BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/31/2008

University Park Audi

Phone: (214) 561-1800Fax: (214) 561-1817View Additional Phone Numbers5033 Lemmon Ave, DallasTX 75209-6509 Send email to University Park Audi

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/31/2008

BBB has determined that University Park Audi meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised University Park Audi's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
10/02/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised written warranty or guarantee

Complaint: I scheduled an appointment for an extended warranty. I explained how much time was left on the warranty. they accepted it.
situation. In early November I went to University Park Audi & set an appointment for mid November. I explained to the Service Writer that I had an extended warranty & that the time was limited. I informed him that my warranty only covered my "Drive Train" and that I needed the entirety of my warranty inspected. I acknowledged the price of $185.00 if there was going to be a problem other than the warranty. I was then assured that my warranty was acceptable & could be handled. A problem occurred in which I had to reschedule for early December, I again informed him of the time limit on my Audi's coverage & was told that there wouldn't be a problem.

On the December 5th I had my Audi delivered to the Service Writer & was accepted on that date. Not hearing from University Park Audi in approximately two weeks, I called the Service Writer to check on the progress & reiterated to him about the time limit. I was told that the transmission was inspected & was deemed bad. I reinforced that the warranty covered more than just the transmission & that I was expecting the entire drive train to be inspected. Again he informed that they were on top of it & that he'll get back in touch with me. On December 28th, University Park Audi's Service Writer called to inform me that my warranty was rejected on the basis that my warranty had expired on the 25th of December. The explanation I was given was with the Holidays, his time off & the fact that he had never seen anything like a warranty ending on a holiday without extending a day or two being that they were closed. After about a week, I was called & informed that the situation could be taken care of if I were to accept University Park Audi offer of replacing my Transmission for the price of my deductible, & the difference in labor cost. I reminded the Service Writer that I initially brought my Audi in for a Drive Train Inspection. I also pointed out that my expectations were to have my entire system checked & that the Transmission was only a part of what my warranty covered. I was told that he would take my concern to his Service Manager. Another week passed, and the next call I got was in a take it or leave it type of tone, I declined.

My concern is that I've lost the value of my warranty, I purchased the warranty for such an occasion, not expecting to have a problem out of the dealership, & certainly not expecting it to be my problem. I would love to say I understand, but I don't. I don't understand how my Audi was left on the lot for Three Weeks, I cant understand how my Audi received a scratch on that lot for the second time. Not to be pointed out but for me to find out for myself. The first time I didn't notice until I washed it .This last time I was there & was able to make note. Not to say that all my dealings have been as crucial as this but the dealership has been frustrating to me.


Initial Business Response
Mr. ******'s third party warranty denied his claim due to the expiration of his contract. We offered Mr. ****** a goodwill gesture to repair his car per the guidelines of his warranty contract. Mr. ****** refused this offer and picked up his car.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I told the service writer that I had 20 days left on my warranty & he assured me that it will be taken care of. My warranty was denied 23 days later. Being that they didn't honor my warranty, they suggested that it was a goodwill gesture that they fix the transmission. My extended warranty covered the entire drive shaft, not just the transmission. Being that my car was not just sluggish in take off, it was slamming in & out of gears while driving. Which then I was informed that it was possibly more than a transmission problem. The diagnosis that was given to me was the diagnosis I gave to the service writer, which would indicate that My car was never inspected. In addition I was also told the difference would be an hourly rate that surpassed my extended warranty's hourly rates. If they would of came to me in a professional & timely manner all of this could possibly could have been handled by someone who could have honored the warranty as purchased by me. In conclusion I believe the company undermined the integrity of my warranty & the thought that their offer was anything other than a water down compromise to cover the company's incompetency, is an affront to legitimate businesses.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

10/01/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the product

Complaint: Purchased Vehicle 11'Audi A4 CPO in April 2012. Within 2 months it showing Low oil signal. Total 4 occurrences. Ultimately Engine rebuilt. Not run sam
I have 2 Main Issues with this sale;
Issue#1:- Mechanical problem when Audi Dallas rebuilt my Audi A4 Engine after oil consumption test. The vehicle isn't run same. It was never disclose to me about the issues this car had in past, and I'm paying high price of Certified Pre-Own vehicle
Issue#2 After knowing about oil consumption issue,I went to sell my car to Carmax, at that moment it dawned on me that my vehicle has 327,000 miles listed on the title, instead of 32000 miles, so the carmax offer me the price 7-8K less than what it suppose to sell for and asked me if I can go get it fixed(Suspected error)from the dealership I bought, they will consider increasing their offer. I Contacted Audi dallas again to Please fix this error. So many Phone calls, emails, Physical visits, Contacted bank, finally start talking with Audi Advocate program, but All in vain and nothing get resolved to this date. At the peek of my frustration I'm filing this complain now so my problem be redressed.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Wayne wright owner/gm
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ************@audidallas.com
We contacted tax office who had made the error, and they just corrected and said it may take a while for it to update in car fax and auto check.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
NO. Because when I went to sale my car to carmax, they saw car mileage in AutoCheck was showing 327,000 miles, so they put a price tag 7-8 thousand less than what it suppose to sell if the mileage was showing correct I would have sold my car at the right price. Carmax did tell me why they are offering low price.
My second concern about rebuilding engine and showing issues in first 3 months of owning vehicle have not been discussed here . Why?

