BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/12/2013

Best Price Caskets

Phone: (866) 474-5061

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

26 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues5
Problems with Product / Service20
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints26

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (26)
06/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Employee, Rob, asked for pictures so they could take care of the unacceptable, dinged/scratched product. Sent pics. No response or return of calls.
Funeral director said casket had arrived with dings and scratches on metal. I spoke to Rob who asked that I send a pic so they could take care of it. We did. I requested a replacement casket to be delivered before the funeral on April 24, 2015. No response. I called several times and left messages for Rob trying to get a new casket in time, but again, no response. What a terrible way to treat grieving families! One employee (who took a message for Rob)suggested that we turn the casket backwards since both sides were the same. You can't have an open casket for viewing at the rosary and funeral with the deceased facing backwards!

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund for making my fear of receiving a defective casket a reality. And adding insult to injury by blowing me off when they would have had time to switch out the casket since the delivery was in-state. The chipped off paint area showed prominently in the front and was totally unacceptable!

Business Response
The customer sent us photos and the damage was very very hard to see.

The customer chose to use the casket instead of buying one from the funeral home. I called the funeral home to confirm that they viewed the body in the casket and now the casket is buried in the ground.

Of course when the damage is very bad at all the family will NEVER use the casket but rather buy one from the funeral home. They used the casket so obviously even they did not think the damage was very bad.

Anyway, we are willing to give a $100 credit on this casket.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
If I understand their response correctly, I will be credited $100 (on my credit card) for this casket. (Their response was: "Anyway, we are willing to give a $100 credit on this casket"). I will never purchase another casket from them so any future credit toward a purchase would be of no value. Also, had I purchased a different casket from my local funeral home as they suggest, I would have been stuck with this damaged casket since they do not return repeated calls and messages. And the damage was NOT hard to see, it was very visible and right in front. I will refile a future complaint if I do not receive the $100 credit on my credit card. However, if they do honor the $100 credit, I will consider this matter closed. Thank you.

10/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Terry was horrible to me even hung up on me.
I give this place no stars,I ordered a urn for my grandmother for her service Sat. Sep. 28th I was told that not to worry that it would be here and everything would be fine. Well wen I got the Urn today it was totally different than what I expected from the picture, I ordered praying hands and got what looked like Satans hands,and it has nics all over it and the keepsake looks like my Kindergartner painted it. The big urn has painted lines that it shouldn't have. How could u sell something like this to someone and not care to correct the issue. So the guy Terry was rude on the phone he wouldn't help me to fix this problem didn't even offer he didn't want to deal with it, told me to send it back and that was it. I even offered to pay for another one and he told me that u will find something wrong with that one to just send it back he said.I said that takes 5-7 days,but he didn't care. And then he hung up on me, well then I called again and asked him to please let me order another one I really need it for the service tomorrow. He said I will call u back in 5 mins and hung up on me again.Well I waited 30 mins and no return phone call it is getting later and later and still nothing is resolved.My Grandmother is very religious, i cannot put her in that urn that was sent, it's horrible. Does this man not have a heart has he never experienced the lost of a loved one. how could he work there and have no compassion for what families are going through. This time is hard enough let alone to have to deal with this. All I asked is to have a different one sent and even offered to pay for it. What is wrong with this man, most horrible experience i have ever had. I will never recommend anyone to have to go through this.......Just terrible.......I will be turning them in to the BBB, i hope that this man realizes how bad he treated me at this horrible time. All i wanted was to have a nice urn for my beloved grandmother......thanks alot Terry, I hope that u can sleep at night.


