BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/27/2006

Auto City

Phone: (214) 398-8204Fax: (214) 391-3483

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
08/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I r*financ*d a r*pair that was n*v*r mad* to my v*hicl* for $1273.00 and got th* run around for a y*ar for a r*fund or r*pair.
I purchas*d a 2006 Ch*vy Trailblaz*r in May 2012,in Jun* 2013 I r*financ*d a r*pair for $1273, months lat*r (Octob*r 2013)my ch*ck *ngin* cam* back on and i was advis*d it was du* to a s*nsor and h*adlight that also n**d*d r*placing,whil* at o R*illy g*tting my light r*plac* th* work*r/m*chanic advis*d I should g*t my fan clutch look*d at it was wobbling, I contact*d my sal*s r*p **** and h*r manag*r *********** shop manag*r ****** about g*tting in th* shop for s*cond look was told for s*v*ral months r*pair shop is crowd*d I would hav* to l*av* my car for w**ks and continu* to mak* paym*nts until th* r*pair shop could g*t to my car and that th*y no long*r gav* out loan*r cars,Nov*mb*r 2014 until th* pr*s*nt I hav* b**n contacting th*m and as of May 2015 paid off th* v*hicl* and talks about r*funding m* for th* r*pair or to hav* it fix*d at anoth*r shop du* th* th* s*rvic* shop still ov*rcrowd*d and book*d has stopp*d and I am b*ing told th* original r*spons* l*av* th* car and th*y will g*t to it wh*n th*y can, probl*m is I hav* no oth*r car to driv* and still no loan*r car is b*ing off*r*d.I hav* paid for a s*cond opinion from AAMCO TRANSMISSIONS F*b 2015 that confirm*d th* sam* r*pairs that w*r* on th* sam* invoic* paid for in July 2013 that I had b**n complaining about sinc* 2014,suppli*d copi*s to Auto City manag*r ****** and R*p ******* dat*,7/22, I hav* b**n told now that my car is paid and th* r*pair is *xactly 2 y*ars old I cannot g*t any mon*y or r*pairs! I visit*d th* r*pair shop w*r* I witn*ss*d oth*r custom*rs complaining of r*p*at*d r*pairs and no loan*r cars but curr*nt on th*ir not*s not b*ing assist*d or tr*at*d as a valu*d custom*r.What can b* don* or is small claims th* rout* I should b* taking

Desired Settlement
Initially from October 2013 to November 2014 I was seeking the repair and new parts as promised. Today I am requesting a full refund due to the inconvenience and stress this has caused the car still needs repair and I paid money to have another shop give second opinion.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@autocitycredit.com
Ms. ******* bought a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer with 103,000 miles on 5/17/2012. Around February 2013, she had a wreck which needed extensive repairs which we performed. The vehicle at this time had 121,197 miles on it. The vehicle was next seen at our shop on 7/1/2013 with 128,160 for the repairs in question and the Ms. ******* was charged 1273.96. It returned on 9/3/2013 needing further repairs related to the previous visit which we performed at no cost. Ms. *******'s next visit was over 1 year later on 10/14/2014 and the vehicle had 167,318 miles almost 40,000 miles more since her last repair. On April 13, 2015, Ms. ******* contacted our dispute resolution department. Subsequently, our service manager contacted Ms. ******* and set up an appointment on April 15th to examine the vehicle. Ms. ******* did not keep the appointment. In any other circumstances, we would have to deny her request. However, Ms. ******* has been a valued customer since 2012 and has subsequently purchased a 2012 Mazda6 in February. Her satisfaction is very important to us and we'd like to show our gratitude for her continued support. We have placed a 1300 payment on her new account which will allow her to skip her next 5 car payments.
Thank you,
****** ******
Accounts Manager

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
After reading the response speaking with Kimble Owens 8/18/2015 to clarify some misunderstandings with dates and agreements made in the past,I advised her I will accept the $1300 payment towards my new account for the Mazda allowing me to not make a payment for 5 payments not including the collision coverage that is in addition to the car payment which will still be due on the usual payment dates. I am not satisfied completely because I did not get my money refunded to me as it was paid to the company;in CASH not a credit on another account that did not exist when this issue occurred,but I do understand this is the best that can be offered at this time. I will accept.

