BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1977

Dobson Floors

Find a Location

Phone: (972) 270-8741Fax: (972) 681-77982010 Eastgate Dr, GarlandTX 75041-4830 Send email to Dobson Floors

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1977

BBB has determined that Dobson Floors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Dobson Floors' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Dobson Floors

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
09/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charged my credit card, but did not finish the installation.
This job began June 9,2014. As of today July 22, 2014, I am still waiting for the project to complete. The agreement was that I would be charged half of the total price $4,976.00, when the job began, and $4,976.00, when the job was completed. Dobson Floors has not completed the job, and charged my credit card for the full amount.

I stopped by the store to speak with a manager, only to be told that it is an employee owned business. I don't understand how they have any business with this kind of service. I have been dealing with ******* and he is very unresponsive and rude on the phone. He explained that they are opening another store and he has been busy with that. I did not know how to respond to that. I was shocked with all the excuses this man has given me, from the product did not come in on time, to it was the wrong color. I just want my floors completed with the correct material that was originally chosen for this project.

I also discussed with ******* that my pantry door will not fully open due to the laminate and my trap door is uneven. I have not heard from him regarding this matter. I am frustrated at this point and tired of being told that he will get in touch with me, which he never does. I have been the one that has to constantly call and try to track him down.

Desired Settlement
I would like Dobson Floors to complete my installation. Fix the problem with my pantry door not opening completely and the uneven trap door.

Business Response
As of this date job is complete, customer is satisfied and balance paid.
Initial charge was for standard 50% deposit charged day order was taken.
The balance was not charged until 8/22/2014 date when all concerns were addressed. Floor was installed as agreed, customer added special order wood floor vents which have 3 week lead time. the vents were unfinished and needed to be colored to blend with prefinished floor.
The doors that customer refers to are a pantry door and scuttle hole door. it is not uncommon for doors etc to be adjusted after installation. This had been completed.
We will review our procedures for updating material status on all orders with extended lead times.
If Ms. ****** has any other concerns she can contact me at ************.

06/10/2013Problems with Product / Service
06/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Flooring ordered is poorer quality than expected. I think Dobson should stand behind the products they sell an allow a refund on uninstalled flooring
I ordered 72 cartons of Mannington, Adura locksolid flooring to use in my house on Jan 21, 2014. This is a Vinyl floor plank material.

The flooring was delivered within a day or 2.
Sales order: # XXXXXX-XX
Sales person: ****** ******
Flooring: Mannington Lock Solid Essex Oak.
(AW513s)
Amount 72 cartons, 1044 square feet.
Payment method: Visa Card


I spent a lot of time researching flooring that was certified not to cause an in door air problem and easy to install. This flooring appeared to meet these requirements by being certified not to cause an indoor air quality issue (FloorScore certified).

I installed about 100 square feet of the flooring and found 2 issues. First, the flooring was putting out a strong chemical odor. This odor did not decrease over 5 days. Second, the flooring was easily damaged.

I called the sales person twice during the week of Jan 31-Feb 4 about the off gassing or strong smell from the flooring. He tells me vinyl flooring smells and will dissipate after a few days. The problem is the smell is not a vinyl smell and it did not dissipate as expected. I finally have to remove the flooring I had installed. This was about 100 square feet of the 1044 square feet ordered.

I do have experience installing a similar vinyl plank product from a competitor earlier in January. That product did have a slight vinyl smell that did dissipate within a few days. I still have this floor in one room with no quality issues.

Unfortunately, the customer does not see the real product until it is delivered.

Desired Settlement

I would like to return the unused cartons of the flooring for a full refund of those cartons. I am not looking for a refund on the flooring I installed or any other cost. I can deliver the flooring to a warehouse. This is not an unreasonable request.

I have contacted Mannington Floors to try to return the product through them. However, tell me the refund can only be done through the retailer or the retailer can arrange a return to the distributor. So far this has been an option from Dobson Floors.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ******* Vice Pres
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***@dobsonfloors.com
I had not heard of this complaint until receiving this letter. First, this is a special order and would normally not be returnable. However,I have talked to manufacturer regarding return of this product. Mannington will allow return of any unopened, undamaged, and uninstalled material. Return to occur within the next 10 days. There is a restock charge that is 20% of material returned to Dobson warehouse at 2010 Eastgate Drive Garland, TX 75041. Material can be received at our warehouse 8AM to 3:30PM Monday thru Friday. Total credit allowed will be based on number of returned "resaleable" cartons less freight and delivery charge, that total is $ 172.
I am sorry that Mr ****** did not have a good experience with the Mannington product, they are one of our many top notch suppliers. If Mr ****** would like to discuss the scheduling of the return please contact me at 972-270-8741.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

The floor return with a 20% restocking fee is an option I was given in the first week of buying the floor. When I called to start the return process a couple days later, the store told me it could no longer be returned. No good explanation on why the policy changed.

This process has gone on too long. The 3 week flooring project is going on 4 months now. The store did not respond to BBB after 2 notices and a pre-suspension notice. The response came only after the BBB suspension letter was received by them.

The return option of a 20% restocking fee would cost over $1000. Due to the length of time and cost, I feel I have no option other than using this floor.


Industry Comparison| Chart

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New, Contractors - Flooring, Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Linoleum Dealers, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Floors - Industrial

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1972Business started: 01/01/1968
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Debra Buchanan (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Ron Wallace (VP - Operations)Mr. Joe Perdue (Sales Manager)
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New, Contractors - Flooring, Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Linoleum Dealers, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Floors - Industrial

Alternate Business Names
Dobson, Dobson's Flooring America

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Dobson Floors

2010 Eastgate Dr

Garland, TX 75041-4830

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 8810 Lebanon Road 

    Frisco, TX 75034(469) 287-1945

  • 2010 Eastgate Dr 

    Garland, TX 75041-4830(972) 270-8741

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Dobson Floors is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Carpet & Rug Dealers - New

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.