BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/22/2013

Aeverex

Phone: (888) 781-5649

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

49 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 15 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues21
Problems with Product / Service27
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints49

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (49)
06/14/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Faulty engine components on engine installed and chosen by Aeverex warranty not honoring warranty.
I had a engine failure that was covered by Aeverex and they chose and had a used engine installed per my warranty. I was told that the engine is covered for defects up to one year after installation I now had another break doe do to faulty fuel lines on this engine they selected for my vehicle and am being told by the mechanic Aeverex refuses to cover this repair for an engine they selected USED and they had advised would be covered if this happened. I need help please in getting this resolved as its been a nightmare ever since I purchased this car at DriveTime.

Desired Settlement
Honor warranty for repair and or replacement as promised for the used engine they had installed with this faulty fuel track.

Business Response
As a follow-up to BBB Case ID Number # XXXXXXXX, please know that we have thoroughly reviewed ******* ******'s complaint. The following is our response.

In review of our records, the customer purchased a "Pre-Owned Vehicle Coverage" vehicle service contract, (Contract #XXXXXXX) on February 24, 2015. The terms and conditions of this contract provide for repair and replacement of vehicle components that experience "Breakdown", and other related benefits such as towing and rental car reimbursement. The customer's complaint indicates that coverage was not provided for repair fuel lines/rail, and as a result, the customer is requesting the repair or replacement of the engine.

Upon our review of the customer's claim, we believe the complaint has since been resolved by issuing coverage of the repair of the fuel rail, diagnostic fee, and rental car reimbursement.

Since we have resolved the complaint, no further action on the part of us is needed.

As always, should you have any questions or need any further information, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The repair that should have been covered in the first place now has been.

05/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Aeverex is delaying the cancellation of my contract.
Warranty was purchased on 03/16/2016, I decided to go with another reliable company. I contacted multiple customer service reps at Aeverex in regards to my cancellation which was submitted and received via email on 04/15/2016. Each person told me different dates when it will go into effect. The 1st rep told me it will be processed on the day I submitted which was the 15th of April, because the 15th is when all cancellations are processed. The 2nd rep told me the following week because the person was not in to do it. The 3rd rep told me the 15th of May. Now today, a rep told me it will not be processed until the 18th of May. This process should not take that long. I'm starting to believe that Aeverex and Drivetime/Bridgecrest are in cahoots delaying crediting my account so that I can make a few more high interest payments towards my auto loan.

Desired Settlement
Refund my account as soon as possible. If I did not inquire about this, I would not have been aware of these delays.

Business Response
As a follow-up to BBB Complaint Case #XXXXXXXX, please know that we have thoroughly reviewed your complaint and your customer records.

Your complaint requests a refund of your Protection Plan Vehicle Coverage (Contract #XXXXXXXXXX), which provides for repairs and replacement of vehicle components that breakdown during the term of the contract. Further and with regard to your complaint, the following contract language is relevant:

"You are entitled to a full refund if You contact and provide a written notice of cancellation to the Dealership within the first 30 days after the Contract Purchase Date, and if You have not filed a claim against the Contract." See section captioned "How this Contract May Be Cancelled Including Refunds and Charges."

As indicated in the terms and conditions of your contract, a full refund of the contract purchase price is provided if the contract is cancelled within the first thirty (30) days. We received your request to cancel your contract on April 15, 2016. As such, a full refund of your contract purchase price ($2,895.00) has been sent to your vehicle's lienholder. Therefore, we have complied with the terms and conditions of your contract by providing a refund as noted above.

As always, should you have any questions or need any further information, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The refund was processed in a timely manner and the transaction appeared on my account on May 9th.

