BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/11/2011

Monitronics

Find a Location

Phone: (866) 672-2034Fax: (972) 620-55302350 Valley View Ln, DallasTX 75234-5754 Send email to Monitronics

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides home security alarm monitoring services to more than 700,000 residential customers, government agencies, and national accounts throughout the U.S., Puerto Rico, and Canada through its network of independent authorized dealers.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/11/2011

BBB has determined that Monitronics meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Monitronics' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 1762 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1762 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 712 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues174
Billing / Collection Issues505
Delivery Issues4
Guarantee / Warranty Issues8
Other1
Problems with Product / Service1070
Total Closed Complaints 1762

Additional Complaint Information

Complaints regarding service and product issues. Consumers state in numerous complaints that the alarm systems purchased through the company were malfunctioning and prohibiting the consumer from utilizing the services the contracted.

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1762)BBB Closure Definitions
12/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contacted company several times over last year that system was not working. Refused to send a technician out. we stopped paying.
Contacted company several times in last year that system was not working. They refused to send a technician out. Instead they walked me through resting replacing batteries etc over the phone. System is still not working. We live in ny this is our second home in Florida and we are only there 3 times a year. When I was in the home over the summer I told them the system was still not working even after last attempt of me replacing the battery. They still would not send out a technician instead telling me it was another companies issue not theirs. We stopped paying. Now they are coming after us for stop payment. System still dies not work.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to 0 out the balance and cancel our contract.

Business Response






**** *******
** ******** Dr December 2, 2014
****** Beach, FL XXXXX
Re: Case Number: XXXXXXXX / **** *******
Customer Number: XXXXXXXXX


Dear **** *******:

Thank you for taking the time to speak with me today in regards to the Better Business Bureau complaint. Per our conversation, I have agreed to cancel the monitoring account due to the many service issues you experienced. I have submitted the account for cancellation; our process can take up to 30 days. Please let this letter serve as formal confirmation that there is no further financial or contractual obligation to Monitronics. I have waived the balance of $382.56 on the account; therefor you may disregard any current or past due statements. Please be advised that Monitronics will no longer monitor at ** ******** *** ****** Beach, FL 32176.

I apologize for the inconvenience that you may have experienced. If I may be of further assistance, I am available Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. CST.


Sincerely,

******* ****
Executive Response Team
888.758.5900, ext. XXXXX

cc: Better Business Bureau

12/08/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Monitronics charged me late fees and return check fees multiple times and told them to cancel service and they never did
In July of last year monitronics started charging me a return check fee from trying to charge the amount to an account that was closed and they were informed it was closed before this time so I call them and they tried disputing it and they said they will not charge me for this fee and I owed them for 2 months so I said I will pay the 2 months and the late fees so I had my sister pay with her card. Next bill shows up and they still charged me a return check fee and only had me pay the one month. So I call them again and they tell me what they did wrong and on my new bill they charged me another late fee and return check fee and the lady I spoke with took the one return check fee and late fee and tries to give me an amount that wasn't right so she argues with me for at least 30 minutes and finally I tell her I'm paying the amount but if there's a return check fee or late fee I'm paying for they might as well cancel my service cause I won't deal with the hours on the phone dealing with it I have 3 kids I'm raising myself I don't have time to keep dealing with this.next bill shows up and sure enough the amount I paid included such fees that I had paid and they were trying to charge me again so I didn't pay and I quit using the alarm so I get a phone call from them and then another costumer service rep wants to dispute that they weren't charging me such fees and then hangs up from me so I thought matter was handled until I receive a letter stating that I owe over 1400 dollars

Desired Settlement
To not owe 1411.15 dollars and they should refund me for the time I've spent dealing with them

Business Response
**** *****
**** ***** St.
Des Moines, IA

November 5, 2014
Re: **** *****/Customer# XXXXXXXXX
Case# XXXXXXXX

Dear Mr. **** *****,

Thank you for notifying Monitronics of your issue with your alarm monitoring account. This letter is in response to the Better Business Bureau complaint filed on October 30th, 2014.

After a thorough review of the account, I found that the account was sent to collections for non-payment. Our records indicate Monitronics contacted you on November 5th, 2013 to advise you that we needed updated preauthorized payment information, and you stated you didn't have the information but you would call us back. Due to Monitronics not receiving any updated information the account was assessed a NSF fee of $22.50 on September 19th, 2013 and November 1st, 2013. You contacted our office on January 10th, 2014 to make a payment minus the NSF fees, and a credit was issued for one of the charges at this time. The account was assessed late fee's totaling $21.00 from March 2014 through September 2014. I found a 60 month contractual agreement was signed on June 8th, 2012 and ends June 7th, 2017. The account was written off and sent to collections on October 7th, 2014. At this time the account still has 32 months remaining to term with a payoff of $1,759.00 plus the past due of $487.32 for a total payoff of $2,202.82.

In an attempt to resolve this issue, Monitronics will offer to credit the late fees of $21.00, and the $22.50 NSF fee for a total credit of $43.50, and waive 50% off the payoff with you paying $1101.00. Once the payment is received Monitronics will credit the remaining and process cancellation of the account.

As always, we regret losing a valued customer. Please contact me at your earliest convenience at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. 70250 to discuss options to bring resolution to this matter. I am available Monday through Thursday from 9:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. and on Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Central Standard Time.

Sincerely,

**** ******
Executive Response Department
Cc: Better Business Bureau


Consumer Response
Obviously this company doesn't care enough about its costumers to actually look into the matter I remember these events very distinctly cause my wife left me and my children for a life of meth!!! When she messed up our account I had to close it and had to pay a balance off before I started a new account and I informed monitronics of this monitronics was informed this multiple times and then said they weren't charging me fees related to this the last I knew those are considered fraudulent charges and when I signed there contract and the people that sold me the contract never stated I had to do auto pay!!! This company should be investigated I'm sure I'm not the only one they have done this to and I plan on taking this matter to state attorney generals office if this company can't get its head out of its rear end

Final Business Response



**** *****
**** ***** St.
Des Moines, IA XXXXX

November 26, 2014
Re: **** *****/Customer# XXXXXXXXX
Case# XXXXXXXX

Dear Mr. *****,

My name is ******* **** of the Executive Response Department and I will be assisting you with your complaint. I apologize that you were not satisfied with the previous posted response letter from Ms. ******.

