BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Discount Beauty

(972) 552-912911985 Classic Ln STE D, ForneyTX 75126-7180 Send email to Discount Beautyhttp://www.discount-beauty.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Discount Beauty is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Discount Beauty's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues4
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Discount Beauty

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
04/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Placed an order on 9/26/13 totaling $96.93 never received mercandise nor refund for order #XXXXXXXXX.
Placed an order with Discount-Beauty on 9/26/13 totaling $96.93 never received mercandise nor refund for order #XXXXXXXXX. Contacted ******* three weeks ago and was told the refund would be processed that week. Still haven't received the refund nor a return phone call to discuss the order. Details of order listed below:

Item Sku Qty Subtotal
Arosci Protein Power Fortifier 15oz Arosci Protein Power Fortifier 15oz 1 $25.50
Arosci Ultra- Moisturizing Shampoo 32oz Arosci Ultra- Moisturizing Shampoo 32oz 1 $22.99
Arosci Intensive Moisture Treatment 32oz Arosci Intensive Moisture Treatment 32oz 1 $31.99
Subtotal $80.48
Shipping & Handling $16.45
Grand Total (Excl.Tax) $96.93
Tax
$0.00
Grand Total (Incl.Tax) $96.93

Desired Settlement
Seeking refund of $96.93.

Business Response
I called Ms. ****** yesterday and apologized to her in regards to this incident. I explained to her that I was at fault and that I have had some personal trials and death that happened last year which affected my decision making. She was very receptive. I mailed her a check in the amount of $96.93 which represented her total purchase and even offered to send her a free product as a compensation for her troubles, which she declined. Again, I am very sorry that it came to this.

10/22/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I order a product from this company for priority delivery and never received any product at all. The contact tel # I called for 7 days never answer.
I recently ordered a product from www.discount-beauty.com. I order on the 10/6/14 and today is 10/13/14. I have called the numbers given on the site and left my phone number and I got no return. I Receive my confirmation email right after my order on 10/6/14 and after that they haven't contacted me.

Desired Settlement
If I can get my products within 2 day I would still accept them. If they don't arrive by at least 10/15/14 I would like a refund. They can possibly be tampered with because they been out for so long!

Business Response
Mr. **** placed his order on the 6th and it was shipped today. We have experienced two power outages, the first one was last week and the last one yesterday and those two events which we have no control of set us a few days behind. Mr. **** may have called at times when we were not open or closed but it is difficult to call him back if no messages were left on the answering machine. We always return calls when messages are left. We receive at least 20 solicitations calls a day from people trying to loan you money or place you higher on Google which makes it difficult to return caller id calls with no messages left regarding an order. There are times when if we have order back logs that we focus on getting them out first before anything else and that is what happened today. Mr. ****'s order was already shipped today before we saw his complaint and I apologize for that and hope that he understands that sometimes we do not have control over thunderstorms and high winds that have disrupted our operations this month.We got it out as fast as we could and hope to do better next time. Again, I am sorry that we were not able to ship it last week. I have enclosed his tracking number to show that it was shipped today via usps.com **********************

05/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered product, seller did not send until I contacted them. Seller sent incorrect product, hasn't replaced incorrect items.
I ordered 2 Pureology Volume SHAMPOO 64oz. bottles on February 15, 2014 (order #XXXXXXXXX). On March 11, 2014 I contacted Discount-Beauty.com and told them my order has not arrived, and I had not been sent any kind of update on the order or shipping notification. March 13, 2014 seller finally sent item with no response to my inquiry, seller simply sent my product and I was given a tracking number for my product from FedEx. When the product arrived, it was not what I ordered. It ended up being one 64oz. bottle of Pureology HYDRATE shampoo and one 64oz. bottle of Pureology HYDRATE CONDITIONER. I notified seller of incorrect product the day it arrived, on March 20, 2014. Seller responded on March 22, 2014 saying he would send me new product with return shipping labels, and since then I have not received any further contact or shipping information. This seller is completely unprofessional by taking so long to send orders and correct mistakes. It is now April 12, 2014, TWO months past my original order date and I do not have my product! I even tried to be nice by asking the seller only to replace the conditioner. I will keep the Pureology HYDRATE shampoo, even though I prefer the VOLUME shampoo. I thought I would try to be nice and save the seller the shipping costs of sending 2 new 64oz bottles of shampoo. He only has to send one bottle now, but can't seem to even do that.