04/26/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased an extended warranty on 1/9/2016 for $1200.I cancel the extended warranty with Aeverex on 1/13/2016.I have only received $475.
I purchased a car from Carvana on 1/9/2016,at that time I also purchased an extended warranty for $1200.I cancel the warranty on 1/13/2016.I have made calls to Carvana, Aeverex and Go financial trying to get the $1200 refunded. To date I have only received $475, that was credited to my Go Financial account on 2/24/2016

Desired Settlement
Credit my Go Financial account for the $1200 and adjust the interest that has accrued on the principal balance since 1/13/2016.

Business Response
As a follow-up to BBB Complaint Case #XXXXXXXX, please know that we have thoroughly reviewed your complaint and your customer records. The following is our response.

Your complaint requests a full refund of your vehicle service contract, in the amount of $1,200 plus interest. As background, you purchased a New Vehicle Coverage vehicle service contract (Contract Number XXXXXXXXXX) on January 9, 2016, which provides for repair and replacement of vehicle components upon breakdown. The purchase price for this vehicle service contract was $1,200 and was financed by your vehicle's lienholder, GO Financial.

Please accept our apologies for the delay in providing a full refund. We have now cancelled the vehicle service contract identified above, and have begun processing the reimbursement of the full refund ($1,200.00) with interest for the delay. This refund and interest amount **** be reflected on your statement with GO Financial.

As always, should you have any questions or need any further information, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

02/03/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Warranty company won't cover repairs necessary to keep my vehicle in good order.
Took my 2009 Chevy Aveo5 LT to a Ken ****** on Shelbyville Road in Louisville, KY while my vehicle was under the initial "30 day/1500 miles" coverage period. The Ken ****** was not able to perform the repairs my vehicle needed at that time, and I was advised by them that they would call. 2 1/2 weeks later, I took my vehicle back to them, and was met with unprofessional conduct from the store manager, when told my vehicle had an Aeverex warranty.


I called Aeverex a few days later to tell them what happened, and was told that because I took my vehicle in while it was under the initial "30 day / 1500 miles" coverage period, that they would waive the deductible, even though my vehicle was over the 1500 miles.

on 12/22/2015, I took my vehicle to the Ken ****** located at 1440 E 10th St in Jeffersonville, IN. for service. They called me at approximately 12:30pm to inform me the Aeverex would not cover ANY of the necessary repairs that my car needs.

I placed a call to Aeverex and was told that even though they were waving the deductible (which normally would have been $100), they were treating the vehicle as if they were covering repairs under the next phase of the warranty.

This is a very expensive repair, totaling $811.59 (for what they gave me an invoice for) for a new oxygen sensor, oil filter housing seals, flex pipe, and a fuel system cleaning.

Desired Settlement
I would like for Aeverex to AT LEAST cover the oxygen sensor and oil filter housing seal repair (which would be a total of $503.85 according to Ken ****** per the invoice I was given). If they are going to waive the deductible as if the vehicle was still under the initial warranty period, I would like for them to cover the repairs on the vehicle the same way, this ONE time. It's bad enough that I've only had the vehicle for ONE MONTH; it's a whole other ordeal to have to try and make the car payment AND pay for the repair.

Again, I would just like for Aeverex to cover ONLY the Oxygen Sensor replacement AND and the oil filter housing seals.

Business Response
As a follow-up to BBB Case ID Number #XXXXXXXX, please know that we have thoroughly reviewed ********** *******'s complaint. The following is our response.

In review of our records, the customer received a DriveCare Limited Warranty ("Limited Warranty"), and purchased a Pre-Owned Vehicle Coverage vehicle service contract ("VSC"), on November 20, 2015. The terms and conditions of these agreements generally provide for repair and replacement of vehicle components that experience "Breakdown". The customer's complaint indicates that he was not provided with four repairs/services desired:
(1) Oxygen Sensor
(2) Oil Filter Housing Seals
(3) Flex Pipe
(4) Fuel System Cleaning

The VSC provides coverage of specific "Covered Parts" that are identified in the section captioned "Covered Parts" found on Page 3 of the VSC. The components/services identified above are not identified under the VSC as "Covered Parts", therefore no coverage is required by the terms and conditions of the VSC.

