BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1984

Comerica Bank

Find a Location

(214) 630-3030View Additional Phone NumbersPO Box 650282, DallasTX 75265-0282 Send email to Comerica Bank

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1984

BBB has determined that Comerica Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Comerica Bank's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 107 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

107 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 42 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues22
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service82
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 107

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (107)BBB Closure Definitions
06/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: I attempted to close all my Comerica Bank Accounts because of the harrasment. I went to my branch and pd what I was told and it left a .07 balance.
After going to my Branch to pay for a check that was processed, I paid what the Teller told me to which resulted ina .07 balance unknown to me as I was closing the account and thought all was OK. After leaving the bank the safe deposit box was not closed, the savings account attached to my business account was not closed and the business account was not closed as a result of this mistake by the bank teller. After leaving the bank I was informed by one of my auto pays that the charge was refused by Comerica and they sent a notice of over raft to me which I disputed as this was the banks mistake not mine. As a result of the banks mistake they charged my account $33.00 with the .07 cent balance that left - 32.93 overdraft. This would not of happened if the Bank had done as I directed and closed my account..The account was eventually closed as a result of the overdraft which the bank refused to correct. Now I am being threatend by a collection company threatening to report me into the system so I can't open a checking account and may not be able to write checks on my existing accounts. Due to this threat I paid the disputed amount and want the disputed amount returned to me and all collection stopped and the issues removed from the records.

Initial Business Response
Better Business Bureau,

I am in receipt of the complaint submitted to your agency by ******* ******. Mr. ****** is concerned about his Comerica checking account.

Mr. ******'s checking account was "charged off" with a negative balance of $32.93 on April 18, 2014. Mr. ****** paid TeleCheck the amount owed a few weeks ago.

The Bell - Bullard Banking Center manager has spoken with Mr. ****** and reimbursed him for the $32.93 he paid to TeleCheck. I spoke with Mr. ****** and he confirmed that he received the $32.93 check. Additionally, the manager has worked with TeleCheck to clear the record.

I believe Mr. ******'s issues have been resolved.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions.

Sincerely,
***** ******** ******
Vice President
Comerica Incorporated
************

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: I requested my checking account be closed and it was done so at my request February 12, 2014.
On February 12, I phoned customer service to close my personal checking account because I was unable to make it in the bank during normal banking hours. I was advised by the representative that I needed to withdraw the available funds and call her back to close the account. I made it to a drive thru bank teller with a few minutes to spare and withdrew the balance resulting in zero. I immediately phoned the customer service representation bank and after answering several security questions and discussing my desire to close the account, I was advised it was closed and that no further action was needed. I mentioned at the time I had set up auto bill pay and wanted to confirm this would be discontinued and the rep said yes. I did not take down her name, employee number or anything of the sort. I was advised this was handled and moved on with my business.

I have received several notices stating that I owe the bank 53.46 for a returned check. This was a bill pay that originated on February 18, after I closed the account. Per the customer service rep, this should not have occurred since the account was closed on the 12th.

I phoned April 30 and spoke with a customer service rep whom indicated the amounts had been credited back including service fees for the charge. However, she was unable to assist in closing the account correctly.

I phoned May 1 to speak with a banking representative and after 30 minutes on the phone, Deanna was unable to assist me and have now been referred to Quality for filing a complaint.

Initial Business Response
Better Business Bureau,

I am in receipt of the complaint submitted to your agency by **** *****. Ms. *****'s concern involves fees she was assessed that resulted in her account not closing.

I have spoken with Ms. ***** and assured her that the fees have been refunded and that her account is now closed.

I believe her issues have been resolved. Please encourage Ms. ***** to contact me directly if she has any questions or futher concerns.

