switched their customers over to T-Mobile towers and their network. This forced customers to switch to compatible phones. They stated previously that my phone was upgraded and that never happened. These phones are inferior in CPU Speed, Data Transmission Speed, User Accessible Storage compared to the original phones we had. They only offered equivalent phone for a charge. I stated originally that we were promised an "equivalent phone", that this was a "Bate and Switch" scheme, and that we shouldn't have to pay for the company's new network.

MetroPCS, their representative that previously responded to this complaint, and ******* ***** should stand by their word and provide what they said they would. Additionally, ******* ***** should be reprimanded for his dishonest actions. If I don't receive as was originally promised by ******* ***** within 10 days, I will take other action including, but not limited to, a Small Claims Court Filing, but am exploring a Class Action Attorney, Posting of the entire story on all available Social Medial outlets, report this story to local, regional, and national media, creating a Consumer Complaint's Website relaying my story and inviting other to share theirs (my professional SEO services will be used), I will file complaints with other community organizations, local, state, and federal regulatory agencies, and so on.

My website and postings will invite unhappy customers to submit their own claims previously mentioned, and share my site with their associates on their Social Media accounts via automatic Apps on the site. All of this will make it very easy for Prospective Consumers to know how MetroPCS chooses to interact with their Customers, and will allow Current Customers to file complaints and let their friends know how they were mistreated.

I'm awaiting your response.

12/15/2014 | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
metroPCS is making all their customers purchase new phones, due to them merging with T-mobile and tearing down most of their towers. The result is unreliable, poor or no reception when customers try to use their cell phones set up by metroPCS. I purchased their top of the line phone (Coolpad QUATTRO 4G) on December 8, 2012, less than 2 years ago. The phone is undamaged, yet I'm being forced to buy a new phone to continue coverage with T-mobile programming. I have also been paying $5 per month insurance on the phone, which I had to start a claim to discover my deductible is $50. I did not complete the claim because I refuse to to pay the deductible, and because I not want to continue with this dishonest business.
Product_Or_Service: Other /Coolpad QUATTRO - 4G/4G Calling Plan (4Gall30P)
Account_Number: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund of $151.16 (phone $139 plus tax $12.16) for the phone plus full refund of $115 for 23 months of phone insurance (ins $5 @ 23 months of payments), total desired refund is $267.

Business Response
In response to BBB complaint XXXXXXXX MetroPCS offers the following:

Several attempts have been made to reach Mr. ******** on 11/20 & 11/21 to no avail.

MetroPCS does not have contracts and does allow customers the freedom to choose a provider that best suits their needs. Some areas of coverage may be limited to but not including indoor/outdoor coverage, buildings, terrain and other components that may not allow service to be provided to customers.

The insurance (Premium Handset Protection) is an optional service that is offered to customers. This can be canceled at any time.

Should Mr. ******** wish to further pursue this claim he may visit the nearest corporate store for evaluation. At this time MetroPCS is unable to validate these claims and is not able to honor a refund.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
MetroPCS had claimed no interruption of service as part of their case in applying for the merger with T-Mobile. That is clearly not the case as thousands of MetroPCS customers have and are now experiencing being forced to change their service due to their towers disappearing...T-Mobile technology is not compatible with MetroPCS, and their phones are "locked" & can not be reprogrammed, so all our expensive cell phones have become trash.

Also the MetroPCS response claimed to have attempted to contact me, but I received no messages.

12/04/2014 | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased two phones from Metro PCS located on Saviers Rd. @ Oxnard, Ca. on 8/22/2014 and the second on 8/23/2014. Before the first month was out, the second phone purchased began to have a problem with the microphone. On 9/19/2014 I could not be heard by people that I was calling and people calling me could not be heard when I spoke. I brought the phone into the store where it was purchased. It was inspected, found not to be water damaged and a new phone was being ordered to replace the defective phone. The new phone was not available for pick up until 9/25/2014. I requested a discount on my bill because I was unable to make or receive phone calls properly between 9/19/2014 and 9/25/2014 and was told that no discount would be available. This is entirely unreasonable as I was charged for use of a phone that would not work properly and caused me to miss calls from the ADA and other important sources. I and ****** *** are both disabled parties that rely on our phones for communication with our doctors, the Social Security Administration, the ADA and other important sources.Further, because I cannot always pay my bill with a debit or credit card I am being charged an extra $3.00 to $6.00 for paying cash when trying to pay my bill.I was also lied to by the sales person about the first month's insurance being free. She stated the insurance was always free the first month and I could cancel it the next month at no charge to me. I was also told i had to prove who I was and the sales lady put my birth date as my security code on my account even though I told her a different security code. This concerns me because of the identity theft issue and the way info is being stolen online. I called the company when I received notice of my next month's bill, told them what had happened, and was told I would receive a $11.00 credit which I still haven't received.
Product_Or_Service: Kyocera /Hydro XTRM/
Account_Number: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
Receive a discounted bill to reflect service that was unavailable during the period 9/19/2014 thru 9/25/2014, receive the $11.00 credit that was supposed to be applied to my account for October, and receive the month of free insurance that was supposedly offered when the phones were purchased.

