BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/22/2013

Aeverex

Phone: (888) 781-5649

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

35 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues15
Problems with Product / Service19
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints35

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (35)
11/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My vehicle financed with ********* had a 60 month protection plan in which Aeverex is failing to grant a partial refund on which violates contract.
My contract number is XXXXXXX and on 10/16/14 I completed the service contract cancellation form which states is required on page 4 of my contract for the plan. I was notified the same day by Averex that I could not cancel because the purchase price was included in a bundle when I bought the car. My vehicle has been declared a total loss and no where in the terms or conditions of the agreement does it state the plan cannot be canceled if it is bundled with the purchase of the vehicle. I am looking for a partial refund of the $2895.

Desired Settlement
I am looking for a partial refund on the contract purchase price which was $2895. I have been financing it for nearly a year and my vehicle has been deemed a total loss. Page 4 of 9 of my contract states a partial refund will be paid if a cancellation form is completed which I completed 10-16-14. I was told that a refund of the protection plan is not approved since the contract price was bundled with my payments. This is not stated anywhere in the contract I signed and they said I should have assumed it.

Business Response
As a follow-up to the complaint that **** ****** (the "Customer") filed on October 16, 2014, Aeverex has contacted the Customer directly via phone communication, as well as, email in order to provide an appropriate resolution to her concerns. Furthermore, please know that upon receipt of the Customer's complaint Aeverex immediately cancelled the Customer's contract for an effective date of October 16th, 2014, and payment will be sent directly to the Customer's lender.

As an organization that continually seeks to satisfy its customer, we are highly sensitive to any concerns raised about the quality of our products and/or services. In our efforts to resolve this case quickly and amicably, we hope you are satisfied with the resolution provided.

12/18/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
To express extreme dis-satisfaction with the business practices and customer service with this company.
To express the extreme dis-satisfaction with the business practices and customer service A purchase was made at the Nashville Tn Drivetime on Oct 26 for 2008 Saturn Aura; within 3 days of the purchase the service engine came on and the vehicle started to sputter like it was about to cut off. I contacted Aeverex on (Oct 30?) and was provided with a network facility to take my car, where I went directly to that day. the repair facility at 5pm notified me that they would need to keep my car, because they could not determine the cause of the problem, the following day I received a call from the repair facility stating they believe they knew what the issue was (the 2nd cylinder), but needed Aeverex to authorize repairs, and needed to keep my car another day, during this time i had to get a rental in order to get to work;on the third day my car was returned to me, however, 7 days later I again had the same issue with the engine light coming on and the sputter, as well as the acceleration not responding accordingly as I push the gas pedal. I had just started a new job, I cannot afford to take my car to the shop in the middle of the work week, I dropped off my car on Saturday Nov 9. On Monday Nov 11, I received a call from the repair facility stating they believe it is the 6th cylinder and needed authorization from Aeverex because they feel the problem is systemic they wanted to look at the intake the following day I received another call from the repair facility stating they were not sure what the issue is after they had performed a diagnostic test, Drove my vehicle 3 times on the interstate for a good distance, then recommended that the engine may need to be replaced; later that same day, the repair facility indicated that Aeverex declined further repair states the vehicle needs to go to the GM dealership for further diagnosis. This has become a tremendous frustration for a vehicle I believed to have at least passed certain inspections prior to my purchase. Also, the drain this has created to my finances by using a rental car to support transportation needs, I'm being told that I will only be reimbursed for 8 hours of labor, what labor? I am being inconvenienced financially for ALL the days I didn't have my car. So my understanding is I am not being reimbursed for the troubleshooting and scratching of the head to determine what the root cause, I have exhausted all my funds for a rental in order to get back and forth to work; I am COMPLETELY unsatisfied with the level of professionalism and customer service, to include the rude comment from the customer service rep that stated "Well, we didn't tell you to buy the car". The practices of these business' from Drivetime thru Aeverex is a catch for the consumer that may not be able to buy a brand new vehicle. I feel these companies offer a false sense of security in believing my purchase is covered 100% in the first 30 days while I am on my third trip for repairs and my third rental with minimal reimbursement and still within my warranty period. Who knows what will happen once my so called 30 day warranty expires. Poor business practices." I would like DriveTime/Aeverex to take ownership and fix the vehicle and not put a band-aid on the problem, I don't expect full reimbursement for each day I had a rental, but would like reasonable compensation for the time the repair shop popped the hood on my vehicle which is not captured under the hours of labor.

Desired Settlement
I'm hoping that the companies involved will allow the proper repairs on my vehicle and offer fair reimbursement for rental expenses.