Sincerely,
***** ******** ******
Vice President
Comerica Incorporated
************

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: in an attempt to collect a 13 or 14 dollar fee the bank has voided my debit card because i told them it was cracked and wanted a new one-and unless i paid 13 or 14 dollars to get one rushed to me in a day i would have to wait 7 to 10 days and that would put me without money because my total monthly income goes into that acct-they didn't mention this would happen and only found out after i told them ok - i was under the impression i could keep using my card until the other one arrived-again this card contains my total monthly income and have no other source of income -so i am totally broke for 7 - 10 days

Initial Business Response
Better Business Bureau,

I am in receipt of the complaint submitted to your agency by **** Phillip ********. Mr. ******** is concerned about his Direct Express card.

On May 2, 2014, Mr. ******** contacted Direct Express to report that his card was damaged. A new card was ordered. The replacement fee of $4.00 was waived.

Direct Express has confirmed that on May 12, 2014, Mr. ******** registered his new card.

Please encourage Mr. ******** to contact me directly if he has any questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
***** ******** ******
Vice President
Comerica Incorporated
************

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: They overdrafted my account 10 times, 10 time is a bit excessive, and never sent me a notice.
This whole ordeal began on Thursday 5.01.2014, I opened my comerica mobile banking app to review my funds before making any purchases. My intentions were to transfer 80.00 from my savings account to my checking account to be able to cover my purchases for the day, but upon opening my app I notice that there had been a deposit of 75.00 made into my account by Paypal therefore making my available balance 81.85, upon seeing this I decided not to transfer funds because the money I needed was already in my account. So I headed out, now believing that this application is 100% accurate because I use it frequently without any problems I began to shop, I stopped at for different stores that day, purchases totaling about 58. I checked my mobile app like I always to and my balance was 27.00 or so. I then later that night decided to visit a night club with a couple friends we were running behind so we didn't have enough time to stop by the bank so at the end of the night I transferred 60.00 into my checking account from my savings account. making my balance about 97.00 and then I withdrew the 60.00 by way of ATM to repay my couple of friends for temporarily funding me for our night on the town.I I fell asleep with a balance a little over 37.00. The next morning 5.02.2014 I awoke and in my hurry to get to work had to stop and get gas, I put twenty dollars on pump 8 and when he slid the card it got declined. I'm baffled because just last night before I went to sleep I checked my account and my balance was 37.00, There must be some kind of mistake. I had him run it again, declined.. At this point I'm lost. I pull out my phone and log onto my account and low and behold my balance is now a -91.00, but how? I transferred 130.00 from my savings account into my checking account because I really needed gas and I was running behind schedule.I then pumped my gas and while driving to work decided to give comerica a call, o wow guess what? They are closed. I call the toll free number and selected the option for lost or stolen card and was able to get an agent. I asked her if she could tell me what the issue was, her explanation was. "O wow! I looks like when payapal deposited the 75.00 it wasn't completely in your account, so it accessed 4 over draft charges on your account for each of the purchases you made. At this point I am Flabbergasted, How could someone deposit money into account and it still not be there? Well this was a Saturday so I would have to wait until Monday to get it resolved. I had transeferred the 130.00 into my account so my balance was now somewhere around 40.00. I went into work got off work and decided to go over to Canada, with a couple friends we drove around I paid for the toll and my portion of our dinner at the Ceasar's Palace and came back home. looked at my account and it was a positive transferred 200.00 and then I went to sleep woke up Sunday morning 5/3/2014, and decided to go to Macy's where I transferred again from my savings to my checkings account because I noticed my balance was low because esurance has charged my account 158.00 even though I had already cancelled their services. The next day I went into the 9 mile and hilton road banking center and spoke with a ****** ****** and explained to him my situation and he explained that he was only able to refund two of the fees, and also acknowledged me that there were six more fees that were about to be accessed on my account. And this is where I figured it all out. The mobile app had mislead me into thinking i had 81.85 in my account on 5/1 and when I made all those purchases I was continously over drafting my account unknowingly, so there fore when the 75.00 did acutually post the overdraft fees that I did not recieve any warning of or was not notified I was occuring in the amount of 120. swallowed that. Which means that when I transferred funds on the morning of 5/02/2014 into my checking account my balance showed positive but was actually negative already

Initial Business Response
Better Business Bureau,

I am in receipt of a complaint submitted to your agency by ****** *****. Ms. *****' concern involves overdraft fees assessed to her checking account.

