BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1992

Toyota of Plano

Phone: (972) 248-7777Fax: (972) 380-81241001 Preston Rd, PlanoTX 75093-5313 Send email to Toyota of PlanoView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1992

BBB has determined that Toyota of Plano meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Toyota of Plano's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Toyota of Plano

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (12)
09/10/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

The sales staff misrepresented the truck as 4WD and persuaded me to choose aftermarket additions that do not function properly on the truck.
Admittedly, I don't know a lot about trucks. I've been driving a car and have never owned a 4WD truck, so when I asked to test drive a 4WD Tacoma, I assumed that's what we were doing. I was even mistakenly shown how to put the truck in 4WD during the test drive. I feel like an idiot now for not knowing any better, but why wouldn't I believe what the salesman was telling me? I based all of my decisions on the premise that I was buying a 4WD truck. I even told my friends and family I had purchased a 4WD truck.

Also during the purchase process, I was persuaded to choose a six-inch lift and bigger wheels and tires over the three-inch lift with smaller wheels and tires. I wasn't sure which route to go. I was initially thinking bigger but liked the smaller setup on the FJ Cruiser on the showroom floor. They told me to go with the six-inch lift with bigger wheels and tires, so I did. I chose a set of rims and was promised everything would be done right.

That was a lie. First it was the wheels. They couldn't get the ones I wanted, so I had to choose from wheels they had available. After making a choice, they told me that they weren't the right fit and were causing tire rub, so I had to choose between two new options and was assured these would eliminate the tire rub. Wrong again. I got a call from the parts department after they got the truck back from the installer to let me know the tires were still rubbing. The truck was sent back to the installer who called me and told me the tires would only rub in extreme cases. Wrong yet again. They rub quite often. The installer also told me that they never put tires this big on the Tacoma. Why wasn't I given this information the night I was trying to decide on tire and wheel size...or at least before the work was done?

The day I picked up the truck, I drove to my parents for Easter. It was on that drive that I learned just how bad the tire rub was. To make matters worse, my father pointed out the next day that the truck was not 4WD. I was angry and embarrassed. I immediately emailed the salesman about the issues and was told to wait a few days while he explored available options. I was told that all they could do was put me in a lesser package truck with 4WD and that my payments would go up significantly. He said it was too late to just return the truck and that they'd have to roll over a lot of expenses into the replacement. Of course it was too late. They had the truck for eight days adding the aftermarket equipment even though I was told it would only take a couple of days.

I then spoke with the next level up and was told the same thing. I also had my intelligence questioned for not knowing I wasn't in a 4WD truck. What does that say about his staff who provided the misinformation? Moving further up the chain in an attempt to find someone who had more decision-making power, I have now reached an individual who doesn't return voice mail messages or emails. Every time I call and give my name, he is conveniently away from his desk. I wanted to meet in person, but our work schedules do not match up and it's tough for me to get away during the day. So I left messages for him and sent an email detailing the situation and have asked for a call to discuss my options. Nothing.

It's apparent that once the sale is finalized and the truck is transferred into my name, that the dealership no longer cares about the customer. At this point, they don't have to do anything because they know my options are limited. I'm going to progress through those options, however, starting with this complaint.

Desired Settlement
Initially, I wanted a replacement truck even if the base price was more and eliminated the aftermarket equipment. The truck is what is important to me, as I planned on it being a long-term vehicle. I said as much the night I purchased it. When I didn't like the price, I was willing to strip everything and add it later, but they lowered the cost and made it work. Obviously, had we really been working with a 4WD truck, the price would have prohibited aftermarket additions and I would have been fine with that. Replacing the truck and rolling over several thousand in expenses from this one is not a suitable option.

Realizing the hassle that this is becoming, I decided that I would propose the option of keeping the truck if they would refund the price of the tires, wheels, and lift, since I would have to figure out a solution for the rubbing tires and have recently discovered a bracket for the lift that needs to be replaced/repaired because it is not functioning properly. If the refund is applied towards the principal balance, I could look into selling the truck after the issues are fixed and possibly break even so that I could then purchase what I wanted to begin with.