Desired Settlement
Seller needs to send new product with return shipping label for me to send the conditioner back. At this point I don't even want to send the conditioner back, it is frustrating to be ignored and forgotten. Discount-Beauty.com needs to provide a 64oz. bottle of Pureology VOLUME SHAMPOO with proper return shipping label ASAP. Waiting 60 days for the correct product I paid for is getting a bit ridiculous.

Business Response
I have been ill for some time now and was not able to reply to this on a timely manner. I spoke to Ms. ******* yesterday because I thought the replacement item had been sent to her and she assured me that we never did. I told her about my situation and that we will send her the correct item this week with a return label for the incorrect product she received.I thought that the the shipping department took care of this but unfortunately it wasn't the case. I am the one responsible for replying or dealing with complaints and unfortunately I have been under the weather. Again, I am sorry that we did not take care of this earlier.

04/01/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to issue immediate refund for non-delivery of order.
This complaint is in regard to the failure to issue immediate refund of order XXXXXXXXX placed on 2/19/2014. Payment was pending on order date and received the next day (2/20/2014). I've sent emails regarding this issue. I've also spoken with Jeffrey who expressed he could not give customers a refund when they wanted it. This is ludicrous on so many different levels. This is illegal to take money without delivering the goods. Jeffrey actually told me the products was on backorder when the money was taken out of my account. It has been approximately three weeks since the placement of this order. I told Jeffrey on 3/05/2014 that I wanted an immediate refund. He told me he thought we were friends. This is business. I paid for products, and he failed to deliver. I want my money now...not later...now.

Desired Settlement
Reimburse my money now. I will know if it is done because my bank processes transactions immediately. I will not give my patronage to a company who treats me like dirt.

Business Response
Ms ****** placed her order which qualified for free shipping. Our shipping policy which is properly displayed on our website states that free shipping orders could take up to 10 business days to be shipped. We do not ship partial orders with free shipping orders because of the extra cost involved unless we can not get the back orders before the 10 days expires. In the past we have shipped her orders within 2 days and she has always been friendly and cordial which moved up her orders to priority status from the free shipping status. I tried to explain to her that her order was scheduled to go out that afternoon after she insisted on cancelling the order. She finally agreed for me to ship and when I mentioned that I have always taken care of her as a friendshe then replied that she doesn't care about friendship and that this is business and for me to go ahead and refund her account. I pleaded with her until she started to issue commands to me to refund her account while she is on the phone. At that time, I told her that we do not issue refunds on the spot because we have to make sure that the invoice is pulled from the shipping queue to avoid sending it off and refunding at the same time. She started talking to me like a child and threatened a lawsuit etc. All the while I was silent and never talked back to her and when I tried to say anything she will tell me that she needs to do all the talking. I obliged. This is a lady that has done business with us more than 9 times and will speak to me at length about family and so fort which kind of sent me in a state of bewilderment with her actions. Her account is refunded and I wish her the best moving forward.

01/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I would like to know if the product is going to be delivered or will I receive a refund.
Purchase order number XXXXXXXXX was place on 11/5. I have monitored the status of the order each week and it has never changed from processing. I called and was told to leave a message and someone would update me with a status. A week passed and I never received a phone call. I was finally able to reach ****. This conversation was one I will never forget. He blamed me of being a racist after questioning him about his non ethical business practice. He explained the product was on back order and couldn't give me a restock date. When I told him to please refund me, he told me he would have to check with his bank to verify if he could. I didn't understand that at all. He proceeded to explain he had recently changed banks and wasn't certain if he could refund my money back to my card. I gave him the benefit of the doubt and told him I would wait until the end of the month to either receive a call stating the product was in or when a refund could be made. I received neither. Seventeen dollars is not a lot of money at all and my family an I will survive if we don't receive a refund however it is the principal of the matter. I would hate to see what would have happen if I made a substantial order.

