BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Arapaho Sticker and Auto Repair

Phone: (972) 783-1990

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
11/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dallas Better Business Bureau
1601 Elm St
Dallas, TX
September 2015
On August 5, 2015 I took my 2006 Honda Accord to Arapaho Stickers & Lube requesting a diagno$tic to
check the vehicle's sensors because the check engine light was illuminated. I was told that two s1' nsors
needed replacing, the oxygen sensor and camshaft position sensor. Arapaho completed the rep ir and
charged me $467.50.
On September 9, 2015, the check engine light came on again. After discovering negative reviews and
accounts of unsatisfactory experiences at Arapaho Sticker, I took my Honda to High Five Auto for'a second
opinion. High Five provided a computer printout of a technical service bulletin from Honda, date~
January 15, 2014, stating the oxygen sensor in my car is NOT to be replaced, but instead be takef1 to
Honda where a Honda technician will update software. I was charged $225.00 for an unnecessa repair.
This repair also invalidated the warranty that applied to the service bulletin.
If there is a regulatory board policing auto repair shops to be certain they are conducting an han
business please consider Arapaho Stickers & Lube and initiate an investigation of their practices. f not,
there needs to be accountability for repair facilities that cheat the public. If there is any addition<1l
information I can provide to support this complaint, please contact me at your convenience. In Closing,
could I please ask you to look into these matters- not only on my behalf but also on behalf of other
honest customers?
I look forward to hearing from you by return.
Sincerely,

******* ********
**** ***** **
Richardson, TX XXXXX
*********@yahoo.com

Business Response
Some parts like catalytic converters have a manufacturer's warranty for 8 years or 80,000 miles. If that was the case, we would tell the customer. But this is not the same situation. It is the customer's responsibility to respond to the vehicle's manufacturer recall notice, not us. We did not do anything wrong. Many times the vehicle's manufacturer will send out recall notices through the mail to notify the vehicle owner of specific recalls.

Sincerely,
Management

10/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I took my 2007 Toyota Tundra into Arapaho Sticker and Lube for an oil change and state inspection on Sept. 16, 2013. According to the company's recent practice of "suggestive selling", the service technician warned that my radiator fluid had to be flushed and replaced immediately to avoid damaging the vehicle and that the fluid in the rear differential was critically low and needed to be replaced as well. Neither issue had given me any problems previously. However, in an abundance of caution, I reluctantly allowed these repairs to be done. After driving off the lot, there was noise from the rear differential that had not ever been there before. Also,the car temperature began to rise immediately but only registered "hot" when I drove the 5 miles home later that day. That night the truck again registered "hot" after driving less than 3 miles. The next morning I returned to the business and watched a gallon of antifreeze being put in the radiator. The mechanic drove the truck and it registered "hot" 3 more times. They say that they will fix the issues but I certainly have issues with their record and the fact that the two items they "repaired" were the items with immediate and potentially devastating problems.

Desired Settlement
Refund the costs of the work, repair the damage caused by inept technicians. Stop the policy of suggestive sales by repair personnel.

Business Response
To Better Business Bureau.
Reply to case #XXXXXXXX by ***** **********.
On September 16, 2013, Mr********** came to our shop with his Toyota Tundra to get
a State Inspection and an Oil Change. During the oil change, we cheeked the vehicle's
fluids, and going by mileage, we recommended a radiator flush and a rear-end service.
He agreed for the services to be done so we took care of them. The next day,
. September 17, Mr. ********** came to the shop complaining that the vehicle was
overheating and the differential was whining. We totd him that if the issues were caused
by us we would assume full responsibility and correct the problem. After checking the
issues, we found out that the radiator had been punctured by our techniCian while he
was doing the service. I Angel P!iego, the head mechanic of the shop spoke to Mr
********** and told him that we would take care of the problem and I would work on the
car at no cast, which cost us aut of pocket $777.33 parts and Iabar. After speaking to Mr
**********, we agreed that we needed to replace the radiator and we would do it at no
cost And in order to prevent any future issues with the differential, we went ahead and
replaced the rear-end oil with full-synthetic fluid at no cost to him as well. Later that day,
around 5:30 pm, he came and picked up his vehicle and he seemed happy with the
outcome and our services of taking responsibility of the issues that were caused
previously.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Inspection Stations, Lubricating Service - Automotive, Auto Repair & Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.