The first trip to the repair facility my lasted 3 days, the first day they could not determine what was wrong and advised they needed to keep overnight; I had to get a rental at the last minute, i assume the spent at least an hour or two looking for a diagnosis, the second day they thought it was the 2nd cylinder but later in the day told me they still did not know what was wrong and kept the car another day; another day with the rental; on the third i finally got my car back; 2 days with a rental, but the company is only reimbursing for 1 hour of labor.

the 2nd trip to the repair facility; they said they believe its the 6th cylinder, but drove the car 3 times looking for the issue, they had the car for two days before the warranty shop declined further repairs; again two days with a rental no labor hours;

Now again the car is in for repairs with the dealer and i am forced to get yet another rental; i am steadily losing money without any resolution on my vehicle.

I would like the warranty company to allow complete repair instead of putting a band-aid on the problem and some compensation for the time i'm left waiting for the troubleshooting to determine the problems

Business Response
Upon receipt of the complaint filed on November 19, 2013 ("Complaint") by Ms. ******* ********, Aeverex conducted a thorough investigation of: (a) Ms. ********' Complaint, and (b) Aeverex's claim records regarding Ms. ********.

Summary.
As stated in the Complaint, Ms. ******** purchased a vehicle on or about October 26, 2013, and experienced engine problems shortly thereafter. In accordance with Ms. ********' limited warranty administered by Aeverex, Ms. ******** contacted Aeverex to initiate a claim for repairs. As such, Aeverex referred Ms. ******** to a repair facility for proper diagnosis of the vehicle's problem. Upon receipt of the repair facility's diagnosis, Aeverex authorized the repair of specific engine parts. However, according to Aeverex's claim records, it appears that Ms. ******** is yet to have these repairs performed.
Although not required by Ms. ********' limited warranty, Aeverex provided reimbursement of her rental car expenses for additional days during which Ms. ******** did not have use of her vehicle as an accommodation and gesture of goodwill.
For these reasons, Aeverex has properly handled Ms. ******** claim in accordance with the terms and conditions of her limited warranty.

Customer's Concerns.
Ms. ******** requests that: (a) Aeverex allow the proper repairs on her vehicle, and (b) Aeverex offer fair reimbursement for rental expenses.

Proposed Resolution.
Vehicle Repairs. As noted above, the repairs diagnosed by Ms. ********' repair facility were authorized by Aeverex for repair on October 30, 2013. However, Ms. ******** is yet to have these repairs performed by a repair facility. Therefore, Aeverex has allowed the proper repairs on Ms. ********' vehicle.
Rental Car Reimbursement. Further, Aeverex has provided Ms. ******** with reimbursement of her rental car expenses that is fair and generous. In the section captioned "Our Obligations" in Ms. ********' limited warranty, it states: "If a covered Breakdown of Your Vehicle occurs during the term of this Limited Warranty, We will...reimburse You for a rental car at the rate of up to $25.99 for every 8 hours (or portion thereof) of labor time required to complete the repair...The limit on this reimbursement is up to $25.99 per day for up to 5 days per Breakdown or series of Breakdowns related in time or cause." The specific repairs required to Ms. ********' vehicle would take approximately eight (8) hours of labor time to complete. Therefore, under the terms and conditions of Ms. ********' limited warranty, she is eligible to receive up to $25.99 in rental car expenses reimbursement. However, as a gesture of goodwill, due to the frustration Ms. ******* experienced, Aeverex made an exception and provided the full five (5) day maximum rental car expense reimbursement, or $129.95. As such, Aeverex believes it has provided fair and generous customer service to Ms. ********.

Although Aeverex regrets that Ms. ******** experienced frustration with her vehicle breakdown, Aeverex has both approved of the repairs covered by her limited warranty and has provided fair rental car expense reimbursement.

12/09/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues
07/06/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
car is still broken down with no guarantee or attempt to fix, everyone just keeps pointing fingers .
I bought a car from Drivetime back in September of 2014. About 4 days after I drove the car off the lot, the car wound up going to the shop and shooting all kinds of error messages and codes which was said by one of averex's warranty technicians to have nothing wrong with it.Basically we have treated this car like a princess since, baby-ing it particularly so that I didn't end up stranded on the side of the road. After 5 other times of the car being in the shop the car is in the shop...again!!!! The car **** not go into gear AT ALL, **** NOT move, **** not start, sounds like a transformer coming to life and a UFC fighter tapping out all at the same time and looks as if when it turns on the dashboard is having a siezure. Now Averex has said that there is no problem, or at least not one that they are going to fix and are telling me to take it to the ford dealership. The ford dealership says there is no problem with anything under warranty. Well we are sitting at the shop waiting for the car to be towed to Ford for a third time now. While I pay out of pocket for all of this so that everyone can point fingers.

Desired Settlement
I really just wish to have my car fixed and drivable for more than 20 minutess and to be reimbursed for all the money that i have dished out between towing and rental cars.

Business Response
CASE ID: XXXXXXXX
In response to the complaint that ******* ******* filed with the BBB on June 3, 2015, Ethos Group Guaranty, Inc. ("Ethos Group") has taken its standard steps to thoroughly and fully investigate this matter internally. Moreover, Ethos Group believes that it has diligently attempted to address and resolve Ms. *******'s complaint.

