BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

J.D. Byrider (DeSoto)

Phone: (469) 643-2233

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
01/04/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am asking to remove this amount off my name and credit please.

I was helping an acquaintance with a vehicle I had purchased from jd byrider , to take over payments. We were able to do the paperwork to switch over from me to the acquaintance to take over the payments. The acquaintance moved to a different city , south TX , without notifying me or the dealership. The acq. stop making payments and then abandoned the vehicle. Authorities recovered the vehicle afterwards. I was only trying to help the acq. because she was unable to get a vehicle on her own. I was no longer wanting the vehicle due to too many repairs almost every 2 weeks it was in the shop of JD Byrider being repaired. I am disputing the amount of $6933.00

Desired Settlement
I am wanting this amount wiped off my credit report.

Business Response
We are not sure what the complaint is as the customer readily admits that he purchased a car from JD Byrider, it wasn't paid off and he owes a balance. The customer says that he is mad there is a balance due as a result of an agreement he had with a friend/acquaintance didn't work to pay for the car. The customer signed a retail installment contract which outlined his responsibility to repay the loan and he did not. Based on his own admission and our agreement that he is responsible we believe the case should be closed. The customer owes the deficiency balance.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
it was the acquaintance responsibility to make payments on the vehicle. they moved without notifying me or the dealership and then abandoned the car. they signed for the car and agreed to take responsibility.

10/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Falsely reporting to the credit companies.
My first car was a Ford Focus, it was total lost no fault of mine. I was told that I would have to refinance with them because it was still their loan. I signed another loan and the remaining amount for the focus was added in. The ford is still showing on me credit as being owed on when there is no existing loan for that car. I have given them time to correct the issue with no success.

Desired Settlement
I would like the loan to be reported correctly. there is only one open loan not two.

Business Response
We have discussed this issue with Ms. ******. Her account balance on the Ford Focus has been satisfied. The new balance will report to the credit bureau in approximately 30-60 days. We can not control how quickly the balance will show satisfied on the credit report.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Every other action taken on my credit has been visible with a week or two. There is still no change or update on my credit regarding the satisfied loan for the ford. I would need proof mailed out to assure that the correction was made.

Final Business Response
I have discussed this situation with the identified customer. As we stated, our records show that the first loan is now reporting satisfied and she only has one open loan with CNAC. This information does not get reported in real time. Another words, any changes to her credit report will be appropriately reflected when the credit reporting agencies decide to update the information.

That is what the customer has listed for a desired resolution. How they are dissatisfied does not make sense.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don't know that the issue was actually handled. I would like PROOF that the correction was sent to the credit bureaus. It is hard to believe it was done when after calling three bureaus and no one stated that the update would take 30 to 60 days. all other reports seem to reflect in about 7-14 days. I am only asking for proof that there is no open loan for the Ford focus. This information can be emailed to me at ***************@dialog-direct.com

08/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Repair Issues
Got a call the other day from JD Byrider wanting me to make a payment for a vehicle I voluntarily gave back 4 months ago.

I was given a car that had multiple mechanical issues including several times in shop. Basically to me with a financed car should have received better satisfaction than that. The disrespectfulness at times from different employees including mangers is uncalled for, I tried many times to have vehicle fixed and it seemed every time to only be a temporary fix because the car had same problems. I give credit to the shop manager Robbie but as for me paying the loan down should have been temporary suspended or I should have been credited for the time instead of paying the loan and mechanical bill as well which resulted in repossession.

Car broke down in middle of busy freeway in Houston causing me to pay a towing fee plus mechanical for a car that should have been well inspected before allowing me to drive the vehicle.

Desired Settlement
Refund for repair charges I paid that obviously never fixed the recurring problem to start with.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@jdbyrider.com
Mr. **** is asking for a desired resolution of being refunding money for recurring problems that were never fixed. Mr. **** purchased his vehicle from JD Byrider in August of 2012. He had is vehicle in the service department in April of 2014 for a timing belt. The cost to repair was $210.25 (well below retail cost). Mr. **** made 4 payments on a payment plan for the repairs. His vehicle was towed into our delearship in June of 2014 and we repaired a cooling fan on the vehicle and replaced a tire and also had the car towed in for a total cost of $732.06. We returned Mr. ****'s car after completing the repairs and were not paid anything for those repairs from Mr. ****. We agreed to cover all but $250 of that cost and agreed to let him pay the $250 on a payment plan. He did not pay anything on those repairs and still has not as of this response. We also replaced a thermostat and battery cables for Mr. **** subsequent to that visit and did not charge him anything for those repairs.