In an attempt to resolve this issue, Monitronics has requested the account be pulled from collections. The collection agency will send you a release letter stating that the account has been closed. Please be advised, that it could take 30 - 60 days to reflect a change on your credit report. Once again, the monitoring account is cancelled and there is no further balance owed to Monitronics on this account. We respectfully decline your refund request due to you were under contract term and there were 31 months remaining on the account.

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this situation may have caused. If I can be of further assistance, I am available Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Central Standard Time.

Sincerely,

******* ****
Executive Response Department
X-XXX-XXX-XXXX, Ext. XXXXX
Cc: Better Business Bureau

12/03/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The move process was misrepresented and I am left with less of a system than promised.
I moved and still had 22 months remaining on my existing contract. I had three options:
1. Buy out my existing contract
2. Pay to have my current system moved
3. Extend my contract to a full 36 months and have a new system installed in my new home.

When I was exploring all my options I asked very specifically whether I would have the exact same system in the new house using option #3. I specifically asked whether I would have fire monitoring included in the new system and was told "Yes, everything will be the same just all new".

When the installer came to install my new system I realized that I would need an additional keypad for my house. I asked him the pricing and was given two options:
1. Extend my contract for 6 Months at 52.99 per month or $317.94.
2. Pay $87.5 for the new keypad. I chose to pay the $87.5 and was never told that the keypad had any other cost.

I explained to the technician that fire was supposed to be included at which time he informed me it was not. He told me I should call Monitronics direct.

I called the support line at Monitronics and although I was told that if I upped my contract back to a full 36 months that I would have all the same sensors, now they are telling me because it is not noted in the system I will not be getting the fire system and would have to pay an additional $149 for the fire sensor.

I asked to speak with a supervisor and conveniently he was in a meeting but I was told that he would call me that day. I did not receive a call which shows the type of company Monitronics is. They will look to make you work harder to get what was promised rather than do the right thing by the customer. Frankly, I don't understand how they have the rating they have with BBB based on the complaints I see here, but my experience so far is they are not customer focused but rather looking to get what ever extras they can regardless of commitments.

Desired Settlement
I would like what was promised and have a fire sensor installed at not additional charge.

Business Response
***** (JD) ********
**** ******** Dr. November 26, 2014
Carmichael, CA XXXXX
Re: Case Number: XXXXXXXX / JD ********
Customer Number: XXXXXXXXX


Dear Mr. ********:

Please allow this to serve as a confirmation to the Better Business Bureau complaint dated November 15, 2014. I've attempted to reach you to resolve your concern but have been unsuccessful.

I've reviewed your experience with us and would like to apologize for the confusion during your move. I have added one (1) smoke sensor to your current opened job, free of charge. I will continue to monitor your account to ensure your service job is completed and resolved. At any time if you have any questions, please feel free to contact me. I am available Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. CST.

Sincerely,


******** ******
Executive Response Team
888.758.5900

cc: Better Business Bureau

12/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
unethical billing, frequent calls with fraudulent billing claims. unauthorized changes to my contract.
I received a bill from Monitronics dated July of 2014. I called Security Network and was told by the gentleman that answered the call that Monitronics was currently handling the billing part for Security Network. I had no reason to be suspicious when I was told to make the check out to Monitronics. On August 25th 2014 I received a memorable call from Monitronics stating that I owed to them charges dating back to June of 2014. I expressed to the woman that called me that I did not understand her call. I told her that my payments were current. She asserted to me that she would send to me an itemized statement showing the amount due. I responded to her I would go to my bank to retrieve copies of the certified bank checks that I submitted as payment and that would substantiate that my account was current. On Wednesday August 27th I received a call from ****** at Monitronics who informed me that I owed payment to this company dating back to May of 2014. I explained to ****** that I have copies of my certified checks that I submitted as payment and I stated to him that the check for 140.00 a double payment, was made out to Security Network. ****** told me that they took over my account from Security Network in May of 2014. When I asked ****** how does that happen, ****** told me that it was written somewhere in my contract that security companies could transfer accounts to other Security companies. I expressed to ****** that I was never given the option of refusing Monitronics as my security company. I also told ****** that I have copies of the checks that I submitted to Security Networks which date back to June of 2014. I explained to ****** that the woman that called on Monday said that I owed payments dating to June of 2014 and that these are the copies that I picked up from my bank. ****** restated me that I was behind on my payment and insisted that I needed to make up these payments to Monitronics. I expressed to ****** that I live on disability as I am disabled and I have no extra money. Therefore I am aware to where my money is expended. I said to ****** that I have evidence that I made a double payment in June to Security network which would make my current payment due in September. ****** insisted that I owed Monitronics payments that date back to May and that I was in arrears for my payments I stated to ****** that the customer number on the checks that I submitted to Security Network is XXXXXXXX which is the same number for the account for Monitronics. I asked ****** how these two separate companies could have the same account number for my bill. ****** would not respond. I asked ****** was it legal for this company to attempt to collect money from me for a payment that was already made to another company. I suggested to ****** that a truly ethical company would have given me a choice before transferring my security contract to another company. I asked ****** if they could legally transfer my account to another company. ****** responded that I owed Monitronics for an August payment and disconnected the call. On Friday August 29th there was a partial message left on my home phone from Monintronics . The lady who made the call stated that she was from Monitronics and that she was calling because I was in arrears for my security payments. There was a disturbance of muffled talking in the background and her call was abruptly disconnected.

Desired Settlement
I do not want an account with the Monitronics Security Company nor do I want an account with Security Network. If I knew that Security Network was affiliated with Monitronics I would not have engaged them as my security company. I believe that my contract with Security Network terminated when they transferred my account to Monitronics. I also believe that I do not have a contract with Monitronics because of this illegal transfer of my account and because of an unethical business practices no do I have an account with Security Network. I request that all ties be severed immediately without prejudice on the part of the company

Business Response



***** *****
**** ******* Dr
Austin, TX XXXXX

September 11, 2014
Re: ***** *****/ Customer # XXXXXXXX
Case # XXXXXXXX

Dear ***** *****,

Thank you for taking the time to speak to me on September 8, 2014 in regards to the billing issue on the account. Per our conversation, I found that a payment was missed after the auto-pay was cancelled with Security Networks. This is the reason that there is a balance that we show is past due. I will place a credit on the account for 1 month of service in the amount of $70.35, which will cover the payment missed from Security Networks.

As mentioned, we did send all of our customers a letter in May 2014 stating that we were taking over for Security Networks. I have also enclosed the billing history from Security Networks and Monitronics to show that the customer numbers are not the same and so you can see what payments were posted from each company. This will clear up the fact that you have not been double billed. You stated you requested copies of the cashed checks from your bank to ensure that you didn't miss a payment. Please forward that information to me so that I may post any missing payments on the monitoring account that are not showing in our system.