Invoice*XXXXXX* for ****** *******

Desired Settlement
I give this place no stars,I ordered a urn for my grandmother for her service Sat. Sep. 28th I was told that not to worry that it would be here and everything would be fine. Well wen I got the Urn today it was totally different than what I expected from the picture, I ordered praying hands and got what looked like Satans hands,and it has nics all over it and the keepsake looks like my Kindergartner painted it. The big urn has painted lines that it shouldn't have. How could u sell something like this to someone and not care to correct the issue. So the guy Terry was rude on the phone he wouldn't help me to fix this problem didn't even offer he didn't want to deal with it, told me to send it back and that was it. I even offered to pay for another one and he told me that u will find something wrong with that one to just send it back he said.I said that takes 5-7 days,but he didn't care. And then he hung up on me, well then I called again and asked him to please let me order another one I really need it for the service tomorrow. He said I will call u back in 5 mins and hung up on me again.Well I waited 30 mins and no return phone call it is getting later and later and still nothing is resolved.My Grandmother is very religious, i cannot put her in that urn that was sent, it's horrible. Does this man not have a heart has he never experienced the lost of a loved one. how could he work there and have no compassion for what families are going through. This time is hard enough let alone to have to deal with this. All I asked is to have a different one sent and even offered to pay for it. What is wrong with this man, most horrible experience i have ever had. I will never recommend anyone to have to go through this.......Just terrible.......I will be turning them in to the BBB, i hope that this man realizes how bad he treated me at this horrible time. All i wanted was to have a nice urn for my beloved grandmother......thanks alot Terry, I hope that u can sleep at night.

Business Response
First of all I would like to say that our brass urns are all hand-engraved. No two are identical. This is what we do when a customer has a complaint about our products.

1) Have them send pictures quickly

2) We access the damage quickly. All of these urns are literally hand-engraved and what one person sees as a defect is just variability from one urn to the next. Some of the marks she thought were defects were from the hand engraving and will be on the next urn and I explained this to her. No sense in sending another urn and have her return that urn also.

3) We did nothing wrong. We offered a full refund after they ship it back which is our standard procedure and everyone's standard procedure everywhere. We are no different. I explained this to her.

4) She became hysterical and said she wanted another shipped immediately. I said no, she is free to buy elsewhere or from the funeral home and we would be happy to give her a full refund after she returned it. Standard procedure and it still stands.

5) So nothing is different, she needs to return the urn for a full refund and she is free to buy elsewhere. No yelling or screaming on her part will change things or make things better.

6) Our csskets are perfect because they are not hand-engraved like the brass urns. We get one customer like this occasionally and the best way to deal with it is to just return their money to them. They do not understand that with the hand engraving, every urn is different. This particular urn had more hand engraving than most of the others. As you can see, she wants another urn from us and she does not want to buy elsewhere, that is what she is upset about.

We will give her a full refund after she returns it of course. I wish her the best of luck.

05/03/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased casket & it arrived damaged. Want compensated
purchased casket on 1/26/16 for $1295 plus $250shipping.Order #XXXXXX. Funeral director said it arrived damaged BUT there wasn't any damage to the outside packaging. He didn't understand it. He had a witness with him when he opened it. After we flew in that morning, 1/28/16, we went straight to the funeral home, saw the damage and called in early afternoon(1pm approx) and spoke with Brenda. She asked that we would send her picture, which we did, said she would get back to me. Called later that afternoon as not heard back. She said she did not get them. I reminded her the funeral director said the replacement had to be there the next day by 4pm at the latest and emailed pics again. Did not hear from her. Called again just before 6pm est. Brenda said to give her a couple more hours. We had dinner, went back to the hotel and fell asleep as was exhausted. The funeral director called me the next day. He said the casket had to be there, that day 1/29 by 3or4pm at the latest. I told him I would call the company and find out what was going on. I assumed they had already sent a replacement the day before. Funeral director was at a funeral just about to start and for me to leave him a message. I called Brenda. She acted like someone else was supposed to have taken care of it. Reminded her, that she said SHE would call me back. Told her it needed to be at the funeral home by 3or4pm that day. She put me on hold. When she got back, said she had called the funeral home and told them she was sending out another one that day. I asked if she actually spoke to the director or his answering service, since I knew he was at a funeral. She said it was some woman and she said it was fine. I told her that the woman was the answering service, since they don't have a woman working at the funeral home and that the director said tomorrow would be too late, since my father's funeral was at 10am. She said it would just take a couple minutes to move the body. I told her the airport was over 45mins away and the body had to be in the casket and at the church at 10am. She assured me it would be fine. The currier service called the funeral director that evening and said they would be delivering the casket the next morning. Funeral director told them not to bother, that it would be too late. It needed to be there that day, not tomorrow morning. Had to have services and bury my father in a damaged casket because we could not afford to purchase another one.
Asked for price adjustment. Notified company. Brenda offered $200. Not enough for the damage. Have called and sent emails. Say will get back to us and have NEVER called back or sent a reply by email.
Had other family members call. When speaking to them on the phone, sound like they are reading from a script. They LAUGH at you, challenge you, was repeatedly put on hold, they speak to you in condescending way, they try to intimidate. They say your name, phone # and address before you tell them who you are. They say the know exactly who you are and where you live. They speak over you, will not let you speak to a supervisor after asking multiple times.
Have done some research on this company. Seems that we are not the only ones that has had issues with them. Many complaints saying the same thing. They have the EXACT same responses and attitude to similar issues. They take advantage of the grieving hope that people will just give up or settle for few hundred dollars offered. They send damaged caskets and try to play them off as new. Buy them from China for cheap, mark them up and then MAYBE send a couple hundred dollars if you're lucky.
I have pictures of the damage, emails and witnesses to conversations.

