BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Addison Motorcars

Phone: (214) 271-1000Fax: (214) 271-100215600 Midway Rd, AddisonTX 75001-4255http://www.addisonmotorcars.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On 05/12/2014 this company's accreditation in BBB was revoked by BBB's Board of Directors due to unresolved complaint(s).

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Addison Motorcars' rating include:

  • Failure to honor commitment to arbitrate disputes or mediate disputes.
  • Failure to respond to 2 complaints filed against business.
  • 2 complaints filed against business that were not resolved.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
03/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a 2010 audi a4 on September 21st of 2013. The state inspection was never done on my vehicle before purchase. As soon as I drove off the lot with my new purchased vehicle the check engine light came on, they fixed that. than 2 days later my sunroof broke, not being able to close and it rained the next day causing me to not have a vehicle to drive. also within that same day as my sunroof braking the check engine light came back on. on Halloween day my car motor than stopped running and left me stranded on the side of the road. ( only 4 weeks after I purchased this vehicle along with all my other problems.) I than called the general manager ****** and he asked me " When will the car become your problem and not mine." I than called my aftermarket warranty company that I purchased for 3400$ dollars and got my car towed to DFW audi where it still sits to this day with no motor because it needs a new motor that will cost me 16 thousand dollars. I am 20 years old and am a fire fighter and do not have 16 thousand dollars laying around to fix a car I bought for 23 thousand dollars. Now since the inspection was never done on the vehicle they can not get the title to my lean holder in which I am still paying for a car I have not touched in 5 months. I have been driving a friends plumbing van for the past 5 months on a car that they will not help fix and my aftermarket warranty company will not pay to get fixed either when they presented it to me as the best bumper to bumper coverage available. Ally financial has sent 13 letter to Addison motorcars asking for title and have not got one reply back. My attorney has sent 3 letters asking for information and offering settlement prices and still has received no letters back from Addison motorcars. I have been without my vehicle for 5 months now and have been paying every month for it. I am aggravated and disappointed to say the least. I hope nobody ever purchases anything from them.
Product_Or_Service: 2010 audi a4 quattro

Desired Settlement
Buy the car back from ally financial.Give me my payments that I have paid (all 5 of them)and return from my 7500$ that I put down on the vehicle.

Business Response
Please contact consumer , we have agreed on a settlement and have a signed legal document by the consumer that the issue is settled and satisfied.

12/06/2012Problems with Product / Service
04/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Faulty brake parking lights keeps coming on after 5 repairs by the dealer, also they are refusing to give me the second keys promised in the contract.June 2013, I purchased a used BMW from AddisonMotorcars, when I went in for a test drive, the Faulty ABS brake and parking lights were on. I was told, this was due to the battery needing replacement. I have in writing that they are responsible for repairing the issue. I put a down payment of 6000 dollars. I have taken the car back to them numerous times and they still have not been able to repair the brake and parking lights that keeps coming on. when the light comes on it feels like the car is dragging. The dealership stated that they replaced the DSC sensors. Also, I have called and sent numerous emails regarding my second keys.. at this time, no one is returning my calls or responding to my emails to both **** ********* and ***** ******* Still I have not heard back from them. This kind of practice should not be allowed. I worked very hard for my money, 6000 thousand dollars down payment is a lot of money to go to waste.

Desired Settlement
I would like for the repairs to do done at a BMW dealership, also, I need my keys as was promised under contract.

Business Response
We here at Addison Motor Cars have made every attempt to satisfy the customers request after the sale was completed. THe vehicle did have 65244 miles at the time of purchase , the customer did sign the Buyers guide "AS IS'-mo warranty form.
WE have new ownership and I would be happy to satisfy her request for the 2nd key if she would contact me.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do understand that I purchased the car AS-IS, Nevertheless, I do have in written under contract that you all would fix/be responsible to repair the faulty ABS system light that was on when the car was purchased and still on. Addison Motor have been giving me the run around and have not responded to my emails nor voice messages. I am not asking you to repair something that was not under contract, I am requesting a repair on what was agreed upon before I decided to go ahead with purchasing the car.

With regards to the second key, please let me know when will be the best time for me to pick up the key, I do want to guarantee that it does work. thanks.

03/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have attempted several times via phone and e-mail to receive updates on necessary information I have been waiting for and nobody is responding.
I bought a car from Addison Motorcars on Dec. 30th 2013. I live in PA, so I paid to have it shipped here. Everyone there was very communicative during the purchase process, but after the deal was "closed", that excellent communication ended. We received the car and unbeknown to us, the start button did not work and the hood of the car does not stay up on it's own, the rod does not work. I had left several messages with the salesperson in regards to the items not working, but he never returned my calls or e-mails. Besides that, it did not arrive with a temporary tag, so I could not drive it. I had to call several times and waited several days, while my new car sat in the driveway, until finally I received the temp tag via e-mail. That is only because I had called the general manager because nobody was getting back to me.
Since that point, I have been trying to get a hold of somebody to let us know when our tax/title paperwork will arrive. After calling several times, first I was told that it would be sent out at the end of January and sent to our local Auto Tag store. Then when I spoke to someone else they said, "I don't know why they would say that, it isn't going out until next Tuesday", which would have been Feb. 4th. I asked for a tracking number so I may know when it will arrive, but nobody will provide that to me. I have been calling the AutoTag place to see if it has arrived almost every day. I got a hold of the General Manager yesterday I asked him if someone could communicate with me and let me know when it was arriving or at least provide me with a tracking number, but he seemed annoyed with my call and bluntly said, "I don't know what you want me to do about it." Their lack of communication after the sale has been, to say the least, very unprofessional. It seems as if, once you buy the car, they are done with you. Yet, they left us with all of these loose ends and no assistance. Also, the fact that I felt they were not completely honest about the above mentioned items on the car that were not in tact.