The Limited Warranty provides broader coverage than the VSC; however, for a shorter period of time (i.e., 30 days / 1,500 miles). As acknowledged by Mr. *******'s complaint, he brought his vehicle to the repair facility after the 30 day / 1,500 mile Limited Warranty had ended. This is confirmed by Aeverex's claim records; Mr. ******* did not make a claim within the 30 day / 1,500 mile Limited Warranty period, therefore no coverage is required by the terms and conditions of the Limited Warranty.

As such, Mr. ******* has requested an exception, and that coverage be provided for some of the repairs needed (i.e., $503.85 for repair of the Oxygen Sensor and Oil Filter Housing Seals). We desire to provide Mr. ******* with an exceptional driving experience. Although not required by the terms and conditions of his Limited Warranty, we would like to provide the customer with reimbursement of the costs requested in the complaint as a gesture of goodwill. Specifically, we are willing to provide reimbursement of the $503.85 for repair of the Oxygen Sensor and Oil Filter Housing Seals.

As such, if the customer can provide us with copies of receipts for the charges identified in the complaint, then we **** issue a reimbursement for the same. Please send the receipts to the mailing address in the service contract, Contract Administrator, Attn: BBB Complaint Resolution, P.O. Box XXXXXX, Irving, TX XXXXX-XXXX.

As always, should you have any questions or need any further information, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am unable to afford this repair myself (otherwise I would not be filing a complaint). I have already complained to Ken Towery corporate (to no avail) because I HAD taken my vehicle in before the 30 day / 1500 mile coverage limit was up, but Ken Towery had apparently not called it in, as they 'could not perform the repairs until they could get the parts necessary to do the work'. They wouldn't let me leave the car there just so that the mileage on the vehicle would remain within the limited coverage period. Had Ken Towery done their job, this never would have happened. I **** be getting in touch with them again to see if they can resolve this issue.

Final Business Response
As a follow-up to BBB Complaint Case# XXXXXXXX, please know that Aeverex's last response to the customer (via the BBB's online system) was to indicate that Aeverex would reimburse these repairs. However, if the customer has not yet made the repairs, then Aeverex **** provide authorization upon customer taking his vehicle to a repair facility, and seeking the repairs previously agreed upon (i.e., $503.85 for repair of the Oxygen Sensor and Oil Filter Housing Seals).

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
This is an acceptable response from the business. I would just like to know if I am going to be charged the $100 deductible for an in network repair or not.

12/31/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Vehicle was purchased with Aeverex warranty. Warranty cover transfer case, towing, and vehicle rental.
November 2014 Vehicle and warranty purchased. 2004 GMC Yukon VIN# 1GKEK13Z74JXXXXXX

Nov. XX XXXX metallic sound in the front end heard. Nov. 03, 2015 vehicle broke down enroute to mechanic and was towed there. Later towed to D.L. Transmission in Cape Girardeau Mo.

Nov. 06, 2015 Aeverex inspector inspects vehicle.
Nov. 09, 2015 Inspector reports- missing plug claim denied.
Nov. 13, 2015 second inspection resulted in denial.
Nov. 16 $600.00 down payment out of my pocket via credit card to cover used transfer case.
Nov. 19 $663.03 paid via credit card to cover remaining balance.
Nov. 19 total paid on rental car was $419.75 paid with debit card due to Aerverex not paying.
Nov. 3, tow **** was $120 paid via check due to Aeverex not paying.