Desired Settlement
asking for a partial refund. will settle 1/4-1/3% off a scratched, dented and chipped casket. So at least $325-$425.

Business Response
THis is April 14th and she received the casket on January 29. That is 2.5 months ago. I do not have any notes on this order #XXXXXX saying that it was damaged.

My question is where is the casket now? Normally if a casket is damaged, the buyer sends us photos and we agree on a price adjustment. If we do not agree on a price adjustment, then we pick up the casket and give them a full refund.

What we need now is photos of the damage from the customer sent to ******@BestPriceCasket.com and then call us to make sure we received the photos.

If the casket is damaged and they used the casket and have their loved one buried in the ground then the most we give is a $100 adjustment. Need to see the photos.

Obviously the damage could not of been very bad or they would of purchased the casket from the funeral home. The Funeral home always has many caskets on display and can run and go get one of 200 other caskets for the customer.

The real question is WHY DID THEY BURY the casket and then complain about it 2.5 months later and want a huge portion of their money back. This is extreme.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I complained from the day the casket was unwrapped. The damaged was evident. There were dents, scratches and chips. Question is why there wasn't any damage to the outside packaging and wrapping but damage to the casket?
I sent pictures to your sales associate Brenda that day. She confirmed she received the pictures and sent another casket the following day after repeated phone calls and delays from her. She wouldn't have sent the other casket without seeing pictures of the damaged casket would she? The second casket wasn't to be delivered until the day after it was shipped (two days after I first complained) which was too late for us to use. I told her and the funeral director told her it would come too late when she waited to send it, but she did it anyway.
I have copies of emails I have sent. I have noted the dates and times and details of every call/conversation I or other family members have made to your establishment. I also have copies of the phone records.
I cannot help it if your sales associates do not do their job properly and not forward the pertinent information to you.
It was asked REPEATEDLY to speak to a supervisor and your sales associate would NOT comply. He chose to intimidate and belittle my daughter when she called. How's that for customer service?
I will be happy to deal with you directly, whoever you are, to get this rectified. I look forward to having you call me to discuss this.
I will not settle for $100 compensation though. That is less than a 10% discount on a damaged casket. That's not acceptable.
I have attached some copies of damage. Along with screen shots of the emails sent. Notice the dates. Here's your proof that you were notified from day one.



Final Business Response
We offered them $200 and that is our offer.

The funeral home always has 10 other caskets sitting there on display and they could of chose one of them.

They chose to keep our casket because obviously the damage was not that bad.

Now, the casket is now buried under the ground and we do not have to offer anything for the minor damage but we are offering $200.

They think if they beg, and beg, that that will change things.

We offer $200.