08/27/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am being harassed by ****** over a 3 day late car payment. She calls my cellular phone every Monday if the car not is not paid by that Friday.
I have asked ****** if she had to call me after 3 days she said it was a "courtesy call" at which point I asked her not to do this. Recently I ran into some financial hardships which caused me to be around 20 days late on the car payment. ****** called and asked me why it was late. I proceeded to explain to her that I recently had to pick up my daughter's insurance because her father had accepted a contract job and no longer had insurance. After I explained this she said "well when did all of this happen because you are 20 days late at this point". I advised her that I had already explained my situation and that I would not give her anymore information other than what I'd already stated as this was embarrassing to me in the first place. ****** threatened me stating "I was going to help you out but now it better be paid by Friday!" I attempted to contact the general manger ******* who told me in a previous situation that I could call her if I had any issues. After 5 calls she never returned my call. I was able to catch the car note up after paying $530. I had expressed that I did not want to speak with ****** under any circumstances because of the way she'd treated me before however, I was transferred to her at which time she prematurely inquired about a future payment stating "are you going to be able to pay the next car payment?". I advised yes. This conversation took place on a Tuesday almost 2 weeks before the car payment was due. That next week came and Friday passed, ****** was harassing me on Monday morning about a car note that was due on that Friday. ****** continues to harass me meanwhile ******* refuses to call me so that I may speak with her in reference to her employee. ****** explained to me in a passed conversation that while she has the ability to help me defer my payment if I run into financial hardship she would not help because I would not advise her of when I had to pick up my daughter's insurance. I think it would be obvious that when I began to fall behind is when this "started" because I always pay my car note. This cannot be right; I need some help on this because I feel that I am being harassed and I feel that the collection practices are unethical and that Auto City is bullying me.

Desired Settlement
I need a new account representative. ****** and I cannot do business together at this point.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@autocitycredit.com
We apologize to Mrs. ********** if her account representative seemed too aggressive. We have reassigned her account to ******* ******* for all future contact. She may be reached directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX or at ********@autocitycredit.com. Additionally, we have reviewed the notes and taken disciplinary action against Mrs. **********'s former account representative who is no longer employed by the company.
However, it is important to point out that Auto City does not have a grace period. Payments are considered late the day following the scheduled payment. It is our policy to always provide a courtesy call when a payment is 3 days past due. Failure to make the payment at that time will result in future calls until the account is in good standing.
Should a customer need occasional assistance, Auto City is prepared to help under very strict guidelines. To determine qualifications, a customer must provide a written, detailed account of the hardship along with corresponding proof.
Also, please feel free to contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX should you have further issues.