Desired Settlement
It is quite simple, no one would expect to purchase a vehicle and check the pin/plug on the transfer case. Darryl LeGrand a well known mechanic wiht 35 years of experience advised on the **** ""Tech recommends to remove disassemble and inspect the transfer case, then proceed to repair as needed. After removing the transfer case the tech disassembled, inspected, and found the failure is likely due to snap ring and bearing failure, this is common in these units, the bearing came apart and damaged everything. Warranty company declined repairs, found the clutch fork pivot lower pivot pin mission from the transfer case, and lack of lubrication/grime".
Darryl LeGrand pointed out the lack of lubrication fluid on the transfer case, as well as the under carriage. I asked Darryl LeGrand the last time he or a family member purchased a vehicle if they looked to see if the transfer case contained all plugs/pins and he stated no.
The first report sums up the attention given by the inspector when he refers to the Tranmission. This is a transfer case. I would like the company to honor the warranty and cover my tow cost ($110.00), rental cost (419.75), as well as work done to transfer case ($1263.03). This was not done in a timely manner that is why the rental bill is so high.

Business Response
As a follow-up to BBB Case ID Number # XXXXXXXX, please know that we have thoroughly reviewed ***** ******'s complaint. The following is our response.

In review of our records, the customer purchased a "Pre-Owned Vehicle Coverage" vehicle service contract, (Contract #XXXXXXX) on October 31, 2014. The terms and conditions of this contract provide for repair and replacement of vehicle components that experience "Breakdown", and other related benefits such as towing and rental car reimbursement. The customer's complaint indicates that coverage was not provided for repair of the transfer case, and as a result, the customer had to pay for such repairs and other associated costs.

Within the customer's service contract, it states that the "Transfer Case" is a "Covered Part" (please see the section captioned "Covered Parts" on Page 3). However, the customer's contract excludes repairs due to certain conditions. Specifically, the contract excludes:
(a) "...a Breakdown caused by improper types or quantities of or contamination or lack of proper fuels, fluids, coolants, refrigerants or lubricants, including a Breakdown caused by a failure to replace seals and gaskets in a timely manner..."; and
(b) "...costs or other damages caused by the failure of or to a part not listed as a Covered Part..."(Please see the section captioned "Exclusions - What This Vehicle Service Contract Does Not Cover").

As mentioned by the customer's complaint, the specific repair of the transfer case was not covered because the fluid fill plug on the side of the transfer case was missing when the vehicle was inspected prior to repair. Without such fill plug, debris and water entered into the transfer case and caused the breakdown. As such, the "Breakdown" was caused by a failure to replace "seals and gaskets in a timely manner" as mentioned in point (a) above; and, as the fill plug is not identified in the service contract as a "Covered Part", its failure does not require coverage of the Covered Part (i.e., transfer case), as mentioned in point (b) above. Therefore, upon our review of the customer's claim, we believe the determination to not provide coverage was correct, based on the terms and conditions of the customer's service contract.

Nevertheless, we desire to provide the customer with an exceptional driving experience. Although not required by the terms and conditions of the service contract, we would like to provide the customer with reimbursement of the costs identified in the complaint as a gesture of goodwill. As such, if the customer can provide us with copies of receipts for the charges identified in the complaint, then we **** issue a reimbursement for the same. Please send the receipts to the mailing address in the service contract, Contract Administrator, Attn: BBB Complaint Resolution, P.O. Box XXXXXX, Irving, TX XXXXX-XXXX.

As always, should you have any questions or need any further information, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
If Aeverex is going to reimburse for money we are out as stated, this complaint **** be resolved. Mailing out the receipts listed in the complaint today.

Page 1 of 2
06/30/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Rental Car reimbursment for time took to return car from repairs. April 25- May 13.
I had my car towed to Aeverex's Authorized Repir shop. They kept my car for 18 days. April 25-May 13. The repair was not even done until May 11-13. I had to keep the rental car for transportation. Aeverex should pay for the entire 18 days it took for the Authorized repair shop to fix my car.

Desired Settlement
Rental reimbursement. 25$ day from April 25-May 13. I only received $129.00

Business Response
As a follow-up to BBB Complaint Case# XXXXXXXX, please know that we have thoroughly reviewed your complaint and your customer records. The following is our response.

