BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Just Brakes (Headquarters)

Phone: (214) 276-5504Fax: (214) 853-4312

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

64 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues4
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service56
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints64

Additional Complaint Information

Complaints are concerning advertising and selling practices, repairs, and customer service. Specifically, complaints allege that the company advertises a brake service for $99.88 and then represents that additional work is needed, at substantial additional cost. Complaints also allege unsatisfactory repairs and unsatisfactory customer service. The company responds to complaints by explaining its procedures.

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (64)
06/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My vehicle was serviced and in the process the repairman stripped the oxygen sensors to the vehicle resulting in $1,400.00 worth of repairs.
My Dodge Avenger (*** ***********XXXXXX) was serviced on June 25, 2013 at the previously mentioned location once the check engine light came on in my car. The mechanic ******* explained that the O2 sensors were damaged and needed to be replaced. I agreed to the repair and figured the process to be straightforward. A day later, ***** called explaining that there were further complications with the car and that he had to go Towbin Dodge to get it looked at. I thought it was unusual that a trained mechanic had to do such a thing, but I didn't think much of it at the time. Eventually, Just Brakes replaced two of the oxygen sensors with their parts (Part NO: NAP*****) and returned the car.

After getting the car back I had to return because my engine sounded louder and more rattled than usual. Another employee, ***** (manager) took it for a short drive and gave it a look. She claimed that all was well. Since she is a certified mechanic, I believed her and went on my way.

Yesterday, 10/28/13, my car was making a terrible noise from the engine, so I had it towed to Towbin Dodge. The company explained that the last company who worked on the car stripped the oxygen sensors, which led to further complications. The total amount for the repair was quoted at $1,400.00. It is important to note that this quote includes the broken sensors as well as a bad alternator. I am aware that the alternator has nothing to do with Just Brakes, though I am convinced that the oxygen sensors are directly related to them.

I called up Just Brakes today (10/30/13) and spoke with ***** about the situation. I explained that I would like for them to check their work and she informed me of their ninety day policy. I reminded her that the situation has nothing to do with wear and tear and has everything to do with the installation. I also reminded her that they messed up so badly it had to be taken to the dealership. At this point, she lost her temper and said, "Your argument won't hold up in court because you don't have enough evidence to substantiate your claim." all but admitting to the damage. After a while, we disconnected from each other without the problem being resolved.

I spoke with my son who called back in my stead. While he was on the phone with *****, she claimed to have offered to take a second look at the car. My son explained that it was currently having its alternator replaced at Dodge and requested the part numbers for the previously installed oxygen sensors. ***** refused and said that she had to go because they had inventory night to prepare for. At that point, my son asked her for the part number a second time. ***** explained that their computers weren't able to access the information at the moment and that I'd have to bring the car in.

While I do want them to fix their damages, I'm afraid to bring my car into their shop for fear that they will damage something else or that they will drive to cover their tracks. I do not want to pursue any legal action against the company. All I want is for them to make good on their error by either refunding the repair amount or fixing the damages.

Desired Settlement
I do not want to pursue any legal action against the company. All I want is for them to make good on their error by either refunding the repair amount or fixing the damages.

Business Response
Customer has been contacted. We accept responsibility for damage and have agreed to refund her 666.64. She was satisfied with this decision. Thank you.

12/31/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I took my Honda Odyssey to Just Brakes on 7/27/13 to have brake service done. Service rep, **** B. advised me of the recommended repairs which included four new brake pads, machining all four rotors, brake fluid bleed, fill & adjustment, as well as replacement of all four calipers. The calipers are still under warranty with Honda, so I authorized and paid for Just Brakes to replace all the brake pads, machine all the rotors, and bleed, fill & adjust the brake fluid. After having the work done and taking my vehicle home, I noticed that the brakes were performing worse than prior to the work being done. My wife complained of the same problem, and asked that I take the vehicle back to Just Brakes for them to check their work. I returned with the vehicle to Just Brakes on 8/3/13 and explained that the brakes were not functioning properly and I wanted the work to be checked. However, the service rep informed me that he was certain it was the calipers and not the work they did. They did not check the vehicle to confirm their work was done right. I then took my vehicle to Honda to have the calipers checked for warranty work. Honda informed me that the calipers were not in need of repair, but that the brake fluid was dirty and needed to be flushed and replaced and the new brake pads were very low quality. I then took the vehicle to another mechanic for a 3rd opinion, and was told and shown the same problem with the brake fluid. The fluid lines had air and the fluid was dirty. I called Just Brakes to report the problem, and I was told I could get a refund for the fluid bleed, fill & adjust that I had paid for ($59.95 + tax). The service rep said he needed to have the manager issue the refund so I spoke with ******* J who wanted to talk me out of a refund and let them correct the work. I explained that I had already returned once and would not return again. He asked if he could call me back. He never called back, and my wife and I have attempted numerous calls and messages that have gone unreturned.
Product_Or_Service: brake fluid bleed, fill & adjust
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
A full refund for the $59.95 + tax that I paid for the brake fluid bleed, fill & adjust that was either not done or not done properly.