If you still wish to cancel the monitoring service, please know that you have 24 months remaining in the 39 month monitoring agreement. The payoff amount will be $2,266.43 which includes a past due balance of $578.03.

If I may provide further assistance regarding this matter, please contact me directly. I am available Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. CST


Sincerely,

******* ****
Executive Response Department
Cc: Better Business Bureau

Consumer Response
September 22, 2014
Monotonic
P.O. Box XXXXXX
Dallas, Texas XXXXX-XXXX

To Whom It May Concern:

Dear Sir or Madame,
I am writing to you in regards to correspondence that I received from you that is in error. On September 8th 2014 I spoke with a representative who identified herself as *******. ******* informed me that there are 400.00 charges owed on work that was done on my camera by a company who identified himself as Champion Security. The phone number for the gentleman that did this work is ************. Champion Security is the name that was given to me when I called Security Network and asked for a referral for repairs to my camera. I informed ******* that these cameras were damaged by a contractor that did work on my home. I told ******* that I needed an itemized statement for the services rendered so that I might forward this bill to the contractor so that he might remit a payment for the charges. I also informed ******* that at the time of service I requested an itemized statement from the man who did that work, and he informed me that I will have to wait on a bill from Monotronic. This is the first correspondence that I have received from you and it is not an itemized statement. My son, who is an electrician, was here during the two morning appointments that this gentleman came to. This gentleman text my son, discussed with my son potential problems, as well as was taken to Home Depot by my son where my son purchased connectors in the amount of
10.00 so that this man might reconnect my cameras. On the second day I was not home. This man did not leave an invoice with my son in regards to the work that he completed. On September 8th, 2014 I requested an itemized bill from ******* and she agreed that she would send one. The statement that you sent to me is not an itemized bill for services rendered to my cameras. Please provide for me an itemized statement so that I might submit this invoice to the contractor for payment.

Sincerely,
**************

cc. The Better Business Bureau of Texas Case # XXXXXXXX
The Austin Police Department
The Attorney General's Office


Business Response
***********
***************
Austin, TX XXXXX

September 26, 2014
Re: ***********/ Customer # ********
Case # XXXXXXXX

Dear ***********,

I apologize that the statement that was previously submitted was not itemized. I have enclosed the service bill for the cameras so you can review the itemized bill and forward to the contractor.

If I may provide further assistance regarding this matter, please contact me directly. I am available Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. CST


Sincerely,

******* ****
Executive Response Department
Cc: Better Business Bureau

see attachment


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Dear Better Business Bureau,
October 3, 2014

Dear Better Business Bureau,
I do not agree with the response that was submitted by Ms. ***** from Monitronics. I request an itemized statement from her during our conversation of September 8th 2014. Your correspondence was the only copy of an itemized statement that I have currently received. I assumed that Champion was a separate company who I assumed was subcontracted by Monitronics. I came to this assumption by talking to the individual at Security Network who told me that they would find me someone to fix my cameras. Ms. ***** was aware that the cameras in question are not products that are supplied nor were these cameras provided by their company. These cameras were not a part of a Monitronics service agreement. This fact is why I am still unclear why Ms. ***** included this labor as a part of a bill for Monitronics. I also informed you that the connectors were purchased by my son from Home Depot. I can provide a picture if needed of the remaining connectors. What I regret most is that I signed the invoice from the man from Champion prior to his completion of his services rendered. Regretfully my son made the same mistake. Subsequently I will not dispute the charge for the connectors. The reason this contractor came to my house on two separate days is because on the first day he arrived it was after 10:00 a.m. and it was extremely hot. He talked to my son and I, and we agreed that he could come back earlier the next day to complete the job. I could not be home on this day, but my son came and worked with hime. This is why my son signed the invoice for the second day of service. I have mailed the invoice to the contractor. Because I am disabled I have submitted a copy of this invoice to Meals on Wheels and More as well. I will retain a copy for myself in case I need to take the invoice to The Department of Aging and Disability. Additionally I have attached a copy of the contract that I created for************, the owner of the company who installed the cameras in question.

Agreement:
November 8th 2011
The agreement with************ for the installation of cameras at ***************. Austin, Texas is balance of 2100.00 with half down at installation and half in 30 days. Payment today at installation November 8th 2011 is for 1050.00, with the balance owed in 30 days of 1050.00 which will equal to the agreed balance of 2100.00. Additionally, it was agreed that at the time I remove and replace the siding on my home, that the company would return and hide the camera wiring under the siding of my home.
Addendum:
When I spoke to ***** at 15:20 on Nov. 8th 2011 I was told that he was sending **** to do the installation of the cameras. When asked about the contract I was told that he would email me a receipt
I understood that there would be a camera at all four corners of my home that would give me a 360 degree view of my property. At present this was not done and a voicemail was left for ***** at 5:10 p.m.

I am paying **** today with 9 one hundred dollar bills 7 twenty dollar bills and 2 five dollar bills that was place in a Bank of America envelope.
Signed_________________Date________

Signed_________________________


Consumer Response
See Document


Business Response
***********
***************
Austin, TX XXXXX

October 8, 2014
Re: ***********/ Customer # ********
Case # XXXXXXXX

Dear ***********,

This letter is in response to your question about the service bill for the cameras. Monitronics opens the service request on your behalf. The service company sends the bill to us and we bill you for the charges. The labor charge is the fee for the work that's performed by the technician, because he is performing the "labor".

Monitronics is not aware of an agreement that was made with************, of the installing company; for the installation of the cameras in November 2011. If you need us to open another service ticket to have the camera wires tucked under the siding, I can certainly do that for you but there will be a charge to have that done.

