BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/23/2013

Toyota of Lewisville

Phone: (469) 671-5500Fax: (469) 671-5557View Additional Phone Numbers1547 S Stemmons Frwy, LewisvilleTX 75067-6312 Send email to Toyota of Lewisville

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Toyota of Lewisville has a strong and committed sales staff with years of experience satisfying our customers' needs.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/23/2013

BBB has determined that Toyota of Lewisville meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Toyota of Lewisville's rating include:

  • 29 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Toyota of Lewisville's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 29 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

29 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues14
Billing / Collection Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues5
Problems with Product / Service7
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 29

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (29)BBB Closure Definitions
06/04/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: We placed the winning bid on a vehicle this dealership put up for auction. The dealership is now refusing the sell us the car.
On May 21st 2014 my husband and I placed the winning bid on a vehicle this dealership had advertised on a national auction website. After winning the auction, my husband called the dealership to find out where to send the deposit payment. It became evident after speaking to many representatives that they did not expect the vehicle to go for such a low price. They insisted that my husband had not won, and it was only after my husband offered to send the confirmatory email that they conceded that he had placed the winning bid. They then insisted that although he had the highest bid, he did not win because he did not meet the reserve price. My husband informed them that there was no reserve price listed which seemed to surprise them. One representative even said "there is always a reserve." They kept insisting that he had not won the car and that they couldn't "take a $10,000 loss" on the vehicle. It was only after my husband expressed his intent to report them to the auction site that they offered to look into it. After speaking to several "managers" he was told he would get a call back. A manager did call him back and informed him that the auction site was at fault and they would be contacting him shortly. We did receive a call from the auction site who stated that they were simply looking into the matter and contrary to what we had been told, they had not admitted fault. In the meantime, we received an email from the dealer ship requesting shipping information from us for the vehicle. The following day, the used sales manager, ************, called my husband and finally admitted to him that the dealership was at fault and they made a mistake when listing the vehicle for auction. He said they would not be honoring the winning bid and refused to sell the car. He offered a $100 dollar gift certificate for Toyota products. I called ***** back to confirm his name and position and was able to talk to him personally. He again, expressed his regret and stated that they had made a mistake in listing the car on a national auction site without a reserve. He stated "we never do this" in reference to listing on a national auction. He also said it was a "computer error on our end." He did offer a $100 gift certificate which I declined. I told him I was dissatisfied with his offer and lack of concern for customer satisfaction. I reminded him that he was breaking his agreement with the auction site and that putting the car up for auction to the highest bidder and then refusing to sell it to the highest bidder was tantamount to false advertising. He insisted that they didn't mean to put the car up without a reserve and thus, was not responsible for the deception.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******* - GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@toyotaoflewisville.com
A vehicle from our inventory was launched in error to a national auction without reserve. The ****** was the highest bidder. We have never, nor we will ever sell vehicles on a national auction. EBay acknowledges that this was done in error. We apologize for this and we have sent the customer a gift car for $100.00 to compensate them for any possible damages.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

01/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation not consistent with the written agreement

Complaint: I booked SUV VIN#***********XXXXXX on 12/30 and Paid $1000 receipt#XXXXXXXXXX, I called them on 12/31 to take delivery, they said the car is sold.
I booked SUV 2011 Toyota Highlander VIN#***********XXXXXX on 12/30 and prices are agreed and buyers orders were prepared accordigly by the sales manager **** ********* then the local finance guy came in to pciture and tried to sale their higher rate finance but the terms were not good, so I told them to come with check next day from my own bank, also they asked me to pay downpayment $1000 in order to hold the vehicle untill next day and I paid it with receipt #XXXXXXXXXX, then when I called them on 12/31 to take delivery, they said the car is already sold on 12/30 to different customer. Feel like completely unethical and not a professioanl way of doing sales/marketing.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ****@toyotaoflewisville.com
Our policy is that we will accept a deposit to hold the price of a vehicle but not the vehicle itself. In the event that a consumer comes in, selects a vehicle and wishes to go to their credit union we offer that they take delivery of the vehicle on a cashable contract. In the event that their lender turns down the loan we can still secure the deal and the financing. Often times customers will come in, negotiate a deal, put a deposit down and leave with a buyers order only to return asking for their deposit back because they could not get financing.
The particular vehicle in question was a vehicle that we discounted approximately $4,000 below cost because it was over 90 days old and we would have been required to write the entire vehicle off at year end. We explained to the customer before he left that by not going on a cashable contract and by leaving the vehicle at the dealership he was at risk that we would sell the vehicle to another customer. He stated that he was willing to take his chances and would be back the next day to purchase the car. We reiterated several times this possible outcome because we were highly motivated to get the vehicle off the lot and off our books.
Shortly after ****** left the dealership, several other people came in looking for the same vehicle and were all willing to pay and take delivery immediately for the car. We sold the vehicle as we should to the first person with the ability to pay in full.
We will send the customer a $50.00 gift card for his time and apologize for any inconvenience.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