Business Response
This has been handled we gave the customer a refund and apologized. The customer is satisfied.

09/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 05/23/2013 I went to Just Brakes for my 2007 Jeep Wrangler in need of a brake job due to squeaking brakes. My receipt order # is XXXXXXXX. I paid $476.05 for front and rear brakes front and rear hardware kit and front caliper kit and caliper piston and labor. The wait time was so long so that did not charge me for the front and rear machine rotors service which I thought that was nice of them. However my brakes never stop squeaking so I went back 3 times. Now I'm on my 4th visit and they are telling me its the front and rear hardware kit and rear rotor. Now they want to charge me $297.90 for service that they have already charged me for and work that they claim was done in my original receipt. Sounds like they just changed my brakes and did nothing else but charged me for work that was never done.

Desired Settlement
I would like for my brake job be done right that was what I paid for. If front and rear brakes, rotors, hardware kits, calipers are needed please replace them. If unable to do so would like a refund.

09/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I took my van to just brakes on speedway in tucson for a brake check, and they wanted to take me for any money they could,
I took my van to justbrakes on Speedway (Svc Center #XXX) XXXX ** ********
******* ** XXXXX on the 30th of july , I asked them to check my brakes and if needed to do a $98.98 brake job. they check my van and told me everything was bad and it would cost over $800 to fix ,I told them no ,do the 98.98 brake job only if they could, they said they would ,they did the brake job but then informed me that the matsercylinder was out and the van couldnt be moved untill they replaced it , even tho my van was running great before I took it there but no now my master cylinder was out, It was as if they were trying to pressure me in to paying them to do the master cylinder telling me it cant be moved , my master cylinder was good before I took it there and now I had to pay a total of $115 for the brake job but my van was still not moble do to the master cylinder being out, that would add another $300 for a grand total of $1080 for everything. I had to drive my van down the street because I didnt feel comfotable at just brakes , I then paid a friend $80 to tow my van home. and another $100 to replace the master cylinder since they said it was bad and I wanted to be safe.

Desired Settlement
I want $80 for the tow of my van and $100 for the replacement of my master cylinder becuase it was perfectly fine untill I drove it to just brakes to get checked.

Business' Initial Response
We issued customer refund this has been resolved.

08/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Received faulty brakes from company and they had to be replaced 4 times in the 1st year we had them.
We got all four brakes done originally on 11/17/2011 at the Tower Road location. After only one month our brakes were squeaking again, so we brought them back on December 12, 2011 to the Parker location. At this point, the tech had told me the brakes were already at 70%. We didn't go on any road trips that would use our brakes that much. So they replaced all four brakes. We didn't have problems for a while until October which was still under the 1 year warranty. We brought the vehicle in October 18, 2012 to get the vehicle checked at the Tower Road location because the brakes were squeaking again. The techs replaced the brakes again because they said they weren't properly installed the last time they were done. The brakes seemed to be doing well until January of 2013. We again brought the vehicle to get checked and this time the manager told me they're going to try different kind of brakes and see if that will fix the problem. They ordered ceramic brakes for the vehicle and installed them on February 26, 2013. On March 1st my husband and I moved to Virginia and when we arrived the brakes were squeaking again. That is less then 2 weeks since we got them replaced. Supposedly the ceramic brakes are suppose to be much better and yet our brakes are now squeaking. Unfortunately, there is no Just Brakes in Virginia and we are now having to replace our brakes again because they are squeaking every time we stop.

Desired Settlement
We are looking for the full refund of $553.65 in order to replace our brakes again.

Business' Initial Response
Lee I never received this. I will take care of it and resolve it. Thanks.
Timothy Shaffer
Director of Operations
Just Brakes

Business' Final Response
Per our warranty we do not warranty for squeaks only pad wear we will refund 179.88 as customer satisfaction. We will need a copy of the repair order for brakes. Then we will issue a refund. We apologize for any inconvenience, here at Just Brakes we strive for 100% customer satisfaction.

Page 1 of 3
06/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Since Nov. 2013 I have been to Just brakes several time and my brakes are still making annoyingly loud grinding noise and squeaking.
Nov. 2013 I had my car towed in to Just Brakes and was advised after the assessment that the EVERYTHING needed to be replaced rotors and pads for the back brakes. I agreed to have them fixed as I did not feel safe driving my car knowing the brakes were so bad, and I was being told. Shortly after getting the brakes done the noise that was not present before getting them repaired surfaced. They started grinding really loud with a squeaking nose while you were attempting to take off from a stop, slow down to stop, and even while backing up. The car was not even making this noise before the brakes were done, and I have had family friends do my brakes in the past and the NEVER sounded the way they do now.

Now after taking my car back down to Just Brakes more than 4 times I was told this and that needed to be repaired and allowed them to "fix" the issue. Now this has all taken place within the past 4 months. I was told the front brakes were worn and that was the reason for the noise after getting the back brakes done, and my husband also paid to get the front brakes ect done as well. My husband and I have missed work shelling out more money and then coming on different days with different guys working and telling us multiple stories as to what they thought was wrong with the car and assuring us that it would be fix.