02/24/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The casket wasn't delivered on time.
Order the casket and paid for delivery in 2-3 days. I called the company on 6 different occasions requesting follow-up calls regarding the status of the delivery. Unfortunately, they never call me back to let me know the status. one two of my calls their representative hung the phone up on me. I waited until we ran out of time and had to purchase a casket from the funeral home which cost more, lower quality and wasn't as nice as the one order through Best Price Caskets. The casket delivery finally occurred during the funeral service and was therefore declined and sent back. While I received credit for the casket and delivery charge from Best Prices Caskets, I am requesting reimbursement for the prices difference for the casket I had to purchase from the funeral home, which cost and additional $822. There is not excuse for their poor service (no returned calls and hanging up on me twice). The hired the trucking company, and while they are not responsible for the delivery, they are still accountable for timely deliveries as stated on their website.

Desired Settlement
Requesting reimbursement for the incremental cost of the casket totaling $822.

Business Response
Yes we are Best Price Caskets and yes as he says we have the better looking, lower priced, and better quality caskets than the funeral home's caskets. 400 customers per week or 20,000 caskets per year are shipped out of here. We make a lot of people very happy. About 1 out of 500 something goes wrong and worse case situation is the customer has to buy a lesser product for more money from the funeral home.

The customer was given a choice of fast delivery by airplane for $250 or slower delivery for $150. They chose the trucking delivery to save the $100.

We shipped it by trucking half way across the country as they requested. For whatever reason, the casket was delivered late which is not our fault. In fact we lost $200 in freight to ship it to them and $200 in freight to get it back. We gave the customer quickly the full refund and on top of that we loose $400 in shipping fees.

Sorry that the trucking company delivered it late and I am sorry that you had to buy the casket from the funeral home at much higher prices. When the airlines cancel a flight, they do not reimburse you for lost business profit because the weather is out of their control. Likewise I am not responsible for the higher prices that the funeral home charges, lower quality and less attractive.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
To start, Best Price Caskets appears to have multiple websites such as Michigancaskets.com and Kentuckycaskets.com and may have other websites for other states.

To clarify, Best Price Caskets offer three delivery options: 1) overnight delivery for $250, 2-3 day delivery for $150 and normal ground delivery of 6-10 days at no cost. Since my brother hadn't passed yet, I choose the 2-3 day delivery as it didn't make sense to select the overnight option.

I placed the order on Sunday, Jan. 24 and received an email message stating the casket was shipped out on Monday, Jan. 24. While the large snow storm that fell on the eastern portion of the country occurred on Jan. 23/24. Best Price Caskets should have know if the weather was going to be a factor in the delivery schedule and therefore should have advised according, but they didn't.

Upon following up on the delivery status, I was told it would arrive on Thursday, Jan. 28, then Friday, Jan. 20 and then first thing Monday, Feb. 31. Unfortunately, the casket arrived on Monday 11:30 am during the middle of the funeral service.

Additionally, in their previous response, they don't apologize for hanging up the phone on me, which occurred not once, but twice when inquiring about the delivery status.

Best Price Caskets' personnel have POOR customer service skills. They should offer delivery dates which they can't honor and need training on phone skills.

I should have checked with the BBB before placing an order with Best Price Caskets. I thought I saw that they were recently listed with the BBB, but as of this message, they are no longer accredited with the BBB and their phone number is disconnected.

I would not recommend conducting business with this company as they don't take accountability for their actions or the trucking company they hire

Final Business Response
When the airline flights are cancelled due to weather they do not give you 80% of the price of the flight (casket) in fact they do not take $1 off the price. They say it is beyond their control.

When you ask when the flight is to arrive, they give you a time. If it does not get there then, too bad.

When we ship a casket we tell them USUALLY 2-3 days by trucking. I said it is next day by airplane. The family chose to go by trucking to save money.

Now keep in mind that the funeral home saved probably $1000 to $4000 by buying from us.

I am willing to give you the trucking company's phone number and maybe you can try to get some money from them.