Summary:
Ms. ******* purchased a 2011 Ford Fiesta ("Vehicle") on September 30, 2014 from DriveTime Car Sales Company, LLC ("DriveTime"). Additionally, she elected to purchase a Pre-Owned Vehicle Coverage Service Contract ("Contract"). Ethos Group processes and administers claims asserted under said Contract.
On or about October 7, 2014, Ms. ******* contacted Ethos Group and stated that she was experiencing steering and acceleration issues with her Vehicle. Thereafter, Ms. ******* was instructed to bring her Vehicle to AAMCO ("Repair Facility") so that the Repair Facility could diagnose any problems with the Vehicle. The repair facility was unable to determine a proper diagnosis or replicate any problems that Ms. ******* had described.
Thereafter, on or about May 1, 2015, Ms. ******* contacted Ethos Group to express concern that her Vehicle was having issues shifting gears. Ms. ******* was instructed to bring her Vehicle the Repair Facility in order to properly diagnosis the Vehicle. Accordingly, Ms. ******* brought her Vehicle to the Repair Facility. The Repair Facility contacted Ethos Group and indicated that the Transmission Control Module ("TCM") on Ms. *******'s Vehicle was in need of repair. Ethos Group explained to the Repair Facility and Ms. ******* that the TCM was covered under the Vehicle manufacturer's limited warranty, and as such Ethos Group could not authorize payment for the TCM's repair under the terms and conditions of the Contract.

Customer's Concerns:
Ms. ******* has expressed that she would like: (1) her Vehicle to be repaired; and (2) to be reimbursed for the towing and rental car expenses that she incurred.

Response to Customer's Concerns:
Ms. ******* has expressed concern that she would like her Vehicle repaired. As mentioned above, Ethos Group has not been able to authorize payment to repair the TCM on Ms. *******'s Vehicle because the TCM is covered by the Vehicle's manufacturer's limited warranty. Page three of the Contract under the section "Exclusions" states what the Contract does not cover:

"...In addition, this Contract provides no benefits or coverage and We have no obligation under this Contract for any repair which would normally be provided by the Vehicle manufacturer, a repair shop or part supplier under warranty."

Because Ms. *******'s Vehicle has a manufacturer's warranty in place that covers the repair of the TCM, that part is excluded from coverage under the terms and conditions of the Contract.

It has come to our attention that Ms. ******* has had the TCM repaired on her Vehicle through a Ford Dealership under her Vehicle's manufacturer's warranty. If Ms. ******* can provide us with copies of her receipts for rental car and towing expenses, Ethos Group would like to reimburse these rental car and towing expense as a gesture of goodwill up to the amounts stated in the Contract.

Proposed Resolution:
Ethos Group regrets that Ms. ******* has had difficulty in getting her Vehicle repaired. As mentioned above, Ethos Group cannot authorize payment for repair of the TCM on Ms. *******'s Vehicle as that part is excluded from covered under the terms and conditions of the Contract due to coverage of the TCM under her Vehicle's manufacturer's warranty.

Ethos Group requests that Ms. ******* provide copies of receipts for rental car and towing expenses. Upon receipt, Ethos Group **** reimburse these rental car and towing expenses up to the amounts stated in the Contract.
As an organization that continually seeks to satisfy its customers, we are highly sensitive to any concerns raised about the quality of our products and/or services. In our efforts to resolve this complaint quickly and amicably, we hope that Ms. ******* is satisfied with our diligence in attempting to address and resolve her complaint.

06/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have a service warranty on my car from this company. But everytime something is wrong with my vehicle it all of a sudden isn't covered. I took my ca
I took my car to a dealership & the dealership said they will not touch the car bc it had something electrical on it that wasn't factory. So I called my warranty & they said take it to their place that day. I get there & they told me it wld b abt a wk &;that I would have to leave my vechicle. Plus they wldnt cover the charges.so I called the warranty department &;then all of a sudden the services wouldn't b covered & I'd have 2 pay for it, when I was told it was the dealerships fault for selling it like that. So I talked to the dealership & they said it has nothin to do with them & I would have 2 talk to warranty dept. Everybody is pointing the finger at each other &;my car is illegal bc the dashboard & back headlights won't come on.& nobody will help me. I just want my car fixed

Desired Settlement
I just want my car fixed like they said they would. Especially since the dealership of the make of the car won't touch it & told me to take it back to where I bought it. I want my car fixed...period

Business Response
In response to the complaint that *********** ***** filed with the BBB on *** 10, 2015, AeverexTM has taken its standard steps to thoroughly and fully investigate this matter internally. Moreover, Aeverex believes that it has diligently attempted to address and resolve Ms. *****'s complaint.

