BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/10/2012

BankDirect

Find a Location

(877) 839-2737PO Box 809017, DallasTX 75380-9017 Send email to BankDirect

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/10/2012

BBB has determined that BankDirect meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised BankDirect's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on BankDirect

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
03/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Requested account cancellation. Called to ensure cancellation would occur after removal of all funds. Account not closed. Incurred $12 monthly fee.
On 4 February I attempted to cancel my account over the phone. I was told that it needed to be done in writing and I received a fax number. I immediately drafted a letter and faxed it to the phone number supplied. My fax requested account cancellation with an effective date of 5 February. I also made contact with my new banking institution to remove the funds from this account. I checked my account during the day on February to ensure the funds had been removed. Seeing as they had not I contacted Bank Direct to ensure the account was not closed before the funds were transferred. I explained that the funds would be withdrawn that same day and that the account should be closed upon successful transfer.

On March 1 I realized that my payroll department had mistakenly sent my funds to Bank Direct instead of my new institution. Since my account was never closed properly, the money was deposited. I also realized that I was charged a $12 fee for monthly maintenance although I had no funds in my account between end of business 5 February and 27 February. I spent the next week attempting to withdraw the funds as quickly as possible.

On March 11 I faxed another request to AGAIN close my account. On March 12 I called to ensure this was completed as well as to inquire about the status of my requested settlement. I was told that since I called and asked to leave the account open that it was never closed. However, this is incorrect for two reasons. 1) I stated that the account should be closed at the conclusion of the money transfer. And 2) Why would I be required to send in a signed document to close an account, and yet all it takes to keep an account open is a phone call.

Desired Settlement
I request that the $12 monthly fee be credited back as well as $0.99 for the second unnecessary overseas fax I was required to send due to the initial failure/misunderstanding.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: P*********** BankDirect
Contact Phone: 972.656.6841
Contact Email: *****@texascapitalbank.com
A review of Mr. ****** ******'s complaint has been completed. BankDirect would like to submit the following findings in response.
On February 4,2013 BankDirect received written instructions, via fax, to close ****** and Abby ******'s account. The request included an effective date of February 5, 2013. On February 5, 2013 BankDirect received a phone call from Mr. ****** requesting that the closing of the account be delayed until an electronic transfer of the funds was completed. On February 6, 2013 an electronic transfer of the funds was completed and the account balance became zero. The account was scheduled to close; however, the account was not properly coded as "closed permanent".
On February 28, 2013 BankDirect received an ACH credit, Mr. ******'s payroll direct deposit, which effectively returned the account to an active status. Active Mileage Checking with Interest Accounts includes a $12 monthly service fee. The fee was deducted from the account on February 28th.
During the period of March 1, 2013 through March 7, 2013 nine (9) transactions were completed by the ******'s. Four (4) of the transactions were credits and five (5) of the transactions were debits.
On March 1, 2013 BankDirect received a phone call from Mr. ****** notifying us that he did intend to close the account. Mr. ****** was asked to provide a second written and signed notice. On March 8, 2013 BankDirect received, via fax, written instructions to permanently close the ******'s account. On March 11, 2013, after confirming all transactions had cleared the account, the remaining balance of $0.24 was withdrawn and a check forwarded to the ******'s. The account and all records linked to this account have been coded properly as closed permanent.
BankDirect acknowledges that the improper coding of the ****** account, following the February 5th close request, caused the account to return to an active status following the direct deposit of Mr. ******'s payroll. BankDirect will refund the $12 service charge, the $.99 international fax fee and provide the ******'s with an apology for the inconvenience and improper handling of their request.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Banks, Banking Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/08/2000Business started: 05/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ryan Jones (Vice President)
Business Category

Banks, Banking Services

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • PO Box 809017 

    Dallas, TX 75380-9017(877) 839-2737

  • 2350 Lakeside Blvd Ste 800 

    Richardson, TX 75082-4340

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*BankDirect is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Banks

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.