However, since I cannot get anyone to call me back, I haven't proposed this option and am now ready to walk away from Toyota of Plano altogether. Ideally, I would return the truck, they would pay off the balance, and I would walk out the door with a fair credit for my trade-in plus two to three weeks of a rental car allowance that would enable me to work with another Toyota Dealership to purchase a new Tacoma.

Business Response
My GSM ***** ****** was supposed to respond to this during my absense last week since he knew about this and has spoken to the customer a number of times about it. The paperwork he signed showed it was a 2WD even though the Truck looks like a 4WD. The salesperson denies he ever said he wanted a $ Wheel Drive truck. We have already offered a liberal trade to trade him up into the one he wants. He has been talking to the person who can helpo him make a deal but he only wants all his money he has spent back to get the one he wants which we cant do. I cant give this customer what he wants just because he wasnt aware that the truck wasnt a 4 wheel drive and now its a titled used vehicle. I will be happy to trade him up at a reduced cost than it would cost most people but it wont be chaep.***** ****** GM

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I've already responded by adding additional info, but will do so again using the extra characters to elaborate more. In reading his response, it's obvious Mr. ****** does not have all of the facts. I have never talked to ***** ******* He was never available when I called and never responded to the voicemails or emails I sent detailing the situation.

I first initiated contact with Toyota of Plano through their online contact form. In that message, I included a link to a 4WD truck with aftermarket accessories that I found online at another dealership and asked if Toyota of Plano could do something similar. I was told yes.

When I initially went to the dealership, I met the salesperson I had been in contact with and told him I was interested in a 4WD TRD Sport. He was busy with another customer and passed me off to another salesperson. That's probably why he doesn't remember what I told him. With that salesperson, I again said I was interested in a 4WD TRD Sport, so I thought that's what we got in to test drive.

Thinking we were in a 4WD truck, I asked if shifting into the 4-D position put the truck into 4WD and was told yes. Later during the test drive, I jokingly asked if we could put it into 4WD and go "mudding" like they do in the Chevy commercials. All I got was a chuckle from the salesperson. Not only did he fail to correct me on two occasions, but he provided misinformation that contributed to my thinking that I was purchasing a 4WD truck.

Later, while going over the aftermarket accessories that were being added to the truck, we discussed taking the truck off-road and I said that it was not something I would do until later in the life of the truck, so I decided to pass on getting the skid plate. The off-road discussion was another chance for the salesperson to tell me that the truck wasn't 4WD. I was adding a lift, wheels, tires, and other accessories and talking about going off road because I was led to believe I was buying a 4WD truck and not once did any of the multiple salespersons I talked to ever say, "Are you sure you want to add all this off-road equipment to a 2WD truck and not a 4WD truck?" The looks of the truck did not confuse me. The truck only looks like a 4WD because of the aftermarket equipment I chose to have the dealership add since I thought it was a 4WD truck.

Regarding the papers I signed, I reviewed all of my copies once I realized the truck wasn't 4WD and nowhere could I find "2WD." I can provide a copy of these. I can also provide statements from family and friends whom I told as early as the initial night of purchase that I was getting a 4WD. I also showed these individuals how to shift the truck into 4WD, just as I was told during my test drive. They will provide sworn statements as such.

The one thing Mr. ****** got right is that I did initially want to return the truck for a 4WD model. However, the only option proposed to me was a lesser model 4WD truck that would have cost me thousands more, as they would be treating the swap like a trade-in. I was told I needed to speak with ***** ****** because he would be the only one that could provide other options.

Having a little time to think things over, I was willing to back off my stance of wanting a replacement truck and discuss other options with Mr. ******* particularly the issues with the aftermarket equipment. That's an area Mr. ****** failed to address in his response. Not only did his staff mislead me into thinking I was buying a 4WD truck, they also lacked the knowledge of the equipment they helped me pick out and provided false promises on its functionality. I was going to discuss all of this with Mr. Strawn, but his refusal to return my calls led me to file a complaint with the BBB.

