BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2003

Kwik Kar On Legacy

Phone: (972) 517-9555Fax: (972) 517-9613

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
05/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: The service man didn't replace the air filter correctly which caused the engine light lit up. The guy answered me hung me up when I was talking.
Last week when I did the oil change the service man asked me to change the air filter and flush the steering oil but since I was busy at that time so I didn't do it. Two days later the engine light lit up. I opened the hood today and found the air filter was not tighten up. The cover was not closed tight. I called in to complains but the the guy answered me hung me up when I was still talking.

Initial Business Response
Mr ***, My name is ***** and I'm the store manager at the Kwik Kar location at 305 Legacy dr. zip XXXXX in Plano, I have searched for your name in our system and have not been successful, Please give me a call to verify that our location is where you had your vehicle serviced and if so we will be more than happy to take care of any issues you may have.. Thank You *****
(XXX)XXX-XXXX

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I had my mechanics fixed it. Basically a valve was broken when the service guy tried to open the filter. When I told the manager of the store, he said it's ok since it's fixed but didn't ask my spending on it. Not happy and I will never go there any more.

Final Business Response
Mr. ***,
This is ******* *******, the owner of Kwik Kar on Legacy. I contacted Mr. Li, the mechanic who worked on your car. The engine code he detected requires a quick check of the hoses to the valve. If the valve connector is broken, you can replace it quickly; there is no reason to spend 2-3 hours to do the job, as the bill states.
As we discussed, I am sending you a check for $116.49 to cover the cost of the part and an hour of labor to diagnose and fix the problem. Considering all sides of the situation, I believe this is a fair resolution. I am also sending you a coupon for one free oil change for the inconvenience caused. The coupon is transferrable.
I hope this represents the conclusion of the situation. Again, I am sorry your experience was less than satisfactory and I hope we can do better next time.
Thank you.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: Oil filter installed failed and caused engine to be ruined. Filter was sent to manufacturer and determined to have been installed incorrectly.
On April 11, 2013 I paid Kwik Kar on Legacy for a full service oil change. On April 25, 2013 at approximately 9:00pm, while I was on a road trip to Missouri, the oil filter failed while I was on the highway and caused the engine to be damaged beyond repair. I had the car towed to a Ford Dealership in the nearest city, Rolla, MO. They indicated that all the oil appeared to come directly out of where the oil filter connected to the car and that there was oil sprayed all under the bottom of the car in a V-shape starting at the oil filter. I called Kwik Kar on Monday, April 29, 2013 to notify them of what occurred. I spoke with the Manager (Mike) and agreed not to have any work done on the car until he had a chance to contact the Ford dealership and possibly go to Missouri to see the car himself. **** called me back on Wednesday, May 1, 2013 and indicated that he found out what he needed to from the Ford dealership and indicated it was ok for me to have the car repaired so I could get it back to Plano, TX where I live. **** asked that I bring the filter that had appeared to fail back to Kwik Kar so they could send it back to their supplier for testing. I provided the filter to **** at Kwik Kar on Monday, May 5th, once I returned from Missouri with the car once it was repaired. I followed up with **** several times and finally received a call back from Mike indicating that the filter had failed and Kwik Kar was waiting to see what the supplier of the filters was going to do for me. On May 9, 2013, I provided Mike with a copy of all the receipts from having the car repaired and my costs associated with being stranded. I had not heard back from **** for about a week so I called Kwik Kar and asked for him and was told that **** was no longer with the company. I spoke to **** who was another Manager at Kwik Kar and he indicated they were still waiting to hear back from the supplier on the test results on the filter. I told him that the other Manager, ***** had told me that the results were already back and had indicated that the filter had failed. **** told me he would look into it and get back with me. I called back numerous times over the next several weeks and spoke to one other Manager named ****** but, still never was provided any answers. I called and asked to speak with the owner of the company several times and he was never available. On Wednesday, June 19, 2013, I finally called and indicated to the Manager on duty that I needed to hear back from the owner of the company by the end of the day or I would be filing a small claims suit against Vipra, Inc., dba Kwik Kar of Legacy and ******* and Veena ******* the directors of the company. I then received a call back from ******* ******* who offered to meet with me at his office the next day. I met with ******* ******* on Thursday, June 20, 2013. He indicated to me that they had not heard back from the supplier in reference to the test on the oil filter. I told him that his former manager, **** had told me several weeks ago that they had the results back. He then called one of his current managers, **** into the office and asked him if they hade the test results. **** indicated that they did have the test results and they indicated that the oil filter failed due to faulty installation. Mr. ******* then proceeded to offer me free oil changes for a year. I indicated that did not come close to my cost of over $4,200 to have the engine replaced. He just indicated that he should have been given a chance to fix the oil filter problem before the engine failed. I told him that I did not know there was a problem with the filter prior to the engine failing. His manager inidicated that they caused the failure, but Mr. ******* was not willing to pay for the repairs necessitated by their mistake. That is why I am submitting this complaint to the BBB.

Business' Initial Response
Mr. ********:

We changed the oil in your vehicle on April 11th. For the next fourteen days, you did not notice nor report any leaks (such as oil on the ground) nor observe any "low oil pressure" indication on the dashboard. After 14 days, on April 25th, you took your trip to St Louis from the Dallas area. For this fourteen day period nothing went wrong.

You then had the problem on the road close to the St Louis area. The repair shop you went to, reported that the filter was still in place tight. The filter was installed correctly. They sent us the filter which we forwarded to the manufacturer (Pennzoil) for test.

Test reports came back from manufacturer stating they found nothing wrong with the filter after extensive testing. I have the report and will be glad to provide you with a copy.