Ms. ***** has spoken with Comerica Bank's Quality Director. Ms. Park shared her concerns with ***** *******, Senior Vice President. All fees were credited back to Ms. *****' account. I believe her issued are resolved.

Sincerely,
***** ******** ******
Vice President
Comerica Incorporated
************

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: Online bill payment charged an additional $15 with no means of cancellation or rejection. Speaking directly to an employee did not resolve the issue.
I have used online banking for the past 10 years with no problems. Today, 4/18/2014, while paying my bills online, an expediting fee of $15.95 appeared on the summary screen. There is no way cancel or edit the summary. Only the finish and back buttons was the only available options. Thus, I selected the back option in order to cancel my transaction.
Despite my attempts, the transaction completed with the needless additional fee.

Speaking directly to Comerica employees does not offer any means to cancel the transaction or the additional fee.
I was told the only way to reject online transactions is to close the browser. This method is non-intuitive.

My account number is XXXXXXXXXX

Initial Business Response
Better Business Bureau,

I am in receipt of the complaint submitted to your agency by **** ****. Ms. ****'s concern involves a $15.95 fee she was assessed for processing an online payment with the next day payment option.

As a courtesy, Ms. ****'s account was credited on 4/22/14 for the $15.95 fee. Additionally, I spoke with Ms. **** today and confirmed the refund to her account. We also reviewed the next day payment option.

Please encourage Ms. **** to contact me directly if she has any questions or further concerns.

Sincerely,
***** ******** Reeves
Vice President
Comerica Incorporated
************

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 16
06/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: the North Belt line bank's ATM gave me half of an unusable 20 dollar bill. The bank has failed to pay me the same amount deducted from my account.
4901 North Belt Line Irving, TX
ATM Station vXXXXXXX

this ATM dispensed half a $20 bill on 4/21/14 from my employer supplied credit card with Comerica

I was finally able to report to the bank on 5/6 or so to bring the issue to their attention on my conference period.

It was impossible to come sooner because I work at the same time that the bank is open.

It is 5/19, and though ******** took my cell number & scanned a copy of the ATM receipt and currency to conduct an audit, she has failed to follow-up. This bank is behaving very shoddy. The have a contract with Irving ISD but the are not servicing me decently simply because I did not want to open an account with themas if I would now. Unacceptable.

I don't have time to micromanage this business.

Initial Business Response
Better Business Bureau,

I am in receipt of the complaint submitted to your agency by ******* ******. Ms. ****** is concerned about an ATM withdrawal.

Ms. ****** indicated in her complaint that she received half of a twenty dollar bill when she used her card at Comerica's ATM on 4/21/14.

I have been advised by Banking Center management that the ATM was audited and one half of $20 bill was not located. It is my understanding that Gita, the Comerica banking center manager left a voice message for Ms. ****** to explain the other half of the bill was not located.

Comerica respectfully declines Ms. ******' request for reimbursement of the $20 bill.

Please encourage Ms. ****** to contact me directly if she has any questions.

Sincerely,
***** ******** ******
Vice President
Comerica Incorporated
************

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
If **** is being honest, this can be proven with phone records because she did not call me nor leave a message. I will see if a referral process to the Federal Reserve exists. This bank has racketeered and failed to work realistically with the patron, albeit involuntarily a patron. If the $20 was not located, why can't they track the ATM performance with video footage? They are not trying to fix the problem, they are too quick to say we can't help and after successfully reporting them for destruction of FR property, I will no longer patronize them.