If the dealership is serious about hearing the facts, discussing them, and agreeing upon a resolution, I am open to doing so, using the BBB as an intermediary. To this point, they've put all of the blame on me, questioned my intelligence, and ignored my requests to discuss this matter further. They even ignored this complaint until they lost their accreditation. I would like to resolve this matter as soon as possible and think it would be in the best interest of both parties to do so.

01/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

April 1, 2013
****** M. ***** J.D., M.B.A** OF COUNSEL
Mr. ***** *****
Toyota USA
National Customer Relations
XXXXX ***** ******* Avenue
Dept. ****
Torrance, ********** XXXXX
RE: Purchase 2012 Camry
Toyota of Plano/Texas
Via Certified XXXX XXXXXXXX XXXXXXXX and first class
Dear Mr. ******
We have two Camry's which were both purchased at Toyota of Plano. My husband purchased
the first; I was unlucky to have purchased the second. Notably, the vehicles themselves are fine
and we have had no issues.
The issue is that we used a trade in (Ford Mustang 2002). The salesperson advised us as we were
finalizing the sale that the Mustang cannot be sold because of a broken title (we purchased the
car in Oklahoma for my son and were completely taken by surprise) and because the dealership
felt that it had probably been totaled at one time and would be unsafe to sell. Needless to say, I
believed him and went through with the sale. Notably, another Toyota dealership had offered us
two thousand for the trade in though they had not gotten a chance to check the title.
We have received notifications, from the Dallas Toll way Authority, that the Mustang was not
only sold but that the vehicle is running up and down the Toll road amassing huge charges for
which they are holding us responsible.
We would have thought that this type of business behavior would be considered out of tine for a
reputable dealership. We directed an email to your GM who felt that it was acceptable for his
salesperson to lie. Mr. ***** ****** even went so far as to tell me how to get myself out of the
mess with the toll way authority.
Mr. ***** *****
Toyota USA
Page 2
Toyota of Plano committed fraud in every sense of the word. The salesperson lied to me by
stating that the vehicle could not be sold at auction because of the broken title and the condition
of the vehicle. He never did say what he thought was that wrong with it. Obviously, nothing as
the vehicle is not only operable but zipping along quite nicely.
We are requesting that the dealership make good on the value of the car and return $2,000 as this
was the estimated value of the vehicle. Second, they need to contact the new owner and advise
him of the broken title and their opinion that this car was totaled at one point and may be unsafe
to drive, if that is indeed true and not another fabrication.
Just to add to the misery that came along with this sale, is that the salesperson's behavior after
the sale was less than helpful. I was told by several people that this salesperson may have an
issue with female buyers (so why is he on the floor selling to women).
I have attached a copy of Mr. ***** ******'s email telling me to handle the title issue and pretty
much take the loss. I would assure you that your company has lost more than my patronage.
I have also attached copies of the various infractions that the Mustang has made with the Toll
Way Authority.
The resolution to this should have been that the salesperson in question be admonished and fired
for lying. That Toyota of Plano safeguard the welfare of others by not selling a vehicle it deems
unsafe and that Toyota of Plano operate within the laws of the State of Texas.
We are requesting the return of $2,000 as well as clearing our name from the title and insisting
that the new owner be advised of the issues if they are indeed true to begin with.
This is no way to run a business. If we do not hear from you, it will be assumed that you agree
with this egregious behavior and we will take matters to the proper authority for resolution.
Cc: Better Business Bureau

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ************
The customer bought the car on 10/31/2012 and it did not have tinted windows on it. She was complaining about it at a local Chamber event and my customer relations manager overheard her and asked to speak to her about it. We fixed the scratch at no charge and gave her tinted windows (which she did not pay for) also at no charge. She became irate when the toll tag people contacted her about her car aquiring toll charges two months later. She contacted us and was told that we had wholesaled the SALVAGE title car at a local junk auction. I did explain to her that alll she needed to do was fax a copy of her buyers order to the toll tag authorities showing that she no longer owned the car at that time. She than stated demanding we give her $2,000 for her car that she says we stole from her. She said she was going to contact an attorney if we did not do so. We gave her a discount of over $3,600 AND 0% for 60 months on the car deal and $500 for her Salvage title 178,000 mile 2002 Mustang that we took to the junk sale. I have given this to our attorney and have been advised to not talk to her anymore about this. Please close this case as we have done more than we should have to begin with. Thanks