Regards,



****** *****
Account Supervisor

02/22/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a car that was later found to have been previously wrecked and am having repair issues due to prior damages.
I bought a 2012 chevy cruz November 2015. In December of 2015 someone backed into the car in a parking lot. Their insurance paid to have the damage repaired at service king. After service king started to repair the damages they noticed that the car had been previously wrecked from behind and the bumper had been contoured to fit the car and the left side panel and bumpers were put back on with bond aide and fillers. Service king stated they could not repair their portion of the damage due to the previous damage that was not fixed the right way. They stated they could not take the bumper off due to the fact they may not be able to fit it back to the car again. I contacted the dealer and told them the story and expressed my concerns about the them not telling me the car had been wrecked previously and how i couldn't get the repairs i needed due to the previous damage. They came out to see the car and afterwards told me to take the car to busy bodys an auto body shop that they frequently use for their cars, they said they would repair all the damages. Auto city even let me drive a car while it was being repaired. The auto body fixed the car with the $1000 check from the insurance company and after 2 days i picked it up. It has been 2 weeks since getting the car back and the repairs were not done correctly and the bumper is not fitting the car just like service king stated it wouldn't if the bumper was taken off. I talked to the auto shop and they told me to bring the car back for more repairs but at this time i started trying to contact the dealer with my wishes on either trading cars or having some money taken off the price of the car since it was previously wrecked and since im dealing with on going repairs that are causing me to miss work, not to mention the fact that the bumper is not fitting to the car and i feel it is not worth the $16,995 that they are selling it to me before. I was never informed that the car was wrecked and i feel i should be compensated with something for the troubles this has caused. The dealer had their manager Kimble call who was very rude and told me they would not take any money off the price of the car and that my only option was to surrender the car and loose the money i had paid toward it so far. She also told me that they would not give me a another car to drive while the car was getting repaired this time, witch i do not understand since the repairs that are being done is something that wasn't fixed correctly the first time and they had no problem giving me a car to drive that time they took full responsibility for selling me a wrecked car and for my troubles provided me with a car but now that they see there is an issue with the repairs they no longer want to help. The repairs that are needed are due to the fact that car had been wrecked before i bought it and im pretty much left with a car that i got 2 months ago with damages they arent welling to help with or compensate me for.

Desired Settlement
I would like for the repairs to my car to be done the right way, and im requesting some sort of discount/money taking off the full price of the car, since the car is no longer worth what they sold it to me for and compensation for my time and troubles due to a situation that was beyond my control.

Business Response
Auto City spoke with the body shop and there are still waiting on Ms.****** to take her car back to the shop so they can fix it. Auto City called her and informed her that the shop was still waiting on her to bring the car back in she will try to make time this weekend.

07/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Auto City Contract Dispute
Last year I bought a car through Auto City. Initially, I was satisfied with the sale and financing of the vehicle. Soon after I had the vehicle financed, my job transferred me to Florida. I spoke with my account representative and informed her of the move. She congratulated me and changed my billing address in their system (August 2014). A few months ago, I called Auto City and asked the same customer service representative his would I go about getting my vehicle registered in Florida. Shy stated, that the contract states I cannot go 50 miles out of the city limits. I was not aware of this, or I would have never financed a car through Auto City, since I do travel somewhat. I asked if an addendum could be added to my contract because of my employment circumstances and my impeccable payment history with them. They absolutely would not accommodate me in any manner. The customer service representative suggested I trade the car in, because they refuse to accommodate my needs. If I trade the car now, I will be almost $10,000 upside down. I also have a issue with their payment practices. I was told by a supervisor for their company to send a picture of my credit card via email, so I could make payments by phone or through text message. A few days after, my credit card information was stolen and $400 was taken out of my accounts. Since I've out of state and refuse to make direct payments to Auto City, I am forced to pay them through Western Union which an extra $25.00 every two weeks.

Desired Settlement
I would like Auto City to add an addendum to my contract, that is written by their in house finance company , so I can get my car registered in Florida. I would like Auto City to refund each time I have paid $25 to send them a Auto payment.

Business Response
We have never in our history prevented a customer from moving more than 50 miles away. This employee did not explain our policy correctly and I apologize. Please accept this letter as our consent for Ms. ******* to move wherever she wishes provided she keeps us updated of her current address. Also, I have credited Ms. *******'s account for $150 as a courtesy to compensate her for her Western Union fees. However, we do not accept any liability for her stolen credit card information. Since Ms. *******'s last debit card transaction, we have changed credit card processors and no longer require a picture of her debit or credit card. She may contact any representative to set up her account to pay online with 0 fees. If she still feels uncomfortable with providing the card information over the phone, she may use our voice activated third party provider, Sigma, by calling 866-418-3416. This provider will allow her to use any card she wishes but there is a $4.95 fee.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I accept the $150 courtesy and willl pay the remaining balance for my car payment. However, the registration of the vehicle has not been addressed. In the state a Florida, if you are a resident your vehicle is required by law to be registered within 10 days of residency. I understand there is a contract, but an addendum can be added; since the contract is through their in house financing company. I'm just trying to abide by the laws of this state (FL). The sales clerk suggested I trade the car in, but that would leave me with a huge upside down balance. I plan to pay this car off and cannot afford to trade it with a balance that large. I think that suggestion was unprofessional; as well as unsympathetic to my situation. My account is in good standing. I just would like Auto City to work with me. I would also like to be assigned to another customer service representative if/when this issue is resolved.