If I may provide further assistance regarding this matter, please contact me directly. I am available Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. CST


Sincerely,

******* ****
Executive Response Department
Cc: Better Business Bureau


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
October 15, 2014
Better Business Bureau
BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX
To Whom it *** Concern;
Dear Mr. **** Fife:
The correspondence that I sent to you regarding the installation of my camera's in 2011 shows evidence of the contract arrangement in regards to the installation of my security cameras. ************ sold these cameras to me. He and a man named **** also installed them on my home. I paid************ for the services. I do not know of an association for him as being an installer for cameras for Monitronic. I believe that************ was an independent security contractor for Monitronics during this time because his company provided security services for my sister's as well as for the family of my niece. As you can see by reviewing the contract that I provided that Monitronics was not mentioned nor did Mr. Tamez indicate that they were a part of this agreement.
I contacted Security Network for assistance in having my cameras repaired after they were damaged. They referred me to Champion Security. The agreement that I made for services in regards to the repair of my damaged cameras was with a man from Champion Security. He made initial contact with me by phone. I have submitted the invoice provided by you to the contractor. I have never received a corrected invoice from Monitronics. The last contract that I had with a security provider is with Security Network who defaulted on the contract when I stopped allowing them to take funds directly from my account. I made two additional payments to Security Network with a certified check to account number ********. This is the same account number that Monitronics used to bill me for the services provided by Champion Security. I do not want Monitronics as a security provider. I do not want any additional association with this company.
Sincerely,
**************

11/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Monitronics will not let me cancel service with them. They say I am in a contract but have not provided me with proof I signed a contract.
I have been a customer of Monitronics since May 5, 2008. At that time I signed a contract that was for 3 years. After moving to a new home I opted to continue my service with Monitronics (although my contract was now month to month) and they installed a system into my new home in May of 2013. At that time I was not informed that this would put me into a new 3 year contract. I was not given any information about contract changes, nor did I agree to or sign a new contract. In August 2014 I decided to cancel my service with Monitronics and sent them a letter of cancellation. They then said I could not cancel without paying off the contract. I asked them to provide me a copy of said contract. After several attempts they have been unable to provide any documentation that would show that I was made aware of the initiation of a new contract, yet they are refusing to cancel the service unless I pay out the remainder of a contract I knew nothing about. My customer number is XXXXXXXXX. My current service is at *** ****** Ave, Modesto, CA XXXXX.

Desired Settlement
I want Monitronics to allow me to cancel my service with them immediately without having to pay out a 3 year contract.

Business Response




***** ******
*** ****** Ave November 5, 2014
Modesto, CA XXXXX
Re: Case Number: XXXXXXXX / ***** ******
Customer Number: XXXXXXXXX


Dear ***** ******:

Thank you for taking the time to speak with me on October 29, 2014 in regards to the Better Business Bureau Complaint. I have reviewed the account information and found that you called in to cancel service on August 14, 2014 due economic reasons.

On May 17, 2013, you called in to move your service to a new location. You were offered a rate of $44.99 for 36 months and you would be billable $79.00, which was paid to the technician. The service ticket was open per your request and Monitronics paid $686.89 for the move ticket. We also mailed you an amendment letter to reflect the changes that were made to your agreement. I have enclosed the original agreement, the contract extension and the copy of the service bill.

There are currently 20 months remaining in the 36-month contract extension and $89.98 past due on the account, the payoff at this time is $944.79. In an effort to resolve this issue, I will accept a payment for the move, which is $686.89, to cancel the monitoring account. Please understand that Monitronics paid for the cost of the move with the understanding that you were continuing service for 36 more months.

I apologize for the inconvenience that you may have experienced in trying to resolve this issue. If I may be of further assistance, I am available Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. CST.


Sincerely,

******* ****
Executive Response Team
888.758.5900, ext. XXXXX

cc: Better Business Bureau

see attachment






Consumer Response
Case not closed. I was unable to respond by the 12th due to overwhelming work and family responsibilities. However, The documents submitted by monitronics still do nothing to prove that I was informed of a 36 month extension! The form showing a 36 month extension is not dated in any way or signed by me. I was under the impression that you were just moving my service as I requested because the other option (since I moved and I was month to month) would be to cancel the service then and there. The company is suggesting I pay for the equipment installed which is $686.89. Since the date of installation I have already paid for the equipment and then some. Since they still have not proven that I knew they were extending my contract for another 36 months I am not satisfied with they solution they suggest. I will only be satisfied if they can show me some evidence that they informed me of what I was geting into, in that case I will pay what I owe. Otherwise I consider myself to be in a month to month contract which I would like to cancel without penalty. Thank you, ***** ******

Final Business Response




***** ******
*** ****** Ave November 21, 2014
Modesto, CA XXXXX
Re: Case Number: XXXXXXXX / ***** ******
Customer Number: XXXXXXXXX


Dear ***** ******:

We have received documentation stating that you were not satisfied with the posted response. I sincerely apologize that we have not been able to get this issue resolved.

I want to start by stating that when a verbal contract extension is made it is just that, an agreement that was agreed upon verbally. There was no new contract to fill out, sign and return to us, it was simply an agreement to continue service and we in good faith installed new equipment. We did send you the amendment in May 2013. There was no call made to dispute the change in the agreement until the cancellation request was made in August 2014.

In an effort to resolve this issue, I have agreed to submit the account for cancellation. I have waived the past due balance of $84.98, you may disregard any current or past due statements. Please be advised that Monitronics will no longer monitor at *** ****** Ave Modesto, CA XXXXX.

If there is anything further I can assist with, I am available Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. CST.


Sincerely,

******* ****
Executive Response Team
888.758.5900, ext. XXXXX

cc: Better Business Bureau

Page 1 of 312
11/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Before M purchased the company from S N, my key pad and cameras would not work (attempted to fix the issue many times). They only worked for about a month and caused false alarms. M told me two times they would fix the issue. Told me they would call me back in 30 minutes. A month passed and they did nothing. I finally called and told them they had to fix the key pad so they sent someone out. He was able to talk with someone from the company on the key pad,after about 3 tries at setting the alarm off and calling them telling them to respond(after the repair). My cameras still do not work. So out of 2 and 1/2 years, my system has worked for one month only. If it worked then. I have told them to cancel my contract and make good with me. They want me to continue to pay. For what? I am getting nothing!
Product_Or_Service: Monitoring
Account_Number: I don't have one

Desired Settlement
Refund of all paid for 29 months, including the cameras that I bought from the company ($150). APROXIMATLY $1600

Business Response
******** ******
**** ********* Rd
Columbus, OH XXXXX
October 21, 2014
Re: Customer# XXXXXXXX/ ******** ******
Case #XXXXXXXX
Dear ******** ******:

Monitronics has received multiple complaints through various agencies regarding your account with Monitronics. Each complaint has had a different reason for your dissatisfaction and a different refund amount request. At this time, Monitronics would like to reiterate that cameras are an addition to your alarm system which is not monitored by a monitoring station. These are not grounds to reimburse you for payments made to monitor your alarm system since April 2012. On October 6th 2014 a technician went to your home and made sure the two-way voice feature in your panel was functioning properly. The alarm system was tested to ensure you are communicating with our monitoring station. The agreement in place has 6 months remaining until it is fulfilled. If you would like to close this account early I can negotiate a onetime fee of $125.00. Your account is currently past due $99.64, if you make this onetime payment you will not have any further contractual or financial obligation to Monitronics.