Consumer Response
****** & VESS, P.C.
**** ******* ROAD ******* DALLAS, TEXAS XXXXX
****** P. ******, J.D., C.P.A. ****** M. WDD, J.D .. M.B.A., OF ******** ***** L. ***** J.D.
May 15,2013
Mr. *** *********
Director of Complaint Resolution Department
Better Business Bureau **** *** Street Suite ****
Dallas, Texas XXXXX
RE: Case # XXXXXXXX: Toyota of Plano
I am responding to Toyota 0f Plano's response to the complaint made in my correspondence of April 1, 2013. Regretfully, Toyota of Plano has again chosen to fabricate "facts" to bolster their situation at the risk of adding more lies to the already stacked deck.
I will address their statement that "She was complaining about it at a local chamber event and my
customer relations manager overheard .... Etc". The fact is that I met the customer relations manager and mentioned that I had just purchased a car from them. She then asked me if it was a good experience and I told her that it was not. She insisted that I discuss the issues with her and I emphatically stated that I did not wish to pursue it further especially during a social/marketing event. She then tracked me down (I had a name badge on) and had the general manager ****** ******) contact me. I never requested anything from them. They gave me the car with a deep scratch. allowed them to just repaint the area instead of insisting that they repair the gouge correctly . . I should have required a complete repair in retrospect which would have involved body work and repainting the entire side of the car. They offered the tinting as their salesperson was more interested in closing the deal that he barely spent any time showing me the vehicles features. I felt as if I had just purchased a pair of shoes and not a vehicle.
1/ /ôïïï
Page 2
Second, their sales person did lie. He told me that the car cannot be sold at auction due to defective title and because they deemed it to be unsafe to drive. So now they state that they sold it for junk is also untrue because the vehicle has been driven back and forth with the same license plate number. And as stated in my previous letter, the $500 was input into that column so that they may close the deal. They considered the vehicle as one that would go to the junkyard where they stated that they would have to pay to have it hauled off. More lies.
If Toyota of Plano seriously considered this vehicle as junk, they should have stripped off the license plate and resolved any outstanding issues of ownership with the Department of Motor Vehicles which is where the North Texas Toll way Authority researches car titles and ownership. As it stands now, this vehicle is running up and down the toll way creating more fines and citations for us. Should the vehicle be involved in criminal activity, we would be answerable. It is their responsibility to seek out the new owner or at least the company they sold the car to and resolve the problem.
As to the discounts etc, this is typical of pricing offered by dealerships as they were trying to get rid of their 2012 models. A $3,600 discount off of sticker is not unusual or particularly expansive. The 60 month no interest was being nationally advertised by Toyota and was available to anyone purchasing a vehicle. Nothing special there either. They did not offer it as an incentive to purchase the vehicle.
They have not performed as a charitable organization now or ever before. To even suggest that they have gone out of their way is totally ludicrous as the consumer is aware of the margins in sticker pricing and as far as I can tell they make money on every deal.
As I was previously reluctant to discuss Toyota of Plano's shortcoming in public previously; I shall not hesitate to do so going forward both verbally and via the internet. As far as I am concerned they are dishonest and sloppy in their dealings with customers. Women in particular should steer away from Toyota of Plano. You will not get a square deal.
I am again requesting that they return $2,000 as was previously requested. Sincerely
*******. ******

11/27/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

The $2000 warranty I purchased was presented to me as a full coverage. Said this covers everything in your car. That finance guy in no longer there.
I purchased a 2008 Honda Pilot from this dealer on July 27,2013. The car was $21000, and I put down $7000. The cost of the warranty was $2000.

The finance manager who handled the finance part of the contract name was *** For whatever reason he is no longer with Toyota of Plano and I have not been able to locate him.

