BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Pro-Active Berlin, Inc.

Phone: (972) 445-2400Fax: (972) 445-0633

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
03/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

They are not returning my calls in reference to the missing antenna. They half-completed the work.
Antenna was missing from car when I retrieved the car from the facility. The oil leak was supposed to be repaired however the car is still leaking as well as black smutt coming from the tailpipe. I paid for an oil change and the fluids levels were not replenished. I advised Adam and another employee about the antenna and fluid levels before I left the facility. They agreed to order an antenna and fluid to put in the car. They told me they would call in 3-4 days. They did not cal. I called them and was told the antenna was not in twice. They now are not answering the phone or calling me back regarding my issues with the incomplete and incorrect repairs as well as missing antenna.

Desired Settlement
They need to refund my money so that I can have the car properly repaired and antenna replaced or complete the work to my satisfaction.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: PRO ACTIVE CARE
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX

10/14/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Bought several coupons for service and they refused to honor them. I said the coupon has your name, your address and your phone number on it.
I purchased three coupons worth $850.00 worth of service for $89.95 each. A few months later when I went for an oil change they said that they had bought the company and it wasn't their coupon. I pointed out that the coupon had their name, address and phone number on it. They refused. After they went out of business the guy came around trying to ssell more coupons for his new business. I ran him off. SScam artist thieves. This action is really ccriminal because it is intentional.

Desired Settlement
I want the refund amount of one of the three cards I purchased. Never was able to use any of them.
The same guy came around trying to sell coupons later for the same company under a different naame. This is theft.

04/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I had my car serviced at Pro Active Berlin. The mechanic replaced the alternator. One week later the battery light and brake light would come on then off. I tried contacting Pro Active however they were closed due to no employees. When I took my car back the mechanic stated it was a short from alternator to engine. It should have been replaced when the alternator was replaced. He wanted to charge for replacing the wire. I requested the owner or manager and neither were on duty. I was only giving numbers to wrong locations. I have left a message on Pro Active Berlins website for owner to contact me. I have NOT been contacted by anyone from Pro Active Berlin regarding car problem. I also noticied other issues such as the resevoir was cracked from the side most likely due to changing the alternator. I do not trust this co.
Product_Or_Service: alternator

Desired Settlement
I would like to be reimbursed for repairs due to they did not repair properly and due to damages. I no longer feel safe driving my car.

04/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Had Toyota Celica towed to repair facility, confirmed delivery of car, repair facility lost vehicle and will not resolve issue.
2/2/13 vehicle towed to repair facility, arrived approximately 4:45. Spoke with manager "Steve", who confirmed receipt of vehicle. Spoke with manager, Steve, several times 2/4, 2/5, 2/6, 2/15 regarding vehicle. On 2/4 @ 12:31 PM manager Steve stated, "motor needed replaced, has a used motor with 99 K miles, cost for complete job $2300.00 and would be completed in five days. Steve stated has a loaner car, but waiting for customer to bring it back. I authorized repair with understanding that loaner car would be coming. 2/6/13 @ 4:11 PM, friend arrived at Pro-Active to retrieve personal items from vehicle, was assisted by Steve and mechanic Martin. On 2/15/13 @ 5:18 PM I called Pro-Active to determine status of repair, was placed on hold by manager Steve for quite a few minutes, but came back and state, "I don't have any record of your vehicle being here. I just started 10 days ago, because previous manager was fired". I informed him that my vehicle was towed to his shop and he and I spoke on the phone several times regarding the vehicle, its repair and the loaner vehicle. On 2/18/2013 @ 12:04 spoke with manager Steve, he stated that he could not find my vehicle, but offered to give me a Honda Vehicle of close year to my vehicle as replacement. I informed manager Steve that I want my vehicle, not some replacement and that If it is not found by end of business that I would be reporting the car as stolen. On subsequent calls manager Steve would not provide any owner contact information or their insurance carrier/policy number information for me to file a claim with Pro-Active's Insurance.

Desired Settlement
Replacement cost for vehicle $3000

04/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Shop was paid for work from Warranty Company in November - They did not do work and will not complete work or refund payment.
On November 21, 2012 my car was sent to this shop for transmission repair work. They worked directly with the warranty company and negotiated a payment of $2,700.91 to replace the transmission, which was paid for on 11/28/2012. I asked for and was told I would get a copy of the estimate and invoice, as well as all of the old parts. On December 19th they called me to tell me that the transmission replacement did not take care of the problem and they though it also needed a new valve body. They indicated that they spoke with the warranty company and negotiated a payment of $1,360 for that work, which was paid to them on 12/19/2012. Two days later they indicated that they could not complete the valve body work and that it needed to be sent to the Mercedes dealer for completion. Both the warranty company and I were told that Pro-Active works with the Mercedes shop on a regular basis and already set up the work and would pay Mercedes directly. Once the car was shipped to Mercedes, I was called by the Service advisor at Mercedes. He indicated that their dealership has NEVER worked with Pro-Active and he had no clue what I was talking about. He needed to do his own diagnostic work which I authorized and paid for. At this point Pro-Active was "closed for remodeling". Neither I nor the warranty company could reach Pro-Active for 3 weeks. During this time the Mercedes dealership did a diagnostic and determined that the transmission was not good, and most likely nothing was done to it at all. Their report shows:
"transmission does not look new or reman",
"found fluid is dark" (I saved a sample)
"found fine metal on bottom of transmission oil pan"
"found harsh shift and slipping"

On January 18th after the Mercedes inspection, the car was drivable but still not fixed. I picked up the car. I called Pro-Active the next day to find that they were re-open and I brought the car back to them.
I provided them copies of their work invoice, the proof of payment, as well as the Mercedes dealership findings. I was told that there was a new owner and he would contact me to discuss.
After two weeks of calling daily I never spoke with the owner.
On February 2, 2012, I picked the car up from Pro-Active un-fixed and still have not heard from the owner.

Desired Settlement
I would like the $4,060.91 back that they were paid, for work not completed. The warranty company basically said I have to get it from them and go find another shop to fix it. I would like the $2,137.50 back for the rental car I had to pay for while my car sat in thier shop for 9 weeks NOT BEING WORKED ON, as well as the $546.33 I paid to the Mercedes dealership for the diagnostic work done.

Consumer's Final Response
-----Original Message-----
From: Rus ****** (mailto:*****
Sent: Tuesday, March 05, 2013 11:56 AM
To: Info
Subject: BBB Complaint Case#XXXXXXXX(Ref#REDACT34*****@aol.com33*****@aol.com35REDACT)

I am curious as to how your system shows my complaint "resolved with BBB assistance" when the company did not even respond? I can tell you my issue certainly is not resolved seeing as I have never heard back from the company.

In addition, you have them listed as an Incorporated organization, which is incorrect. They are a partnership, and the State of Texas revoked their corporate charter years ago.

They do not have a license to do business with the City of Irving either.

I find it odd that your organization would "Accredit" a business that has failed to maintain their good standing with the state and does not honor their commitments.

People rely on your organization to help them decide who to work with, and you are being negligent in your continued support of this business.

****** 'Rus' ******

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Services, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Suspension, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.