BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/16/2011

Earth Collision Center

Phone: (214) 483-1133Fax: (214) 483-1134

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
09/16/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Excessive time spent diagnosing vehicle. Poor customer service on an average every on and three calls were returned. Customer charged $300+/- for misdiagnosis of vehicle, also there was a failure to secure authorization of this work. Inordinate time loss from work on repeated phone calls, including three trips to and from the company in question -- all with NO resolution to issue.
Product_Or_Service: Insurance Repair of vehicle
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like a FULL refund (sent to my address) of money spend on the unauthorized brake repair work, and a formal written apology from the owner (not an email).

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ******* General Mgr.
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@earthcollisioncenter.com
I have spoken with the customer regarding all of the issues addressed in this complaint and will be resolving this complaint by refunding him the total amount that was paid for the work in reference to this complaint. An initial authorization was obtained at the beginning of the initial repairs but a when additional work was done outside of the scope of insurance related repairs a second authorization was not obtained from the customer. I have apologized directly to the customer for the problems that occurred and for the inconvenience to him.

Consumer's Final Response
Earth Collion has apologized for the inconvenience they caused, and issued a full refund for the amount of the unauthorized repairs. I am completely satisfied with the outcome of the dispute, and would like to thank them for their prompt attention to my concerns.

11/26/2012Problems with Product / Service
01/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My car repairs are not completed after two visits to the shop and poor Customer Service Practice.
On 10/08/13 I received a call stating that my car was ready. I left work early 10/09/13 to pick up my car and return the rental that needed to go back that day. My car was not complete, the washer pump which was suppose to be replaced and checked for defects, were not, because the fluid was not in the pump, nor was the fluid going through the rear wipers. My lights were dim, my horn was out of wack, the front end is out of sorts and theer is a vibration and humming sound where the car was impacted.I asked for a refund of my deductible because I was very dissatisfied and they didn't want to rectify the problem. The next day I called and spoke with the manager West and he said to bring my car back and they will reorder a part and fix the problem. I didn't want to do that because I was already inconviened and didn't have the time or money to go back. On 10/15/13 I decided to bring my car back against my will, because my adjuster said to give them another try. The next day I had gone to pick my car up and return another rental, which I had to pay a deposit for I didn't have or shouldn't have had to pay for because of my Inconvience. My car still not fixed properly, I'm still experiencing issues and asked that the Owner call me and West stated that the owner won't be back until next week. I still have not heard from the Owner as today, 10/30/13. Very very Poor Customer Service.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of my deductible, so I can bring my car to another car shop for Complete Repairs.

Business Response
The statements made in this complaint are false. When this customer first came in to pick up her vehicle she told our service advisor that she didn't think she should have to pay her deductible because she didn't have it. At that time our service advisor told her that we could not release her vehicle to her until the deductible was paid. At that point she threatened our service advisor and he walked away. She came into the office gave our receptionist $500 cash but not before cussing at her and calling her several derogatory names. The customer called the following day and spoke with the manager *** to complain that her rear window wiper was not functioning properly and her fog lamps didn't work, she was told at that point that we would be happy to address any remaining issues that were present and to bring her vehicle back in at her convenience. She stated at that point that she wanted us to come pick up her vehicle at her home and deliver a rental car to her. She was told that unfortunately we could not meet that request. 3 days later she brought her car back to the shop. Once at the shop she explained her concerns to ***. The fog lamps and rear window wiper were all functioning properly and no additional work was done to them; she simply did not know how to operate her fog lamps or rear window wiper. *** showed her how to operate both and at that point she began cussing at him; at one point even accused the shop of installing a factory fog lamp button that wasn't there before (the button was always present in her car). We still went ahead and kept the vehicle overnight and paid for her rental car to check out the vibration that she said was present. There was no additional damage found on her vehicle and everything was functioning properly. The GEICO representative on site at our Carrollton location also re-inspected her vehicle and could not identify any additional damage on her vehicle. We even went one step further and filled up her gas tank from 1/2 tank to full at a cost of about $30 since she had driven the vehicle back to us to look at. When she came to pick up her vehicle she was angry walking in the door because she had been told once again over the phone that we could not refund her deductible. She then threatened the manager *** while constantly yelling and cussing. When asked to refrain from using this type of language in the shop she simply replied "F YOU". This whole time ***, our service advisor ******, nor Carol our receptionist lost their temper with this customer and remained calm. She did ask to speak to the owner of the company and was told that he was out of town and would be in the office the following week. She was given the owner's office number and apparently never called him. Through all of the dealings with this customer she screamed, yelled and cussed at every person she dealt with to include the GEICO adjusters and the GEICO supervisor. The work that was done to her vehicle was performed properly and there was zero reason for Earth Collision to refund any money to this customer. The customer set up the $500.00 deductible with GEICO when she purchased her policy and that has nothing to do with Earth Collision Center. We have done everything possible to make her a happy customer other than refunding her deductible which cannot happen and is part of her GEICO insurance policy.