This finance manager said to us that the Gold warranty we purchased would cover bumper to bumper, everything in the car including all electronics and computer operations in full if anything was to happen to the car. The warranty he sold under that representation is administered by a company called:

Continuous Customer Care
GS Administrators
1345 Enclave Parkway
Houston, TX 77077

The Pilot needed a repair on 11/9/2013. The malfunction was a valve adjustment and a computer update-the same computer I was told was absolutely fully covered. Without doing the immediately, the cars performance, gas mileage, reliability would begin to deteriorate. In fact there was a previous bulletin published alerting dealers to this possible malfunction which was never disclosed to me when we were in the finance department. I would have asked them to take care of that update prior to taking delivery of the car if I had been informed.

I was absolutely mislead by this employee of Toyota of Plano and it has had a material effect on our finances and the time we had to take off work to get this repair done in the Honda dealer in Arlington where we live.

I have tried to resolve this by calling the used car "finance manager" who claimed he would get back to me. That was 2 weeks ago. I then called the General manager of the dealership, but received a call back from the salesman who sold us the car in the first place. His name is **** I explained the situation to him and he said he would get back to me. He did not. I followed up wit a call to *** on Monday this week. He said he could not do anything and call the General Manager of Toyota of Plano.

I have called the GM twice. Once on Tuesday and once on Thursday and left very specific reasons for my call and requesting his assistance in getting back the $466.00 dollars I had to spend under a rejected claim that I was told "all would be covered by ***, his no longer there finance rep.

All I want to do is to be reimbursed the $466 dollars I had to spend and a apology from Toyota of Plano for misrepresenting the actual coverage of the warranty and not informing me there was already a notice out about this very issue.

I appreciate all your assistance with this issue.

Thank you,

****** *******

Desired Settlement
$466 reimbursement and an apology for misrepresentation.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@TOYOTAOFPLAO.COM

09/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The Dealer agreed to give me the full credit back to my loan for the windshield protection, but I still haven't received the credit.
I purchased a used 2010 Lexus SUV on March 27, 2013 with the windshield protection about $780 that was included in the Sales Price without my knowledge. On April 26, 2013, I requested the used car Sales Manager to cancel the windshield protection and give me the refund back to my loan. He AGREED verbally on that day. I asked him for the cancellation paperwork, and he told me that there was no paperwork for this kind of cancellation. I wait and wait for the credit, and nothing happens. On 7/19/13, I wrote him an email for the reminder about the refund. He responsed and said he will find out for me...and TODAY is 9/6/13, I still haven't received this credit. Please help.

Desired Settlement
I would like the business to credit back the full refund to my loan.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ************@TOYOTAOFPLANO.COM

09/18/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

I have not received the Milwaukee tool kit as promised when I purchased the 2013 Toyota Tundra.
I purchased a 2013 Toyota Tundra on June 20, 2013 and it was promoted with a $1,000 Milwaukee tool kit. The tool kit has not been delivered to me and repeated attempts to get a delivery date from Toyota of Plano have gone unanswered. I have sent repeated requests to Rafael Amzayan and Mirza Begovic and I have not gotten a response.

Desired Settlement
I want the Milwaukee tool kit delivered to me or the equivalent funds ($1,000) to purchase the kit at a local retailer.

Consumer's Final Response
***** ******, the GM for Toyota of Plano, contacted me on 9/14/13 and informed me the tool kit would be shipped by Toyota on Sept 16th. I received the tool kit today (Sept 17th). I commend Toyota of Plano on the very quick resolution to this complaint.