Last time I was told that all was well and there may be slight noise but nothing more. After the weekend the noise was back and I am frankly tired of dealing with Just Brakes because I see that they are unable to fix my brakes properly which I am so surprised! It is now embarrassing to drive this car with the looks I get from pedestrians and their horrified looks I get when I pull to a squeaking grinding halt . I have even had people stop me in parking lots telling me that I need to look into my brakes because they sound so horrible. Oh the look on their faces when I tell them I actually had just had them repaired.

Desired Settlement
Simply put I would like to be refunded for the cost my husband and I have had to pay for my back brakes since they seem to just cant get them right and I don't even care if the refund is in the form of money or them simply providing the funds directly to Fairway Chevolet 3100 E Sahara Ave, Las Vegas, NV XXXXX which is the dealership that I would like to now take my car to for my brakes to be repaired properly. I know that they specialize in my vehicle and I will not have to worry about the service that they provide. I regret trying to save money taking the car there when I should have just paid the dealership knowing that I would not have any issue with them. I no longer feel comfortable dealing with Just Brakes.

Business Response
I have forwarded complaint to our District Manager for resolution.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not going to waste another day off going to have the issue looked at again when I've gone several time since Nov. only to have the car do the same thing grind ect. an hour or two from leaving the location. My husband does not want them touching my car and wants a full refund of the amount paid to this company I have also advised Bart that my husband no longer wants to do business with them and prefers to take my car to a Chevy dealership for the repairs that are needed on my brakes. Its also disrespectful of them to ignore our original contacts that is until they were reported to the local news. My solution to resolve this matter is for them to make an appointment at Fairway Chevy in Las Vegas pay for my repairs of my back brakes or to simply refund my husband to his original method of payment so my back brakes can be repaired. After all I'm the one driving around with bad brakes.

05/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I took my vehicle into Just Brakes for standard brake repairs on 8/30/13. I spent $295.85 to have my two front rotors replaced as well as all 4 brake pads. Unfortunately, my wife and I noticed a horrible high pitched squealing coming from the front brakes as soon as we drove it home. This noise was not present before we took the vehicle in for repairs. I immediately contacted my father (who has over 40+ yrs of mechanic experience) and he urged me to return the vehicle immediately as he explained that the squealing was due to a faulty installation of the new brake parts and that if let alone would tear apart and ruin all of the parts that were just installed. I returned the vehicle within 2 days but they never even brought it into the garage or took the tires off to check anything out; they simply drove it around the block and told me that what I was hearing was normal and that it would stop after a few hundred miles. A few weeks later and the noise never stopped. Again, I took it back in and again they refused to bring it into the garage or take the tires off and inspect anything; and once again they drove it around the block and told me that what I was hearing was normal and that it would stop. A few more weeks past and then my wife and I began to hear grinding coming from the front brakes. On the THIRD VISIT (11/13/13) the manager told me that not only was it not their fault but they suggested that it was my front end. I informed the manager that I could coast down the street at 10-15mph, tap my brakes three times, and hear noise/grinding coming from the front brakes EVERY SINGLE TIME that I pressed on the brakes. He tried to stand behind his front end theory and in the end I decided that since we were getting absolutely nowhere I would just have him put this in writing so that we would have documentation of the car being brought in before the warranty had expired (4k miles/90 days). My original invoice number was: xxx-xx-xxxx
Product_Or_Service: Brake work- 4 pads/2 new rotors

Desired Settlement
Because I have already returned the vehicle on three separate occasions I no longer trust the mechanics or management at Just Brakes. And because they have shown such an unwillingness to accept any form of responsibility I now feel that it is necessary to take my vehicle into an authorized Chevrolet Dealership and have the work performed correctly. I wish to have the entire amount ($295.85) refunded to my credit card as I am sure that they will have to replace the parts that I had installed.

Business Response
***** ********
Refund to be issued in the amount of $295.85
Please close

Business Response
***** ********
Refund to be issued in the amount of $295.85
Please close


Consumer Response
On 2/14/14 I was offered a full refund of $295.87 by Just Brakes and the case was "closed", however, it is now 5/5/14 and I have yet to receive any correspondence nor have I received any form of payment. I personally believe that Just Brakes responded to my Better Business Bureau complaint merely to pacify both your company and me as a consumer, and I feel that this wrong on many levels. If the Better Business Bureau could contact someone from their corporate office and get the ball rolling I would be extremely grateful. At this point, I don't know what else I can do.


Consumer Response
I never received a refund payment from Just Brakes. In fact, I haven't received any correspondence from their company at all since they "agreed" to send me a full refund. They are by far the most corrupt and ethically rotten company I have ever crossed paths with. At this point, I am asking that they re-send my refund payment.

01/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I went to have a dash light checked out and the manager said it was a brake issue. I paid to have it fixed, but is was just a tire pressure problem.
I went to the Just Brakes at 690 E. Semoran Blvd. Casselberry Florida this morning to have a dash light checked. I went in and explained to the manager that I had a light on and I did not know what it meant. He said he would check it out. He came back in and told me that I needed new brake pads, and to have my brake fluid line bled.