JD Byrider can not refund and will not refund any money to Mr. **** because he did not incur any expense associated with the repairs he is saying are not fixed. Mr. **** will not be able to reproduce any evidence that he paid for these repairs because he did not pay.

Keep in mind that Mr. **** purchased a car from JD Byrider with 99,858 miles and now it has 163,247 in less than 3 yrs. Mr. **** had to come out of pocket for $210.25 of repairs associated with a timing belt and JD Byrider covered all other expenses out of its pocket with no obligation to do so in any contractual way. It is absurd and disingenuous for Mr. **** to make such a claim.

If Mr. **** can provide something more than his complaint to substantiate his claim we would be interested to review those documents and payments.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Imagine that you send a car to the auto repair shop to pick up your trusty old steed after a complete engine overhaul. The bill, which you agreed to pay in advance seemed a little steep, but the mechanic talked you into it by claiming he would fix the car at the request of Mr. *** *******. I was told upon refinancing of the car that a complete inspection would be completely done on the car, and I feel that was complete lie and slap to my face.

The car worked less well than before you had it fixed, and I'm convinced that a lousy repair job caused that problem. But the mechanical manager Robbie that was supposed to oversaw the repair claimed the work was done properly and that the car simply needed more work.

Mr. ******* claims that I never paid anything out of pocket but in my defense his statement is a complete lie.

1. I PAID for the towing when the Car not only had a timing belt issue but also an overheating issue as well.

2. When the repairs where made at a JDB in Houston I PAID $100.00 to a Houston JDB before they would even allow me to pick the car up.

3. Multiple times I PAID for Anitfreeze for the car usually about every other day to at least twice a week because the car would boil out the liquids. $65.00 in personal expenses

So for Mr. ******* to sit there and say I never paid a cent is a false statement I think he failed to gather all statements cause I still have towing receipt from Houston, receipts from where I constantly went to auto part stores. I do believe this is Mr. ******* way of trying to cover his tracks and point the finger at me making it my fault and always sugar coating everything to avoid solving problems with the very means that created the problem.

I was sold a car that no matter the mileage had a faulty engine in it that no matter despite me pulling the Carfax on the car had a history of problems with the car and I do believe the dealership knew about these problems but did not
disclose this info with me when I purchased the car in 2012.

I do believe I'm owed a debt of gratitude for this problem that didn't only happen once but several times even upon my voluntarily surrender on the car because of an overheating problem once again that I was told was Fixed.

So yes I am owed a debt of gratitude in some form or fashionable way and if Mr. ******* wore my shoes he would have understood my frustrations with the car and why I choose to dump it back on them instead of making excuses and saying I never paid anything . Pretty poor excuse for what's supposed to be best for business really was a huge you just got screwed job and who suffers not JDB or *** ******* it's me that took a huge kick in the rear end.

If I were the owner and had this issue I would do what I thought i was right and best for business and settle a dispute with a current, prior, or former customer satisfied. If not then I simply will ask that the BBB publish my complaint so it can be seen by others as to what kind of business JDB is and the quality of their vehicles and even the worthiness.

Final Business Response
Said customer has read our response to his initial complaint. There seems to be some general disagreement as to the nature of our response and how we characterized out of pocket expenses that the customer said he incurred as a result of problems he was having with his vehicle. The out of pocket expenses he incurred were not paid to the JD Byrider he is filing a complaint to and further those expenses were not JD Byrider's to pay but it is clear that was the customers expectation.

We have/had tried many times to satisfy the customer within the boundaries of our business however the customer is not satisfied. Further, we paid for out of pocket expenses many times for this customer and unfortunately the customer may have become accustomed to not having to pay for repairs to the vehicle. JD Byrider never represented to the customer that he would not have problems with the car and it was clearly understood that out of pocket expenses should be expected for maintenance and repairs to the vehicle if the 24,000 miles warranty sold with the vehicle had expired.

We understand the customer is frustrated with his situation however, if this complaint was arising out of something that we did not do that we were contractually obligated to do than we might find merit in the claim. We ask that the BBB close this case solely on that premise and that we did what we were obligated to do for the customer and in many cases went above and beyond to assist the customer when we were not obligated to do so.