Summary:
*********** ***** purchased a 2008 Dodge Avenger ("Vehicle") on February 26, 2013 from DriveTime Car Sales Company, LLC ("DriveTime"). She received a DriveCare(r) Limited Warranty as a part of this purchase. Additionally, Ms. ***** elected to purchase the DriveCare Plus Protection Package ("Contract") as added protection to take effect after the Limited Warranty's 30-day expiration period. Aeverex is a third party administrator who processes and administers claims asserted under said Contract.
On or about April 20, 2015, Ms. ***** contacted Aeverex and stated that she was having electrical issues with her Vehicle. Ms. ***** was advised that electrical issues are not covered under the Contract. Thereafter, Ms. ***** was instructed to bring her Vehicle to W & W Auto ("W & W") so that a proper diagnosis of her Vehicle issues could be determined. On or about *** 6, 2015 Ms. ***** contacted Aeverex to express concern that W&W had been unable to look at her Vehicle the same day that she brought it in, and expressed further concern that her break lights were not working. Ms. ***** was again informed that electrical issues are not covered under the Contract. Ms. ***** claimed that she had been advised that electrical issues are covered under the Contract. We have no record of anyone advising Ms. ***** that electrical issues are covered under the Contract. On or about May 19, 2015 Ms. ***** called in again to express concern that her dashboard and brake lights were not working. She was advised to bring her Vehicle to Pro Tech Auto ("Pro Tech") so that a proper diagnosis of her Vehicle issues could be determined and an estimate could be submitted to Aeverex. To date, Aeverex has no record of Ms. ***** bringing her Vehicle to any repair facility, nor has Aeverex received an estimate or diagnosis from any repair facility.

Customer's Concerns:
Ms. ***** has expressed the following concern: "I just want my car fixed like they said they would. Especially since the dealership of the make of the car won't touch it & told me to take it back to where I bought it. I want my car fixed...period."

Response to Customer's Concerns:
Ms. ***** has expressed concern that she would like her Vehicle repaired. As mentioned above, Aeverex has not received an estimate or diagnosis from any repair facility indicating that Ms. *****'s Vehicle is in fact in need of repair or what specific Vehicle parts are possibly in need of repair. All that Aeverex has received has been verbal communication from Ms. ***** stating that her Vehicle has been having electrical issues. Page one (1) of the Contract under the section "Standard Coverages" states the following: "...Upon the payment of the deductible per visit, the following parts are covered by DRIVECARE PLUS, but only if the defect or malfunction in the part is caused by a mechanical breakdown or failure (the inability of any covered part to perform its designed function due to defects in material or workmanship)..." Since Aeverex has received no indication from a repair facility that there has been an inability of any covered part to perform its designed function due to defects in material or workmanship, there is no proof that a mechanical breakdown or failure of Ms. *****'s Vehicle has occurred. As such, Aeverex cannot authorize the repair of Ms. *****'s Vehicle.
If Ms. ***** **** take her Vehicle to a repair facility for a proper diagnosis, and Aeverex receives an estimate and diagnosis for the Vehicle, Aeverex can initiate a claim to determine if it can authorize payment for repairs to Ms. *****'s Vehicle. This is not a guarantee that Aeverex **** authorize repairs to the Vehicle; this is the first step that must be taken in order for Aeverex to determine if any parts needing repair are covered parts under the terms of the Contract, and if those parts have had a mechanical breakdown or failure. As mentioned above, Ms. ***** was informed that electrical issues are not covered under the Contract. Page one (1) of the contract under the section "Standard Coverages" lists the parts that are covered under the Contract, and electrical issues are not listed as covered parts; however, Aeverex still recommends that Ms. ***** take her Vehicle in to a repair facility so that it can determine which Vehicle parts, if any, are in need of repair.

Proposed Resolution:
Aeverex regrets that Ms. ***** is dissatisfied with the current condition of her Vehicle, but as mentioned above, Aeverex cannot authorize payment for covered repairs to her Vehicle, without, at a minimum, a diagnosis and identification of parts needing repair. Aeverex has received no estimate or diagnosis from a repair facility indicating which parts, if any, are in need of repair. Aeverex recommends that Ms. ***** take her Vehicle to a repair facility for a proper diagnosis, then have the repair facility submit an estimate and diagnosis to Aeverex. This way, Aeverex can initiate a claim to determine if it can authorize payment for repairs to Ms. *****'s Vehicle.
As an organization that continually seeks to satisfy its customers, we are highly sensitive to any concerns raised about the quality of our products and/or services. In our efforts to resolve this complaint quickly and amicably, we hope that Ms. ***** is satisfied with our diligence in attempting to address and resolve her complaint.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have tried very hard to get my vechicle to Aeverex car repair shop. But everytime I took my car in like they told me, I had a week to wait. My car didn't have brake lights. And for my safety & the safety of others, I couldn't not continue to wait another month. Since it already has Bern a month & a half. Because of that I have taken my car to another company and got it fixed. & still aeverex nor drivetime assisted in that process &;has not offered to reimburse or give any acceptable compensation. So no this company has lied & given me the run around for 2 months & yet I have been paying for their services for over 2yrs that I couldn't even use when I needed them.