Business Response
In response to BBB complaint XXXXXXXX, MetroPCS offers the following:

Several attempts to reach Ms. **** have been made however MetroPCS has been unsuccessful in speaking to her. Calls have been made on 10/16 & 10/20 to no avail. As a courtesy, MetroPCS has issued a one-time credit onto Ms. ****'s account in the amount of $11.00 for days of service she was not able to use. In addition, the store was able to provide Ms. **** with 2 free phone cases. Additional coaching and feedback has been provided to the store. At this time MetroPCS has adequately addressed these issues and considers this matter resolved.


Consumer Response
This is not true. I did not get $11.00 credit for the days I did not use or have service. I was charged for insurance when I was told it was going to be free the first month. I have not gotten the two free phone cases they are referring to in this case. If I was supposed to get a free case then their store is stealing from them because I never got them. I should be reimbursed for the insurance they charged and lied about and I shouldn't be charged for paying cash when I pay my bill. The only phone calls I received were from Mexico and I will not answer calls form out of the country. I have to pay extra to speak to people from out of the U.S.A. I can send a copy of the credit card receipts that show the girls that work in this Metro PCS store are charging more for the bill, keeping the difference for themselves, and giving the company another bill for less.

Final Business Response
In response to BBB complaint XXXXXXXX MetroPCS offers the following:

Multiple attempts to contact the customer have been made. The first two attempts on 10/16 and once again on 10/20. Ms. **** was unavailable and no voicemail messages could be left. To date MetroPCS has been unsuccessful in speak to Ms. **** to address these concerns. At this time MetroPCS has issued a one-time courtesy credit for $25 any inconveniences Ms. **** experienced. At this time MetroPCS believes that it has adequately addressed these concerns and considers this matter closed.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have never received any phone calls from the company..the number they have provided is the bill pay number and is not a number that an actual agent can speak to the customer or the customer can speak to an agent. I do and always have had voicemail so they could have left a message so that is another lie. The dates they speak of show a number from Mexico.

They first state they gave me a 11.00 dollar credit which they never did plus two phone carrying cases which they never did. When I tried to find out why their store did not give me a credit or carrying cases as their corporate office stated they did, I was slandered by their employee, who is Hispanic, who also made racist remarks against Americans. This company has done nothing but lie and now make racist remarks against Americans, especially whites. They have not apologized for their employees or had their employees apologize or fired that employee. If this company truly wants to resolve this or contact me they can contact me at my email which is *********@yahoo.com

Page 1 of 33

Industry Comparison| Chart

Cellular Telephone Equipment & Supplies, Cellular Telephone Service & Supplies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/12/2002Business started: 06/01/1994
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Hope Norris (Director of Customer Operations)Mr. J. Braxton Carter (Executive Vice President & CFO)Mr. Ed Chao (Senior VP, Engineering & Network Operations)Mr. Tom Currier (Vice President, Human Resources)Mr. Douglas S. Glen (Senior Vice President, Corporate Development)Mr. Herbert "Chip" Graves (Senior Vice President, Market Operations, West)Mr. Thomas C. Keys (Chief Operating Officer)Ms. Christine B. Kornegay (Senior VP, Controller & Chief Accounting Officer)Mr. Roger D. Linquist (Chairman, President & Chief Executive Officer)Mr. Todd C. Linquist (Vice President, Product Management)Mr. Malcolm M. Lorang (Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer)Mr. Charles Moore (Vice President, Market Finance and Control)Mr. John J. Olsen (Vice President and Chief Information Officer)Mr. Greg Pressly (Vice President of Customer Operations)Ms. Terri Smith (Vice President, Revenue Assurance & Accounting)Mr. Mark A. Stachiw (Executive VP, General Counsel and Secretary)Mr. Keith D. Terreri (Vice President, Finance and Treasurer)Mr. Phillip R. Terry (Senior Vice President of Corporate Marketing)Mr. Ron Unger (Vice President, Corporate Engineering)Mr. David Walker (Vice President of Network Operations)
Business Category

Cellular Telephone Equipment & Supplies, Cellular Telephone Service & Supplies

Products & Services

This company offers wireless communication services.

Alternate Business Names
MetroPCS - Florin, MetroPCS - Airport, MetroPCS - Hialeah, MetroPCS - North Dade, MetroPCS - Pompano, MetroPCS - Lake Worth, MetroPCS - Hiawassee, MetroPCS - Hiawassee, MetroPCS - Kissimmee, MetroPCS - Winter Park, MetroPCS - Melbourne, MetroPCS - Daytona, MetroPCS Lansing Regional Office, MetroPCS - Williamsburg, MetroPCS - Panorama City, MetroPCS - Fort Lauderdale, MetroPCS - #5001, MetroPCS - Naples, MetroPCS - Roswell, MetroPCS - Plaza Fiesta (ATL), MetroPCS South Florida Regional Office
Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*MetroPCS Corporate Office is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Cellular Telephone Equipment & Supplies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.