If I may provide further assistance regarding this matter, please contact me toll-free at 1-888-758-5900, ext. XXXXX. I am available Monday through Friday from 9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., Central Standard Time.

Sincerely,


******** ********
Executive Response Department
C.C. Better Business Bureau



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The price keeps changing because my system has never worked properly! I am now asking for a full refund ($1600 instead of $600. I will go through my records and get the accurate amount. It may be a little more.)! If I go to court I will ask for damages ( $1600 plus Damages).

I have missed family trips because the system has always had flaws and the company sent out a private contractor who attempted to break in my home many times and accessed my cameras. On one occasion, I heard the comment from the key pad.

I have had 3 keypads (one went white screen, one was incorrect for the system, and one was changed because it was the wrong key pad. I still have the wrong key pad.), many false alarms, equipment tampered with, remote access by a stranger(I was in the bedroom, when the key pad started to Arm away.), 2 window alarms replaced after I found them missing, repair man talking to his friend on his cell and his friend said I see a Palm tree ( after, I had 25 break in attempts and on one occasion called the police (I was home this time.),etc.

My cameras still do not work! I called Wow Cable(per you employees request), your company, Belkin, total connect, and an expert on the equipment. They all agree that this is you responsibility. Yes, I did try to get their help and they can do nothing.

This is the settlement I will accept. My key pad changed (due to someone or many people having the ability to remotely access this one. Must be camera capable indoor and out), my external alarm installed (which I was promised by your company and Security networks.), my bill reduced for 3 years to $25 a month,2 months free, my cameras working, and proof that my system works.

You must be honorable from this day forward! If I call in a repair, you may not say I will call you back in 30 Minutes and not call back. This happened 3 times in the passed couple of months.


Final Business Response
******** ******
1050 Ashburton Rd
Columbus, OH XXXXX

October 28, 2014
Re: Customer# XXXXXXXX/ ******** ******
Case #XXXXXXXX

Dear ******** ******,

My name is Dawn Bryant, in the Executive Response Department and I will be assisting you on behalf of Ms. Quinonez, regarding your complaint. I have reviewed your account and am very sorry we have not yet come to a resolution.
In the complaint you stating that several people are remotely accessing one of your key pads and that an external siren should have been installed on back on the original install of your service. You also requested for your bill to be lowered down to $25.00 for the last three years. In my research of the account, per the 36 month contract that began on April 14, 2012 ending on April 13, 2015 the monthly rate was $54.99. You are currently paying a monthly rate of $44.95 plus tax, and we are unable to lower the rate. In reviewing the signed install agreement I found no external siren listed on the installed items list. At anytime you feel that your system is not functioning properly you can contact our technical support department to complete a systems test. As stated in the contract a monthly test should be completed every 30 days. If you are requesting for a technician to come out to test the system we can schedule a date, but a fee of $25.00 would be assessed to your account.

In your complaint you requested to have a new keypad installed and one external siren. In an effort to resolve the issues, Monitronics will offer to extend your current contract an additional 24 months with you paying a onetime fee of $50.00 to add the equipment totaling $350.00. As of today there are 6 months remaining in the 36 month contractual agreement for a payoff of $269.70 plus past due of $99.64 for a total of $369.00. Monitronics will accept $99.64 as full payoff of the account.

Please contact at 1-888-758-5900, ext. XXXXX to discuss your options. I am available Monday through Friday from 9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., Central Standard Time.

Sincerely,

**** ******
Executive Response Department
C.C. Better Business Bureau


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
What I meant to say was for the next three years , I want my bill to be $25 a month. I thought I said that and no! I told you what I will accept as a settlement. I am about to call 6 on your side and they will tell everyone on the news after they resolve this issue for me.

Security networks would not fix my issue and now you are not fixing the issue. Twice your company told me they would come out to fix the problem and never called me back. The third time I got mad and someone came out. My key pad may or may not work. My cameras still do not work and until you fix them I owe you nothing!

10/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Misunderstanding terms of contract cancellation
purchase 8/16/2011,acct#XXXXXXX,$49.99 per month,original purchase company bought out by Monitronics. I have tried to contact the company to cancel service we are not able to use due to medical issues and they are not willing to work with me. I am told that a tech can be sent to my home to teach me how to use the system. We are in and out of the house too often to set the alarm and if we did set it we are not able disarm in time. We are paying for a service and Monitronics will not allow us to cancel a service we are not able to use.

Desired Settlement
I want to be allowed to cancel the contract that I am not able to use. I do not feel I should have to buy out the contract I have paid $1849.63 and this was for the equipment and service. When I purchased the service it was my understanding I was paying for the equipment and the service to monitor my home. I was told the equipment would be paid for in the first two years and the remainder of the contract would be for service. I am not able to use the service.

Business Response




****** ********
*** **** **** Dr October 14, 2014
Denver, CO XXXXX
Re: Case Number: XXXXXXXX / ****** ********
Customer Number: XXXXXXXX


Dear ****** ********:

Thank you for taking the time to speak with me on October 10, 2014 in regards to the Better Business Bureau Complaint. I have reviewed the account information and found that you called in to cancel service on September 26, 2013 to Security Networks. They provided a buyout of $ 1,749.65 due to having 35 months remaining on the monitoring account at that time.

On October 2, 2014, you called Monitronics to power down the alarm system due to not using the alarm. You were offered to have a technician to go out and provide operating instructions but that was declined. Several options were offered to assist in helping you feel comfortable using the alarm system but all options were declined. The agreement is not void due to the fact that you took down the equipment, we cannot provide a service if you will not allow us to.

There are 22-months remaining in the 60-month monitoring agreement for a buyout of $1083.94, you were offered a discounted buy out of 20% for $867.15. The representative advised that the offer was good for 30 days. As a goodwill gesture, I can set up a payment plan and allow 3 monthly payments be made in the amount of $289.05.

I apologize for the inconvenience that you may have experienced in trying to resolve this issue. If I may be of further assistance, I am available Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. CST.


Sincerely,

******* ****
Executive Response Team
888.758.5900, ext. XXXXX

cc: Better Business Bureau








Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We no longer want the security service as it has become problematic for us and too much trouble to use as we have decided we not only won't use but don't need. when the alarm sounded at 8:30 p.m. we didn't know how stop it and when we finally reached a tech,we were told to disconnect and remove battery.As a result I tried to cancel the contract with a reasonable price with no result.