I assume you used the casket and now it is buried under the ground. I also assume you saved thousands of dollars.

I will take $100 off the casket.

It is not our fault you chose the cheaper transportation to save money and it arrived late.

12/24/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to deliver product
12-14-15
My Mother passed away on Thursday of last week with a very limited budget for funeral expenses. I contacted North Carolina Casket company to have a casket shipped to her funeral home. I spoke with Terry who took the order. I explained that we had a viewing on Saturday and he assured me the casket would be flown out to Atlanta and trucked to Monroe and delivered to the funeral home on Friday. I received a confirmation of the shipping of the product on Thursday afternoon about 4:30 that afternoon.
We drove down on Saturday morning to finalize the arrangements. The funeral director asked when we expected the casket to arrive as we were pushing. My heart sank. I called the company only to find that they had not sent the casket. I couldn't believe what I was hearing and had some very unkind words for Terry. His comment to me was that "the funeral home had lots of caskets." We were then facing a price of 3 times what we had paid and this caused a major hardship financially.
I can only hope that this review helps some other family to be able to avoid the additional horrific stress my family felt as a result of this inexcusable action and lack of responsibility displayed by this company and it's representative.
The only reason I gave a 1 star rating is because they did not have a 0.
I plan to post this on every review site I can find to help make the public aware of this type of situation.

Desired Settlement
BBB awareness and consumer awareness

Business Response
What he said is incorrect.

First of all I refunded him 100% as soon as he pointed out that he would not get the casket in time for the viewing.

He ordered the casket and the delivery was tight. I placed on the order that it needs to be flown in an couriered to the funeral home so he can get it the next day. My shipping lady made a mistake and shipped it by trucking by accident which takes 2-3 business days instead of overnight. So we shipped the casket by trucking which costs us $150, we will have to ship it back which costs us an additional $150. Our loss is $150 and we also refunded him 100%.

The customer said it will arrive late and he asked me what can he do now? I said we cannot get a casket there in 2 hours because we are too far away and he would have to buy one from the funeral home.

We ship 400 caskets per week which is 20,000 caskets per year. A few times per year we make a mistake and the worst that happens is the customer has to buy a casket from the funeral home.

This guy was screaming and yelling. Not pleasant to talk to.

10/16/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I walked into funeral home.find my Mother's body in casket that is different from one I ordered and they delivered.They will not speak to when I call.
I was distraught to find my Mother's body at the funeral home laying in the wrong casket they delivered which was different from the one I ordered. I tried to call them 4 times and was put on hold when I mentioned they delivered the worng casket. I was professional in tone, but they (including one person named Brenda) would not pick up on the phone after they put me on hold..one time for 13 minutes and 35 seconds. Another person that I ordered from originally was very rude on the phone.
Order Date: August 17, 2015
Order number 650251
Amount: $1095.00

Desired Settlement
My money back.

Business Response
Somehow I missed this one.

This funeral home received the casket on Tuesday. Her viewing is a full 28 hours later on the next day.

Why did the customer not buy a casket from the funeral home? A funeral home has many caskets in stock. The funeral home can also go pick up any one of hundreds of caskets in 1 or 2 hours.

I called the funeral home on this casket and they said the family chose to USE AND BURY the casket that we had sent instead of buying one of hundreds from the funeral home. Why did they do this?

So if it was the wrong casket, then no problem, I should be able to go pick it up, right? NO, it is buried under the ground.

This is like buying a big expensive meal at a restaurant, eating it and then wanting a full refund because it is too salty.

It is like buying airline tickets, going to the destination and back and then asking for a full refund one month later because it was a bumpy ride or a flight was late.

You cannot use the item, or bury it under the ground, and then expect a full refund. Credit cards NEVER will give you your money back.

THIS IS STEALING.

I will give her a $100 refund.

Why if it was so terrible did she not buy one from the funeral home? If she was going to try to get a full refund, why did she use it?

I bet this customer has a history of doing this to other vendors. Keep the item, use it, file complaints and try to get it free.







Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Best Priced Caskets would not speak with me after several phone calls in which someone answered the phone and put my on hold waiting for long periods of time in which no one returned from putting me on hold. I emailed immediately to which I have still not received a response. In the owner's response to the Better Business Bureau in response to my complaint, he asks questions and makes accusations accusing me of stealing instead of responding to the facts of my complaint. In addition, the owner compares burying my Mother in the wrong casket to eating a meal at a restaurant and a plane flight which is insulting to me. Personal feelings aside, the facts are that I ordered and paid for a casket detailed in the paid invoice, a different casket arrived at the funeral home that what was ordered, and they did not respond to my repeated attempts to contact them when the burial was 17 hours from that time and they could have picked up and delivered another one given that they are up to 4- 5 hour drive away from the funeral home.
In case the BBB expects me to answer the accusatory and insulting questions asked by Best Priced Caskets in their response to my BBB claim, please see below.
1) "Why did the customer not buy a casket from the funeral home?" and 2) why I did not buy "one of hundreds from the funeral home", and 3) So if it was the wrong casket it WAS the wrong casket supported by what I paid per the invoice and the photos I sent, then no problem, I should be able to pick it up, right? NO, it is buried under the ground." I expected Best Priced Caskets to deliver the casket that I ordered. They did not deliver the casket I order did not respond to my repeated and documented attempts to communicate with them to rectify the situation.
Another question asked in Best Priced Casket's owner's response to the complaint is "Why if it was so terrible did she not buy one from the funeral home? If she was going to try to get a full refund, why did she use it? " I contacted Best Priced Caskets in time enough that they could have delivered the correct casket before my Mother's burial, but they would not respond. Therefore, it was impossible for me to return the casket that they sent nor would they confirm that they would give me a refund IF the casket were returned to them. Time is on their side when they make such mistakes in sending the wrong casket because their product will be buried by the time they respond to any customer.
I do not appreciate the response that I feel are attacks by the Best Priced Caskets owner which are "THIS IS STEALING." "I bet this customer has a history of doing this to other vendors. Keep the item, use it, file complaints and try to get it free. " I do not have any history of doing as the owner of Best Priced Caskets asserts. This is about more than the money which I think should be returned. It's about my Mother being buried in a white with silver handles casket that was different than the one she wanted and that was order and paid for per the invoice description with her favorite color with Roses, her favorite flower that she loved to paint and taught so many people to paint, on the handles.


Final Business Response
It is simple. We are $1000 on our caskets and the funeral home is closer to $4000.

IF the casket is damaged so bad that you want your money back, then buy one from the funeral home and STOP trying to get a FREE one from us.

IF ALL CUSTOMERS DID this to retailers. Use and keep the product and damand the product for free I guess there would be no stores.

The bank that issued your credit card is on your side but they will NEVER allow you to keep and use the product and then try to get all your money back either. You received it in time for the funeral home to go back and forth 5 times with a new casket for you.

This should be illegal. Keep and use a product and bury it under the ground and instead of getting one elsewhere, demand you get your money back. Thief!

I bet your credit card history would show that you do this regularly.





Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Your reputation speaks for itself. It did not take me long to research your company, Best Price Caskets, after I had already been ripped off, to find out that I am not the only person you have done this to and this is how you operate. Ripping off people in the same way is your modus operandi. I reached out to you several times before the burial and you would not respond. The only time you have responded is to this formal complaint through the Better Business Bureau and all you can do is call me names and criticize me. Shame on you.

09/28/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Casket not delivered on time, customer service repeatedly lied, never returned the money.
I placed an order for a casket on Saturday 06/20/15. My father's funeral service was to be in a church in Boston Tuesday 6/23 at 12.30 pm. The customer service representative assured me that the casket would be delivered to the funeral home on Monday; it was to be shipped by air and then picked up from the airport by the Best Price courier. My credit card was billed $1,440 Monday morning ($1,195 for the casket and $245 for delivery).