Final Business Response
I apologize if I misunderstood Ms. *******'s request. After some research, Ms. ******* will need to contact her local tax office to request her new registration. Her tax office will contact us as lienholder and we'll forward the title directly to them. It will be processed as a Florida title and sent back. If Ms. ******* needs further help in understanding the process, please see: http://www.flhsmv.gov/dhsmv/newflres.html
As to her request for a different account representative, we no longer assign specific customers to an account representative so any representative who answers the phone can be of assistance.

05/15/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased my car from the Lancaster location however the sales person told me that the finance team said I could defer my 1500.00 down payment.
The sales person, finance team all working together to get me into the car he told me that they would work with me until my money arrived (deferred down payment). Well no one told the account rep because when I went to make my first payment she locked the account the paperwork showed wrong due date I was told that this would be corrected but it never was because of this I walked out of my office to a car repo. to receive my car I would need to pay them 1900.00 oh by the way I was paying an extra 100.00 a month toward the deferred payment plus toward Insurance that I never received a card for I was not behind on my car note plus after the sales people sale you the car with all of the bad paper work they don't want to help you with CF Hawn people and this lady was wrong plus the supervisor backed her up unwilling to listen . Took my money and did not hold up to the agreement due to a mistake on their part unacceptable now I am out of a car no one called the sales people and finance people do everything to sale you a car but do not make sure that their clients are secure therefore account reps have there way and push repo button.

Desired Settlement
replace the car or a cheaper car I was lied to they told me that they would convey the message to the account rep and they did not plus they (sales) knew the paper work was wrong wrong date)

Business Response
$ 2500 was the required down, A $1000 was due at the time of sale and the remaining down payment was deferred till 01/15/2015 , however we offered that if from the time of sale you pay $100 extra with each car note we will extend that due to 02/01/2015.
On 03/19/2015 I made contact and explained the program as well as the terms and conditions of our contract, as a result of that conversation I was under the impression that this issue was resolved and on 03/20/2015 this vehicle would be redeemed but we never heard from the Customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
That is not an honest response when they called it was always a threat of picking the car up I was the one explaining the contract to them and that the date was wrong but all they saw was 2/1/2015 and that gave them enough to fight with. Even the Sales person spoke with them and explained so she could unlock the account on the January pay date, so I could pay my car payment this company is not good at all they blame the customer for there flagellant paper work and due to it being in house financing they do what ever she said that the bank ordered them to collect the car they are the bank. It is interesting how they never mentioned how they did whatever with the paper work to get your down payment including falsifying document pretending to work with you then playing the blame game they only hurt people in the in and they lie o cover their trail. It was indeed wrong how we where done I'm sure that other people have been done like this in fact I know so also 3 weeks after having the car they sent a letter stating that we a bank bought the car loan they are that bank in house financing sneaking bad company that attempts to mess people credit up with no remorse. The Account reps to me are only there to get the cars back from day one that was her goal she even called my mom and my payment was not due until the next day why? harassing family and friends and we having record of this simply horrible situation.

Final Business Response
It has always been Auto City's practice that at the time of Sale during closing all documentation is explained to the customer. Before agreeing to the contract the customer signs stating that there are no oral changes and that everything that you have just reviewed is what you were told. We here at Auto City apologize if you feel that you were manipulated or mistreated and would like an opportunity to rectify this misunderstanding. Our goal is not to damage our customers credit , but hopefully to help them re-establish their credit, so in a good fate effort Auto City will remove the negative reporting from your credit.