This felt off and was going to just leave but I did not want to cause further problems with my car. I knew that I could not afford this right now, I am a teacher and am not working full time this summer. I am, basically broke.

Good sense says to fix your car though.

I got the service that he recommended. What am I supposed to know about cars? I am a teacher.

After a few hours, they call me to say that the car is finished. We go back to get it. I pay and drive out of the parking lot to the closest light. I see that the dash light that I went in for is still on!

I turned around and went back in and the manager said I needed to check my parking brake. I did and that was not it. Then another employee came out to check it. He said it was the brake light. Then he realized that it was not the brake light. He said it was my tire pressure light. He backed the car in and added air to my tires.

A simple fix to the problem, not needing new brakes that I cannot afford. This has upset me extremely and even cause me to be late to work.

My car did not need to have the brakes done. Upon inspection of the receipt that I got from the store, they clicked for me on an electronic signature that I did not get to see the screen for, that I did not request to see the parts or to have them returned to me, and on another part it says that I want to inspect them but I was NEVER shown the parts.

I did not need to have my brakes fixed today. This is causing so much undue stress and aggravation. The manager was clearly out to make money, not to "care" as the advertisement says. He disregarded my concerns about the dash light and went to look for the most expensive thing he could find.

Desired Settlement
I would like some sort of refund/compensation to help ease the stress that this has caused me. For instance, free oil changes that equal the total amount that I spent today, or just a complete money refund would be better.

I am moving in two weeks and the money I had to spend today was not something that I could afford. The work could have been held off for another two weeks or longer if the manager had just done his job and checked the dash light. I would have loved to go back to a shop where the employees were honest and helpful. That sort of work instills trust in customers. Instead, complaints are filed.

Business' Initial Response
Thanks for giving us an opportunity to resolve this situation. We here at Just Brakes strive for 100% customer satisfaction. We are still working on a solution with the customer on this issue. ***** ******* the Orlando Market Director will be resolving shortly and we will forward you more information when it is done.

Consumer Response
Just brakes never followed up with me to offer an apology or anything to fix the problem. I will make sure that I write more reviews of their bad business and always remind people not to use them.

12/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
had a coupon 99.99 they told me there were other repairs i declined and asked for my car. they refused to give me my car unless i agreed to ALL REPAIR
I HAD A COUPON FOOR BRAKE PADS FULL SERVICE X4 WHEELS I INFORMED bRAKES pLUS IN LAFAYETTE cO. THAT IS ALL NO OTHER REPAIRS.tHEY ASKED ME TO STAY FOR REPAIR I DECLINED AND AGASIN SAID JUST THE PAD REPLACE 99.99. THEY CALLED ME AND STARTED TO TELL ME ALL THESE OTHER THINGS WRONG WITH THE BRAKES I SAID NO JUST PADS THEY SAID THEY COULDN`T REPLACE THE PADS I ASKED THEM TO DO NOTHING TO THE CAR PUT IT BACK AND I WOULD PICK IT UP THEY SAID THEY WOULD NOT LET ME HAVE THE CAR UNLESS ALL REPAIRS WERE DONE ON THE CAR I SAID PUT THE CAR BACK TOGETHER I WILL COME PICK IT UP THE PERSON I TALKED TO ****** SAID HE WAS GOING TO HOLD MY CAR FROM ME. I TOLD HIM THAT WAS ILLEGAL AND I WOULD CALL THE POLICCE FOR THEM TO GIVE ME MY CAR. HE SAID HE WOULD CALL THE HWY PATROL AND TELL THEM MY VEHIVCLE WA UNSAFE . I ARRIVED AT THE JUST BRAKES AND AGAIN DEMANDED MY CAR ****** AGAIN 2 MORE TIMES TRIED TO SELL ME ADDITIONAL SERVICES AND SAID HE WOULD NOT LET ME HAVE MY CAR. I CASLLED MY LAWYER AND INFORMED ****** THAT WHAT HE WAS DOING W2AS EXTORTION AND PUT MY CAR BACK TOGETHER. nATHAN THEN TOLD ME HE MAY NOT BE ABLE TO PUT IT BACK TOGETHER. AND THAT HE WAS GOING TO TAKE HIS SWEET TIME DOING SO. I DEMANED MY CAR AGAIN. 2 HOURS LATER THE GAVE ME MY CAR AND TOLD ME I WAS GOING TO CRASH ON THE WAY HOME BECAUSE MY BRAKES WERE BAD. I MADE IT HOME JUST FINE.I WILL NEVER USE THIS COMPANY AGAIN AND ADVISE ANYONE NOT TO USE THEM. THEY CAUSED ME SEVERE AND UNDUE STRESS BY REFUSING TO GIVE MY CAR BACK UNLESS I AGREED TO ADDITIONAL REPAIRS. AN OLD MAN IN THE LOBBY WITNESSED MY COMPLAINTS AND THEY ALSO TOLD HIM HIS REPAIRS WOULD BE $300.00 MORE THAN THE COUPON AND AND STATED HE WAS NOT PREPARED TO PAY THAT AND ASKED FOR HIS CAR BACK ALSO.

