BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/06/2012

Auto Class Direct

Phone: (972) 509-0600Fax: (972) 509-0650825 K Ave, PlanoTX 75074-8503 Send email to Auto Class Direct

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/06/2012

BBB has determined that Auto Class Direct meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Auto Class Direct's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Auto Class Direct's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
02/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: autoclass direct claimed the vehicle they sold me was in good running condition and within 4,000 the transmission completely failed.
I purchase a 2002 BMW 330Ci convertible for my daughter from Autoclass Direct in July 2011 with 92,000 miles on it. The company stated that their mechanic had looked the vehicle over and that it was in good running condition with no known problems. Within 4,000 miles the transmission failed. I took the vehicle to two different mechanics and both said that there is no way another mechanic looked at this vehicle and could not tell that the transmission was about to fail at any time. I tried to call back in December 2011 and spoke with a gentlemen on the phone to explain my concern and was hung up on. The vehicle has sat since December 2011 and I just now have saved the funds and had the vehicle repaired back to normal driving condition (picking it up on 1/10/13. I feel that Autoclass Direct misrepresented the vehicles condition at the time of sale.

Business' Initial Response
As this is the first time (2013) anyone has heard about this, we are researching Mr. ******'s (2011) claim and have attempted to contact him at the number provided.

First off, we are very sorry Mr. ****** has incurred hardships from buying and maintaining a European luxury vehicle.

Mr. ****** did have a 30 day/1,000 mile warranty on the POWERTRAIN ONLY, offered free of charge by the dealer at the time of purchase. This is something we offered for peace of mind for both the customer and the dealer in case there are any unexpected issues. We are told by many transmission specialists that there is no way to tell when a transmission is going bad until it does. Mechanics seem to have different opinions.

We also offered Mr. ****** an opportunity to purchase an extended service contract which he declined and said he may buy later and did not.
Mr. ****** did come back in on 7/26/11 and the dealer took care of several minor repairs at no cost to him-something they were not obligated to pay for since he bought the vehicle As Is and the 30 day/1,000 mile did not cover. He was very appreciative at the time.

We typically do not hang up on customers at Auto Class Direct. Had we talked with him at the time we would have offered the discounted services of our mechanics and/or vendors, whom would have worked with him regarding repair and would have considerable savings options.

Nothing else was promised or owed on this 2002 BMW Convertible.

We will continue to look into this claim and reach Mr. ******.

Consumer's Final Response
In my initial complaint I intended that my suggested resolution be that Auto Class Direct pay for half of a rebuilt/used transmission that would have in total cost around $2,300 - $2,500. When I read the suggested resolution it stated that I wanted them to pay for atleast the full cost of a rebuilt transmission. That was not my intent and if possible I would like to amend that to state that they pay half of what a rebuilt/used transmission would cost which would put them paying approximately $1,150 - $1,250. I apologize for the error. I did state this as my suggested resolution to Auto Class Direct when I spoke to them on the phone as I thought that was what got put into the complaint originally.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Online, Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars, Auto Warranty Plans

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/26/2012Business started: 03/01/2010
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chip Winn (Owner)Ms. Rome Colburn HCS (OPS/Finance/IT/HR)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Online, Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars, Auto Warranty Plans

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Auto Class Direct

825 K Ave

Plano, TX 75074-8503

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Auto Class Direct is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Online

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.