Again, please do not overlook the fact that the customer had approximately 65,000 miles of use out of the vehicle and incurred "minimal" out of pocket expense for the car. To infer that the car had problems so significant seems quite odd given the fact that the customer was able to drive the car so many miles (over 2,000 miles per month). Visits to the parts store and paying for a tow bill and antifreeze seems to be reasonable out of pocket expenses given the use the customer had with the vehicle.

Lastly, it is quite clear that the customer is not going to be happy with our response. To say that JD Byrider will not suffer is ridiculous. Any customer that leaves our dealership that is not happy and/or satisfied is not good for our business, however, there are times when a common ground regarding a customer complaint can not be reached and is unfortunate when it occurs.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
See that's my point they say they didn't do anything wrong. They never do anything wrong apparently, I guess when they sell cars that have faulty engine and or parts in it, I can only imagine why most of their cars break down for on their cars. I ask the BBB to keep this dispute open, be it further if this case does get closed without resolving this dispute then I will continue and will a formal complaint with another a company till a resolution is reached. I ask the company to remove all debt owed with car and to remove all bad inquiries off my credit report reported by their company or I will continue to complain till a resolution is reached.

05/18/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Non-delivery of the title and key upon payoff of the loan.
I contacted JD Byrider to payoff my car loan early at the end of October, 2014. At the time I was in Austin living with my aunt because I had surgery on my spine and requested that the title and key be sent to her address since I was not at my home address and hadn't been for the last 7 months. My account representative (*****)took my payment over the phone via debit card, updated the address the title and key was to be sent to and congratulated me. He told me that I should have received the document and key in about 2 weeks.
I waited about 3 weeks and I didn't receive anything, I called him back (*****)and he told me that per their policy, they wouldn't send the documents until after 30 days of the date I made my final payment. He apologized as he is new to the company, he verified the address in Austin, once again and we disconnected the call.

I waited a couple of more weeks and still I didn't receive the package. I called ***** and he indicated that the package had actually been sent via priority mail, USPS and delivered on the day I called to THE WRONG ADDRESS...my home address on record, instead of the address I gave him. He stated he would go to my home since it was only a few miles away, and check to see if the package was there. If so, he would have it redelivered correctly. When he called me, he told me that although the tracking number indicated delivery, that the package wasn't at my house and only a few pieces of mail were in the mailbox.

At this point, we have been going round and round while ***** was trying his best to get it resolved. He was extremely apologetic and indicated he updated the address in a note, per direction from someone at JD Byrider, but it was overlooked. He also indicated that he would see what he could do to get a duplicate title ordered and another key made and have them sent. After speaking with his manager, it was decided that they would wait until I got back to my home to check the mail that was collected by my neighbors to make sure they didn't have it.

When I got back to my home on December 26, 2014, I checked the 6 pieces of mail my neighbors collected on my behalf. The title and key were not present.

I requested to speak with *****' manager ******** He transferred me to her and here is where we really began to have a problem. Basically, ******* kept telling me WHERE the package was sent, that the USPS states it was delivered and there was nothing she could do. After telling her that they COULD order a new title and make another key and also explaining how concerned I was that there is a missing key and title to my car, she was rude, threatened to hang up on me and when I thought she did (the phone became silent), I simply hung up (too) and called back. ******* answered the phone, I requested to speak to her manager and she told me he wasn't there. When I requested his name, she wouldn't give me his name and indicated AGAIN that she couldn't help me, told me that I hung up on HER and told me she heard me say,"I'll call her a** back." When I didn't deny it, she wanted to do the typical sales/collection game and go around with me instead of solving the issue. She then told me, she would give me a release of lien and make me a key, but I would have to pay for a copy of the title. Then she finally got tired of me asking her WHY they were unwilling to assist a customer who paid her loan off EARLY and was NEVER late, despite the hardships I was up against. She told me without feeling, "Look, how do you want to resolve this? I keep saying the same thing over and over and we've been on the phone for 30 minutes." ******* showed no emotion and didn't seem to care that my key and title are missing, just stating she was unwilling to provide me with a replacement at THEIR expense seemed to be her only concern.