Desired Settlement
I SPENT 3HOURS OF MY TIME AND NOW DO NOT EVEN HAVE A CAR TO DRIVE TO WORK. I WANT THE COST OF FIXING MY BRAKES AS THEY PROMISED TO DO. $99.99

Business Response
We have pics and statements on the repair order the truck was in an unsafe condition and we refused to put pads on it with a rotor and wheel cylinders leaking. We can't take that liability we informed the customer that it was unsafe.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I DO NOT DRIVE A TRUCK. I DO NOT ACCEPT THIS RESPONSE THEY REFUSED TO PUT MY CAR BACK TOGETHER SO THAT I COULD TAKE IT TO ANOTHER SHOP FOR BRAKES. THEY THREATENED ME BY STATING THEY WOULD CALL THE STATE PATROL ON MME IF I WANTED MY CAR BACK. THEY WERE HOLDING MY CAR FOR RANSOM UNLESS I AGREED TO DO THE REPAIRS THERE.I DO BELIEVE ALL OF THESE THINGS ARE ILLEGAL. IF THE SEALS AND ROTORS WERE LEAKING I WOULD HAVE BEEN LOW ON BRAKE FLUID AND I WAS NOT THE FLUID WAS FULL I CHECKED IT BEFORE I BROUGHT IT THERE AND WHEN THEY GAVE IT BACK TO ME. THERE ARE NO LEAK SPOTS IN Y DRIVEWAY. THIS COMPANY LIED TO ME AND USED FALSE ADVERTISING TO LURE ME TO THEIR BUSINESS TO TRY AND SWINDLE ME OUT OF HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS AND HAD NO INTENTION OF DOING A 99.98 DOLLAR BRAKE REPAIR. MY CAR DROVE HOME JUST FINE AND STILL HAS NO LEAKS.

11/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I TOOK MY 2004 GOLF GTI VOLKSWAGON IN TO REPLACE BOTH LEFT & RIGHT FRONT AXELS WITH CV BOOTS TOO. ON THE DRIVER SIDE 3 OF THE 6 BOLTS WERE MISSING AND A 4TH READY TO FALL OUT TOO. THEY WERE SUPPOSE TO BE 12 POINT SCREW BOLTS AND THEY PUT 6 POINT BOLTS. THEY WERE TOO LONG AND SKINNIER THAN THE FACTORY 12 POINTS.I HAD WORK DONE BEFORE GOING TO CALIFORNIA. AND NOW NOW HEAR I SIT AND THEY CLAIM NO RESPONSIBILITY WHATSOEVER.I TOOK CAR TO DEALERSHIP HEAR AND AFTER INSPECTION , HUB BEARING IS DAMAGED AS IS THE LEFT AXEL.
Product_Or_Service: NEW AXELXS AND CV BOOTS

Desired Settlement
WOULD LIKE THEM TO PAY FOR WHAT IS DAMAGED TO FIX WHAT THEY DID WRONG AT DEALERSHIP WHERE MY CAR SITS

Business Response
We contacted Mr. ***** in reference to his concerns. We stated we would take care of the bolts and assumed responsibility for that. However that does not cause a bearing to go bad. We tried to work it out with him due to the mileage on the car a bearing is a wearable item and we should not be responsible for normal wear and tear the bolts in no way shape or forma caused this problem. We here at Just Brakes strive for 100% customer satisfaction.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The bolts are just the cause of what else has been damaged! I've gone to three VW DEALERSHIPS and they have seen the damage from the bolts falling out! I need a new front left Axel and therefore that means replacing the hub bearing too! The right front side was done correctly by " Just Brakes " , but they did not do the same for the left side. It was inspected and looked at by certified VW mechanics. And told by all three to replace the left damaged Axel and hub bearing . All i want is my car to be back to how it was and should be!! I have the car garaged and cannot use it till it is fixed. I wish that this was something easy that I could do and repair ! But it is not !


Consumer Response
And I am in California still ! Without the use of my vehicle. Incase that has been forgotten!

Page 1 of 3
12/31/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I came in for their advertised $99 brake special. The manager came out to the waiting room and informed me my Drivers side brake line was leaking, also my rear brakes cylinders were also leaking. Under pressure I had them replaced.After the work performed the manager, ******** informed my brakes are in perfect condition.Ten days later my brakes started making noise. I returned to Just Brakes and told them my problem. The manager at that time told me to leave the car and he would have my car checked out.Cutting to the chase I was informed my passenger **** brake line was bad, the last guy said it was fine,also both front pistons, and calipers needed replacing for a total of $662 dollars. I told ***** the new manager, the last guy, who I learned was fired, told me the brake system was fine after the repairs which cost me $284. Now a car which I hardly drive would need another job costing me $684. I refused the work. and told the them I would call the BBB
Product_Or_Service: Brake line , rear brake cylinder
Order_Number: invoice#XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I feel the first job was unnecessary and would like a refund for the work I feel iI did not need

Business Response
This issue has been resolved to customers satisfaction. We here at Just Brakes strive for 100% Customer Satisfaction.