Consumer Response
I just received this letter today and did not have adequate time to reply. The remarks that *** made are untrue. I did not curse anybody in that office and for the record he told me Customers are Not Always Right and also Harassed me constantly questioning me when I asked not to question me and to tell his boss to call me. I've been operating my car for over 5 years and know how to work my car. The worker checked my rear wipers and already knows it was not working, because he asked if it was working before the accident and I told him yes. My lights are still not working properly nor has the vibration stopped. I'm very appalled that a manager would lie. This is why I didn't want to bring my car back a second time. It was very inconvient for me to bring my car back for proper repairs,which they did not check to see if were correct because there was no wiper fluid in my car when I picked it up the first time. I also have pictures where the bumper is not fixed properly. I need someone to help me , the consumer.I have rights.

03/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Car was taken to Earth Collision, when i went to pick it up it was not operable & they offered a loaner until repaired. Now they refuse to pay.
My car was taken to Earth Collision on December 21 due to an accident my mother had while driving my car. Her insurance, Geico had a tow company pick my car up and tow it to their facility in The Colony. I spoke to a gentleman named Tim and was not sure if he was the Geico rep or Earth Collision rep but he promised me a pick up date of Friday January 4th. My mother's insurance policy did not cover a rental so I was left with no vehicle for this 2 week period as I stressed to Tim on numerous occasions. When I had a co-worker take me to Earth Collision on January 4th. Tim mentioned that a part had been ordered incorrectly and that I would need to bring my car in on the following Thursday to have quickly install. Once I got in my car and drove off I was shocked to find that my car would not accelerate over 20 mph. I then turned around and parked the car. I went in to discuss with Tim and he immediately offered a rental car through Enterprise and even called to schedule my pick-up and car type. My co-worker Binh Bell was witness to the entire conversation. Tim told me he would contact me on Saturday morning and let me know what the issue was and was hopeful I could pick my car up no later than Monday. I never heard from Tim so I called him on Monday morning. He said he didn't know what was wrong with my car but they noticed it was low on oil. I had just had the oil changed 5 days before the accident and knew this couldn't be true. Tim said he was going to take my car to the Chevy dealership to see what repairs were needed. I asked if we could take to the same place the oil was changed so they could correct if it was in fact their issue and it was close . Tim had my car towed to Affordable Automotive. It took 10 days for someone to respond to me in regards my car as it sat at Affordable with no work being performed. I called Tim to get an update with no returned call. My car ended up having 2 busted rods in the transmission due to the impact of the hit and a broken axial. Insurance approved he repairs and the work began on my car. On Wednesday January 23rd a charge for $456 was charged to my credit card for the Enterprise rental car which I still had since the repairs on my car were not completed. I called Enterprise to tell them about the mistake because, I only authorized $50 for incidentals and that Earth Collision was responsible for the rental. They stated that Earth Collision had denied payment. I called Tim and his boss WIll and left both messages to discuss the error. I then toke the car and dropped it off at Earth Collision as the Enterprise rep recommended me doing. Tim called me on Thursday, January 24th and said that he would not pay for the car while it was at Affordable Automotive because it had nothing to do with him. He never called telling me to return the car and that he would not be responsible. He told me that "he would cover the rental until my car was repaired" which is what I assumed since I was never told otherwise. Tim said he would talk to a supervisor and promised me a call back on Friday, January 25th to let me know how much of the rental they would pay. It is now Tuesday, January 29th and I have not received a call from him. All I'm asking for is to be refunded the $456.00 and the repairs that still aren't completed on my car be taken care of immediately

Desired Settlement
I am asking Earth Collision to honor the promise that Tim made in regards to providing me a rental car until my car was repaired, which to date is still not repaired as billed to the insurance company. The total days i drove the rental were January 4th through January 23rd in the amount of $456.00. I am also requesting the repairs still needed on my car be completed in a timely manner.

Business' Initial Response
We have spoken to the customer and the complaint is being resolved. We are reimbursing her for the rental and her parts have been here waiting for her return to be installed. This installation is taking place today Friday Feb 1st. She should be all taken care of after today...

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did receive the reimbursement for the rental car. Parts were installed on my vehicle on Friday, February 1st which I had no idea they had in their shop for three weeks due to the lack of communication through the 6 week ordeal. I just received my car on January 25th so it would have been nice to have known they had parts to be installed while my car was still being worked on and not in my possession. I am STILL WAITING on an item to be repaired. I was promised on Friday that someone would contact me on Monday to schedule the repair and as usual I haven't heard from them and its now Tuesday.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Automobile Reconditioned Detailing, Auto Paintless Dent Repair, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Repairing - Foreign

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.