In review of our records, the customer purchased a Protection Plan Vehicle Coverage vehicle service contract (Contract Number XXXXXXXXXX) on April 7, 2015. The terms and conditions of this contract provide for repair and replacement of vehicle components that experience "Breakdown", and other related benefits such as rental car reimbursement. Aeverex provided benefits to the customer for a Breakdown that she experienced. While the customer's vehicle was being repaired, the customer obtained a rental car and the customer's complaint requests full reimbursement of the rental car during the time of vehicle repair.

Within the customer's service contract, "The limit on this rental car reimbursement is up to $25.95 per day for up to 5 days per Breakdown or series of Breakdowns related in time or cause" (please see section captioned "Provider's Obligations" on Page 2). Aeverex provided such rental car reimbursement for 5 days in accordance with this provision. Therefore, upon our review of the customer's claim, the correct amount of rental car reimbursement was provided based on the terms and conditions of the customer's service contract.

As always, should you have any questions or need any further information, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time.

06/20/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
AEVEREX refused to cover motor that is under warranty.
Motor needs to be replaced

Desired Settlement
Replace the motor.

Business Response
As a follow-up to BBB Case ID Number # XXXXXXXX, please know that we have thoroughly reviewed ******** *****'s complaint. The following is our response.

In review of our records, the customer purchased a "Protection Plan Vehicle Coverage" vehicle service contract, (Contract #DTXXXXXXX) on November 12, 2015. The terms and conditions of this contract provide for repair and replacement of vehicle components that experience "Breakdown", and other related benefits such as towing and rental car reimbursement. The customer's complaint indicates that coverage was not provided for repair of the motor, and as a result, the customer is requesting that the motor be replaced.

Within the customer's service contract, there are exclusions for repairs due to certain conditions. Specifically, the contract states "In order for this Contact to remain in force, You must properly operate, care for and maintain the Covered Vehicle as recommended by the Covered Vehicle's manufacturer. You must keep and make available verifiable signed service/purchase receipts which show that this maintenance has been performed within the time and mileage limits required. You are responsible for maintaining correct levels and types of fuels, lubricants and coolants." (Please see the section captioned "Your Obligations").

The specific repair of the engine was not covered because the customer was unable to provide a verifiable oil change receipt. Therefore, upon our review of the customer's claim, we believe the determination to not provide coverage was correct and in accordance with the terms and conditions of the customer's service contract.

Accordingly, we are unable to provide the consumers desired resolution for the replacement of the engine.

As always, should you have any questions or need any further information, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time.

06/01/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have transmission and engine warranty. Yet no help in repairs from them!
I have a 2011 Ford Fiesta which I am financing through drive time. I have GAP coverage and warranty. Well my car has already had to have a new transmission put in almost two months after it was in my possession. Then my engine blew all 4 cylinder heads I was told. I got a phone call saying the repairs aren't covered because I continued to drive after my car overheated which is false. My engine blew at 2am on the interstate I pulled off at a rest stop and waited until 6am to get a tow company to come out. I have all my repair orders as well as receipts from me keeping maintanec on my car. I've lost my job and everything. On top of being stuck in a different county for five days because of averex denying repairs they denied authorization for me to get a rental car! Now I have action gator tires (the shop) calling saying I have to pay $500 because they ran test on the engine! All this should've been covered! I can't afford to pay $500 on just test that've been ran! What about repair cost , car insurance and a car payment on a car that's been stuck at a shop for almost a month!The whole situation is stressful and I just want assistance. I mean seriously my car has been at a shop for three weeks that's insane!

Desired Settlement
I would like a new car especially because of it still continually to drive funny after the new transmission was in and I got it looked at twice just to be told that's the way the Car drives. Now with the engine blowing I'm starting to figure out if this is all tied together!

Business Response
As a follow-up to BBB Case ID Number # XXXXXXXX, please know that we have thoroughly reviewed ******** *****'s complaint. The following is our response.

