BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/11/2011

Motorcars of Dallas

(972) 248-00903400 Wiley Post Rd., CarrolltonTX 75006-2582 Send email to Motorcars of Dallas

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/11/2011

BBB has determined that Motorcars of Dallas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Motorcars of Dallas' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Motorcars of Dallas

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
07/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failed to follow thru with what they said.
I purchased a black 2010 Yukon Denali on May 24,2014. I was told by Justin Sage in the business office that Motor Cars of Dallas would transfer my current personal tags from my turned in leased Mercedes to my purchased Yukon Denali as long as I emailed them a photo of the personalized tag. I sent the photo to the email ****** **** typed himself into my phone contacts, so that it would be correct. A month later, to my surprise, I received new metal tags in the mail. I was expecting to only receive new decals to add to my personalized plates. I called immediately and was told it was an error with their title department. I was told by ****** to check with my local tax office to see what the difference would be, and if it was more than a "nominal" amount to let him know. I went to our local tax office and found that the fee would be an additional $53.50. I notified Mr. ****** **** of the added expense and was told he didn't think he would be able to cover the expense. He told me for the first time that he believed "I had misunderstood him." He is now saying that he told me "I said IF we could do the personalized tags we would, but that sometimes we are not able to get it done." ****** **** did not tell me that it was "questionable" if they would be able to pay to transfer my personalized tags. He told me when I signed the papers it was a "turn key deal and no more money was required to make the deal happen." I do have the email showing the date I sent the photo of my personalized tag to ****** ***** May 24th at 3:32 pm, the same day I purchased the vehicle. I don't believe I should be responsible for this added expense.

At the same time I purchased the vehicle I received one "we owe" paperwork concerning the replacement of the cracked console. This paperwork included the purchased item# from EBay for the new replacement console. I understood that this paper meant the item had already been ordered and as soon as the dealership received it they would mail it to me. This was also on May 24th. This item has not been repaired or replaced. I have now been told the item has recently been ordered and not received as of yet.

It's now July 7th and few phone calls later, including one today, and still no satisfaction. I don't think this type of customer service is very professional. In addition, the promises of personalized tags and a replacement console cover have not been honored. Bad Customer Service and broken promises do not make for good business.

Thanks

Desired Settlement
I am asking for my personalized tag transfer to be paid in full. There is an additional $53.50 owed. I am also asking for the correct replacement console cover to be mailed to my address. I already let them know that I would be responsible for the cost of the installation of the console cover. I simply need to receive the cover.

05/07/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Tradelined credit and did not deliver as advertised or promised
They advertised a finance option no matter what credit score. I told them I didn't want my credit run and they told me it wouldn't leave a tradeline. They mentioned guranteed low down financing. I gave them the score and what was on my credit already. They told me they've worked with worse and could get me something with little to nothing down and pushed me into filling out the finance application to get financing started.

They then ran my credit anyway even though I asked them not to. I now have a hard tradeline with -44pts to my score. Now I haven't heard anything from them .

Desired Settlement
I feel they need to be more honest with their practices.
They need to find a way to dispute or remove this tradeline on my credit.

Business' Initial Response
Thank you for bringing this concern to our attention. This is the first time we have heard that Mr. ****** ****** had a concern. Motorcars of Dallas strives to offer
our customers a honest easy buying experience and it is alarming to read Mr. ****** concerns. Motorcars of Dallas would be happy to assist Mr. ****** and he can at his convenience call Mr. Ford Yeager our General Manager at XXX-XXX-XXXX and he would be pleased to attempt to help Mr. ******.
Motorcars of Dallas does record phone calls so we can go back in our records and hear the actual conversations on inbound sales calls, and we also have Mr. ****** application as well as the banks conditional approvals which we would be happy to review with him.
If I can provide any additional information to the Better Business Bureau without violating the individuals privacy laws I would be happy to assist.