Page 1 of 2
08/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Better Business Bureau
1<)01 Elm Street, Suite 3838
Dhllas, TX 75201-4744
Rf: Complaints against Toyota of Plano (Plano, TX) and Toyota Financial Services (***** ******* ~L)
i '
D ar Sir or Madam:
y complaint against these companies is two-fold, part against the dealership and the other part against the
fi ancing company. I leased a 2013 Toyota Highlander on May 28,2013 from Toyota of Plano in ~lano, TX.
ithin three months of getting this vehicle my income decreased over $1,000 a month because I stopped
r eiving child support. At first I thought it would be a temporary situation so I continued to try to tpake the
$ 40 monthly payment. However, I was making the payment about 14-15 days late and incurring l*e fees. By
October I realized that my loss of income was going to be permanent and I would no longer be able ~o afford to
kt.ep the car. I took the vehicle back to the dealership and told them my situation. I asked ifthere smaller,
1 s expensive vehicle that they could put me in and was told they couldn't help me. I indicated I rrJght need to
j t tum the vehicle in and walk away and they told me that I shouldn't do that because it would ruin my credit
rujtd I would never be able to buy another vehicle again. I was in tears pretty much the whole time I (vas there.
T e man was nice enough, but said the dealership was not willing to help me because I was too upside down in
t e vehicle. There was less than 5,000 miles on the car at that time and they wouldn't take it back o~ help me in
y way!! I got royally screwed by this dealership when I leased this car!! J
T at same day the guy at the dealership then told me that I should contact Toyota Financial Service and ask to
h ve my payments postponed due to hardship. He said that they would let me skip up to three pay ents and
diose payments would just tack onto the end of my lease, basically extending my lease term by thre~ months. I
t~ought that could help me tremendously in that I could pay off a few other bills during those three inonths of
d ferral and I could probably then be able to afford the car payment going forward. So I called Toypta
F nancial when I got home and was told that I didn't qualify for the deferral because I had not mad 12
p yments, I had only made 5 payments at that point. I told him what a desperate situation I was in d he told
e all I could do was call back after I had made 6 or 7 payments and ask again.
I hen asked if I could at least change my due date so that I would stop incurring late fees. I only ge * paid twice
amonth, on the 15th and 30th. My mortgage, student loan and utilities have to be paid out of the ch~ck on the
30th so my car payment has to come out of the check on the 15th. My due date was the 281
h and one~ I lost that
e)(tra income I was running about two weeks behind by paying it on the 15th of the following month:. He told
~e they could change the due date, but only ifl made two payments in one month to catch up and laid the $95
dpllars in late fees. I was unable to do that or to pay any of the late fees at that time so he wouldn't change the
'te for me. So yet again, I got no help.
I aited until March (after making 9 payments) then called Toyota Financial services back again. I was again
t ld I didn't qualify for the deferral, but was not given a reason. I have never been 30 days late, yet1 I didn't
alify for help??!! The lady on the phone made it sound like even if I had made 15 payments I stHl wouldn't
alify. I was crying and begging for them to reconsider and she just kept saying that I didn't qual' y and she
ouldn't even tell me why! Here I am trying to get some help so that I don't default on this loan d I'm
tting told sorry, can't help you when I know of several other people who have been able to get a eferral. At
s me point I asked to speak to a supervisor who told me that the prior information I was given was ncorrect,
t she still couldn't help me with the deferral. At that point I asked again about, at the very least, hanging my
e date to the 151h so that I could prevent further late charges from incurring on my account. The lady stated
s e could do that so long as I agreed to pay something extra each month to put toward the late char$es, which