In review of our records, the customer purchased a "Pre-Owned Vehicle Coverage" vehicle service contract, (Contract #XXXXXXX) on August 19, 2015. The terms and conditions of this contract provide for repair and replacement of vehicle components that experience "Breakdown", and other related benefits such as towing and rental car reimbursement. The customer's complaint indicates that coverage was not provided for repair of the engine, and as a result, the customer is requesting a new car.

Within the customer's service contract, it excludes repairs due to certain conditions. Specifically, the contract excludes "...a Breakdown caused by overheating, rust corrosion, restricted oil or coolant passages, restricted filters or physical damage." (Please see the section captioned "Exclusions - What This Vehicle Service Contract Does Not Cover").

The specific repair of the engine assembly was not covered because an inspection of the vehicle prior to repair revealed that the failure was caused by the continued operation of the vehicle after being overheated. As such, the "Breakdown" was caused by operating the vehicle after it had overheated which is specifically excluded from coverage. Therefore, upon our review of the customer's claim, we believe the determination to not provide coverage was correct and in accordance with the terms and conditions of the customer's service contract.

Accordingly, we are not presently able to authorize the engine replacement. Further and with regard to the consumers desired resolution of being provided with a new car, we would advise that we are not the proper party to provide such a resolution.

As always, should you have any questions or need any further information, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time.

03/07/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Aeverex refuses to honor their warranty against a vehicle that Drive Time sold me roughly a year ago and suddenly the engine needs to be replaced.
We bought a 2006 BMW X5 in December 2014 from the Riverside, CA location. 2 days later we started a drive across country heading to North Carolina for a military move. In Arkansas during light snow the X5s 4-Wheel Drive disengaged and the warning light came on almost causing us to crash. We alerted Drive Time about the incident and they said to have it checked out at our earliest convenience. After shutting the vehicle off and clearing the snow, the warning light went off and we were able to continue our journey. It took us 4 days to arrive in Fayetteville, NC. The day we arrived the oil warning light came on registering low oil. We put oil in the vehicle clearing the fault. Over the next couple of months the oil light routinely came on about every month and a half though we never noticed any oil leaks from the vehicle. I can't remember when it started but the vehicle just would shut down for no reason in the middle of traffic and at stop lights. Around the summer time the AC unit on the vehicle went out. We contacted Aeverex who told us to take it to their local repair shop (Meineke). Meineke said they had to replace the entire AC unit and even after the repair the AC wasn't quite cold but Aeverex considred the issue resolved and would not authorized a further investigation into the AC. One thing after another slowly the X5 started throwing fault codes on and off. sometime they would come on but after shutting the engine off they would go away. We had nothing to show to the mechanics since the codes were gone. eventually around November the codes started to come back more frequent and the engine barely would stay on. Frustrated and tired of this vehicle we contacted Aeverex and begged them to have someone look at the vehicle. After a few days of looking over the vehicle Meineke determined that the engine needed to be replaced. Aeverex in an effort to allude replacing the engine told Meineke to perform a vehicle service inspection to see if the codes would go away. Against the recommendation from the mechanics at Meineke the service inspection was performed and the codes did not go away. This is a $400 service Aeverex will not cover and falls back on us the consumer. The insurance investigator then told Meineke that they could not prove that the engine needed to be replaced cause of codes they couldn't figure out. They wanted Meineke to take the engine apart so they could see if what they say is true about the codes. Meineke at this point refused to take the engine apart because that would be another $900 plus in labor that would be A useless and B cost us the consumer. After trying to seek resolution from an Aeverex supervisor he said that we need to take the X5 to a certified BMW service center and pay for them to investigate the fault codes. By the way I've had to rent a car for the cheapest i could find at $166 per week. I'm going on my 3rd week in this rental car and Aeverex just decided since Meineke could not prove the engine needed to be replaced that they were not going to cover my rental expenses after all. We don't have the money to pay Meineke and barely can cover the rental car cost. We've had to borrow money from family and take out small loans to attempt to cover some of these cost. I bought the vehicle and the warranty in good faith that as a military spouse or person in general that i was getting a good deal on a good reliable car while my husband deployed. Now I'm struggling and Aeverex has ran up a bill at Meineke and left me holding the bag. I don't have a vehicle to get to work and move my family around. I was willing to return the vehicle back to Drive Time for another vehicle that works but they have turned their back on me as well. I really need some assistance in this matter because I don't know what else to do since Drive Time and Aeverex sold me a lemon and now purposely giving me the Heismann as they exit stage left. This is truly unacceptable by these business partners. Please assist.