Final Business Response
CASE ID: XXXXXXXX
In response to the follow-up complaint that *********** ***** filed with the BBB on June 5, 2015 expressing dissatisfaction with AeverexTM's response filed on June 3, 2015, Aeverex has taken its standard steps to thoroughly and fully investigate this matter internally. Moreover, Aeverex believes that it has diligently attempted to address and resolve Ms. *****'s complaint.

Customer's Concerns:
Ms. ***** has expressed the following concerns:
(1) That she had to take her Vehicle to a non-Aeverex repair facility due to the wait time at an Aeverex repair facility; and
(2) That she had to pay to have her brake lights repaired.

Response to Customer's Concerns:
Ms. ***** has expressed concern that she had to take her Vehicle to a non-Aeverex repair facility due to the wait time at an Aeverex repair facility. Aeverex referred Ms. ***** to two separate repair facilities; she was referred to W&W Auto on April 28, 2015 and referred to Pro Tech Auto on *** 19, 2015. Upon request, Aeverex can refer Ms. ***** to other Aeverex repair facilities nearby.
Ms. ***** has expressed further concern that she had to pay to have her brake lights repaired. As mentioned in Aeverex's prior response to Ms. *****, Aeverex has not received an estimate or diagnosis from any repair facility indicating that Ms. *****'s Vehicle is in fact in need of repair or what specific vehicle parts are possibly in need of repair. Since Aeverex has received no indication from a repair facility that there has been an inability of any covered part to perform its designed function due to defects in material or workmanship, there is no proof that a mechanical breakdown or failure of Ms. *****'s Vehicle has occurred. As such, Aeverex cannot authorize the repair of Ms. *****'s Vehicle.
Further, Aeverex explained to Ms. ***** on *** 19, 2015 that Aeverex must receive a diagnosis in order to initiate a claim to determine if payment can be authorized to repair Ms. *****'s Vehicle. Without receiving a diagnosis for Ms. *****'s Vehicle, Aeverex cannot initiate a claim or authorize payment for the repair of Ms. *****'s Vehicle.

Proposed Resolution:
Aeverex regrets that Ms. ***** is dissatisfied with the current condition of her Vehicle, but as mentioned above, Aeverex cannot authorize payment for repairs to her Vehicle, without, at a minimum, a diagnosis and identification of parts needing repair. Aeverex has received no estimate or diagnosis from a repair facility indicating which parts, if any, are in need of repair. As stated in the prior resolution provided to Ms. *****, Aeverex recommends that Ms. ***** have a diagnosis submitted. This way, Aeverex can initiate a claim to determine if it can authorize payment for repairs to Ms. *****'s Vehicle.
As an organization that continually seeks to satisfy its customers, we are highly sensitive to any concerns raised about the quality of our products and/or services. In our efforts to resolve this complaint quickly and amicably, we hope that Ms. ***** is satisfied with our diligence in attempting to address and resolve her complaint.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Once again, I tried to give them a diagnosis of my vechicle but couldn't get into their shop, because they kept lying & giving me the run around. I took my car to an outside place & got my car fixed. If I continued to wait on this company, it would have been almost 3 months of driving an illegal car. This company is a scam. & continues to take your money & then when you need their services, that you've been paying for, they make excuses and make it to where you have to still pay for it. This company gave me the run around now for almost 3 months.. I am definitely dissatisfied with their company and servifes, and because of that I have seemed legal advice, to regain the money I had to pay, from a service I'm already paying for.

06/09/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Distributor issues. Not under warranty. The distributor was already has issues. Severed **** not warranty.
4/25/15. After 3 days. I had to call amaco to find out the problem. Why I should I call, they should call me.

Desired Settlement
Just fix the problem.

Business Response
CASE ID: XXXXXXXX
In response to the complaint that *** **** filed with the BBB on April 25, 2015, AeverexTM has taken its standard steps to thoroughly and fully investigate this matter internally. Moreover, Aeverex believes that it has diligently attempted to address and resolve Mr. ****'s complaint.

Summary:
*** **** purchased a 2004 Nissan Xterra ("Vehicle") on February 10, 2014 from DriveTime Car Sales Company, LLC ("DriveTime"). Additionally, Mr. **** purchased a Protection Plan Vehicle Service Contract ("Service Contract") from DriveTime for his Vehicle. Aeverex is a third party administrator who processes and administers claims asserted under said Service Contract.
On or about April 18, 2015 Mr. **** called into Aeverex expressing concern that his Vehicle's engine was making noise. Mr. **** was referred to AAMCO of Dallas ("Repair Facility") to bring his Vehicle to for potential repairs. On or about April 24, 2015 Mr. **** brought his Vehicle to the Repair Facility, and the Repair Facility determined that the distributor on Mr. ****'s Vehicle needed to be replaced. Thereafter, on April 25, 2015 Mr. **** contacted Aeverex to inquire into the status of his Vehicle. Aeverex informed him that the distributor needed to be replaced, but that the distributor is not a covered part under the Service Contract. Aeverex informed Mr. **** that he would be responsible for the diagnostic fee, in addition to the fee to replace the distributor. Mr. **** responded that he would be cancelling his Service Contract.
Customer's Concerns: Customer has expressed the following concerns:
(1) that the distributor was not a covered part under the Service Contract; and (2) that he is responsible for paying the diagnostic fee charged by the Repair Facility.