b~that point totaled over $300!!! I asked her why I wasn't given that option when I called in Octob¢r, when I
o .ly had about $95 in late charges. She of course could not explain that, but said that she would take off $120 of
t * late charges, but I still had to pay over $175 in late charges!!
I feel that I shouldn't have to pay any late charges incurred after October because had they simply c)Jlanged my
d e date then, when I first requested it, I wouldn't have had any further late charges on my account. I At this
p int, I have already paid about $50 or $60 toward the late charges and I am requesting that they wa~ve all but
$30 or $40 (depending on how much I've already paid) of the remaining late charges. Again, had t~ey helped
me in October, none of those additional charges would have even been incurred.
The waiving of the late fees will resolve the smaller problem. However, the fact still remains that I have a
vehicle that I cannot afford. I took it to another dealership a few weeks ago and was told they couldb't help me
~. her because I got such a horrible deal and was $12,000 upside down!! I just want to trade this vehicle in and
something I can afford. But I apparently got so screwed by this dealership that my only choice if to just
lk away and ruin my credit. That doesn't seem fair. I want this dealership to take this vehicle bafk without
ving me with a $12,000 bill or ruining my credit so that I can get a cheaper vehicle. I don't understand why
thtey won't help me when they sold me the car. Clearly they don't care about their customers. I
T e only way I have survived and been able to keep making payments on this car was to not have taxes taken
o t of my paychecks. Now I owe the IRS $1,284 for last year. And even with not taking out taxes f still wasn't
a le to pay all my bills. I had my fourth open heart surgery in October 21 02 and was on disability twice during
t at year so I had to use what little savings I had left in my 401kjust to pay my bills that year. I was doing fine
u til I my income suddenly dropped so dramatically last July. I have barely been able to stay afloatithis past
y ar and in February I had a stroke due to the stress of my situation. So now I have huge medicals bills on top
o everything else.
I I could have just gotten some help from the dealership to get out of this vehicle and into a cheaper one back
il) October, I wouldn't have these additional problems. This car payment is killing me. Ifl can't gtjt out of this
4r into something cheaper I will not be able to afford to keep my child in after school care, which theans an 8
y' ar old will be going home alone every day after school. I do not want that to happen!! The only ~lternative
ill be to just turn the car in or not pay my credit cards. Either way my credit is ruined even furthe .
anj( you in advance for any assistance.
******* *******
**** ****** ***** *****
****** ** XXXXX
' r Attorney General ofTexas

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******************************
We have spoken to this customer a few times. The problem was she rolled $6,000 negative equity into this loan and it's impossible to get out of a lease early when you do that. The customer already turned the car into Toyota Financial as a volintary repo last week. This is unfortunate for her but there was nothing we could do to help since she was also late on a lot of her payments as she said. I left her my cell number and let her know I would help her with anything else if possible. Please close ***** ******

08/15/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

I signed up for the dent/ding warranty and they have neither returned my call or set up appt to repair dings on car.
I signed up for the dent/ding warranty. I have called multiple times and left messages with ***** and ***** in the finance dept. Just to get to these people took 20 minutes of the phone being passed around. Then I was told I would hear back same day and have left multiple messages. I am trying and have been trying to get the minor scrapes/dings on the car fixed, and no one will return my call to set up appt, find the time frame it will take, and let me know what all is covered under this program that I paid quite a bit for two years ago. I have been trying to do it under the two year time frame, because I thought I bought it for two years, and they have refused to call me back and the two year frame is about to pass by no one will even tell me if it is something I paid for for 5 years or 2 or what. I keep getting the run around, I believe in an attempt to avoid having to do the repairs and provide the service for the program I paid for.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to set up appt, clarify the coverage, and get it taken care of ASAP, preferably w a loaner car if they cannot get it done while I wait. Again, no one will give me any ifnromation as to whtether or not it will be something that can be done quickly or not, because they just won't call back.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******************************
My Finance manager who sold them the product called and go them scheduled for repair. We had changed provideres and that was causing most of the problem. We have solved this and the customer is happy. Please close. ***** ****** GM

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was neither called by the finance manager nor scheduled for repair. Those are false statements. I was sent a copy of the dent/ding program which I signed, and I requested more information as far as timing and setting up a repair, and I have not gotten response.

01/20/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Defective Motor on 2008 Toyota Camry Under Extendend Warranty Not Adequately Repaired at Toyota of Plano
At the beginning of this year, I started my 2008 Toyota Camry in the morning. And within a few minutes the check engine light came on. I left the car seating for two hours and then checked the oil level. The oil was not registering on the dipstick at all. I towed the car to toyota of plano.

After long discussions, I was informed that the car was very low on oil and the dealership would check it out. Nevertheless, the dealership later informed me that the car met toyota standards as far as oil useage. In this case the car between oil changes had used up nearly all the oil in the engine. And yet according to Toyota this situation represents good consumption of oil.

Obviously I am not satisfied that a car that is five years old can use that much oil. I am sure the engine in this car is defective and oil is going out the exhaust.

Toyota never offered a solution.I assume toyota having pocketed all the payments from this sale basically said go figure what to do. Yes this is the company that has gone from pursuit of excellence to a company going places. And the only place they are going is our wallets and the the only place we are going is to the nearest gas station to topup the oil on the toyotas.