Desired Settlement
1. Authorize the engine replacement the is needed and cover the rental car cost that I was promised in the first place. I couldn't afford the rental car and took it thinking they would cover it.

2. Since partnered with Drive Time, code this vehicle out as a total loss so it's not a headache for no one else. This will hopefully lead to my loan balance being satisfied with Drive Time Corp. along with my GAP insurance also sold to me by Drive Time.

3. Do what they want with this vehicle and between them and Drive Time give me a replacement vehicle at the value of my loan at the time this vehicle went into service. I've continued to pay for a vehicle that I can not drive and pay the insurance which they will not honor. I would like to regain trust in both Drive Time and Aeverex that they can and will do the right thing.

Business Response
As a follow-up to BBB Complaint Case #XXXXXXXX, please know that we have thoroughly reviewed your complaint and your customer records. The following is our response.

As background, with the purchase of your vehicle from DriveTime, you received a DriveCare Limited Warranty (#DXXXXXXX), and you also elected to purchase a DriveTime Protection Plan Vehicle Coverage vehicle service contract (#XXXXXXX). These agreements provide repair or replacement of specific vehicle components when mechanical breakdown occurs. Aeverex administers and processes claims for the above-mentioned agreements.

Your complaint requests three (3) resolutions. Each will be addressed below.

1. Engine & Rental Costs
You have requested that Aeverex authorize engine replacement for your vehicle, and that coverage be provided for the rental car cost you have incurred.

-Engine Repair
As to the engine repairs, the following language from your DriveTime Protection Plan Vehicle Coverage vehicle service contract is applicable. Within the section captioned "Exclusions - What This Vehicle Service Contract Does Not Cover" (pages 3-4), it states: "...this Contract provides no benefits or coverage and Provider has no obligation under this Contract for...repair or replacement of any covered part if a Breakdown has not occurred or if the wear on that part has not exceeded the field tolerances allowed by the manufacturer".

As indicated in the terms and conditions of your contract, no coverage can be provided until "Breakdown" has occurred. According to our claim records, although the vehicle has been diagnosed by a repair facility, this diagnosis contradicted the independent inspection that was conducted on your vehicle. Such independent inspection was not able to identify that a breakdown had occurred. If a breakdown has occurred, and such breakdown falls within the terms and conditions of your contract, coverage will be provided.

Therefore, we recommend that you take your vehicle to a repair facility that specializes in repair of your vehicle make (i.e., a BMW authorized repair facility). When you do, Aeverex will cover the cost of the diagnosis, and as stated, if a vehicle breakdown has occurred that fits within the terms and conditions of the contract, coverage will be provided.

-Rental Car
As to the engine repairs, the following language from your DriveTime Protection Plan Vehicle Coverage vehicle service contract is applicable. Within the section captioned "Provider's Obligations", the contract states that reimbursement of rental car costs will be made "...If a covered Breakdown occurs during the term of this Contract...at the rate of up to $25.95 per day for up to 5 days per Breakdown...".

As with the engine repairs, any rental car reimbursement is conditional upon a Breakdown occurring, within the meaning given in the contract. As noted above, the independent inspection report did not identify a Breakdown, therefore no reimbursement was given under the contract.

