BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Texas Beauty Supply

Phone: (214) 432-4251Fax: (214) 432-4482View Additional Phone NumbersPO Box 110027, CarrolltonTX 75011http://www.texasbeautysupplies.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Texas Beauty Supply is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Texas Beauty Supply's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
03/20/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of products

Complaint: I ordered products from this compaly in early January, and have sent emails requesting for action. Have yet to recive products or any assistance.
On Janyary 27th, 2013, I ordered the Fair and White Powder C Exclusive Whitenizer from Texas Beauty Supply. The total of this transaction was $91, 16 including shipping. I paid with credit card. On the 29th of January, I received an email that my products have been shipped using US Priority Mail. I waited about 3 weeks, and sent an email to the company asking where my products were at. I recieved an email back on February 15th from "*****" saying my package had been lost and they were sending a replacement. I waited again, and sent another email on the 28th of February telling them that I am very upset with their service and I am prepared to report them and get a lawyer involved if I do not recieve my products. Today is March 7th, 2013 and I have still not recieved a reply from this company. I called them to file a complain and they said they would call me back within 20 minutes. Almost 30 minutes has elapsed and they have not called me back. i am very upset with the way this company has handled the situation. I need to recieve my products or get a full refund.

Business Response
Looking at our notes for your order, I don't see if you had received the replacement package.

If you had not received the packages, please tell us and I will refund your order. We don't store credit card numbers longer than 30 days, so I will need to do send you a check. (please verify that we still have your correct mail to address)

Thank You


Business Response
Looking at our notes for your order, I don't see if you had received the replacement package.

If you had not received the packages, please tell us and I will refund your order. We don't store credit card numbers longer than 30 days, so I will need to do send you a check. (please verify that we still have your correct mail to address)

Thank You

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/04/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized bank debits

Complaint: CHEATED ME OUT OF MY MONEY, PROMISED TO PAY; BUT HAS NOT PAID ME MY MONEY!!!
This company has not paid me back my $52.44 after charging me twice on January 28, 2014. I have called them asking for my money for at least two weeks. I even provided (via email) to them my official bank statement that shows they charged me twice. They said, "yes we see that we charged you twice", but yet they keep giving me the run around and have not paid me my money. I have never experience such unprofessionalism in my life!!!
THIS IS RIDICULOUS!!! # frustrated and disappointed EX-customer

Remember when you are ordering from this company, this could happen to you too.

Initial Business Response
Customer placed order Jan 25 and paid via mastercard. The order was completed.

Customer contacted us that she can see two charges on her credit card. At first, we thought that there was an authorization and charge on her statement, since, we have had similar confusion from customers in the past.

Since it was a recent charge, it was not hard for me to access all submitted transactions. I saw only one transaction for her card on our batch. This means that the duplication must have occurred later in the processing of that charge by the clearing house or her local bank.

We did inform the customer to please do a chargeback on the duplicate via her credit card customer service. We are unable to do that for her.
She needs dispute the transaction that does not have these numbers: XXXXXXXXXX XXXXXX

I suspect that the mastercard system will find the duplicate and remove that charge. We did not charge her credit card twice. We have received one payment only.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

12/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: I purchased a DVD which was a scam. I complained and they told me to return it so I did . Now they are telling me they won't give me my money back.
I purchased a DVD Which was supposed to show me how to do brazilian waxing. I called customer service before I bought it and they confirm it was going to show me everything.
I watched the video which lasted 15 mts and it was a scam. I called to complain and they told me to return it so I did. Now they are telling me they won't give me my money back.

Initial Business Response
On our website, it clearly states that the DVD can not be returned once watch. Below is a link to that item.
http://texasbeautysupplies.com/gig1050e.html

When I customer watches a video that shows how to do something. All they need to do is watch it once and then returned the item for a refund that's why we stated that once it is watched it can not be returned. We will gladly refund her if it was not open and watched.