01/13/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of services

Complaint: SEND ME MY NEW CARD AND STOP THIS SHADY PRACTICE.
I emailed them inquiring about a charge, they immediately cancelled my ONE AND ONLY card w/o prior notice. promised to send new card in NOV, that never showed up. They never called or contacted me to check before processing the voluntary cancellation. Whoever created these rules, didn't have customer's best interest in mind. My hard earned money is locked up. And what is even worse is that the payment I inquired about was approved immediately. And I called the creditor and got the charge reversed and now stuck with no card at all. They keep telling me that my "ONLY" recourse is to PHYSICALLY show up (I work 6 days a week and Sunday is when they're closed)
I NEED My card before Friday so access my HARD EARNED MONEY

Initial Business Response
Better Business Bureau,

I am in receipt of the complaint submitted to your agency by ****** *******. His concern involves his Visa Debit Card.

A new card was ordered for Mr. ******* on November 29, 2013 and sent to him a two weeks ago.

I have emailed and left a voice message for Mr. ******* to contact me directly to discuss his concerns.

Please encourage Mr. ******* to contact me at the telephone number listed below. I will do everything I can to assist him.

Sincerely,
***** ******** ******
Vice President
Comerica Incorporated
313.222.9302

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is BULL ****. She never left me a message like she claims to have done. Nov 29th is not "two weeks" ago, I think their calendar us wrong, and you think you can fob people off with you inconsiderate responses.

IF YOU CLAIMED TO HAVE MAILED ME THE CARD WHERE IS THE TRACKING NUMBER????????

i have bills to pay and money owed that needs to get pay. MAIL ME A CHECK BOOK AND SEND ME MY CARD LIKE YOU SAID YOU DID A MONTH A GO. YOU ARE THE WORST BANK EVER.
BBB please investigate this shady unprofessional organization.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

01/13/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized bank debits

Complaint: Credit not being applied to my Direct Express debit card for fraud. I was advised paperwork not processed.
On 11/23/13 I filed a dispute about ATM withdrawals on my stolen debit card. Approximately 7 days later I received dispute paperwork to fill out about my claim. I have called every day or two to make sure that my paperwork was received. Every call I made I received a different answer as to why my paperwork had not been processed. I was advised that Direct Express dispute probably has my paperwork but it has not been logged. I continued to call and check the status with no satisfactory solution/answer. I was advised yesterday that my claim is still in process. I received a second set of paperwork to be filled out in replace of the original set that is lost. I received my second set on 12/20/13 and mailed them out that same day, 12/20/13. I assume the bank will have this set after the holiday. In addition, I was told that I am no longer eligible for the provisional credit because my paperwork was not received in 10 business days and this decision was made on 12/10/13. If I never mailed my paperwork why would I continue to call and request an update/status? It is not my fault that my paperwork has been lost in the banks office or elsewhere. In addition I asked to speak with a supervisor on 12/22/13 to escalate my situation and I spoke to Ashly who was VERY rude. Ashley continued to cut me off and blame The United States Postal Service for the missing paperwork. According to Ashley Direct Express NEVER loses paperwork. After becoming frustrated with me she once again cut me off mid-sentence, thanked me for calling and hung up on me. I was not done with my call; I had more questions and required the help of my bank. I called back again that same day to speak with her but was advised that there is more than one call center and they had no idea who she was. I have never been more disappointed with Comerica in my life. I request a full investigation into my claim and complaint. I am very dissatisfied. I am over one month behind on my rent and I have been advised by my leasing office that I gave late fees now and I am subject to eviction. I receive Social Security because of a disability. I have no money to give them. Please help me I cannot wait 45-90 days; I will be homeless by then. Please advise ASAP. I really need help on this issue. Thank you.

Initial Business Response
Better Business Bureau,

I am in receipt of the complaint submitted to your agency by ***** ********. Mr. ******** is concerned about unauthorized transactions on his Direct Express Card.

Mr. ******** filed a dispute on November 23, 2013 for multiple unauthorized transactions totalling $1,054.00. The dispute paperwork was received on December 27, 2013. The claim is currently under review by Direct Express. Mr. ******** will be notified by letter from Direct Express of the outcome of the investigation.