Desired Settlement
I would like to receive a refund. If I would have known the product was out of stock I would have never ordered it. We have since ordered this item from another company

Business Response
Hello Ms. *******,

I am very sorry for the delay on your item. The product was on back order and I thought that your order was shipped when we received our last order from the manufacturer.
We will send out your or on Monday and should arrive Wednesday or Thursday of next week.
Again, I apologize for the inconvenience we have caused you. It was not intentional and we will always appreciate your business with us.


Happy New Year.

01/14/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered numerous products on October 19, 2013. Contacted the company 2 weeks later and was told the items would be shipped the following week. NOT!
A number of items were ordered from the site on October 19th, 2013. Two weeks later, I was able to speak with a rep from the site who assured me the items would be shipped the following week. I received an e-mail confirming this. To date, no items have been shipped and the company no longer communicates with me, including a request to refund my $135.29. Phone numbers for the site do not work and certain e-mail addresses have been removed. I want my products or my money back.

Desired Settlement
Simply, I want the products shipped immediately (they charged my credit card on October 19th)or I want a full refund.

Business Response
This woman is a racist and I do not want anything from her again. It is very unfortunate that that our American history allows bigots to thrive and most of the times get their way. She won and what's new. It is emblematic of this culture and people in authority. It is built in this tradition and we will continue to fight racists until they no longer hold the upper hands in our society. This is a country for all and not for some, and maybe, someday an organization will stand up for something rather than the usual. She won and I lost. It has always been that way for us. I called and spoke to ***** about this lady and how the system is being abused by people like her and all it got me was a suspension. Go figure.
The momment I received her order and she called, I knew that we were in trouble and nothing that we did pleased her until she no longer wanted the order. She called many times and asked my bank for a refund which she received. She still made a phone call to me last week to taunt me and to remind me that she succeded in tarnishing our image with BBB--and she won. The one thing she can not win is play God who is the almighty God that I worship. Sticks and stones may break my bones but names will never hurt me.
I hope this is the end of this tragedy.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This man is both a thief and a racist, himself. I simply asked where he was located, i.e. were the items coming from overseas? Regardless of HIS race or MINE, he had $135+ of my money and refused to send the items OR a refund. I waited 2 months before I approached my bank for some assistance. If this company only deals with certain race/religious groups, then their website should indicate such. An international website claiming racism from a customer wanting their products is criminal/racist, itself. He stole my money because I asked where the business was located (many are outsourced today). He felt "entitled" to steal my money because, apparently, he determined "I" was White. This is what we call "reverse racism" in this country. He had no intention of mailing me the products as some sort of payback for my anger and contacts. BEWARE...this company discriminates against elderly White females who refuse to be cheated and fight for their rights. Perhaps, females are not highly regarded by his culture?

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Beauty Supplies & Equipment, Internet Shopping, Hair Replacement, Beauty Salons, Retail Stores

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/23/1998Business started: 04/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
PO Box 12157, Capitol Station
Austin, TX 78711
(800) 803-9202
http://www.license.state.tx.us

Texas Medical Board
333 Guadalupe, Tower 3, Suite 610
Austin, TX 78701
(512) 305-7010
http://www.tmb.state.tx.us/

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeffrey Agulefo (Owner)
Business Category

Beauty Supplies & Equipment, Internet Shopping, Hair Replacement, Beauty Salons, Retail Stores

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Discount Beauty

11985 Classic Ln STE D

Forney, TX 75126-7180

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 11985 Classic Ln STE D 

    Forney, TX 75126-7180

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Discount Beauty is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Beauty Supplies & Equipment

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.