BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/25/2013

Smart Auto Leasing LLC

Phone: (972) 827-9400Fax: (972) 827-9405

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
07/21/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the service

Complaint: Vehicle purchased was AS-IS condition,however was able to negotiate $ for new tires.Signed a paper promissing the $and was denied after walked out.
Purchased vehicle AS-IS condition. However, since i wasn't happy with the current conditions of the rear tires, I was able to negotiate $640. I "signed a document promissing" they will cut a check once the vechile finance is finalized. I walked out from the dealership with the vehicle key and when I got home received an e-mail stating "they have already replaced the rear tires some month ago" and will not replace them again. The aggreement was to cut me a check regardless they replaced them some months ago or not. They also will not give me a copy of the "Promissing document I signed" stating they will cut a check. I have made multiple attempts via e-mail to collect the check.

Initial Business Response
see attachment

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
Lee,

Below is the whole conversation between the client and our agent.

*******
Smart Auto Leasing


Begin forwarded message:
From: **** **** <*****@*********************
Date: July 1, 2014 at 12:41:00 PM CDT
To: ******* *** <*******@*********************
Subject: FW: SCANNED IMAGE2
Below is the entire communication thread between he and Lee.


From: Lee Allen
Sent: Tuesday, June 24, XXXX X:XX AM
To: R. *****
Subject: Re: SCANNED IMAGE2

Your copies are in your folder.

Sent from my iPhone

On Jun 24, 2014, at 9:11 AM, "R. *****" <*******@hotmail.com> wrote:
Could you please send me the document I signed on this?
"Love God with all your heart, with all your soul."

________________________________________
From: ******@smartautoleasing.com
To: *******@hotmail.com
Subject: RE: SCANNED IMAGE2
Date: Mon, 23 Jun 2014 14:39:18 +0000
Good Morning Sir,
I'm am sorry you feel this way but you are requesting monies for something that was already handled and to me, that is wrong also. There is nothing more to discuss on this point. You have the invoice clearly reflecting the tires were taken care of and replaced.

Thank you and please have a good day

From: ** *****
Sent: Monday, June 23, XXXX X:XX AM
To: *** *****
Subject: RE: SCANNED IMAGE2

Hello Lee,
This is very unprofessional of your company to contact me in regards to a contract that has been already agreed up on and
already on paper. I'm sorry but our arrangement was to cut me a check on today. Monday, June 23rd when the finance goes through.
This is all on the contract and signed on paper. I expect the check as agreed on paper.

Thanks,
*****
"Love God with all your heart, with all your soul."

________________________________________
From: ******@smartautoleasing.com
To: *******@hotmail.com
Subject: RE: SCANNED IMAGE2
Date: Fri, 20 Jun 2014 22:42:39 +0000
*****,
All of our lease returns are sold as is, no exception. This is why only approximately 35% of all vehicles we bring in off lease are even offered to the general public in the market, as opposed to being shipped directly to auction. Only the vehicles that we deem as close to perfect as possible will we keep in an effort to remarket for lease or finance.
I was simply helping you out to get a new tire until of course I found out that we just completed the replacement of the tires. Since the tires are brand new, there clearly is not a need to buy new ones. If this is not to your satisfactory, please let me know. However it doesn't make sense to purchase new tires twice.

From: ** *****
Sent: Friday, June 20, XXXX X:XX PM
To: *** *****
Cc: ***** **********
Subject: RE: SCANNED IMAGE2

Hi Lee,
I have requested new tires and the arrangement were to replace the tires regardless of run flats. We have already agreed and signed a paper on this deal.

Thanks.
*****
"Love God with all your heart, with all your soul."

________________________________________
From: ******@smartautoleasing.com
To: *******@hotmail.com
CC: ***********@smartautoleasing.com
Subject: FW: SCANNED IMAGE2



We replaced 2 tires with Pirelli Run Flat tires for the amount of $648.16. Attached is a copy of the original invoice for those. So with this, the vehicle has all new matching (4) run flat tires. There will not be a check sent for tires because they were just replaced.

I thought you would like the invoice for you records so when you need to replace them you will have a reference to what they are and the cost involved.

