BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/08/2000

Compton's Carpet Cleaning & Restoration, Inc.

Phone: (972) 938-2708Fax: (972) 938-0622View Additional Phone Numbers1316 W Main St, WaxahachieTX 75165-2240 Send email to Compton's Carpet Cleaning & Restoration, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/08/2000

BBB has determined that Compton's Carpet Cleaning & Restoration, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Compton's Carpet Cleaning & Restoration, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Compton's Carpet Cleaning & Restoration, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
05/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

While technician was cleaning carpets, his hoses leaked on our laminate floor. Puddles in entryway were not dried up and caused floor to bubble.
1/22/15 Technician ******* came to our home at 1pm to clean carpets in 4 bedrooms. We have laminate floor in our living room, entry way and hallways. While he was cleaning the carpets, his hoses kept leaking and there were puddles of water throughout the living room. I kept going around with a towel drying up all the water. After he cleaned the Master Bedroom, he went to my kiddos rooms &I sat on the couch because I wasn't feeling totally well. As he finished up the last room he asked me to take a look at the carpets and see what I thought. When I got up there was a small puddle of water behind one of my couches and then 3 puddles about 6-8 inches in diameter in the entryway at the end of my rug runner, and several small puddles alongside the runner in front of my guest room. ******* said, "I'm going to go get a rag and dry up the puddles. I'm sorry." He went out to his van and came back with his clipboard and a rag. He dropped the rag on one of the puddles along side of the runner and used his foot to dry up the few that were along side of the runner. I went to check the carpet in my Master Bedroom and assumed he was drying all of his puddles. I then met him behind my couch closest to the kitchen where he took my coupon, adjusted my price, took my check and had me sign a receipt and then gave me my yellow copy. We thanked him and he loaded up and left. I went into the kitchen to do some things then stepped back out and looked over at my husband who was caulking new molding at the front door. As soon as I looked his way I saw our brand new laminate floor had bubbled up at the end of my rug runner where the larger puddles as been. I immediately started saying "no, no, no no..." hit my knees and started rubbing the floor. You could feel it was wet. My husband had come over and was inspecting it too. I started commenting on how bad it looked and started crying. I called Comptons and spoke to ****** I believe. I told her how I had seen the puddles, assumed he had dried them up when I was checking the Master Bedroom, and now the floor was all bubbled where those puddles were. She said she would call me right back. She did call me right back and asked if ******* could come back out to look at it, possibly put a fan on it, and take some pictures. I told her that was fine. I got back on my hands and knees and started rubbing it with a towel then got my blow dryer on it just praying the bubbles would go down. My Real Estate agent showed up while I was doing this to take some measurements as we were listing the house for sale that evening. He told me it was too late so I stopped blow drying it. I got my phone out and began taking pictures. ******* showed up and started to take pictures and had a little device he was pushing into one of the bubbled spots. I asked what the device was and he said it was a moisture reader. I said "oh, ok. I don't know that it'll work now as I just was blow drying it". He had no comment. I asked if he was getting ok pictures because it was hard to catch on camera and he told me that he was and then asked if we still had any of the flooring left. My husband told him that we did but that the floor was tongue and groove so you could not just pull up the damaged planks and replace them, you have to take the floor up from where you ended it until you got to the damaged areas then relay it down. ******* then got up and said "Ok, I'm going to take this back to my boss and see what he says". Neither my husband nor I had heard anything back from them as of today, Friday January 30, 2015. At 9:21am today I called them to see when they would be fixing the floor and Cassie told me that I needed to speak to ****** and took my name and number then said "I don't know everything about the situation but I do know that our moisture reader indicated that the area was dry, no moisture was detected." I said "no that's because I was down on my hands and knees crying drying it with towels and a blow dryer" then she hung up on me.