Direct Express management has informed me that they have attempted to reach Mr. ******** by telephone without success. Management has also emailed him and provided their telephone number so Mr. ******** can contact them to discuss his claim.

Sincerely,
***** ******** ******
Vice President
Comerica Incorporated
313.222.9302

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Dear Lee Stallings,

I am absolutely not okay with the response from ***** ******** ******* I have to wonder if she did in fact read my complaint. The issue of the team leader by the name of Ashley was not address. This person cut me off in mid-sentence and hung up on me. Very unprofessional and unacceptable.

The issue with my stolen funds, once again is as follows: I filed my dispute on 11/23/13. I received my paperwork seven days later and promptly filled it out and mailed it back the same day. I called every couple days or so to see if my paperwork was received. I was always advised no. Why would I call to check the status if I never sent in the paperwork? I think that is common sense. I requested a SECOND set be sent to me so I could fill it out. I received the second set and mailed it back to Direct Express the same day. I called to check the status and was advised paperwork was received on 12/27/13. The first set of paperwork was lost. This is not my fault I did mail it back to Direct Express. I was advised that I no longer was eligible for the provisional credit due to the length of time. How can I be penalized for Direct Express not processing my paperwork or losing it? I am requesting a provisional credit while my account is under review. I have been advised by my landlord that I am on the verge of evection because my rent money was part of the money in dispute. Please, please consider this when making your decision. I kindly request a provisional credit ASAP.

Thank you,

***** ** ********

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

12/04/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: COMERICA BANK HAS A PRACTICE OF CHARGING EXCESS OVERDRAFT CHARGES IF MONEY NOT AVAILABLE CHARGE SHOULD BE DENIED, THEY AUTO ENROLL YOU OPT-IN.BAD BANK
I DID NOT SIGN A FORM FOR OPT IN THE BANKER DID IT FOR ME WITH HIS COMPUTER. AND CHARGES THAT WERE MADE BEFORE ARE NOT OVERDRAFT . THAT I DID NOT SIGN UP FOR... NOW I CANT PAY MY BILLS AND I WILL OWE MONEY TO MY BILL COLLECTORS. COMERICA HAS NO LEGAL POLICY TO HAVE A CUSTOMER SIGN AN OPT-IN FORM TO HAVE OVERDRAFT .FEES... THEY DO IT FOR YOU AND HAVE NO PROOF THAT THIS IS WHAT I AGREED TOO. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS BANK WILL STEAL YOUR MONEY THROUGH ANY LOOPHOLE THEY CAN FIND. PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS BANK. THE RICH GET RICHER AND TAKE FROM THE WORKING CLASS.

Initial Business Response
Better Business Bureau,

I am in receipt of the complaint submitted to your agency by Mr. ***** *****. Mr. ***** is concerned with the overdraft fees his account was charged.

Mr. ***** opened a checking account with Comerica in October 2013. At account opening, he was provided information on the overdraft and returned fees policy. On November 8, 2013 he had a detailed discussion with the Banking Center manager about maintaining adequate balances in his account to cover the transactions he was authorizing. As a courtesy, his account was reimbursed for $66.00 in overdraft fees on November 8, 2913. The fees Mr. ***** was assessed were not a result of a bank error.

Please encourage Mr. ***** to contact me directly and I would be happy to further discuss his concerns with him.

Sincerely,
***** ******** ******
Vice President
Comerica Incorporated
************

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Those charges should have went through. They just wanted to charge me after when I didn't have money available so that they can collect overdraft fees like they do to hundreds of Americans.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