The best we can do for her is credit her back with a 20% restocking fee.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: A purchased was made online with Texas Beauty Supply I never received the package. The package was returned to company and they will not refund money.
On or about March 1, 2013 a cosmetic purchase was made on line with Texas Beauty Supply company.I never received the package because the post office returned the package back to the company reason sited as "address unknown". I have been trying for the past two weeks and a half to have my money refunded. I received an e-mail from a representative at the company named Grace who stated that I would receive a refund once the package came back to the company. I checked the tracking number and saw that the package arrived back to the company over two weeks ago on March 5, 2013. The company has refused to refund my money in a timely matter. Especially since they have received the return of their unopen product which never made it to me. I have gone back and forth with the company concerning this matter and there has been no resolution or attempt to resolve this matter in an expedited manner.

Business' Initial Response
We need the credit card # in order to issue a credit. I see that we have sent several emails to you. Please contact us.

Business' Final Response
We need the credit card # in order to issue a credit. I see that we have sent several emails to you. Please contact us.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: Returned my curling iron but they never received it but said they'd continue checking and get back to me. Now they won't return my emails.
I purchased a curling iron from their website. When I received it I wanted to return it for the same model in a different size. They replied and let me know to return it and then email them and they can exchange it for whatever I wanted. I mailed it back and followed up after not hearing from them for 2 weeks. They said they didn't receive the package but to follow up again. I followed up again and they said they'd check again that night. I followed up again by email and they have now not returned 3 of my emails asking for assistance. I'm now out the $30 for the original curling iron and have nothing.

Business' Initial Response
LAKETAWAKONI RVCENTER
301 E. l-lighv
ray 276
West 'fawakoni, 'fexas 75474
(90.1) 447-2().1_1 "' 1-ROO-o57-5001
Fax- (903) 447-2203
brnail: Ta.\>v'akor TawakoniRV@.live.com
N0.884 #001
To Answer Consumer's Original Complaint: Case# 91251290: Steve Garland
1.) Batterv was fine on delivery as the signed affidavit by Mr. Garland states. We
checked the battery after we bought Mr. Garland's trailer and it was fine but was
low due to their leaving lights on inside the trailer while not being plugged to
outside power. Correcl use of power chord was explained at delivery burwas
possibly misunderstood.
2.) Water damage. There was minor damage in a non obvious urea. It would be
impossible to disassembk all walls and Jloors in search or any previot..
water
leaks in any pre-owned RV.
).) Refrigerator installation. The new refrigerator as installed in same location as the
one (rom manu!-
tdurer ofRV. Tt was venleu thru the roof with a wall between
any other applia11ce anu had a sut'ticient air space in the rear of the unit. The
refrigerator that was replaced was a gas/electric costing over $1,200 as told to Mr.
and Mrs. Garland. *
4.) Price. The R Y was priced at $8,995 on our web page. !-.1r. and Mrs. Garland
visited the dealership and we had numerous contacts, each time the Garland's said
the RV was perfect for them except they could not a11'ord the price. It was agreed
that we would help them realize their "dream.s of ownership of an R V. We agreed
to pay their taxes as wcll as discount the R V even lower as to make the R V il.t
their low budget. Even upon lowering the price, the trailer was fully serviced as
is any RV purcha.<;ed from this deakrship. Mr. Garland. wa._.;; shown and
demonstrated the operat1on ofhis RV (refer to signature on delivery sheet). Even
before the purchase was made, we hooked the RV to Mr. Garland's truck and
allowed him to tow it a distance. This was because of his concerns about his
truck being adequate as a tow vehicle. He was satisfied and we progress:->ed with
the transaction.
When Mr. Garland arrived to pick up his RV we had the water hooked up, the
power hooked up. These are needed to enable all equipment (AC, refrigerator,
water system- shower, sinks, and toilet) to be demonstrated as being inspected,

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have reviewed my credit card statements and have never received a refund in the amount (or any amount) in the PDF attached to this case.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

01/24/2013Problems with Product / Service
11/29/2011Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Beauty Supplies & Equipment, Wigs & Hairpieces, Hair Products and Equipment, Cosmetic Sales by Internet, Cosmetic Sales, Hair Weaving

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/16/2005Business started: 01/09/2003
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Darwin Collins (Owner)
Business Category

Beauty Supplies & Equipment, Wigs & Hairpieces, Hair Products and Equipment, Cosmetic Sales by Internet, Cosmetic Sales, Hair Weaving

Products & Services

This company sells ethnic beauty supply products.

Alternate Business Names
Jina and Associates, LLC
LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Texas Beauty Supply is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 520-6689
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Beauty Supplies & Equipment

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.