When we accepted this contract we didn't know it would become a problem and we would more afraid of using the system than experiencing a burglar.

My question has been an explanation why when these companies sign people up for the service the service can't be stopped if it should become
undesirable. At present I have spoken with 3 different people who are in the same situation. their contracts are for 2 and 3yrs. and cost $29.99 per month. They also are unable to stop without paying off a percentage of the balance.One person had to have her Mom move in who has denentia and can't remember the alarm.
WHAT!! IS THE CONTENTS OF THE CONTRACT THAT ONCE IT'S SIGNED YOU ARE COMMITTED TILL THE END THEY SET??? I have also checked with other companies who have contacted me and they are all surprised at the 5yr.length of the contact.
YES! I am interested in pointing this out to the public as a warning to the advantage these companies are able to take of people.
I am very dissatisfied with this company and their refusal to be more reasonable and flexible with customer satisfaction. where is that money going and what does it cover if one doesn't want or uses the SERVICE?
We truly thought the 5yr contract was for the service and covered the fact we purchased the equipment,and if moved we could take with us or leave for new owners. We didnt at time think it may become trouble for us and we may not want the service and the coverage was for 5yr. and we could renew if we wanted,not the we would be held till death.
I AM CONTACTING OUR NEWS MEDIA PEOPLE IN HOPES TO HAVE THIS BE MADE KNOWN BY THE PUBLIC...ESPECIALLY SENIORS LIKE US ON SOCIAL SECURITY.
THANK YOU FOR YOUR ATTENTION TO THIS MATTER

Final Business Response
****** ********
*** E. **** *****
Denver, CO XXXXX
October 22, 2014
Re: ****** ********/Cust#XXXXXXXX
Case # XXXXXXX
Dear ****** ********,

My name is Dawn ******, in the Executive Response Department and I will be assisting you on behalf of Ms. ***** regarding your complaint. I have reviewed your account and am very sorry we have not yet come to a resolution.
In my review of the account, I found on May 23, 2014 you contacted Monitronics regarding your account from Security Networks and that there was a price increase that was due to the taxes increasing. In an effort to offset the increase, the representative lowered your current rate of $49.99 down to $46.99. On October 2, 2014, you contacted Monitronics for assistance to power down the alarm system due to not using the alarm. At this time we offered to have a technician to go out but the offer was declined. On October 3, 2014 you contacted our office stating that you removed the system due to system issues, and we offered for a technician to go out but the offer was declined. We would hate to lose a customer if we have the ability to service your system.

As of today there are 22 months remaining in the 60 month contractual agreement for a buyout of $1033.78. Monitronics will accept $500.00 as full payoff of the account. In the original complaint it states that you contacted Monitronics to cancel service due to medical issues, but in my review of the calls this issue was not disclosed with any of the representatives. If you are unable to use the alarm system due a medical condition, if you would provide us with a letter from your doctor we can review, to determine if we can assist with a cancellation of the account due a current medical condition.

Please contact at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX, ext. XXXXX to discuss your options. I am available Monday through Friday from 9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., Central Standard Time.

Sincerely,

Dawn ******
Executive Response Department
C.C. Better Business Bureau


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
DEAR DAWN ******
EXECUTIVE RESPONSE DEPARTMENT

AS OF TUESDAY OCT.28TH AFTER OUR CONVERSATION INFORMING YOU THAT MY HUSBAND HAD A VISIT WITH HIS DOCTOR AND HIS HISTORY WAS FAXED TO YOU I WOULD LIKE TO CONFIRM YOU RECEIVED THE FAX AND HAVE IT FOR REVIEW. THANK YOU FOR YOUR ATTENTION TO THIS MATTER.
SINCERELY, ****** ********

10/13/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Monitronics sent sally d out to sign me up for service2 12 13...they took over for security works. sally d came back in july and said she was putting
new service co called ghs...they would be taking over for monitronics...we called monitronics.. and they said that ghs had no rites...even though they took out all the eqpt and left a hole in the wall...now monitronics says we have a contract...we have a copy of that but theres no dates of beginning or end date...they want me keep paying for service with no hook up or equiptment I am 96 years old and they lied to me...e *****...

Desired Settlement
all money paid to monitronics since 2 12 2013

Business Response
******* *****
*** ******* Ln
Modesto, CA XXXXX

September 29, 2014
Re: Customer# XXXXXXXX/ ******* *****
Case #XXXXXXXX
Dear ******* *****:

I have attached a copy of the agreement we have on file for alarm monitoring services at your home located at *** ******* Ln. in Modesto, CA. I looked into your complaint and would like to confirm that the sales rep that you mentioned, Sally D does not work for Monitronics. She was employed by an independent alarm dealer, The Alarm Guys, who sold your agreement to Security Networks, which was eventually purchased by Monitronics. I understand this can be very confusing and I would like to discuss this with you in order to clarify the parts played by each party. You original agreement which began on February 12, 2013 is held by Monitronics for 60 months at $44.99 per month. Unfortunately, it seems as if Sally D had you to sign a new agreement with a new company, which would put you into two alarm monitoring contracts at the same time. I would hope that the new company that she is with would allow you to terminate your contract, because you were already an existing Security Networks customer before you signed an additional agreement. As your original alarm monitoring provider I will happily offer to restore your services with Monitronics if given the opportunity. We cannot provide a refund because of the actions of a previous employee that may have taken advantage of you. We are no longer affiliated with this dealer.

If I may provide further assistance regarding this matter, please contact me toll-free at 1-888-758-5900, ext. XXXXX. I am available Monday through Friday from 9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., Central Standard Time.

Sincerely,


******** ********
Executive Response Department
C.C. Better Business Bureau


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
heres what really happen .sally d came to the door saying she was ther to update our old equipment..she was supplying new equiptment and her co ghs. was taking over...you were going out of business...she put in new eqptment and started service..we notified your co, of all this and you said she had no rite to do this... we told her we were going to sue here co..she promptly came and removed her eqpt. turned service off...now we have a hole in the wall and no service...we did not sign any agreement with monitronics...the agreement was with securities...which you bought out...we are not going to do business with your co or ghs..so don't waste your time sending. anyone or anymore bills to us..******* *****..

