BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/18/2005

Community Auto Repair

Phone: (972) 517-0093Fax: (972) 517-0509View Additional Phone Numbers901 W Spring Creek Pkwy Ste 100, PlanoTX 75023-4459 Send email to Community Auto Repair

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/18/2005

BBB has determined that Community Auto Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Community Auto Repair's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
01/31/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized repair

Complaint: Was told they would call with an estimate before doing any work. Was assured this 3 times during the 3 days, but was called with a bill.
Our 2001 Cherokee had leaks regarding oil, radiator, and transmission fluid as well as electrical problems. In Sept 2012, Community Auto Repair supposedly fixed the electrical problem with the headlight, but created a new problem by shorting out the blinkers. At that time, they stated that there were no leaks and that the oil usuage was due to someone not putting the plug back in correctly after an oil change.

However, we continued to replace all of these fluids and the headlight went out again. It was difficult getting the car back into the shop due to work and school restraints. After a warning ticket in Dec, we again took the car in to have it checked out, Saturday January 5, 2013. To jog their memory, we explained the previous repair situation, with this same business, and were told we would receive a call with estimates if there were to be any cost incurred.

They later indicated they would need to keep the car overnight and perhaps through Monday. We left them two (2) phone numbers where we could be reached. We also stressed the importance of keeping the car locked due to expensive car additions. They assured us that the car would be locked and that the car would be kept in the shop overnight.

On Monday, we received a call indicating that they went ahead and fixed the headlight problem and that the cost would be an even $200.

When we picked up the car, the car was in the parking lot unlocked. The fee was $199.95; not an even $200. The electical problem has not been fixed as the blinkers are still sticking. We were upset at the quality of the first repair, so gave them a second opportunity. The electical problem continues that has been paid for twice now and we are upset that their word was/is no good when they state(d) they would contact us prior to any repairs as well as be considerate of our safety concerns for the vehicle contents.

The repair was unauthorized as my son could have had a friend do this portion of the work needed for much cheaper. I paid the bill because he did not have this much money and in no way expected work to be performed without authorization.

The receipt further shows no fee for a part so this situation does not seem on the up and up.

We wish a refund of the fees.

Business' Initial Response
First the customer is absolutely right about; should be informed with the cost prior the performance of any repair, and we do apologize for the miscommunication, but it was for the benefit of the customer, and this why.
Our electrician was digging to find the source of the head light problem, and after about 3 hours of labor he did locate the problem, at this point it is a matter of changing the defective part, and the total cost will be the cost of the needed part plus the labor hours and the diagnostic fee, and when you do the math it is better to finish the job since we are already there instead of paying for the diagnostic and the labor hours to get to the source of the problem without finishing the repair. This does not mean that we have to perform the job without communicating the cost to the customer and I personally apologize for ****** again, since this miscommunication should never occur from our end.
Regarding the sticking signal, this was due to a defective head light switch and the customer has brought the vehicle back to the shop and the issue has been resolved under warranty.
For the parking issue the vehicle is always kept in the shop at night and it was at shop parking lot ready for the customer pick-up, and if the customer did not show; the vehicle would be locked inside the shop after the working hours, as the customer was promised.

Thanks,
****** ******
Community Auto Repair
********************************
Plano, TX XXXXX

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/18/2014Problems with Product / Service
10/22/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Inspection Stations

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/16/2004Business started: 01/01/2003
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Public Safety
5805 North Lamar Blvd.
Austin, TX78752
(512) 424-2000
http://www.txdps.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Partnership

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ahmed Farghal (Co-Owner)Customer Contact: Mr. Imad Omer (Co-Owner)
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Inspection Stations

Industry Tips
The Hail Season is Here

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Community Auto Repair

901 W Spring Creek Pkwy Ste 100

Plano, TX 75023-4459

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 901 W Spring Creek Pkwy Ste 100 

    Plano, TX 75023-4459(972) 517-0093
    (817) 759-1311

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Community Auto Repair is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (817) 759-1311
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

The Hail Season is Here
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.