10/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: poor customer service, not re-issuing card with my money on it and no way to get my money, keep getting put on the back burner, hitting a brick wall.
My Mastercard expired on 5-31-13, they requested 2 copies of identification to re-issue my card. On May 8, i faxed the copies of ss card and id, 2 weeks went by no word called they said the id was to dark. Went and faxed another copy lighter and enlarged called they said they never received it asked to speak to department level 2, where the faxes get processed, they refused to let me talk to level 2, asked to speak to a supervisor. He got on the phone told me there was no reason for me to talk to level 2 and wouldn't let me talk to anyone higher than him just told me to fax it again that they weren't receiving any faxes and he told me that if there was something wrong with the fax that they will just discard it and not put any notes in the account to say what was wrong with the fax. Faxed my id over 10 times and from different businesses and copying at all different sizes and lightness and borrowing money just to be able to fax and copy all the multiple times because the ssi payments get direct deposit on the card. I waited the 3 days every time and called same response they didn't receive the faxes wouldn't let me talk to anyone higher. Asked if i could mail a copy threw certified mail, email or a different fax number or if they could transfer my money onto a prepaid visa and every answer has been no. They have been very rude to me, they have hung up on me, wont let me talk to anyone higher than the 1st supervisor and I'm not getting no where and no one is willing to help me get this issue fixed. I asked them why i had to fax those copies in the first place when they should be on file when i first signed up with them a couple of years ago. I still do not have my card and no one to get my money from my ssi deposit this month and some from last month.

Initial Business Response
Better Business Bureau,

I have been advised by Direct Express that Ms. ********* has been requested to submit two pieces of identification in order that her identity can be verified. Further, Direct Express has stated that they have not received the required documents. If Ms. ********* would like to fax her identification to Comerica Bank, we will be happy to see that her information is forwarded to the Direct Express Unit. Our fax number is: ************. If she has any additional questions she may contact ***** in the Corporate Quality Process Department at ************.

Thank you for the opportunity to review and respond to this matter.

Sincerely,

***** *******
Comerica Incorporated, Senior Vice President, Corporate Quality Process Department


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
All the times I called and asked if they received the numerous faxes, I also asked if there was other ways to fax my information in ex.. another fax #, another place to fax, by mail, email or any way because i went to numerous different fax stores and faxed. I was treated poorly, hung up on, wouldn't let me talk to anyone higher than them, wasn't answering any questions or even trying to help me. I'm very disappointed with Direct Express and had numerous late fees on all my bills because i was unable to get access to my money. I'm now in debt further due to direct express and want to be compensated for all the fees i was charged because they kept losing my faxes and one man told me that because so many faxes come through it might of been thrown away or mixed up with another account. I want to know where my information went and if it's with someone else's account?

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

Page 1 of 6

Industry Comparison| Chart

Banks, Mortgage Lender, Money Orders & Transfers, Loans, Insurance - Long Term Care, Insurance - Life, Insurance - Homeowners, Insurance - Health, Insurance - Auto, Banking Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/01/1984Business started: 02/01/1983
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Insurance
333 Guadalupe Street
Austin, TX78701
(800) 252-3439
http://www.tdi.texas.gov

Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending
2601 North Lamar, Suite 201
Austin, TX78705
(877) 276-5550
http://www.sml.texas.gov/

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tami Ruderer (Executive Vice President of Texas Market)Customer Contact: Susan Schmidt (Senior VP) Vanessa Alexa Susan Rutledge-Reeves
Business Category

Banks, Mortgage Lender, Money Orders & Transfers, Loans, Insurance - Long Term Care, Insurance - Life, Insurance - Homeowners, Insurance - Health, Insurance - Auto, Banking Services

Industry Tips
Insurance
Automobile Insurance
BBBTips on Business Credit
BBBTips on Saving and Investing
BBBTips on SBA Loans
Beware of Predatory Practices in Home Mortgage Lending
Beware of Abusive Lending Practices
Counterfeit Postal Money Orders Can Scam Consumers and Businesses
Discount Cards are not Health Insurance!
Fraudulent Health Insurance a Growing Problem
High Cost Payday Lenders Advertise Everywhere
Home Buyers: Protect Yourself from Predatory Lenders
Dont Get Taken to the Bank - Protect Your ATM and Debit Cards
Scam Artists Even Target the Bereaved
The Check in the Mail Could Be a Scam
The Hail Season is Here
Will Your Auto Insurance Weather the Storm?
Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Comerica Bank is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 925-2160
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.