BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1998

TLC Carpet Cleaning, Inc.

Phone: (972) 434-2178Fax: (972) 420-4262

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
06/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: customer service received by contact agent with TLC, and professionalism and how was treated and spoken too.
on 5/9/2014 TLC came to my house to do carpet cleaning on 3 rooms and a hallway. two of the rooms were perfect, however, the living room and the hallway were left feeling like there was soap residue left on the carpet. soap residue was left on clothes when sitting on the floor and also had to wear slippers in order not to get chemicals all over feet. Also the contractor broke a ceramic cross hanging up on my wall that is not reachable unless if you are on a chair. the contractor told me that when he pulled the tube (that helps soak up water and what not) that since he yanked it so hard it went into the air and knocked it down and he broke it. he advised me to call in on Monday and speak with **** for a reimbursement.
I called Monday morning and spoke with **** in regards to my issues. I advised **** that the living room carpet had soap residue left on it and it wasnt completely rinsed, he advised me that all products were used in all the rooms so if it was something his contractor did then it would have affected all the room he did.. I advised **** that that may be true but it doesnt mean that his contractor did not fully rinse the carpet in the living room and hallway. **** then proceeded to state that it could have been from a previous cleaning i had completed or a spot clean treatment. i advised **** that the carpet was installed 5 years ago and i had never had any cleaning done to it so it was none of those reasons.. He proceeded to tell me that is no a "problem" that is caused by them but they could have somebody come out and look at it and evaluate it. I then asked him about my Cross that his contractor broke. He stated he had it on file that contractor WROTE HIMSELF that he broke the Cross and would be reimbursed. **** then proceeded to ask me if i had a receipt or any PROOF of value, i had advised him it was an antique that was purchased over a year ago, once i advised him that he then stated how can he reimburse me for something that he doesn't know the value of. during this entire conversation **** was being condescending, and rude and found everything possible to take the blame off of them.. I had argued with him and once i started pushing back on his rudeness i advised him i would get somebody else to fix their mistakes he proceeded to hang up on me. I called him back and told him that he hung up on me and he admitted that he did, i told him that this was completely unacceptable, I told him i am bringing home a newborn in 2 weeks and cannot bring a newborn into a house that had chemicals on the floor even if they are baby safe it is not healthy to have chemicals on the floor.. He proceeded to argue with me again i advised him that i **** be placing this all over every single social media network and also report to the BBB in regards to his lack of professionalism, customer service, and his lack of any responsibility

Initial Business Response
First of all, I'm sorry the conversation I had with Ms ****** went down hill. I did hang up on her, but that was only after she started to yell at me and would not let me have my turn to speak. I very politely warned her that if she wouldn't let me talk that I would have no choice but to end the call because we weren't getting anywhere.

The review she posted doesn't reflect in the least what was actually said. First, the cross that broke was made of clay and had a $19.95 price tag on the back of it (I found that out later after speaking to my tech). My tech, told her we would reimburse her for it, and even mentioned HE would be the one paying for it, since he's the one who broke it. But she told him not worry about it, that is wasn't a big deal. She only mentioned it to me after we talked about the carpet cleaning. He did however, fail to call me about it right then, but did put a note to me on his work order about it. And I didn't tell her that without a receipt it wouldn't get reimbursed, I simply asked her what the cross was worth, and she didn't know so I asked if she had a receipt for it, and she took that as if I was saying that I wouldn't reimburse her with out the receipt. And by the way, we did send her a check in the amount of $25.00 that she has already cashed.

As far as the soap in the carpet in the living room, she told me that it felt soapy as if it hadn't been rinsed properly and then said it didn't feel like the other two rooms we cleaned that same day. All three rooms were cleaned using the same method, pre spray, rinsing agent and tech, so I deduced that there was probably something pre existing going on (and that was after I told her I would be happy to send *** back out to re clean the room). She failed to mention to me, and in this review, that she has an older Pitt Bull that was peeing all over that room and she had been spot cleaning with over the counter products. That was the cause of the soapy residue and why she thought it wasn't rinsed properly. She also declined an enzyme treatment for the urine issue, and said she would be replacing the carpet soon with a laminate floor. The other two rooms we cleaned were up stairs where her dog couldn't get to. She did call back to say she was having a baby, and thought that all the chemicals we left in her carpet wouldn't be good, and as I was trying to tell her we don't use "chemicals" and that everything we do use is water soluble, and "baby safe", she hung up on me. Thanks for taking the time to read my response to this customer.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The man who came to clean my drapes on January 3, 2014 was not satisfactory. After signing a release form, I found a some areas that he neglected to clean. He had to be told a number of time to replace the furniture that he had moved because he neglected to put things back where he found them. He also spent a great deal of time on the phone and kept me waiting far longer than anticipated in order to finish the job.
Product_Or_Service: drapery & sofa cleaning

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Paul Freeman/Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********************@gmail.com
Ms. ****** originally called to have some drapes and a sofa cleaned in her home. It was going to be a lot of work and cost a lot of money. I wanted to come out and meet with her to quote her firm, but she refused and insisted that I "ballpark" her over phone. So I did, and did the best I could, based on the info I got from her. I think that was issue #1. The cost exceeded what I had quoted her over the phone. To be honest (because I have been in this business for 23 years) I think the entire complaint was designed to get money off her bill. I know there were some things that *** did wrong, but they weren't anything that we couldn't have taken care of if we were dealing with a more reasonable customer.