03/04/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
False Sales Practices
I currently have a car with Auto City. I decided to go back to Auto city because of a couple of their sales points, $500 down and drive away, we finance your future not your past, and the fact that I was already a customer of theirs.

I am about $1,550 from paying off my current car loan which started at roughly $24000 or $26000 with the taxes and fess with the loan. I spoke to a sales rep and he stated that he could get me into a second car, I then decided to trade in my current car and get a second car, they stated based on my payment history they would not be able to do this. I then decided to trade my one vehicle in and get a Ford Felx. I owed roughly $700 at the time, but, was told not to pay as they could roll my balance into my new car loan. I stayed at their location for almost three hours to be told that I could not trade my car in because i did not have a job, I have had a job for the entire time that I have owned the car and with the same company... I was then told that my rental history did not match or seem correct to them. I just moved into the house with my mother and wife. The sales rep was to worried about the other client that he had, he could have transferred my information to another sales rep that was free instead of trying to handle both at one time and spending more time with the other person. which delayed my approval even more.

I was called the next morning and told that they needed to verify the information. I advised that I have been employed for over three years at the same place, explained issues with paying late, and the changes in living. I was told that they wanted to look at my car for an appraisal and I stated that I would not trade my car in now, and they then stated that they would not lease me a car unless I traded my current car in.

Desired Settlement
I would like to speak to the owner of the company and discuss with them the possibility of leasing another car, without the lack of customer service that I have been receiving with the company for the three years that I have been a client of theirs.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******, President
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******@autocitycredit.com
Dear Mr. Fife,
I have reviewed the complaint from Mr. ******** and would have to agree that we did a poor job. I have also called him to apologize and better explain his financing options. Specifically, he may buy any price vehicle that he wants as long as his biweekly payment does not exceed $240. This amount is determined by 3 factors: ability, history, and mileage of the vehicle. The specific vehicle Mr. Stookly was interested in had higher mileage which required the term to be shorter, thus raising the payment way beyond $240. I have suggested alternate vehicles to Mr. ******** which are actually the same price but have much lower mileage, thus lowering the payment. As yet, I have not heard back from Mr. Stookly but hope to assist him in the future.

Sincerely,
***** ******
President

02/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure To Accept Customer Payments
I am currently purchasing a vehicle from Auto City Dallas. I have been paying for this vehicle for 2 years; however, over the last 6 months my current account representative has been calling me leaving messages several times per day, deactivating my online account so I can not schedule or make payments as well as charging my account late fees. On Wednesday 1/14/2015, my online account was scheduled to make an auto payment towards my balance. My account was set up for monthly auto payments so this was an expected expense. I received an email stating the contract for my monthly payments had been deactivated. I checked my online account and it was also deactivated for receipt of payments. I called the location in an attempt to make a phone payment and that service was also unavailable to me. Finally I was transferred to my assigned account representative. She was extremely argumentative and rude during the conversation. As I was at work I finally just asked her out right was she going to accept my car payment.......her response was "no I'm not going to accept your payment"! At this point I was justifiably upset and ended the phone call. I have purchased vehicles from this company in the past and I have never been spoken to in such a manner nor have I had a representative refuse to take my car payment. As of today I have not been able to make my car payment and I have left a message for Kimble Owens (office manager) with no response thus far. This is very disappointing customer service for a repeat customer.

Desired Settlement
Reassign my account to a different account representative. Allow me to make payments online monthly as previously arranged. Do not deactivate online payment option. Do not deactivate monthly payment contract. Do not charge late fees to account when account is set up for monthly not bi-weekly payments.

Business Response
Auto City automated payment system will only process payments that are paying according to the scheduled contract terms , pay cycle and total amount due. When contracting a customer the payments are set up according to the customers pay date schudule atanytime during their contract if their pay cycles change they can bring proof and we will re-contract them according to their new pay cycle. Auto City has tried to contact Mrs. ******* in order to resolve her issue but was un able to reach her. On 01/29/2015 Mrs. *******'s account was paid off.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Financing Consultants, Auto Repair & Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.