Desired Settlement
I want compensation for the days my car sat in the driveway because I was waiting for a temp tag. Also for the replacement start button and the hood rod, including installation because those items were not disclosed in the car listing nor were they verbalized to me.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@addisonmotorcars.com
Yes we did sell the ******** a vehicle. They purchased the vehicle from our Web site on the internet.We actually took 53 pictures of that vehicle to give the customer a good ideaa of the condition and equiptment of the car.2 of the pictured clearly showed the condition of the start button.
They finalized their purchase and the vehicle remained on our showroom for approximatly 2 weeks until their transport company picked it up.We did not send a temp tag with it at this time. When they called us on a Saturday after they recieved the vehicle and requested a temp tag we offered to email them one right away, however texdot web page was down , I had one of my employees come in on Sunday the only day of the week we are closed to email a tag to them and the texdot system was still down. It was out of our control and we sent them a tag as soon as we were able to log in to texdot. Mrs ******* did contact me in refrence to her title issues and I told her there was nothing I could do at the moment because I was not currently at the store to give her any information.I understand her frustration but do not feel compensation is due for any reason.
Thank you
****** ******
Managing Partner/ GM
Addison Motor Cars

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I regards to the start button, there were photos of it as Mr. ****** mentions. The issue is not with the cosmetics of it, but rather the functionality. It is not a problem that it is worn-looking, but it is a problem that it does not work. That is also the case, as previously mentioned, for the front hood of the car not staying up. Neither issues were mentioned in the sales ad and when I left messages regarding those issues, nobody called me back.
As for the title paperwork, I was completely ignored when I called/e-mailed several times in regards to its whereabouts. Not until I made Mr. ****** aware of my complaint to the BBB, did they begin to work on it. When the paperwork arrived on Tuesday, it was sent to the incorrect local AutoTag establishment. I sent his finance manager the information on where to send the paperwork and it turned up somewhere else. This error is just more evidence of Addison Motors' lack of professional and communication with their customers.


Final Business Response
We would be willing to compensate a settlement amount of $300.00 to satisfy all issues and complaints.

Consumer Response
I have not yet received the compensation from Addison Motors. I have not heard from them regarding when I will be receiving it as I had asked them when I agreed to the settlement amount.

01/11/2013Problems with Product / Service
09/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
bought a 05 f250 lifted and they sold me a warranty and less then a month truck had to go in shop, undrivable
I bought a 05 f250 lifted truck on or around june 22, 2014. I had just got back from a 12 month deployment over sea in a combat zone. when i bought the truck they said i had to buy this 3400 dollar extended warranty with or i could buy the truck, they garanteed me that the truck would be covered under this warranty. in little over a month the truck had to go into the shop for repairs and low and behold the track bar, drag link were broken the coil springs were collasped all the shocks were blown and the pitman arm anfd the gear box was broke so the truck was undrivable and very unsafe to drive and it being my only mode of transportation for me and my family, i was not going to risk driving it. I took it to a shop and they filed a claim with the warranty company, which i had to buy and they promised me it would be coved, the warranty company came out to inspect the repairs and said that they can't cover the repairs because the truck was lifted.
I think this is a great disrespect to me a soldier who has served many tours over sea fighting for the freedoms that these people enjoy, and when i get back from a deployment and decide to buy a truck for my family and i get this from the american people. it is such a shame how these people have treated an american soldier who has put his life on the line many times for freedom.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to do whats right morally and pay in full for the repairs of the truck so that this soldier can have a truck for me and my family. And to cancel the warranty and refund the 3400 off my car loan.

08/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a car from Addison 2 years ago..i traded it in now..I need them to help get my gap insurance refund ..please
I have tried to call Addison motor cars many times to ask them to help Mr get the money I'm owed from the gap insurance I purchased from them 2years ago..no one has called me bak yet.... ...I was told to talk to someone named ***** ************** left that voicemail a few messages and I left a verbal message with someone to hand deliver it....please help me to solve this problem....my ph# is XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I am owed 800$ from my gap insurance

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Dealers - Online

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/09/2012Business started: 08/01/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave.
Austin, TX78731
(512) 465-3000
http://www.txdmv.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tyrone Cassell (GM)Mr. David Stephens (Dealer/Principle)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Dealers - Online

Alternate Business Names
Millennium Luxury Imports of Dallas, LLC.
Industry Tips
Used Cars Sold As-Is

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Addison Motorcars

15600 Midway Rd

Addison, TX 75001-4255

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 15600 Midway Rd 

    Addison, TX 75001-4255(214) 271-1000

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Addison Motorcars is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Used Cars Sold As-Is
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.