Consumer Response
Sorry I did not respond in a timely fashion as I had a lot of online courses to complete for my profession. I returned to Just Brakes and talked to another manager who told me he would check my car personally. Like I suspected he found nothing wrong. The manager before him wanted to charge me $634.00 for work I didn"t need. I still feel that they are out to swindle hard working folks that need their autos to commute. I understand that if they fixed things right they probably be out of business, but to offer a service and then make all these other problems that don't exist is going too far. My opinon of them still stands, they are thieves with a wrench.

12/27/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The complaint I am filing is due to charging me for things that were not needed on my car. Using fradulent information to spend more money than needed
I was experiencing some grinding and squeeky noise coming from my tire yesterday (11/20/13). I then went to Just Brakes (Stockbridge, Ga Store # 344) on 11/21/13 at 8:30 am to get the situation fixed & resolved. While there the mechanic Willy notified me that I needed new brake pads, roters & calipers on my car. After telling me the prices while showing me the issues with my car I didn't feel easy about the situation. I really felt pressured to get the work done. While sitting in the lobby I looked up prices for different parts and found out that I was getting over charged. The total amount of all the work done came out to be $559.32 to which I paid with a Capital One Mastercard. After leaving the shop I went & asked another mechanic about the situation and what all was happening with my car & what was done with Just Brakes. The mechanic assured me that I was in fact overcharged and taking advantage of with the serivices. Just Brakes changed brake pads left & right front(that are under lifetime warranty with them. They only charged me $46.00 for labor) Brake Shoes left & right rear & rotors( They charged me $182.52 for parts & $91.26 for total parts & labor), Left & right front calipers($35.00 for parts & $149.00 for total parts & labor), disk hardware left & right front($42.50 for parts & labor), bleed & fill adjust($10.50 for parts & $59.95 total parts & labor) and also Bearing pack on all four tires(they did not charge me for this saying that is was not servicable). Then they have shop supplies at $15.67 & taxes at 21.18 with a total of $559.32. The prices they have on the reciept does not even add up correctly it just looks like they put different prices all over and added it up anyway they wanted. After speaking with another mechanic I was informed that my rotors could have been turned & only the one set of brake pads that was damaged could have been replaced. All of my brake pads & shoes are under lifetime warranty with Just Brakes. I was informed that calipers did not need to be changed because I was not bleeding any fuel and the necessary situations were not occuring to change them. Just Brakes stated that if they changed one caliper they had to change the others resulting in more money. After over hearing another guy come in with a Tahoe Truck and asking about rotors and hearing his price would be $10 to turn the rotors if already off & $30-$40 to turn if still on. I knew that I had to be getting ripped off & over charged seeing that I was drivign a 2007 Pontiac G6. I then googled the price of rotors & calipers to which the price was way under what I was paying. I also found many different complaints filed against Just Brakes companies from all over with this same complaint. I read different complaints stating the same thing about being told calipers,pads & etc need replacing for large ridiculous amounts of money. This needs to be addressed & stopped immediately. There is no reason that different stores across America should be getting away with over charging people for their hard earned money. With the economic hardships that we are facing I myself and I'm sure other people do not have money to throw away for services that do not need to be done from a what I thought was a credible reliable business known as Just Brakes.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting a refund of my money for things that did not need to be repaired. I should have not been paying for things that did not need to be repaired or replaced. I want my money refunded for the Calipers & labor which was $149.00. I also want a refund for the rotors & labor which was listed at 91.26 for total parts & labor. Which I feel was way overpriced. The Bleed fill & adjust that is listed at $10.50 for parts & 59.95 for total parts & labor. Also the Disc Hardware which is $42.50 total parts in labor. All together that is a refund of $342.71 total.

Business Response
This is really a communication issue. The customer was comparing replacing rotors pricing to machining rotors pricing which is two totally different things. We check out cars on an individual basis and stand by our inspection process. I am sure you can go on line and find cheaper parts however we are a retailer and we do not ship them to your home. We have much more overhead than an online supplier. Our prices are competitive with any retailer and to be honest less expensive then many when you compare apples to apples. We do apologize for any issues you may be having.We would be more than happy to address any workmanship issues if their are any because we stand behind our work. We here at Just Brakes strive for 100% customer satisfaction. If you need any further assistance please let us know we would be more than happy to help.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I absolutely do not accept this response from Just Brakes! This response was not even what I am addressing as for as my issue. This response is more of a sales pitch of how they THINK their customer service is. The facts are they ripped me off along with other people in America. They made me believe that I needed to spend over 500 dollars worth of parts & labor to resolve a simple issue of my breaks squeeling. They made me believe I needed to replace calipers when i only needed break pads & possible rotor matinence. Furthermore I came to Just Breaks on Nov 21, 2013 to resolve my issue I was having with my breaks. It is now Dec 16,2013 not even a full month & my breaks are back to making the same noise when I break. That let's me know either they did not place new parts on my car or they did a poor job & did not resolve the problem on my car. So I ask the question why did I pay over 500 dollars to only be back less than a month later with the same predicament. Just Brakes says they stand behind their work but I wouldn't it's subpar to say the least. I really feel cheated unsatisfied & think they owe me a refund. I do not plan to go back to their business to fix the problem because they did not fix it the first time. Even with my lifetime warranty of break pads they will still NOT get my business.