Monday afternoon the funeral home calls me to say the casket is not there. I call Best Price who says 'Our courier's truck broke down, but now everything is OK, he is on the way to the airport'.

Later on Monday the funeral home calls me to say they are closing for the day and the casket is not there. I call Best Price who says that the truck is still broken, but they will deliver the casket first thing Tuesday morning.

Tuesday at 7.45 am I call Best Price who says the courier is 20 minutes away from the airport, so the casket should be delivered shortly.

At 9.30 am the casket is still not there. I call Best Price who says 'The courier is 5 minutes from the funeral home'.

At 10.30 am the casket not there. Best Price: 'Look, we have this new courier, he lied to me, he still did not get to the airport'; then he puts me on hold and never picks up.

Later, after calling back and forth and Best Price hanging up on me or putting me on infinite hold several times, after telling me not to call him anymore, after speaking to me very rudely, the Best Price representative did not suggest any solution to the problem except just waiting a little more. It is now 11 am. I remind him the funeral home must bring the casket to the church by 12.30. ' 'Look, we just have to wait another half an hour and see. The viewing is at 12.30, it takes only 15 minutes to get the body in the casket'. I say I don't want the casket anymore, tell him to cancel the order; then I call the funeral director, who sells me a casket for $2,200. Another person, this time a woman, calls me from Best Price and confirms that the order is cancelled. I ask to be reimbursed for the price difference, because it was their fault I had to buy a more expensive casket from the funeral home. 'You don't understand, we paid $250 for delivery to Boston, now we have to pay to bring it back. We can't reimburse you, we never do'.

Incredibly, 11:55 am I receive an SMS from Best Price:
"Casket at funeral home for 30 minutes and they will not accept it".
Me:
"I told you to send it back already."
Best Price:
"Funeral home can send the over priced one back".
Me:
"I don't want your casket".

Today, over 5 weeks after the event, I still have not received any refund from Best Price, either for their original bill or for the price difference.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be refunded $2,200 - the price of the casket I had to buy from the funeral home on a short notice, an hour before the funeral.

Business Response
We charged the customer $1440 including shipping. We flew a casket to Boston Airport. We picked up the casket to deliver it to the funeral home and yes it was delayed and delivered after we had said because the flight was bumped.

The customer did not tell us he was cancelling until we delivered the casket to the funeral home. Our cost to fly+Courier the casket to Him in Boston was $250. Our cost to courier and fly it back to Dallas was $250.

Was the casket late for the funeral viewing. No. Was it delivered later than what we said it would be, Yes.

I am going to refund $1440 - $250 to get it there and minus 250 to return the casket to Dallas. Refunded $1440 -$500 = $940 refunding today.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1) I certainly told the company representative that I was cancelling my order. After giving them several 'second chances' and receiving many false promises, I was compelled to cancel less than 2 hours before the church service. It was apparently delivered 40 minutes afterwards.

2) I see no reason why I should be paying for the casket transportation either to Boston or back to Dallas. We had a contract with Best Price Caskets that for $1,440.00 they would deliver this casket on Monday June 22. They failed to deliver it, so whatever expenses they incurred is not my concern.

3) On August 18, a Mr. ***** ****** of Best Price Caskets suddenly sent me the following email (quoted in its entirety):

"casket price was $1440

XXXX - XXX cost to deliver to you -250 cost to return it to me. 940 is what I refunded today"

In fact my credit card account received no money from the Best Price Caskets either that day or later. However:

4) On 7/30/15, more than 5 weeks after the original transaction, having heard nothing from Best Price, I protested their charge with my credit card company and received a full refund.

5) Consequently, I now only request to be paid the price difference between their bill and the price of the casket I had to buy from the undertaker due to Best Price failing to deliver one on time: $2,200.00 - $1,440.00 = $760.00

Page 1 of 5

Industry Comparison| Chart

Caskets, Funeral Directors Equipment & Supplies, Funeral Homes, Funeral Related Services, Funeral Directors, Cremation Urns, Monuments, Florist - Funeral Bouquets & Wreaths, Insurance - Funeral

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.