Desired Settlement
I simply want a copy of my title and a key to be provided at JD Byrider's expense. I paid my loan in full, never missed a payment and now I want my title and I don't believe I should have to go see them to get more paperwork and then go find a county office to PAY for a document that wasn't delivered to the correct address to begin with. It's a simple resolution.

Business Response
The customer has been fully satisfied. She gave us an address to send her title and key and that address did not match what we had on file and the title was mistakenly send to a previous address. We paid to get a duplicate title and the customer now has another key. This should have resolved any outstanding issues.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
JD Byrider was given the alternate address because I was recovering from surgery in Austin as was explained to them. This customer is NOT satisfied because I had to wait from November to January AFTER my car was paid BEFORE the end of the original terms to go to the office to pick it up. When I got there I was given paperwork to go get a title and was told the Service department was closed and to come back AGAIN to get the key made! No one has time for that. I NEVER got the second key for my car and since they have the VIN, one should have been sent as originally promised. I will tell everyone I know to NEVER visit that business. They need to work on their customer service and appreciate those who actually pay on time and complete their contracts.

Final Business Response
JD Byrider understands the customer was dissatisfied but at this time it our understanding that the customer has the title to the vehicle and a key. This was the specific nature of the original complaint. We also understand the customer does not like the manner in which the title was delivered (after a misunderstanding on our part that we acknowledged). To that point, the customer is entitled to her opinion and at this point we are unsure what additional remedy the customer is requesting.

JD Byrider would like to point out that any additional key(s) that we made prior to selling the car are the property of JD Byrider. JD Byrider incurred the cost of making a second key and never indicated at the time of sale that it would provide an additional key to the customer. As the customer asserts in the complaint, we do have the VIN and can duplicate a key but that comes at a cost and had asked the customer to pay for that cost and nothing more.

If the customer has the title and an additional key, then how is the complaint not resolved? Because that is what the customer asked for in the original complaint.

08/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In three months my car has been serviced 3 times. Nobody is trying to help and no one is understand I'm about to lose my job.
I went into Jd Byrider and put down for a car on 3/30/2013, since then I've had to have it towed to them for service 3 timbers because its stopped on the highway. The first time was in the 3rd week I had it, and they replaced the alternator. The 2nd time it stopped I was told that the radiator was leaking and they supposedly replaced it with a new one. The third time on 6/19/2013 it stopped again (11am) after it overheated. I was at home and the person who is on my paperwork to handle issues with the car called to have it towed and they informed him that he couldn't have it towed, that I had to call. After I called and left a message with someone to have it towed (1pm) I was under the assumption that it had been towed. The next day I called to check on the car, they told me it hadn't been towed because they hadn't received and word from me saying i wanted it towed. The car was finally towed after 3pm the next day. They told me that the head gaskets were fried, the battery was missing and the car had tickets all over it!i asked them if there was a way I could get another car because I had to work and they told me no. I was told that the parts wouldn't Be in until Monday and that the labor was 8-10 hours so I could probable pick it up Wed 6/26/2013. But when I called Wednesday, I was told that the parts hadnt arrived, until wednesday and that I would have to pay for the battery plus an additional copay. Throughout the entire process I was told that they would call back and inform me of every change and they never called. I kept having to call in and check for myself and they were very unsympathetic and unapologetic . They made it seem as if these issues were brought upon myself. Today (6/28/13) I was told that the car was running and the gaskets were replaced, but the "new" radiator was now leaking again. So now I'd have to wait until after Monday. I asked about a loaner car and I was told by the service manager that the only car they might have been able to loan needed new tires. The service manager told me that he would call me before 5 when they closed to let me know about the car and I had to call him at 530. By then everyone else who I could have spoken to that might have been able to help me with other options was gone. I was transferred to someone who told me that everyone was already gone and she would email the finance department about all my issues but she wouldn't be able to respond until Monday!

Desired Settlement
I would like out of the contract. The car is only worth 6500$ and I'm in an 18000$ contract for a car that won't last the rest of the year. I would also like to see about getting back the down payment of 1400. (400 upfront , 1400 total deferred)

Business' Initial Response
At this time, we have resolved this matter. We have taken possession of the vehicle back at this time and have released the customer of all contract obligations.

Consumer's Final Response
On Tuesday 7/16/13 I was terminated from work because of a write of for missing work due to missing work. On 7/17 my car was repossessed and I was unable to get it back because I no longer had an income and even though i have money saved they wouldnt release the car to me with no incone. l

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.