BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Christian Brothers Automotive-Cedar Hill

Phone: (214) 247-8005Fax: (214) 247-8008

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
09/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I told Christian Bros there was a problem with the transmission on 08/05/13.They said it was leaking oil. 2 days later sayin it was the transmission.
I had my car towed at Christian on 08/05/13 I told them there was a transmission problem with my 2008 Nissan. When the car got there they called me and said my car wouldn't start.. I advise them to put my key in the key hole and the car will start. They wouldn't do it and claimed that i need a battery. I gave them the ok to get a battery so they can run tests on the car. Later Day 1 08/05/13 they told me it was not the transmission the car was leaking oil. I had never seen oil leaking from the car previous. A clear liquid was coming from the car not oil. Day 2 only had one call back stated they flush the motor and drove the car and it still was not driving right. They told me that they will would call me back later that day. They called back but i missed the called 5 min later i called him back. He stated the he call me by mistake and would call me back after his techs got finish looking at the car this was around 5:30pm. I never received a called back from them. Day 3 I received a call in the morning around 8 saying I needed a new transmission. The codes on the car already stated it was a transmission problem and they decide to work on other things that was not the problem why the car wouldn't run. My opinion is Christian Bros wanted bill me for other things before fixing the real problem with my car. When I brought this to there attention guy on the phone started talking over me after he didn't like what i said about them not addressing the transmission in the first place and was very rude and would not let me get out another word. I really feel like was not treated fairly.

Desired Settlement
I do not want to be charge for the battery. Or of the work that had nothing to do with my the real problem with the car.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* - Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************@cbauto.net
Thank you so much Mr. ****** for your feedback. We really do value your opinions and certainly do appreciate your concerns. We would like to sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations and want you to know that we evaluate all of our customer concerns in an effort to improve our processes and offer excellent service and value to our customers.

The vehicle in question was towed to us, as it was not in a drivable condition. Upon inspection it was found that there was no oil showing on the engine dipstick, and the fault codes present in the vehicles computer where as such: EMISSION FAULT CODE P0340-CAM SENSOR CIRCUIT BANK 1 AND P0011-CAM SENSOR OVER ADVANCED OR SYSTEM
PERFORMANCE. With these codes present, the system will not further identify faults related to the transmission, and timing advance issues with the engine can often mimic transmission issues. Using the most economical route to correcting the fault condition and halting the loss of oil, and with Mr. ****** approval, we did in fact correct the internal engine issue and return it to proper operation. It is regrettable that there was in fact a fault with the transmission that presented itself during the test drive after getting the engine running correctly.

Regardless of which was addressed first, both issues would require correction to place the vehicle in a state for use as reliable transportation. We advised Mr. ****** that the transmission may very well be covered under the manufacturers extended warranty, but apparently they would not extend their warranty on this particular vehicle. It is commonly known they have had issues with the reliability of their CVT transmission and have greatly extended their warranty on a large number of products utilizing it.

As is most often the case, we are regarded as hero's when in these instances our 80+ years of experience and expertise work out in a customers favor, but when it does not we are occasionally held liable for issues out of our control. If there were any question of liability on our part for a misdiagnosis or questionable ethics, I would be the first to take immediate responsibility, but in this case there is neither and we stand as such.

03/26/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A radio ad offered $25 off for new customers. I was not given this discount and would like a $25 credit on my card.
I took my car to the Cedar Hill location on 2/8/13. Upon return to pay my bill and pick up my car, I mentioned a radio ad that stated a $25 discount as follows: 94.9 KLTY - on-air personality "Tony Lopez" extolled the quality and service of Christian Brothers as trustworthy and stated that new customers received $25.00 off first service, if they mention "Tony Lopez".

When I went to pick up my car, I mentioned Tony Lopez and the radio ad. They guy who took payment for my bill indicated that he had already created and printed the invoice, and it was too much trouble to re-do it - he offered to give me $25.00 off my next service.

I won't be returning to Christian Brothers, so there won't be a next service. Emails via the web site to Christian Brothers have gone unanswered.

Customer: ****** ******
Repair Order: XXXXXXX
Payment Date: 2/11/13

Desired Settlement
I would like them to honor their radio advertisement on 94.9 KLTY radio via "Tony Lopez", and provide a refund of the $25.00 discount for new customers.

Business' Initial Response
We appologize for the confusion concerning Mrs. ******'s discount. I will be happy to personally pay her the discount amount she is requesting anytime she can stop by to collect it.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mail it. I don't want to visit their business again and they are fare from where I live now. PO Box **************** XXXXX.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Brake Service, Auto Electric Service, Auto Air Conditioning

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.