BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1975

Carpet Outlets of Texas, Inc.

Phone: (972) 279-4800Fax: (972) 279-8445

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
02/01/2012Problems with Product / Service
10/06/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Excessive carpet wear and warranty issue, as well as vinyl flooring.
Carpet and vinyl flooring was purchased in October 2013, and has excessive wear now. Carpet Outlets was notified of this in December/January and looked at the carpet at that time. They stated that the wear was normal. In May 2014, manufacturer rep looked at carpet, and stated that traffic areas were not warranted. Now, the vinyl flooring is bubbling and separating from floor. Again, Carpet Outlet rep looked at flooring and stated that this was normal. Carpet and vinyl are less than a year old, and both look like they are much older. Carpet looks worn out.

Desired Settlement
I want carpet, padding, and vinyl to be replaced or fully credited towards upgrade or different flooring type.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******, Manager
Contact Phone: 972-279-4800
Contact Email: ****@carpetoutlets.net
We installed carpet and vinyl in Mr. **********'s home on 11/14/2013. They called and expressed their concern about how the carpet looked. The owner, **************, went to look at the carpet and could find no defects with it. On June 5th, 2014, we contacted the manufacturer, ******************, about the customer's concerns. They sent an independent flooring inspector to the customer's home to inspect the carpet. I am sending that report to the email address given to me by ************** from your office since I can't attach it here. Basically, it states that there are 2 adults, 2 teen children, 5 dogs and 2 cats in the home. The carpet is experiencing the effects of tip entanglement and changes from consistent maintenance. The rigid bristles applied during vacuuming are the primary contributor. The bristles in rotation are significantly harder than the fiber of the style. The condition is worsened by dominant pivot points in well defined and narrow foot fall areas as well as a longer pile height. This condition is related to care and maintenance regimen and environment. A suction only setting on the vacuum will eliminate the aggressive contact with the rigid bristle and allow for better tip preservation. You can read the entire report when you receive it. We also have informed the customer that if they disagree with any findings from the independent inspectors report, they could hire their own certified carpet inspector to come out and reinspect.

The vinyl flooring was not bubbling and separating from the floor. It has cuts and indentions from improper care. There are several indentations that have occurred from someone leaning back in the chairs on the vinyl. ********* has agreed to replace the vinyl as a one time customer accommodation under their no rip, tear, gouge warranty. It is a one time replacement and the customer has been informed that they will not replace it again because of indenting/tearing.

We just received the approval from ********* 9/19/14 to replace the vinyl and have notified the customer by email today.

The carpet and vinyl have warranties through the manufacturers and we warrant all installation of the materials. The carpet manufacturer sent a certified independent inspector who deemed there are no defects, so they will not replace any carpet. As I stated above, ********* has agreed to replace the vinyl one time.

Reports to follow by email to companyanswers@dallas.bbb.org

Please let me know if you have any additional questions.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The carpet was sold with the understanding of a 10-year warrantee. It was never disclosed that "foot fall" areas were not covered under this guarantee. It was advised by Mr.********* to vacuum carpet daily in order to keep the pile raised and not be allowed to crush or mat down. This maintenance has been done regularly, and now the manufacturer is claiming that type of maintenance was ill-advised. The vacuum does not have a "suction only" setting as suggested by the manufacturer's rep, and is stated so in his report. Because of the suggested maintenance regimen from Mr.*********, it is my belief that Carpet Outlets, or representative, should stand behind this damage caused to the pile tips, since it is because of their suggestion that this has occurred.

The vinyl restitution offered is acceptable.

08/30/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New, Contractors - Flooring, Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication, Tile Sales, Tile Restoration, Shower Pan Replacement, Tile & Marble, Floors - Hardwood, Floor Materials - Retail, Countertops, Clocks - Service & Repair, Clocks - Dealers, Carpet & Rug Pads, Linings & Accessories, Bathroom Accessories, Granite, Clocks - Components, Carpet & Rug Binding, Bath Liners, Bathtubs & Sinks - Repair & Refinish, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Floors - Laminate, Carpet Installation, Floor Coverings & Installation, Carpet Layers, Carpet & Rug Repair, Carpet & Rug Measuring

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.