As I stated before, I do not see any culpability on our business' part for the following reasons:

1.Our responsibility lies in using the right filter, tightening it and making sure there are no leaks. If this is not done correctly, oil would leak in a matter of minutes and you would have had the issue within a day.
2.When a vehicle loses oil, the low oil pressure indicator turns on and stays on. You do not report such observation even while you were driving to St Louis when you reportedly lost all oil. This implies either the low oil pressure indicator (or the system behind it) did not work or you ignored that indication.

It is the vehicle operator's responsibility to report any problems such as leaks or low oil pressure indication. As stated on the invoice, the owner is required to stop operating the vehicle and to bring it immediately to the shop if a problem is noticed, to have it rectified.

Problems related to oil change are experienced in the first few miles of driving in the first few hours after an oil change.

The conclusion, therefore, is that
- The fact that there was no oil leak reported for fourteen days confirms that the filter was placed correctly.
- Manufacturer's report proves that the filter's integrity was never compromised.
- The incident was caused by a factor other than the placement of filter or by the filter itself.

Notwithstanding this, I offered you four free oil changes for a year. The offer is still open.

Thank you.
******* *******
Owner, Kwik Kar on Legacy, Plano Texas.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Please accept this correspondence and credit card dispute on behalf of charges leveled by Kwik Kar on Legacy @ Chase Oaks (http://kwikkarlegacy.com/), an auto repair service center, against my US Airways Master Card account for $565.42. I dispute these charges based on the lack of competency in this service retailer and the inability to complete repairs as guaranteed by the service center. On July 1, 2013, I telephoned Kwik Kar on Legacy @ Chase Oaks and described an antifreeze and coolant problem emitting from the passenger side of the engine block of a 1997 Isuzu Oasis equipped with a Honda engine. The customer service representative, identifying himself as Damon, claimed that his garage was very familiar with Honda engines and could resolve my problem after an inspection of the vehicle. On July 2, 2013, Damon from called me and said Kwik Kar technicians diagnosed the coolant problem as oil leaking from the engine onto a lower radiator hoses deteriorating the coupling of the hose. Additionally, Damon recommended a full replacement of several hoses that he diagnosed as aged. He also recommended replacing the vehicles thermostat. These services amounted to $188.85 in parts and $360.99 in labor. Demon called me later on July 2, and announced that the job was done. I gave him authorization to make the charges against my credit card over the phone. Upon picking up the vehicle, and driving a short distance to my home, the vehicle began to overheat and demonstrate the exact same problems that cause the initial service request at Kwik Kar on Legacy @ Chase Oaks. I contacted Damon, and told him that the vehicle could not be driven given the entire loss of antifreeze coolant and he said he would come out to my house and fix the vehicle on site. On the morning of July 3, a technician arrived at my home at approximately 7:00 a.m. and began examining the bleeder valve on the engine block. I monitored the situation for approximately 20 minutes and had to leave for work and left the technician alone to complete the job. I understood that the technician could not fix the problem at my home and he elected to transport the vehicle back to the Kwik Kar on Legacy @ Chase Oaks location. I received a call later on July 3 announcing that the vehicle was once again repaired. After driving the vehicle a short distance to the local Kroger grocery store, the vehicle once again exhibited the exact same problematic issues with overheating. I contacted Damon and again explained to him that the vehicle could not be driven. He said he would have one of his technicians respond to the Kroger parking lot and repair the vehicle or transport it back to the car Kwik Kar on Legacy @ Chase Oaks location. Over the next two weeks the vehicle was returned to Kwik Kar on Legacy @ Chase Oaks on five separate occasions. Each time, Kiki Kar on Legacy @ Chase Oaks claimed the vehicle was fixed and test driven. Following each confirmation by Kwik Kar on Legacy @ Chase Oaks the same core problem resurfaced indicating that the problem was not resolved and the vehicle could not be driven. Following the fourth repair, I noticed pieces of the vehicles undercarriage exposed to the road along with a substantial amount of anti-freeze coolant loss. The continued incompetency of the technicians coupled with Damons insistent reassurance that the vehicle was fully repaired presented numerous transportation problems for my family to transport family members to school, work, doctors appointments, and daily travel needs. Throughout this period of poor craftsmanship by the Kwik Kar on Legacy @ Chase Oaks service center, I never received any explanation why the garage and technicians could not repair the coolant problem. Each time the garage, and specifically Damon, promised me that the problem was fixed and that he had personally taken the vehicle on test drives and had overseen the work. My family became the quality control mechanism for the shoddy repair work offered by the Kwik Kar garage. In my frustration to resolve the horrific customer service experience with Kwik Kar on Legacy @ Chase Oaks and in particular Damon and his false promises of work completed, I asked for a refund of my initial credit card charges. Damon told me that he did not have the ability to issue any type of credit and that the owner of the store, *******, refused to release his phone number or contact information to address customer service issues., I directed Damon to have ******* call me and asked for a response by July 15, 2013. As of this writing, I have not received any communication from ******* of any other representative of Kwik Kar on Legacy @ Chase Oaks. In summary, I dispute the charges leveled against me for the amount of $565.42 and ask for them to be reversed from my MasterCard account number ending in 1074. I have tried in good faith to resolve this issue with the local service center and I found only excuses and roadblocks to any type of customer service response or credit to my falsely charged account for services that I do not believe were either valid, performed, or required. Please feel to call me or email me if you need additional information.

Business' Initial Response
Requested an extension.

Business' Final Response
I have discussed this with the customer. We are woking towards resolution.

I will provide details when we have resolved the case.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.