Therefore, once your vehicle has been taken to a repair facility, and breakdown has been identified, please know that reimbursement of rental car costs, to the limits indicated in the contract, will be provided. As a gesture of goodwill, Aeverex has authorized reimbursement of two (2) days of rental car costs to assist you while the vehicle was being inspected. To-date, Aeverex has not received receipts/invoices for such rental expenses. If you can provide such documentation, these expenses will likewise be reimbursed.

2. Total Loss
You have also requested that Aeverex "code this vehicle out as a total loss so it's not a headache for no one else".

As to this request, and as noted above, Aeverex is not the seller or lienholder of your vehicle, therefore it is not able to code the vehicle as a total loss, nor is it able to take any action with respect to your vehicle purchase and/or loan. Aeverex is an administrator of limited warranty and service contract claims.

3. Replacement Vehicle
Finally, you have requested that Aeverex provide a replacement vehicle at the value of your loan.

As to this request, and as noted above, Aeverex is not the seller or lienholder of your vehicle, therefore it is not able to provide a replacement vehicle. Aeverex is an administrator of limited warranty and service contract claims.

As always, should you have any questions or need any further information, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Because the vehicle has been taken to the recommended auto repair partners on the Averex contract. It's their recommended repair shop that said the engine needs to be replaced. The claims person in Averex didn't want to accept the findings that came back from Meineke. Furthermore; while the vehicle is in a repair shop authorized by Averex, a rental car is authorized until the vehicle is repaired. Averex, not only is avoiding replacing the motor under the terms of their warranty but also is trying to back out of the rental car expense to which at this point has cost me over $1800 out of pocket. My vehicle still does not work and Averex is now asking me to take the vehicle to a BMW Dealer to see if they get the same response from a BMW mechanic. I've got no problem doing this but it's another cost I have to come up out of pocket on.

02/29/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I sent in a cancellation contract for a refund and have not received the refund.
I emailed a signed legal document cancelling my warranty two days before my car was totaled. I opted for the refund to be returned to the customer and I have waited almost a month for Aeverex to respond and so far no response. This company has falsified my cancellation document date stating my warranty was cancelled the day of the accident which I have undeniable evidence that this was untrue. They have been giving me the run around for weeks and I just want what's owed to me.

Desired Settlement
I would like to receive my refund.

Business Response
As a follow-up to BBB Complaint Case #XXXXXXXX, please know that we have thoroughly reviewed your complaint and your customer records. The following is our response.

Your complaint requests a refund of your cancelled warranty. As background, you purchased a "Protection Plan Vehicle Coverage" vehicle service contract (#XXXXXXXXXX) for your 2012 Chevrolet Volt. This contract was cancelled as of December 11, 2015, and a pro-rated refund of the contract purchase price ($2,584.45) is currently being processed.

As suggested by your complaint, your cancellation application is dated January 7th, 2016, the date of the requested cancellation is December 9th, 2015, and upon reconciling your total loss records with the cancellation request, we discovered that the actual date of your total loss was December 11, 2015. Accordingly, the January 7th, 2016 cancellation application form says that the reason for cancellation was "Total Loss" which occurred on December 11th, 2015, yet the effective date requested for cancellation was December 9th, two (2) days before the total loss. As such and independent of such inconsistencies and dependent upon the terms of the contract as to the actual known and verifiable date of December 11th, 2015, your cancellation refund was processed as of the date of the total loss (December 11, 2015). This date was verified by your insurance company as the date of total loss.

As noted above, the cancellation refund is currently being processed, and **** be sent to the vehicle's lienholder to pay off any remaining loan balance, and if applicable, any remainder **** be provided to you.

As always, should you have any questions or need any further information, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time. We look forward to speaking with you soon.

Page 1 of 8

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Service Contract Companies, Marketing Programs & Services, Computers Hardware, Software & Services, Auto Warranty Processing Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.