12/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I took my car in for overheating. The man told me my radiator was leaking. So the next day I took it in for them to fix it.
The next day I went to pick up my car and pay for the work, and I pay for the work get in my car and it is still overheating and then I sat there for 3 1/2 hours for them to try to figure out why its still overheating. Basically after 3 1/2 hours the men threw his hands up and said that they couldnt fix it for me to take it somewhere else. So I drove home and when I got home my car started smoking. Then the next day I went to start it and it didn't even start and on top of my car being broke I lost my job because I couldn't get to work after taking my car in for repairs that obviously didn't get fixed.

Desired Settlement
I an seeking for a refund and to have my car fixed free of charge.

Business Response
The customer originally came in with a leaking radiator that was sold and repaired. When it was pressurized the coolant wasn't circulating
Indicating a thermostat or a water pump. We removed the thermostat and it was working properly so the water pump was diagnosed as bad. The customer said she couldn't afford it and left with the car.We offered the labor as a refund for customer satisfaction and she accepted. The refund is presently being processed and she will receive within 30 day's. We here at Just Brakes strive for 100% customer satisfaction.

12/23/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Brandon, FL store # 0604 up-sold my wife $99.80 for something not needed and lied to her about the reason they "had to replace"!
My Wife took our 2008 Kia Sorento to 'Just Brakes' in Brandon, Florida- store#0604( address: 314 East Brandon BLVD. Brandon, FL XXXXX. Phone # XXX-XXX-XXXX. The vehicle was taken in to simply have the brake pads replaced. After they took the car back, ******* & **** stated that "in addition to the brake pads needing to be replaced,The pins needed to be replaced because they were severely rusted" I asked my wife to request the used pins and bring them home with her, so I could inspect them. I found they were not rusted AT ALL, only covered with brake dust! She was charged $99.80 for this. The pins are about $2.50 each and take about one second to put on, so without even taking into consideration the wildly high price charged for this service, which is morally/ethically wrong in itself, we did NOT need to have this service performed at all! ******* & **** simply took advantage of someone who was naïve, and because of this, we have been swindled out of $99.80!
There are many complaints online about this particular store and the practices of its employees. It's sickening that someone cannot take their vehicle to a shop and receive honest and fair service! ******* & **** also tried to up-sell further products to my spouse, which thankfully she declined, because we didn't need those either! My spouse was lied to, by ******* and ****, she was made to feel that this fictitious 'rust' on the 'pins' was dangerous and a risk to her safety. This is a ridiculous way of trying to obtain more money from a customer. I will leave negative reviews on every site in the area, I will tell all of my family, friends, co-workers, associates and, acquaintances about my negative experience and to stay far from any 'Just Brakes' Location. If I do not receive my $99.80 back, I will make sure to provide far more than that in the form of negative exposure. Please resolve my issue, so that I do not need to do that!

Desired Settlement
I simply wan't my $99.80 returned. This is just for the 'Pins'. If you want the 'New pins' Back before refunding me, I will want a third party representative there to inspect their work on my vehicle,while they're performing it, as I do NOT trust anyone at 'Just Brakes' to touch my vehicle again! This third party must also be compensated by 'Just Brakes' and NOT be an employee of 'Just Brakes'. Simply returning my $99.80 seems to be the most cost effective way to resolve this issue for you.

Business Response
This is a miscommunication we replaced her hardware not pins. They were suggested and she decided to replace them. We gave her the old parts she took them home and her husband cleaned them up and said they were good. We did not take advantage of anyone nor did we intend to. We simply made a suggestion and she agreed with our certified brake technicians. We apologize for any inconvenience however we did the right thing here. We here at Just Brakes strive for 100% customer satisfaction.

12/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My fiance and I were harassed and threatened by a Just Brakes employee and his spouse. We had a "promise time" that my car will be done at 5pm didn't not get out till 6:30. Just Brakes closes at 6. The mechanic, ******, said, "You don't need to be complaining you can't rush this stuff." But he was away from my car for 15 minutes with his female friend who was waiting for him to get off work. Then he got more upset because we had told his manager that he needs to be working and not talking to his friend. The manager had told him what we had been saying. So When the manager took my car the final test drive, my fiance was standing at the front desk waiting to pay so we could leave that dump. The employee made eye contact with him and began to say something and 'bucked up' (body language for wanting to fight) My fiance said,"Excuse me sir is there something you wanna say?" He began to yell that we were 'doubting' him and saying, "I'm not the******* ****** that you should try to mess with." He was getting very defensive and the female was holding him back as if he were going to physically harm one of us. We informed the Manager when he came back and said there was nothing he could do cause he wasn't there for it. But while we were paying, the mechanic and his friend BOTH came in from the garage. At this point they were just harassing us, screaming, "Ya'll don't need to come up here and start complaining. Ya'll need to take your **** somewhere else." No apologies were made, The manager, Kinnie S., didn't say anything to his employee nor the female. Handed me my keys and said have a good day. By far the worst customer service I have EVER received.
Product_Or_Service: Premium Brake Service

Desired Settlement
I believe I should receive a full refund and an apology from just brakes and that the employee ****** **** should be fired.