Lee Allen
Finance and Leasing Agent
Smart Auto Leasing
2101 Gateway Dr
Irving, TX XXXXX


From: SalesDept Scan
Sent: Friday, June 20, XXXX X:XX PM
To: Lee Allen
Subject: SCANNED IMAGE2


This e-mail and any files transmitted with it are the property of Smart Auto Leasing, LLC and/or its affiliates, are confidential, and are intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to whom this e-mail is addressed. If you are not a named addressee or otherwise have reason to believe that you have received this message in error, please notify the sender by replying to this e-mail and deleting this message and any attached files immediately from your computer. Any other use, retention, dissemination, forwarding, printing, or copying of this e-mail is strictly prohibited.
This e-mail and any files transmitted with it are the property of Smart Auto Leasing, LLC and/or its affiliates, are confidential, and are intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to whom this e-mail is addressed. If you are not a named addressee or otherwise have reason to believe that you have received this message in error, please notify the sender by replying to this e-mail and deleting this message and any attached files immediately from your computer. Any other use, retention, dissemination, forwarding, printing, or copying of this e-mail is strictly prohibited.
This e-mail and any files transmitted with it are the property of Smart Auto Leasing, LLC and/or its affiliates, are confidential, and are intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to whom this e-mail is addressed. If you are not a named addressee or otherwise have reason to believe that you have received this message in error, please notify the sender by replying to this e-mail and deleting this message and any attached files immediately from your computer. Any other use, retention, dissemination, forwarding, printing, or copying of this e-mail is strictly prohibited.
This e-mail and any files transmitted with it are the property of Smart Auto Leasing, LLC and/or its affiliates, are confidential, and are intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to whom this e-mail is addressed. If you are not a named addressee or otherwise have reason to believe that you have received this message in error, please notify the sender by replying to this e-mail and deleting this message and any attached files immediately from your computer. Any other use, retention, dissemination, forwarding, printing, or copying of this e-mail is strictly prohibited.
This e-mail and any files transmitted with it are the property of Smart Auto Leasing, LLC and/or its affiliates, are confidential, and are intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to whom this e-mail is addressed. If you are not a named addressee or otherwise have reason to believe that you have received this message in error, please notify the sender by replying to this e-mail and deleting this message and any attached files immediately from your computer. Any other use, retention, dissemination, forwarding, printing, or copying of this e-mail is strictly prohibited.

04/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi BBB
to whom it may concern i have a complain about a car dealer located in Irvine Texas
name of car dealer is
Smart Auto Leasing
2101 Gateway Dr
Irving, TX XXXXX-XXXX
it started with me finding a Corvette they had for sale on ebay and i wanted to call the company to get some more info regarding the vehicle, i talked to Mr ****** at Smart Auto leasing and asked my question regarding this 2001 Corvette
http://smartautoleasing.ebizautos.com/detail-2001-chevrolet-corvette-2dr_cpe-used-XXXXXXXX.html
I asked Mr ****** if he could tell me the lowest price he could go to sell it now, and i was told US$18990 so i said ok i could offer him US$19000 for this Corvette, he then agreed to sell me the vehicle for the amount of US$19000 and he charged my creditcard US$1000 for deposit,
i then started to write Mr ****** and email the way i usually do my business by asking him for payment/banking info so i could start to transfere the finale amount, i also did in same email sending him my contact person for pick up and shipping so he would know when he have received the total amount my shipping agent would arrange pick up and shipping,
after one hour he suddenly changed his mind and said he would need US$20875 for the exact same vehicle, this extra US$1875 was the total fees he claimed, i was never mention any extra fees nor in add on their homepage or ebay or on the phone when i talked to Mr ******
i told Mr ****** i am not suppose to pay any salestax or fees in USA since this vehicle is sold for export wich i clearly told him since i informed him about international shipping agent,
also the Shippingagent wrote him an email confirming that i am not suppose to pay any taxes/fees to USA,
Mr ****** said it doesent matter that was the finale price and would not be sold for less he told me had multiple offers so he didnt have to sell in for lower price, (that is aslo not true, the very same vehicle is now relisted on ebay for the same buy it now price US$19997)
why would anyone offer a company a higher price than buy it now price on ebay?
Mr ****** understood that i realised that he was trying to cheat me for Texas sales tax and said ok if i like i could have back my deposit, becasue the car would not be sold for less,
i wrote Mr ****** that yes he could transfere back my deposit, after the deposit was transfered back i used the opurtunity and hit the buy it now price inclusive all fees/taxes for the amount US$19997 on ebay, the i got an message on ebay from owner Mr **** that the car was for sale in USA only, another untrue story from that company, he changed his requirements on ebay add after i hit the buy it now price, and he confimed buy charging my creditcard that he would sell outside USA.
i have to say this really an unprofessional way of doing business, for me making deal involving money is sacret business, i never play with other peoples money
ofcourse i have everything on email that support my story, Mr **** said i was treatning him but what i said on phone was unless he would complete the deal in a professional way i would report him both to your company and Ebay
i hope this certificate/diploma from Better Business Bureau is not something they can just buy,
and hoping for your understanding


Regards
**** *******
********************************
Norway
+XX XXX XX XXX

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Renting & Leasing, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Dealers - Online

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.