BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/15/2003

Dynamic Imports

Phone: (972) 980-2886Fax: (972) 980-1449

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
04/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: Dynamic Imports was untruthful about the condition of the car they sold us. They said mechanic said only shocks & brakes were an issue not engine.
On Saturday 1/12/13 I went to test drive a Lincold Navigator my fiance saw online. My fiance noticed brake issues and the car was sitting lower than should be. Dynamic Imports Jason said they would take the car to their mechanic and see what was wrong with it and have it fixed and let us know of any other issues. They took the car to the mechanic and Jason called us back and said it was a shocks issue and they were going to pay $1500 to repair it, and the brakes were going to have to be fixed. Jason said everything else is fine. My fiance paid them the down payment in the amount of $780 to pay off our trade in vehicle, a 2004 Dodge Ram and they would give us $3000 toward the Lincoln Navigator priced at $8740. Well when we picked up the vehicle, they assured us on 1/19/13 that the only issues were the brakes and the shocks and the mechanic verified that. We worked out a deal to payoff the vehicle in full March 1st. They said they would give us receipts for the repairs and the inspection of the vehicle. Bob the manager included the price to fix the shocks in our purchase price so it was now $10,250. We took the car home and have been driving it for 4 days. The car is now shaking horribly and my fiance took it to 3 auto shops to determine the issue. All three said there is issues with the engine and someone has tampered with the check engine light and turned it off. My fiance called the dealer and spoke to Bob the manager and explained the situation and asked about the dealer originally stating to us that the mechanic inspected the whole vehicle and assured us that only the brakes and shocks were an issue.
We feel that they were untruthful because a mechanic would have caught this engine issue as they assured us their mechanics fully inspected the vehicle and made only recommendations to fix the brakes and shocks as those were the only issues. Dynamic kept telling us that they can sell the vehicle to anyone else and had taken a deposit from another customer for the same vehicle on top of ours. They returned the other customers deposit the day we came in to pick up the Navigator. Dynamic Imports is now holding my Dodge Ram and saying I can't have the vehicle or my down payment back. They can keep the down payment. I want my Dodge truck back. I do not want this Navigator because they were not upfront about this vehicles issues to let me make a decision if they can fix or repair something or let me handle the repairs. Bob hung up on my fiance today 1/23/13, when he called to talk to him about the engine issues. Bob said he will not give us our truck back and just hung up on him. This is not a professional business.

Business' Initial Response
BBB Dallas and Northeast Texas
1601 Elm Street, Ste 3838
Dallas, TX. XXXXX
Re: Case# XXXXXXXX : ****** ******
****** ******
Dynamic Imports
P.O.Box XXXXXX
Dallas, TX. XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX
February 6, 2013
On or around 1/12/2013 Mr. Phakdy and Ms. ****** called on a 2005 Lincoln Navigator
with approximately 146,000 miles. After arrival we greeted them and they test drove the vehicle. After
careful demonstration and inspection they requested to have the brakes and shocks fixed. We told them
we are selling this vehicle "as-is" for the price advertised. If they wanted to pay for the repairs we would
be happy to have the repairs made. At this point they also asked about financing which we did as a
courtesy but spent much time because of their poor credit history to find a lender to finance the vehicle
for them. Meanwhile, we placed the Navigator in the shop to be repaired as requested and after 3
hardworking days we found a subprime financial institution to finance the vehicle for them which
included a full-coverage warranty on the Navigator.
We called the customers they were very happy but after ****** ****** arrived
unexpectedly and unpolitely confronted Jason Dehle to which we professionally listened to her new
requests. At this point she did not want to take advantage of the financing nor warranty the lender
provided (because she stated her father was a mechanic) and she requested to pay for the vehicle
herself. However, she did not have the money yet and requested to pay the vehicle by March 1,2013. As
a courtesy, we agreed to sell the vehicle to them for the advertised price plus cost of repairs if they
would pay the car off by March 1.201. Dynamic Imports took their Dodge truck in as a trade and paid it
off. They agreed and checked the Navigator- everything was fine and in working order to their
satisfaction.
Five days later Mr. Phakdy called because he said the car was shaking and we informed him the
car was sold as-is and should be taken to their own mechanic to find out what is wrong. They claim they
went to 3 different mechanics who said the engine was tampered with. Finally, they went to their own
trusted mechanic who informed them there was nothing wrong with the car except the sensor and an
oil change. Ms. ****** called and mentioned she spent $200 and that the oil was not changed
and we told her we would change the oil if we had missed it. She then complained to the BBB forgetting
all of our previous courtesy from A-Z we had done for her from the financing ourselves, not making
them pay until they had what they could afford to do so, having the repairs made they requested, and
detailing the vehicle. If Ms. ****** is not satisfied with everything we have done for then as
another courtesy we will proudly take the Navigator back provided it is in the same condition we sold it.
In conclusion, while we wish Mr. Phakdy and Ms. ****** the best of luck in life we would
appreciate if they could consider the honesty, dignity, and courtesy that Dynamic Imports offered them
by going above and beyond industry standard by treating themselves and others around them with that *
same standard of honesty, dignity, and courtesy.
****** ******

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When my husband test dove the vehicle, he said the breaks were bad and the car was riding low. Jason Dehle stated it was an easy fix and they just needed to fill the airshocks to raise it back up. It turns out that was not the case after the mechanic looked at the car. Bob and Jason said all 4 shocks were to be replaced and they would pay for this if we financed.

I decided not to finance and wanted my down payment of $780 back but Jason said I could not have it back because it was a deposit but was showing off that he had another deposit from another buyer on the same vehicle and was returning theirs. I told him to sell the car to that person then and give me my down payment back. He said no and that was our loss. So Bob said he can sell me the car cash with the offer he provided. Not wanting to lose my $780, I agreed to a cash deal.

I am upset because Bob is charging me for $1500 for all 4 new shocks as him and Jason repeatedly stated was done. I am upset because he said his trusty mechanic inspected the vehicle and there was no issues. This was not the case. Our mechanic verified only one was changed out. I am also upset that Bob repeatedly states that his mechanic of over 20 years checked the car bumper to bumper and would let us know of any issues. This navigator was shaking horribly after 3 days! Not 5! He told me things happen. The check engine light was tampered and the mechanic should have known the sensors weren't working and something was wrong with the car if he did a bumper to bumper inspection like he assured. I traded in a 2004 Dodge RAM quad cab. I want my truck back and They can have this navigator back. They lie repeatedly. I wish I had read the complaint on ripoffreport.com and other complaints on the BBB site before I went to this company.

Bob claims their cars are of quality. My husband could have wrecked on the highway if this car shook and stalled on the highway. Luckily he was on a small road. Bob and Dynamic imports practice unethical sales practices by misleading customers and taking advantage of their financial situations. It could have been as easy as giving me back my down payment to begin with and selling the car to someone else as they claimed the other person had a deposit on the car also. I have talked to Bob and Jason several times before I finally filed my complaint to the BBB. Bob and Jason kept changing what they said and denying what they said about what repairs were actually done. I still don't know what They are charging $1500 for. Bob never provided the receipt as he promised.

I would like my truck back. They can have their car back.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

12/13/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
03/12/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.