Response to Customer's Concerns:
(1)Distributor Not a Covered Part. *** **** expressed concern that the distributor is not a covered part under the Service Contract. Page three (3) of the Service Contract under the section "Covered Parts" lists the parts that are covered under the Service Contract in the event of a breakdown. The distributor is not listed as a covered part under that section. Page three (3) of the Service Contract under the section "Exclusions-What This Vehicle Service Contract Does Not Cover" lists the distributor as a part that is excluded from coverage:
"All parts not specifically listed as Covered Parts are not covered under this Contract. These include but are not limited to: brake linings, pads, drums and rotors, oil, grease, coolant, air conditioner refrigerant, filters, belts, hoses, batteries, battery cables, tires, constant velocity joint boots, spark plug wires, distributor cap and rotor, and manual/hydraulic clutch assembly."
Because the distributor is not a covered part under the Service Contract, and it is specifically excluded from coverage, Aeverex cannot authorize the replacement of the distributor and it is Mr. ****'s responsibility to pay for the replacement of this part.
(2) Diagnostic Fee Not Covered. *** **** expressed concern that the diagnostic fee charged by the Repair Facility is not covered under the Service Contract. Page two (2) of the Service Contract under the section "Your Obligations" states that the diagnostic fee is Mr. ****'s responsibility in the event that the recommended repair is not covered under the Service Contract:
"You are responsible for authorizing and paying for any teardown or diagnosis time needed to determine if your vehicle has a covered breakdown. If it is subsequently determined that the repair is needed due to a covered breakdown then Provider, through Administrator, **** pay for this part of the repair. If the failure is not a covered breakdown then you are responsible for this charge."
As mentioned above, the distributor is not a covered part under the Service Contract. As such, the breakdown of that non-covered part is not covered under the Service Contract, and Mr. **** is responsible for paying for the diagnostic fee charged by the Repair Facility.

Proposed Resolution:
Aeverex regrets that Mr. ****'s Vehicle is in need of repair, but as mentioned above, the distributor is not covered under the Service Contract so Aeverex cannot authorize payment to replace the distributor. Further, since the distributor was not a covered part under the Service Contract, Mr. **** is responsible for the payment of the diagnostic fee charged by the Repair Facility.
As an organization that continually seeks to satisfy its customers, we are highly sensitive to any concerns raised about the quality of our products and/or services. In our efforts to resolve this complaint quickly and amicably, we hope that Mr. **** is satisfied with our diligence in attempting to address and resolve his complaint.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
the real problem is there is no win win situation. companies like this know as ethos. There is not a lot of mechanical shops for the company. There is only one in Dallas county. Amoco is busy and always full. Waiting time 3 day until Amoco can touch the vehicle. Then get the wrong problem. I have done my reach. The vehicle did have problems but never fixed. I got it fix with the dealership. This way people **** not get warranty.To much headache.
Companies **** always win and people like us lose.

Final Business Response
In response to *** ****'s complaint filed on May 22, 2015, expressing dissatisfaction with AeverexTM's response filed on May 20, 2015, Aeverex has taken its standard steps to thoroughly and fully investigate this matter internally. Moreover, Aeverex believes that it has diligently attempted to address and resolve Mr. ****'s complaint expressing dissatisfaction with Aeverex's response.
Mr. ****'s May 22, 2015 complaint expressed the following concerns: "the real problem is there is no win win situation. Companies like this know as ethos. There is not a lot of mechanical shops for the company. There is only one in Dallas county. Amoco is busy and always full. Waiting time 3 days until Amoco can touch the vehicle. Then get the wrong problem. I have done my reach. The vehicle did have problems but never fixed. I got it fix with the dealership. This way people **** not get warranty. To much headache. Companies **** always win and people like us lose."
With regards to Mr. ****'s concern that his Vehicle had problems that were not fixed, as indicated in Aeverex's response submitted on May 20, 2015, the distributor part on Mr. ****'s Vehicle is not a covered part under the Service Contract, and as such, the breakdown of that non-covered part is not covered under the Service Contract. Accordingly, Aeverex cannot authorize payment for the repair or replacement of the distributor part on Mr. ****'s Vehicle.
With regards to Mr. ****'s concern over the options for repair facilities, Aeverex provided Mr. **** with several options for in-network repair facilities near Mr. ****. On April 18, 2015 Aeverex advised Mr. **** that he could take his Vehicle to Aamco of Dallas located 9.8 miles from him. On April 22, 2015 Aeverex advised Mr. **** that he could take his Vehicle to Master Tech Auto Care located 5.9 miles from Mr. ****. On April 22, 2015 Aeverex advised Mr. **** that he could take his Vehicle to a different Aamco of Dallas located 12.2 miles from him. Aeverex has numerous in-network repair facilities throughout the Dallas/Fort Worth area and has several in-network repair facilities located within Dallas county (three of which Mr. **** was referred to).
As an organization that continually seeks to satisfy its customers, we are highly sensitive to any concerns raised about the quality of our products and/or services. In our efforts to resolve this complaint quickly and amicably, we hope that Mr. **** is satisfied with our diligence in addressing his concerns.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
normally companies **** say they **** satisfy the customers the truth is they **** never.

