BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1998

American National Bank of Texas

Find a Location

Phone: (972) 524-3411Fax: (214) 863-5704View Additional Phone Numbers102 W Moore Ave., TerrellTX 75160-0040 Send email to American National Bank of Texas

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1998

BBB has determined that American National Bank of Texas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised American National Bank of Texas' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on American National Bank of Texas

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
11/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unable to get in touch w/ people. Rude tellers that care less if happy or not. Literally! Luckily I can move my $$ to different bank who wants it.
Got to bank finally during the slim open lobby hours so that I could finally get a new card issued to me and was turned away by a rude teller. This was after my husband had been there earlier and was told that all I needed to do was come in and they would handle it. This teller should not be in customer service, she is ALWAYS rude. I told her that I didn't agree with the fact their was a fee to get a debit card. I was handed my card and told "bye". I did not feel that my business was of value. She had just done one prior to mine and I got the feeling right away that she was put out that I also wanted a new card. Ummmmmmmm that should be something the bank encourages with debit card numbers compromised at a number of locations I shop at. I even told her when asked "what is the reason for needing a new card" as she inspected my card.

Poor customer service. This bank would be better if it had no lobby and just an ATM. Staff has poor communication skills as well as customer service. This was not my only poor experience, but it certainly will be my LAST. Banking here has been a joke, I was better off at my small bank in another town!

Desired Settlement
No settlement requested. Train your staff in customer service, and maybe review the "requirements" to obtain a new debit card.

Business Response
November 3, 2014
Better BusinessBureau of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc.
1601 Elm Street, Suite 3838
Dallas,TX 75201
Re: Case # 9J,XXXXXS:***** ******
Dear Better Business Bureau,
NOV 062014
This letter is in response to the above referenced case associated with a complaint submitted by Ms.
***** ******. Her complaint is in regards to being charged for a replacement debit card, and poor
customer service.
In order to maintain their privacy, all complaints are handled directly with the customer. We have
contacted Ms. ***** ****** in efforts to resolve her stated concerns.
Sincerely,

****** L. ***
Executive Vice President, Director of Client Services
American National Bank of Texas

06/29/2016Problems with Product / Service
08/24/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Banks, Escrow Service, Financial Planning Consultants

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/07/1998Business started: 11/22/1875
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending
2601 North Lamar, Suite 201
Austin, TX 78705
(877) 276-5550
http://www.sml.texas.gov/

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Hulsey (President/CEO)Ms Sharon Lee (EVP/Client Svcs)
Business Category

Banks, Escrow Service, Financial Planning Consultants

Products & Services

This company offers a full service banking.

Alternate Business Names
American National Bank, ANB Corporation

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for American National Bank of Texas

102 W Moore Ave.

Terrell, TX 75160-0040

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*American National Bank of Texas is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 837-6584
  • (972) 563-2611
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Banks

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.