Business Response
The customer contacted corporate and we tried to contact customer he never responded.
When investigating this the manager and technician said the car came in late and the Manager told them he would try and have it out by
6 . The techs girlfriend was holding the light for him so he could see to work on the
Wheels, we have already addressed that issue. The customer went into the shop and confronted the tech while the manager was on the test drive. When the manager got back the customer
was in the shop exchanging words with the Tech. The Manager said he apologized multiple times
For the time frame and for the Misunderstanding.
As far as the 15 minutes he was machining the rotors for the customer, he was the only tech on duty and there is a waiting period while the machine refinishes the rotors. We here at Just Brakes Strive for 100% customer satisfaction.

Page 1 of 8
04/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had my breaks fixed at just breaks on 08/19/2013. I was hearing a knocking sound and a pulling on my right side of my car I drove my car to toyota auto nation and while i was there the tire on the back passenger side started to smoke and started on fire, Toyota put out the fire on the right tire and pulled my care in to look at it, they discovered the my brake fluid hose was clamp and no brake fluid was getting to my right back brakes. toyota explain to me to talk to just brakes manager and i did and he came to toyota to look at my car and stated that it was one of there clamps on the hose, so I call his area manager and he stated the manager in pearland would take care of it, when I Call the manager in pearland he stated he would only take care of the parts they worked on in 8/19/2013 and only those parts, I told him there is other damage to my care, and he stated he would not help me with that. I took pictures of the clamp on the hose and the damage to my car. I did not let just brake fix my car because they neglected to take care of it at first. I wanted them to pay for the damages. just imaged me asleep in my house and the car brakes caught on fire. they neglected to take care of my car and me. neglect is neglect.

Desired Settlement
I want them to pay me for the repairs I had to do with toyota auto nation. (2500 dollars).

04/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Just Brakes failed to provide me a refund for the terrible service they provided. They keep losing the paper work. they will not sent it to corporate
I had my front brakes serviced on Aug 24 2013. They told me I needed a new Idler Arm , I told them to replace it. But when I got other service done to the front end of my vehicle from another mechanic , the mechanic told me that the idler arm on the passenger side was put on incorrectly and damaged the idler arm housing. He replaced the passenger side and driver side. The mechanic told me that the right side Idler arm housing is bent up and it cannot be fixed correctly unless you heat the housing up and put it back to the proper configuration. I told Just Brakes Manager of this issue and they told me they would refund the all cost of what I paid for the service. This did not happen. The store manager left and when I went to follow up with the new store manager he had no clue about refund and I had to produce the paper work again for the refund. because they lost it. I scanned and emailed all the documents they needed , to include the additional work for the idler arm **** the store manager said he would send it to his manager ***** ******** XXX-XXX-XXXX on 6 Feb 14. I called corporate office and local store 30 Mar 14 to ask about refund. Corporate again did not receive refund request. This company is shady and not take care of their customers. This has been going on for 8 Months. I want my refund. They would also tell me they would check into it , but would never call me back. I had to always call them. the Vehicle is not fixed correctly to this day because of further damage it may cause. All I wanted was the money I paid them for the terrible job they did. Personnel were not qualified to do the job or they would have done it correctly. This puts the safety of all customers at risk.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund for the cost of the parts , Labor and Taxes . And I want compensation for all the mental stress this has caused me.

03/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Installed under specifications rotors. They also stripped the caliper bolt to the point Firestone had retread and order a factory bolt. Have photos/et
Initial purchase date 9/21/12. After initializing having a full brake job done and paying $597.7The manager was ***** ******* and the work was completed by **** ****** I had to take the car back months later. The guy told me they had not rotated them upon my first visit. The guy didn't charge me again but also did not give me any paperwork and now I've been told they do not show the second visit in their computer. They do not want to honor a refund because I did not return to them despite me telling them I did not trust their work and they have already put my life and my sons life in danger. I had Firestone complete the repairs.

Desired Settlement
The top box wouldn't let me continue. The business who fixed the problem has emailed me photos of the stripped bolt and given me the old brakes as proof of their negligence and poor quality workmanship. am seeking a full refund of $597.77. They don't want to listen to my complaint because they feel I should've returned despite them already working on it twice and screwing it up.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** **** Cust Srv Manager
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *****@justbrakes.com
We are contacting customer for immediate resolution.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Brake Service, Shock Absorbers, Brake Fluids, Brakes - Lining - Manufacturers & Distributors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.