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

08/20/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have recently co-signed for my cousin to buy a mini cooper from this dealership. It now has only 2,000 miles put on it since the day I purchased it from Audi Dallas and is a nightmare to drive. My cousin initially called this dealership for assistance in diagnosing the problem and was denied any help. She ended up paying over $100 to have a diagnosis done at another dealership to find that the clutch and flywheel were severely damaged. The clutch is a part that does not suddenly go out, this car was sold to us with the problem. My cousin has been calling Audi Dallas and has been ignored several times with false promises of return calls. I myself have recently attempted to contact the manager of this business and have received no return calls. I expect a dealership to provide at least a call back to discuss options. It had been only two months after our purchase that this car had become nearly impossible to drive. Now my cousin is left with a newly purchased car that she cannot repair or drive that was purchased from a dealership that refuses to provide assistance of any kind. This car should have had a quality inspection before being offered for sale. I have completely lost trust in the integrity of this dealership not only for the fact that I was sold a faulty car, but for the fact that they fail to provide any customer service if it does not involve the sale of a vehicle.
Product_Or_Service: automobile

Business' Initial Response
The car went through an inspection in our shop and there was never an indication that there was an issue with the clutch and flywheel on this vehicle. As a used car it was sold as/is and was not under any type of manufacturer warranty. The concerned parties were offered to purchase a warranty when they signed their paperwork in our business office but declined the warranty. Nobody knows when something mechanically might go wrong with a vehicle as well as we don't know how the vehicle was driven once it left our lot. That's why for peace of mind clients are offered the option of purchasing a warranty when they buy a car

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
A vehicle's clutch and flywheel does not completely go bad from new in the matter of three weeks and only 1000 miles. This car was sold to us with a problem and not even minimal assistance was provided from this dealership. The clutch was stiff when the car was bought and we were assured this was typical of the vehicle before purchase. I was offered a warranty for a high price which is why it was turned down. When a $3000 repair is needed 3 weeks after purchase, I expect a dealership to have some integrity in the cars they sell. Even the slightest concern would suffice, but instead I have been blown off with several ignored messages left for the business in regards to this vehicle. This car was bought to be driven 2 miles to and from work and had only 1000 miles put on it when it became nearly impossible to drive due to a failed clutch and flywheel. I am extremely dissatisfied with this business. I did not approach Audi of Dallas with irrational requests, I only wanted to work on some type of solution since I could not afford the repairs and did not have a car to get to work with. Instead, I have been made to look ridiculous and received no concern.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

09/22/2011Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Transmissions - Automobile, Radiators - Automotive, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Lubricating Service - Automotive, Brake Service, Auto Restoration, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Inspection Stations, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair, Accident Reconstruction Service, Auto Air Conditioning, Springs - Automotive - Sales & Service, Shock Absorbers, Heaters - Automotive, Clutches, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Alternators & Generators - Retail, Steering Systems & Equipment, Starters - Engine, Axles

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/17/2002Business started: 11/01/1997Business started locally: 01/01/2002
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave.
Austin, TX78731
(512) 465-3000
http://www.txdmv.gov

Texas Department of Public Safety
5805 North Lamar Blvd.
Austin, TX78752
(512) 424-2000
http://www.txdps.state.tx.us

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Randy Rogers (Assistant General Manager)
Contact Information
Mr. Wayne Wright (General Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Transmissions - Automobile, Radiators - Automotive, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Lubricating Service - Automotive, Brake Service, Auto Restoration, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Inspection Stations, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair, Accident Reconstruction Service, Auto Air Conditioning, Springs - Automotive - Sales & Service, Shock Absorbers, Heaters - Automotive, Clutches, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Alternators & Generators - Retail, Steering Systems & Equipment, Starters - Engine, Axles

Alternate Business Names
Sonic Park Place Audi, LP, Audi Dallas, FORBES TODD AUTOMOTIVE II, LLC
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Know the Facts about Auto Service Contracts
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
The Hail Season is Here
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for University Park Audi

5033 Lemmon Ave

Dallas, TX 75209-6509

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5033 Lemmon Ave 

    Dallas, TX 75209-6509(214) 561-1800
    (800) 378-9703
    (800) 399-0689
    (800) 399-0587

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*University Park Audi is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 378-9703
  • (800) 399-0689
  • (800) 399-0587
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.