Final Business Response
******* *****
*** ******* Ln
Modesto, CA XXXXX

October 7, 2014
Re: Customer# XXXXXXXX/ ******* *****
Rebuttal to Case #XXXXXXXX
Dear ******* *****:

I am sorry we have not yet come to a positive resolution to this matter. I would like to confirm that since Security Networks was purchased by Monitronics, your alarm monitoring agreement was included in this purchase. My last response included a copy of the agreement for alarm monitoring services located at *** ******* Ln in Modesto, CA XXXXX. I understand you are not using the system however a commitment was made for 60 months.
In order to close this account in good standing we must satisfy a portion of the remaining balance of 41 months. I can offer a significant discount of 75% due to the troubles you have experienced. This discounted amount is $460, from the full $1844 (44.99*41).

Please contact me to discuss your options. I am available Monday through Friday from 9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., Central Standard Time toll-free at 1-888-758-5900, ext. XXXXX.

Sincerely,


******** ********
Executive Response Department
C.C. Better Business Bureau



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
NO..the contract you sent me says nothing about 60 months even if it did it was signed under false conditions..Your best bet is to drop all charges and end this matter..otherwise we will all meet in the same court...there are 15 to 20 more mobil park residents ..that you did the same thing to. ******* *****.....

10/09/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have never experienced as many issues with ANY company as I have since signing up with Monitronics in November 2010!!!!
Customer Number: XXXXXXXXX
Automatic Withdraw from checking account ending in **********
I have been a customer since 2010. I have had nothing but problems with my service/billing/customer support. I moved to a new house in June of 2014. When I renewed the contract on February 19th 2014, I was told by ****** (an account manager) that if we moved we could take our alarm system with us to our new residence, have it installed for free (company even states this on a recording they play for you while you are on hold and i quote "Planning a move soon? Take your Monitronics system with you. Monitronics customers have their systems re-installed for free."), and renew at $34.95 per month even though we were told initially when we first had the system installed that if we renewed at the end of our contract, the new rate would be $24.99. That did end up happening after speaking with the manager. Then when the installer showed up to re install the system in July of 2014 he spent 4 hours here, 90% of which was spent walking around on his phone as if he didn't know how to preform his job duties. Then he gave us a line about how our system was not compatible with the cell phone tower even though every time the guy touched a sensor it would go off and they would be calling our phones saying that the system was sounding and was everything ok. The technician told us just to ignore those calls. Needless to say, we were charged to have a new Verizon cell unit put in. 4 hours later the tech FINALLY finished. We were then later told that we owed for not only the cell unit which we didn't need, but also the extra hours the tech took to complete our install. Mind you, our system only consists of 4 wireless door sensors and one wireless motion detector. Very basic. A month later, we started receiving calls about a bill that we never received for $164.42. We asked to be sent an itemized bill showing what the charges were for as we never received a bill after the re-install, as well as a copy of our new contract that we agreed to back in February. After some time, we still didn't receive anything and then the phone calls began again. Once again I asked for a bill. Nothing! We have tried repeatedly by calling multiple times in July, August and now September. On September 10th I spoke with *****, and ***** told me that they had sent out multiple bills to *** ****** Road Medina Ohio XXXXX. I told her that I hoped that wasn't the address they were monitoring because it was WRONG. It's NEW ******** OHIO XXXXX! She "updated" the info and said she would sent out the requested itemized bill and we should have in a couple days. Today's date is now 9/16/2014 and we just received a bill, but does not show what the charges are for. Just an amount due. When you call to speak to someone about this, you are given the run around while listening to employees in the background bad mouthing customers who were calling about complaints. What a nice loyalty department. I want this account cancelled effective YESTERDAY!! I no longer wish to do business with Monitronics EVER! I would also like a refund for the "extra time on install" and the much needed (not really needed) cell unit. I wouldn't recommend them to my worst enemy.

Desired Settlement
Full refund of $164.42 for unnecessarily long re-install and cell unit.
Cancellation of contract effective immediately.

Business Response





****** ****
*** ****** Rd
New Franklin, OH XXXXX

September 24, 2014
Re: ****** ****/Customer#XXXXXXXXX
Case # XXXXXXXX

Dear ****** ****,

Thank you for notifying Monitronics of your issue regarding your alarm monitoring account. This letter is in response to the Better Business Bureau complaint received on September 16, 2014.

I truly apologize for any inconvenience and or misunderstanding surrounding your move. The technician arrived on June 5, 2014 to install service at the new address. When he performed the system test, he was unable to receive a signal. He discovered that your cell unit needed to be upgraded to 3G/4G cell unit. The technician along with you, called Monitronics to negotiate for the upgrade. In my review of the call, you were offered to pay $150.00 of the charge for the cell unit based on the fact Monitronics moves department covered $150.00 of the cost. The second offer was to extend your term twenty four months paying zero out of pocket. You agreed to pay $150.00 not wanting to extend your term.

Per our conversation today you stated that you did not receive quality customer service from Monitronics regarding the billing or the upgrade. I explained the charge of $164.02 which included the fee plus the taxes for the cell unit and why the upgrade to the 3G/4G cell unit was needed. I apologize that you did not receive the customer service that you expected, but we look forward to continuing our relationship with you in the future.

If you need further assistance in this matter, please contact me toll-free at 1-888-758-5900.
I am available Monday through Friday from 9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., Central Standard Time. Thank you for your patience in resolving this matter.


Sincerely,

**** ******
1-888-758-5900
Executive Response Department
Cc: Better Business Bureau






Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There was no choice in this matter of upgrading or extending contract. The cell tower was working fine prior to the Tech saying it needed a new cell unit...per Monitronics due to cell towers being updated Monitronics said the cell would eventually not work thus must be upgraded. I did not want to extend my contractotherwise I would have just paid off my contract term with no further obligations. I was pressured in to accepting the cost otherwise be left with a system that would be useless according to Monitronics.

Final Business Response
****** ****
*** ****** Rd
New Franklin, OH XXXXX

October 2, 2014
Re: ****** ****/Customer#XXXXXXXXX
Case # XXXXXXXX

Dear ****** ****,

I truly apologize for any inconvenience or miscommunication you may have experienced surrounding your move and upgrade.

To recap our conversation on September 24, 2014, when the technician arrived on June 5, 2014 to install service at the new address he was unable to receive a signal. At this time he discovered your cell unit was only a 2G and due to the decommissioning of the 2G cell towers an upgrade to a 3G/4G cell unit was needed in order for system to function properly. When calling Monitronics to upgrade you were offered to pay $150.00 out of pocket if you chose not to extend your term or to extend your term 24 months and pay zero out of pocket. You chose to pay the $150.00 for the equipment with no extension. You were charge of $164.02 on your June 2014 invoice which included the fee plus the taxes.