Might I add that the car has extended warranty. So I stood there and listened to Toyota essentially void my warranty by refusing to fix this problem. I am still in shock as I relive the words of some of the managers. As they explained the problem according to Toyota. As the managers were faced with this issue of a defective Toyota car, they shrunk into customer service minions. It was akin to the movie "honey I shrunk the kids". Only in this case it was Toyota reps shrinking when faced with a customer issue.
How ? The toyota reps insinuated that pple might damage their cars so they needed to do this and that test. Or based on a particular test, the engine is normal. Yet in five years of ownership we never had this much oil consumption from this car. In other words Toyota could not even connect the dots based on a timelinehistory of five years. If they had looked at the history or maybe they did and ignored it all together, Toyota would have seen that this car had never had this big issue at all.

Anyway I need this car repaired. I do not need run arounds and arguments from a multi billion corporation behaving like a used corner lot fly by night car sales scammers. You have a defective product let's fix it and move on.

Desired Settlement
Fix the car Engine as it is consuming oil

Business Response
I can not find this customer anywhere in our system with that name, or email address. The phone number you gave is not correct either. Please help me get the correct information to respond. I would like the serial number to make sure it was our store also.

Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ************
I have tried to reach Mr. ***** a number of times thru phone and email. I spoke to his wife but he wont call me. Here is the email I just sent. Please close or see if you can get him to respond. Thanks

Mr. *****,

I have tried to reach you a couple of times and I never receive a call back.
I spoke to your wife and she said she would have you call me on my cell phone. XXX-XXX-XXXX

The issue with your car burning more oil than you think it should is a manufacturer issue.
We will be happy to fix it if we can get someone to pay for it.
I would suggest you call the help line a Toyota Motor Sales and open a case with them to see if they will pay for it.
We can not do that for you, it must be your complaint.

In reading about the consumption your complaining about, I don't believe they will do anything, but we will support your efforts to try and convince them.
You have been a good customer and the only other thing I can do is help you with a fantastic deal to trade it in on a new or pre-owned vehicle.

I am forwarding this to the Better Business Bureau and will look forward to your call.


***** ******
General Manager
Toyota Of Plano
1001 Preston Rd.
Plano Tx XXXXX

06/25/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Repeated falsehoods regarding oil change interval and high fuel mileage
The sales person told me more than once that,"while other manufacturers lie about their fuel mileage, this Tacoma will get the rated 24 mpg highway sticker mileage". The second repeated falshood was the oil change interval. This tacoma uses synthetic oil, which is more expensive, but the interval isz 10K miles Vs 5K. I had my 5K service performed at another toyota dealer that confirmed the interval for 2013 tacoma is 5K miles, even with synthetic oil. I have email traffic to back up the oil change interval lies.

Desired Settlement
I want the dealer to buy back the tacoma, less my first month payment (408.80) already paid. I drive 35K miles a year and the fuel and double the oil and fcilter expense is not acceptable.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ************
I have reviewed the complaint and found that 2013 Tacoma's do have a 5,000 service intervals for tire rotation and oil change. They are making them both synthetic and non sythetic for this model year depending on when it was built. Either way Toyota has a 24 month 25,000 mile Toyota care which pays for the rotations and oil changes during that period. I cant verify one way or the other that he was told this truck was synthetic or nor or the service intervals. I will not buy back the truck because it is now a used truck. I will however give him a very liberal trade in on another truck if there is another truck we have that he wished he would have purchased instead.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have emails from the salesman, john fulgoni, which I would be glad to forward to Mr. ******. Mr fulgoni repeated his claim that this truck was synthetic and had a XXXXX mile change interval. If he would give me his email address I will forward all of them to him.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 02/27/1992Business started: 01/01/1990
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave.
Austin, TX 78731
(512) 465-3000

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rusty Gentry (General Manager)Customer Contact: Mr. Vince Dies (Fixed Ops Director)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Used Cars Sold As-Is

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Toyota of Plano

1001 Preston Rd

Plano, TX 75093-5313

To | From


1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Toyota of Plano is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Web Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Used Cars Sold As-Is

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.