So I sent my tech ***, who has been in the carpet cleaning business since 1996 to her home to do the work. He recently came back to work for me as he had been gone for about 2-1/2 years working for another company. He was with me for 3-years before that. He is an excellent carpet tech and there isn't much he can't do.

As far as the issue of him being on his phone, that was explained to Ms ******. His wife had his phone because the ringer didn't work and he couldn't hear when someone was calling him, so she was getting it replaced for him, and *** had her phone, and he was being interrupted by people that were trying to get a hold of her.

She didn't sign a release form. She simply signed our invoice agreeing to the quote that she was given once *** got there and did the walk through with her. All of our customers sign our invoice both before and after the work is done. She did note near her signature that she wasn't happy that the drapes couldn't be steam cleaned, but no company steam cleans drapes. They are always dry cleaned while hanging. I told her that on the phone the first day we spoke.

And *** did move a couple pieces of furniture back and forth in order to get to the drapes. He didn't put one piece back exactly where it was and she could see the indentations on the rug where it had been sitting originally, so she complained about that. Now *** should have put the furniture back in place properly and we agreed on that.

The worst thing he did was he slid a hutch of some kind away from the wall to gain access to the drapes and she said he scratched her wood floor. I went out to meet with her within a day or two and the first thing she did was hand me a long list of all these things *** did wrong. I looked at the floor and fortunately it wasn't scratched, it just had small, barely noticeable scuff marks from the little plastic feet that were nailed to the bottom of each leg. Again, *** was wrong and we also agreed on that. And one other note, after I got there, and walked through with her I noticed that everything *** had cleaned looked really nice. The overall result of his work was good, but for her, getting there seemed to be the problem.

So by the time I left she was asking me how much money I was going to give her off her **** for her anxiety. I told her that our policy is to make the job right at no cost to the customer, and that I couldn't put a dollar amount on her anxiety. This is what makes me think that she was just looking for a smaller ****.

So I think the day I came out was a Thursday or Friday and I told her I would have a company that we deal with come out to touch up the scuff marks on the floor and to please give me until Monday or Tuesday of the next to week to arrange that, and she agreed. Now, late (around midnight) that Saturday I received a call from one of my older brothers from the east coast and he told me my other older brother had passed **** from cancer. He had been in the hospital for several weeks.

So that Monday I made arrangements for a flight out of town and was going to be gone all week. As part of my planning to be gone, I got with **** **** (one of our top guys) and asked him to handle the wood floor repair in my absence. I would like to mention that even though my brother had just died, and I had to leave town in a hurry, I made sure that Ms ****** was not forgotten.

I flew out on Tuesday and **** went to see Ms ****** the same day. I didn't know **** was going to try and remedy the floor himself, but he did. She called him the next day, Wednesday, and left him a voice mail saying that she still wasn't happy, and that it looked ok the day he did it, but not after the finish dried. She had also asked **** for 1/2 of her money back. He told her it was not up to him.

When I got back into town I called her to follow up with her, and at that point she didn't want us to bother with the floor even though I suggested going back to plan A and let me get an actual flooring company out there to fix it once and for all. She refused, so at this point I felt like there was nothing else I could do, so I talked to the owner and I suggested giving her $200.00 back so she could get the floor worked on by another company of her choosing. The guy I know was going to charge us around $150.00, so I felt $200 would suffice.

She agreed to the $200, and I asked her to send us a letter stating that she would be ok with the refund and exempting us from any further wood floor issues. We received the letter a week or so later and I put a check in the mail to her within 2-days after that. The check we sent has since cleared our account.

As far as TLC Carpet Cleaning is concerned, this matter has been handled and closed. Thank you for taking the time to read this response.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
His response was not really accurate since I had to clean up after their technician when he left since he did not even bother to dust the top of the cornice boards. However, if he had not left dark marks on my floor because he failed to use gliders for the furniture he moved, I would have let this go. In the end, I agreed to have my own man repair the floor if they would pay for it.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

02/21/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Carpet & Rug Cleaners, Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication, Moldings, Water Damage Restoration, Fire Damage Restoration, Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Air Duct Cleaning, Duct Cleaning, Carpet & Rug Dyers, Countertop - Fabrication, Countertops, Bathtub Refinishing, Bathtubs & Sinks - Repair & Refinish, Remodeling Services, Commercial Painting Contractor, Painting - Faux Finishing, Painting Contractors, Carpet & Rug Repair

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.