05/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My vehicle is not being repaired in a timely manner.It has been in service for 3 weeks.
3/9/2015 I purchased the vehicle,on 3/14/2015 then check engine light came on.Contacted Aeverex and was told the shop to take it to.Was taken in on 3/16/2015 and " repaired".Light came on 20 miles later,back to shop.Then told to take to Covert Jeep.Covert has now had the car for 15 days.Aeverex can't/won't give me information on what the problem is,how long it will take.

Desired Settlement
I want my car repaired.

Business Response
In response to the complaint that ***** ********n filed with the BBB on April 9, 2015, AeverexTM has taken its standard steps to thoroughly and fully investigate this matter internally. Moreover, Aeverex believes that it has diligently attempted to address and resolve Mr. ********n's complaint.

Summary:
***** ********n purchased a 2006 Jeep Liberty ("Vehicle") on March 9, 2015 from DriveTime Car Sales Company, LLC ("DriveTime"). Additionally. Mr. ********n purchased a Protection Plan Vehicle Coverage Service Contract ("Service Contract") from DriveTime for his Vehicle. Aeverex is a thirty party administrator that processes and administers claims made under the Service Contract.
On or about March 19, 2015, Mr. ********n brought his Vehicle to Austin's Automotive Specialists ("Austin Automotive") for repairs, and his Vehicle was subsequently repaired. On or about March 31, 2015 Mr. ********n was again experiencing problems with his Vehicle, so he brought it to Covert Chrysler Dodge Jeep ("Repair Facility") for repairs. Aeverex has authorized payment for all repairs to Mr. ********n's Vehicle that the Repair Facility has presented to Aeverex. Aeverex is unsure as to why the repairs have not been completed yet on Mr. ********n's Vehicle.
While Mr. ********n's Vehicle has been at the Repair Facility, Aeverex has made numerous attempts to contact the Repair Facility on Mr. ********n's behalf. The Repair Facility has not been timely in returning Aeverex's phone calls or keeping Aeverex informed as to the status of Mr. ********n's Vehicle. In the past week alone, Aeverex has called the Repair Facility seven (7) times and left messages for the service advisor asking for a status update. Aeverex received a return call back today informing us that Mr. ********n's Vehicle should be repaired no later than Monday, *** 4, 2015. Although not required by the Service Contract, and in an effort to accommodate Mr. ********n, DriveTime **** be happy to reimburse Mr. ********n for any rental car expenses that he incurs/has incurred while his Vehicle is at the Repair Facility.

Customer's Concerns:
***** ********n is seeking to have his vehicle repaired in a timely manner.

Proposed Resolution:
Aeverex has authorized payment for all repairs to Mr. ********n's Vehicle that the Repair Facility has presented to us. Therefore, DriveTime has fulfilled all of its obligations under the terms and conditions of the Service Contract. If Mr. ********n rents a car while his Vehicle is at the Repair Facility, then DriveTime **** reimburse Mr. ********n for any rental car expenses he incurs during the time his Vehicle is at the Repair Facility.
As an organization that continually seeks to satisfy its customers, we are highly sensitive to any concerns raised about the quality of our products and/or services. In our efforts to resolve this complaint, we hope that Mr. ********n is satisfied with our diligence in addressing his concerns.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Much of the company's response is fiction.My car was purchased on March 9th.Was in repair on March,16.Picked up on March 21 and I did not receive the car again until *** 5th.It went back in *** 6th with a check engine light the following day,*** 6th.Again,the car is in service.I have spent over $1200 in cabfare since purchasing the car! And,again,hoop after hoop for repairs.