In an effort to resolve the issue, Monitronics in good faith has issued a credit for two months of your monthly monitoring rate @ $24.99 plus taxes for a total credit of $53.35. I have been unable to reach you at the number provided but we look forward to continuing our relationship with you in the future.

If you need further assistance in this matter, please contact me toll-free at 1-888-758-5900 ext. XXXXX. I am available Monday through Friday from 9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., Central Standard Time. Thank you for your patience in resolving this matter.


Sincerely,

**** ******
Executive Response Department
Cc: Better Business Bureau


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
According to our conversation I have 4 months left on my contractOctober, November, December, and January.
I will accept the credit for 2 months worth of monitoring and I will buy out the last 2 months of the contract but want the monitoring to be cancelled immediately and to have a letter from your company showing the contract has been cancelled with no further obligation once I make the final payment online.

09/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Tech failed to perform repairs and resulted in system not working properly.
Tech was called out to perform repairs on window sensors. Stated that there was a break in Zone 6 that he could not find and that he could cut those and we could replace with wirless ones. He shorted out the zone to do this but then we were told that we needed to also upgrade the panel & keypad resulting in additional charges. We recently had an upgrade thru old provider- Security Networks which was taken over by Monitronics and were told our old warranty, etc was no longer valid for getting any necessary repairs at no cost to us. They quoted us over $800 to upgrade. I had contacted Customer Service 2 times regarding this issue. The first call the CSR attepted to call the service tech that came out and was unable to reach him to get more info. The 2nd call to CSR still no response and I have had multiple hours of phone calls to you to resolve and the final result was that there was nothing that could be done if we did not want the upgrade. $800 was the best that could be offered and that was unacceptable based on the service received from the tech. we are now having to get quotes to see about repairs that can be ade or upgrade to something else. I am asking they pay us half the cost of the upgrade they quoted originally so we can get proper repairs made and a new system elsewhere. I find the fact that the techs employed do not return phone calls unnacceptable and we are planning to cancel our service with you but want compensated for time and cost to get proper repairs made to make our system workable before the damage was done to the window contacts that the tech cut and shorted out.

Desired Settlement
I am asking for half of your quoted price to replace or repair our system $450. I do not want to stay with your company because I have had too many hassles in the past and do not wish to continue with your services but feel you owe us something for the tech that did not perform the repairs correctly so we can move on and fix our problem.

Business Response
****** ********
**** ******** Pl
Indianapolis, IN XXXXX
September 18, 2014
Re: Customer# XXXXXXXX/ ****** ********
Case #XXXXXXXX
Dear ****** ********:

I am truly sorry for the issues you have experienced with your alarm system. In reviewing this unique situation I have determined that we will not be able to provide you with funds to use towards another system with a different company. The lowest amount quoted to you for a system upgrade was $700. It was explained to you how much the equipment would cost without promotions and Monitronics was willing to cover over 50% of those costs. I understand your position and would like to extend the courtesy of closing your Monitronics account without penalty.

Please accept this as an official confirmation that your Monitronics account for monitoring at **** ******** Pl in Indianapolis, IN will be closed by tomorrow September 19th 2014. You will not have any further contractual or financial obligation to Monitronics. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

If I may provide further assistance regarding this matter, please contact me toll-free at 1-888-758-5900, ext. XXXXX. I am available Monday through Friday from 9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., Central Standard Time.

Sincerely,


******** ********
Executive Response Department
C.C. Better Business Bureau


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We were not quoted the price of $700 up front when the tech cut our window contacts. He stated that would be all we were to pay for. Found out after he made the system inoperable. That the cost was much more. Your upgrade is more then double the other quotes we received from other companies. I am willing to accept the close out of our account immediately as I will not pay you any additional costs for this. We will not be doing business with you in the future & will advise others of our own bad service with your company.

Final Business Response
****** ********
**** ******* Ct Unit A
**** ****** G ****** MD XXXXX
September 25, 2014
Re: Customer# XXXXXXXX/ ****** ********
Case #XXXXXXXX
Dear ****** ********:

Thank you for accepting our proposed resolution to this complaint. I am very sorry we were not able to cover the costs for making the necessary upgrades to your system. As previously stated, your Monitronics account for alarm monitoring at **** ******** Pl in Indianapolis, IN is closed. You have no further contractual or financial obligation to Monitronics.

If I may provide further assistance regarding this matter, please contact me toll-free at 1-888-758-5900, ext. XXXXX. I am available Monday through Friday from 9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., Central Standard Time.

Sincerely,


******** ********
Executive Response Department
C.C. Better Business Bureau



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all you cancelled our monitoring services before we could get a new system installed. We received the notice of this after it was done and had 2 days before we were notified. That is not a good business practice. We have moved on with a different company since then. We are done with your services. Still not in agreement that your tech failed to perform repairs properly. Resulting in us having to replace our system. You have poor business ethics if that is how customers are treated.

Page 1 of 42

Industry Comparison| Chart

Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service, Security Systems Consultants, Security Cameras, Security Control Equipment & System Monitors, Consultants - Security, Smoke Detectors & Alarms, Home Automation, Fire & Smoke Alarm Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/11/2011Business started: 12/04/1991Business started locally: 12/17/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Public Safety
5805 North Lamar Blvd.
Austin, TX78752
(512) 424-2000
http://www.txdps.state.tx.us

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. LeVincent Nealy (Director Executive and Co)Customer Contact: Ms. Veronica Moturi (Executive Response Team Manager)Mr. Rob Washington (Vice President, Customer Care)
Business Category

Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service, Security Systems Consultants, Security Cameras, Security Control Equipment & System Monitors, Consultants - Security, Smoke Detectors & Alarms, Home Automation, Fire & Smoke Alarm Systems

Products & Services

This company is one of the nation's largest, fastest growing monitoring companies. They provide fast response to burglary, fire, carbon monoxide, and medical alarms to customers using professional Five Diamond Certified monitoring center staff.

Hours of Operation

Customer Care (Central) M-F 7 a.m.-10 p.m. Sat. 9 a.m.-6 p.m. Alarm Monitoring 24/7/365

Service Area

U.S. and Canada

Alternate Business Names
Monitronics Security, LP, Ascent Capital Group, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Monitronics

2350 Valley View Ln

Dallas, TX 75234-5754

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Monitronics is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.