Desired Settlement
Comptons needs to purchase and replace the flooring they damaged. Because the laminate is tongue and groove style, it must be lifted from ending point up to damaged area then all flooring relaid. New flooring will need to be purchased for whole area lifted because what they take up will be damaged from being taken up and unable to be reused. If they cannot get the exact laminate that's here, they will need to replace entire area covered in laminate so floor is not evidently mismatched. The flooring is 46.36/box pre tax at Lowes, where we got it, and its estimated it will take 23 boxes to replace what will be taken up. If a professional re-lays floor, they will charge approximately $50/hr for labor and it will take an estimated 10hrs to take up and replace floor. Comptons needs to issue a written apology as well for not only the damage, but also for the way ****** continuously hung up on me, yelled at me and treated me so ugly via phone today. Her customer service skills are atrocious. I never cussed or yelled, she had no right to hang up on me continuously. And as part of the apology we also feel Comptons should refund the carpet cleaning fee ($151.49).
At the VERY LEAST I require a written apology and the total funds of $1805.74 paid to us so we may have the floor replaced if they don't wish to take care of purchasing the flooring and replacing it themselves.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******, Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **************
In response to the above reported claim I would like to state the puddles were wiped up and the hoses were in fact wrapped with connection guards. Professionally speaking a wood/laminate cannot"buckle" in only one spot. The complainant stated there were several spots, it would have puckered or cupped in all areas. The complainant called our office and spoke to ****** ******* at which time she demanded that we replace her floor and hung up. In an attempt to resolve this issue, ****** then sent Kenneth, the technician, back to her residence at which time he took moisture readings, which takes a reading from the amount of moisture in the floor and are highly sensitive, the moisture reader displayed a zero level of moisture, Kenneth did advise the complainant of taking the moisture readings and pictures of the results of the moisture readings. The conversation she stated took place between her and Kenneth, where he said he was sorry, was in no way an apology for any damage caused, it was an I'm sorry as in I understand your frustration at the situation. Kenneth has the moisture readings as well as pictures of the moisture readings. On the morning that the complainant called, ****** spoke with her and did state that she has little knowledge of the situation but was aware of the moisture readings but hat she would give ****** her name and number, at this point the complainant became upset and began screaming and demanding that " ****** better call her back and she better replace her floor", she continued to yell and raise her voice at ******, ****** attempted to tell ask her not to yell at her and that she would help her any way that she could but to stop yelling. The yelling continued at which point ****** said she would still pass ** the message and the phone call ended. The complainant phoned several times after the initial call stating she "could do this all day" and made several threats and did in fact call ****** A *****. ****** then decided to not answer the phone at which point the complainant left a voice mail in which she again made threats of suit and again stated "the ***** answering the phone". The voice mail is saved. This company and our employees value our customers and our reputation and always strive to be professional, if at any point we felt that we had caused any damage to the complainants flooring we would have taken full responsibility and rectified the situation immediately.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First, the business needs to re-read my complaint. I never claimed the floor buckled but that it BUBBLED where the puddles were. Second, the puddles were dried up by ME during the cleaning process and Kenneth only cleaned some small ones on the side of the entryway runner. He even left his rag at those spots while he took my payment and picked it up on his way out. I also recorded all my attempted conversations with ****** when I called to see why they hadn't gotten back to me after so many days. Every time I tried to talk to her she would continuously hang up on me even when I said "I am not yelling or being rude, I am trying to talk to you"...she would immediately hang up when I said this. I did tell them I would continue to call all day and on a voicemail I did call her a ***** because she continuously hung up on me when I was trying to get answers and explain the entire story to her. Again, I recorded all of this and their comments are not 100%accurate. On the lives of my children I swear that there were puddles left by their hoses throughout my living room, the largest being the ones that caused the floor to bubble at the end of the entryway runner. I swear on the lives of my children that there was absolutely zero bubbles in any of my laminate floor before Kenneth came to clean the carpets. I also have my agent as a witness to the events of me on my hands and knees blow drying the floor in tears and then Kenneth showing up to take pics, ask if we still have the flooring, and taking moisture readings. I do not deny his reading may show zero as not only was it nearly an hour after the damage was done that he took those readings but I had also spent 30 minutes rubbing the bubbled area with towels and blow drying the area like crazy. I absolutely put my childrens lives at stake, may they parish if I am lying that this damage, the floor bubbling at the end of the runner, is completely Comptons fault. Regardless of how my phone conversations with Cassie went, the problem is still that THEY caused this damage to my floor and THEY are responsible for fixing it. I will gladly sit in a court of law with my recordings, as would my husband and our real estate agent, at state under oath the exact statements I have made all along about this damage. That floor was in perfect condition before Kenneth came to clean the carpets, I absolutely saw the puddles from his leaky hose standing exactly where the bubbling occurred, and the damage is completely Comptons responsibility. The phone calls have nothing to do with the damage they caused and should have no bearing on them repairing what they damaged. I would swear this is the truth in any way that anyone wanted me to because it is the truth. Those hoses used leaked all throughout my living room. I am thankful I cleaned up many of them as he cleaned the carpets so that my floor was not damaged worse than the section that I did not get dried up. If their hoses were "wrapped in connection guard" then I would not have been drying up puddles throughout the entire living room while he cleaned our bedroom carpets. Again, I have witnesses who saw me down there trying to towel dry and blow dry the bubbles crying. Why would I be doing that if the damage had not just occurred? Comptons is completely responsible for this damage, regardless of phone conversations.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Carpet & Rug Cleaners, Upholstery & Carpet Cleaning, Upholstery and Rug Cleaning, Tile & Grout Cleaning, Crime Scene/Trauma Clean Up, Dryer Vent Cleaning, Mattresses - Cleaning, Marble & Terrazzo Cleaning & Service, Janitor Service, Furniture Cleaning, Floor Waxing, Polishing & Cleaning, Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Duct Cleaning, Deodorizing & Disinfecting, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Painting Contractors

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 04/17/2000Business started: 09/01/1991
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Compton (Owner)Customer Contact: Ms. Ginger Compton (Owner)
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Cleaners, Upholstery & Carpet Cleaning, Upholstery and Rug Cleaning, Tile & Grout Cleaning, Crime Scene/Trauma Clean Up, Dryer Vent Cleaning, Mattresses - Cleaning, Marble & Terrazzo Cleaning & Service, Janitor Service, Furniture Cleaning, Floor Waxing, Polishing & Cleaning, Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Duct Cleaning, Deodorizing & Disinfecting, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Painting Contractors

Products & Services

Carpet Cleaning, Repairing, and Stretching
Pit Wash Oriental and Wool Rugs
Tile, Grout, and Natural Stone Cleaning
Hardwood Floor Cleaning
Air Duct and Dryer Vent Cleaning
Total Dust Down and Housekeeping Service
Emergency Water Extraction and Restoration
Fire Restoration and Content Cleaning
Odor Remediation and Restoration
Upholstery, Drapery, and Mattress Cleaning
Auto,Truck,Boat,and RV cleaning

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Compton's Carpet Cleaning & Restoration, Inc.

1316 W Main St

Waxahachie, TX 75165-2240

To | From


1 Locations

  • 1316 W Main St 

    Waxahachie, TX 75165-2240(972) 938-2708
    (800) 213-1754

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Compton's Carpet Cleaning & Restoration, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 213-1754

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.


Industry Tips for Carpet & Rug Cleaners


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.