Final Business Response
CASE ID: XXXXXXXX
In response to ***** ********n's complaint filed on *** 7, 2015 expressing dissatisfaction with AeverexTM's response filed on *** 1, 2015, Aeverex has taken its standard steps to thoroughly and fully investigate this matter internally. Moreover, Aeverex believes that it has diligently attempted to address and resolve Mr. ********n's complaint expressing dissatisfaction with Aeverex's response.
Mr. ********ns *** 7th complaint expressed the following concerns: (1) that he has had to take his Vehicle back to a repair facility; and (2) he has spent $1,200 in cab fare since purchasing his Vehicle.
Aeverex recognizes that Mr. ********n's Vehicle has been in and out of repair facilities since he purchased his Vehicle. As Aeverex mentioned in its response filed on *** 1, 2015, Aeverex is a third party administrator who processes and administers claims under the Service Contract that Mr. ********n purchased. Aeverex's role under the terms of Mr. ********n's Service Contract is to process and administer claims that are presented to it from the Repair Facility. In order to quickly and efficiently process claims, Aeverex must receive cooperation from the Repair Facility. As mentioned in Aeverex's response filed on *** 1, 2015, Aeverex has had extreme difficulty in getting the Repair Facility to communicate or cooperate. However, to date, Aeverex has authorized payment for all repairs to Mr. ********n's Vehicle that the Repair Facility has presented to us. As such, the terms and conditions of the Service Contract have been complied with.
Additionally, as previously mentioned in Aeverex's response filed on *** 1, 2015, if Mr. ********n rents a car while his Vehicle is at the Repair Facility, he **** be reimbursed for those rental car expenses.
As an organization that continually seeks to satisfy its customers, we are highly sensitive to any concerns raised about the quality of our products and/or services. In our efforts to resolve this complaint quickly and amicably, we hope that Mr. ********n is satisfied with our diligence in addressing his concerns.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The repair facility my vehicle was at is a dealership.There phones are answered from 7-7.I would absolutely not rent a vehicle while mine was in repair after reading the number of people that were never reimbursed.I will continue warning future customers of DriveTime and Aeverex on social media.

05/11/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After speaking with a representative of Averex who quoted me $869.61 that Averex would cover in repair cost & Manager ****** refused to honor cost.
After speaking with a representative of Averex who quoted me $869.61 that Averex would cover in repair cost & Manager ****** refused to honor cost. Averex needs to pay the $869,.61 that they said they would. The part is the McPherson strut rider.

Desired Settlement
Averex needs to be responsible & pay the $869.61 that they said they would pay.

Business Response
In response to the complaint that ***** ****** filed with the BBB on April 9, 2015, Ethos Group Guaranty, Inc. ("Ethos Group") has taken its standard steps to thoroughly and fully investigate this matter internally. Moreover, Ethos Group believes that it has a fair and agreeable solution to offer to Ms. ******.

Summary.
***** ****** purchased a 2004 Mercedes-Benz E-Class ("Vehicle") on June 28, 2014 from DriveTime Miami Lakes Car Dealership ("Dealership"). Additionally, Ms. ****** purchased a "Pre-Owned Vehicle Coverage" Vehicle Service Contract ("Service Contract") from Ethos Group for her Vehicle.
On or about March 23, 2015, Ms. ****** brought her Vehicle in to MB Auto Repair Facility ("Repair Facility") for repairs. The Repair Facility identified that the Vehicle's struts needed to be replaced. Ethos Group informed Ms. ****** that the struts are not covered parts under her Service Contract, and as such Ethos Group would not authorize payment for the replacement of the struts. Ms. ****** claims that she was advised by an employee that the struts were covered parts under the Service Contract. Ethos Group has no record that this conversation took place. Despite this fact, and as a compromise and attempt to satisfy Ms. ******, Ethos Group has agreed to cover 50% of the cost to replace the struts.

Customer Concerns:
***** ****** wants to be reimbursed in the amount of $869.91 for the cost to replace the struts on her Vehicle.

Response to Customer Concerns:
Ms. ****** expressed concern that Ethos Group should authorize the replacement of the struts on her Vehicle. As mentioned above, the struts are not covered parts under the Service Contract. The Service Contract provides for the repair or replacement for covered parts that have broken down. Page three (3) of the Service Contract under the section "Covered Parts" lists the parts that are covered if a breakdown occurs. Struts are not listed under this section as covered parts that **** be repaired or replaced in the event of a breakdown. Even though the struts are not covered parts under the Service Contract, as a compromise and attempt to satisfy Ms. ******, Ethos Group has agreed to cover 50% of the cost to replace the struts.

Proposed Resolution:
Despite the fact that the struts on Ms. ******'s Vehicle are not covered parts under the Service Contract, Ethos Group has authorized the payment of 50% of the cost to replace the struts. If Ms. ****** can provide Ethos Group with name of the employee who told her the struts were covered under the Service Contract, and the date that the conversation took place, Ethos Group **** further investigate where or not the remaining 50% of the cost to replace the struts can be authorized.
As an organization that continually seeks to satisfy its customers, we are highly sensitive to any concerns raised about the quality of our products and/or services. In our efforts to resolve this case quickly and amicably, we hope Ms. ****** is satisfied with the resolution provided.

Page 1 of 7

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Service Contract Companies, Marketing Programs & Services, Computers Hardware, Software & Services, Auto Warranty Processing Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.