Thank You

Ford Yeager

12/31/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I recently purchased a truck. The dealer did not disclosed missing parts or broken parts before the sale
I purchased the truck on sept 4th. After I signed the agreement I was told the motor in the mirror needed repair and the chrome bezel would be replaced. The. I notice the oil needed changing. The tire pressure monitor system was working improperly. The brakes are not working properly. I had issues with the wind shield wipers. The car has a rough idle. This was all told to the dealership 1 day later. The dealership allegedly replaced the oil and have made few repairs. They have made a few attempts to resurface the rotors however the brakes make nose and the rough idle is still present. This was not disclosed to me.

Desired Settlement
Replacement of all parts. Replace the rotors and and brake pads. Repair the rough idle and replace the bezel

Business Response
Reply to Case # XXXXXXXX
Motorcars of Dallas
I recently received notice of Mr. ******'s complaint and am sorry that he feels like we have not performed to his expected standard. I respect his account of the circumstances related to this transaction and would like greatly to lend some perspective from our point of view relating Mr. ******'s (:omplaint.
Our policy is to encourage our custome, 5 to present any issues immediately following their transaction so that we can be proactive in addressing and resolving the issues they bring forward. Mr. ****** received the same opportunity any of our customer's receives when they purchase a vehicle in our facility arid that is to test drive and inspect the vehicle before they enter into any agreements to buy. We also took account pf the issues on the vehicle at the time of sale and corrected the concerns that Mr. ****** had. We h;ui to order a part for the chrome bezel that was referenced in the complaint and that took some time to get. The concern that he had about the brake system was rectified by doing what is universally the most common practice for repair, which is to turn and shave the rotor surfaces and to inspect the brake pads which we performed to the vehicle. I had a phone call from Mr. ****** after this was performed to the vehicle in which he notified me that the brakes were still squealing. I told him that I would then change the brake pads to GM factory brake pads. Mr. ****** then returned the vehicle and we did what we said and changed brake pads that were essentially new to meet Mr. ******'s demand. He then called and said that he felt the (otors needed to be replaced and when I told him that we would not purchase new rotors that we were well inside factory tolerance for density he got abrasive and said that the situation would then "escalate". We also provided him with a tech support bulletin from GM in reference to the idle being "normal" for that year and model of vehicle. We had our techs inspect the vehicle and they diagnosed the vehicle with the computer device with no codes present as malfunctioning.
In closing our position is that we did do above and beyond what was necessary to take care of issues that were more customer perception than what the computers and technical expertise couid confirm as mechanical or electrical problems in the vehicle. The deal was disclosed to Mr. ****** with full and
proper disclosure and our position is that our obligations to repair any future issues on the vehicle are
no. longer our responsibility. I appreciate the opportunity to respond to this complaint and again feel
sorry that Mr. ****** feels the way he does about his experience with Motorcars of Dallas.
Best Regards,
******* ***** (GM)
* 3400 WILEY POST ROAD CARROLLTON, TX 75006 * 972.248.0090 OFFICE * 972.248.0508 FAX * MOTORCARSOFDALLAS.COM *

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My issues have not been solved. The vehicle has a rough idle and this was not disclosed at purchased. After I purchased the vehicle I was told about the bezel and the broken mirror. I had to tkae the vehicle in 4 times until they decided to replace the brake. I have checked with General Motors and they have never heard of a rough idle being a characteristics. This was present a few days later when I brought this to Alden's (the sales person). After much debate and several loaner cars later, it appears they changed my brake pads and replaced the bezel after a month of having the truck. The dealer is very unclear with their responses about the trucks running condition. I would like them to fix the rough idle and the squeaking I mentioned in the truck.

10/16/2012Delivery Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/05/2011Business started: 05/01/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave.
Austin, TX78731
(512) 465-3000
http://www.txdmv.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 2010, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Davis (General Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Used Cars Sold As-Is

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Motorcars of Dallas

3400 Wiley Post Rd.

Carrollton, TX 75006-2582

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3400 Wiley Post Rd. 

    Carrollton, TX 75006-2582(972) 248-0090

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Motorcars of Dallas is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Used Cars Sold As-Is
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.