01/02/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: (1)13-NOV-2013: Purchased 2014 Toyota Tacoma with financing at 5.0% via Toyota Financial Services;(2)14-NOV-2013: Notified Finance person of over-charge error of $1909.31 ;Finance person promised a check for the over-charge difference; that check never arrived;(3)25-NOV-2013: BILL was received from Toyota Financial Services with wrong amount and wrong interest rate; the interest rate had been increased from 5.0% to 5.2%, and the over-charge of $1909.31 was still included in the loan amount; (4)25-NOV-2013: Called Toyota Of Lewisville General Manager; They promised an e-mail to me acknowledging the errors (i.e. over-charge of $1,909.31 and wrong interest rate);That e-mail was never received.(5)02-DEC-2013: For unknown reason, Toyota Of Lewisville cancelled $2000 extended warranty; I was told I would have to wait up to 8 weeks for a refund on an extended warranty that I did not cancel.(6)03-DEC-2013: Requested 100% final pay-off; Went to Toyota dealership in Lewisville and asked to pay-off the vehicle 100%.Toyota of Lewisville would not allow that and told me to call Toyota Financial Services.I called Toyota Financial services, but was told that I must settle with Toyota Of Lewisville.(7)05-DEC-2013: Therefore, I went to the dealership again, and finally managed them to allow me to finish this deal, and I paid off full balance via ViewPointBank Check #1060 to Toyota Of Lewisville for $29,489.97;(8)23-DEC-2013: Contacted ToyotaFinancial.com several times, who claims that I still owe $33,395.25 for the vehicle which I already paid for 100% in full; ToyotaFinancial.com stated that I must clear up this problem with the Finance Officer of Toyota Of Lewisville. However, all attempts to do so have failed thus far, and ToyotaFinancial.com states: Your account (XXXXXXXXXX) is currently showing as an open account with the first payment of $634.65 being due on 12/28/2013, with a balance now (with interest) of $33,637.88 (despite already paying off the price of the vehicle on 05-DEC-2013);
Product_Or_Service: Toyota Tacoma 2014
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXXX
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXX

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******
Contact Phone: ************
Toyota has been paid off and Mr. Summers has been notified and has reported that he is currently satisfied.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

12/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Contract Complaint Issue

Complaint: I bought a car and did not receive any paperwork. No one can seem to locate.
In Feb. 2013, I went to Toyota of Lewisville to purchase a new vehicle. After several hours of shopping and negotiating, we agreed to a deal. Due to my credit not being satisfactory, I was told I needed a co-signer. I had no problem with this. I found a family member willing to co-sign. I was escorted to the finance department (MJ was finance guy)where I signed a set of paperwork with all the agreed upon costs, etc. My co-signer was not with me at the time, but I was told I could go ahead and take the car and bring her in on Monday to sign papers. The following Monday, I brought my co-signer in and and she signed the paperwork. We were then informed that they would mail us our paperwork. I thought it was a bit odd, but agreed. Three weeks went by and I received the payment coupon book, but no paperwork. Once I received the payment book, I immediately tried to set up automatic payments with my bank and was told that I could not do that because my name was not on the loan. I went back to the dealership and spoke again with MJ and he said, he would mail out my paperwork and get back to me in a couple of days. After a couple of days, still no paperwork or phone call. I paid TWO more visits to the dealership requesting a copy of my paperwork and kept getting told that someone would call me in a couple of days and paperwork would be mailed. NINE months later, I still have no paperwork. I have paid a visit to the bank who financed the car and they also informed me that my name was no where on the loan. Therefore, I have been making payments on a car for 9 months now and not helping my credit at all. I thought that was the sole purpose of requiring a co-signer. Heaven forbid something happens to my co-signer, but if it does what happens to the car. I have no access to the paperwork, the bank will not release any information to me...do I even own this car??

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******* - GM
Contact Phone: 404.275.9575
Contact Email: ****@toyotaoflewisville.com
This customer purchased a vehicle from **** **** Toyota. We purchased the Toyota store from **** **** on August 26, 2013 and we have searched and we do not have access to the customers file. The best way to contact **** **** who would be by writing To Virginia King at ***********@gmail.com. Please put me on the email also at ****@toyotaoflewisville.com and I will do everything I can to help follow up with the people at **** ****.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

12/17/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor money-back guarantees

Complaint: On 08/12/13 I cancelled an extended warranty contract w/TOL. They have not mailed me refund that they promised w/in 4-6 weeks of cancellation
I purchased a 2007 Toyota Prerunner from Toyota of Lewisville on 03/04/2011. Additionally, I purchased an extended warranty on the same date. VIN# ***********XXXXXX for the vehicle. The contract is "Olimpicare" Preowned Vehicle Coverage Contract#XXXXXXX. Terms for the contract were 48 months or 50,000 miles. The vehicle had 45,361 miles on the odometer on the date of purchase. I cancelled the contract 08/12/2013 with the odometer reading of 64,089 miles. The contract has a provision for a refund of the unused portion of the contract-either mileage or months, the lesser of the 2, minus a $50.00 handling fee. I spoke w/************ at Toyota of Lewisville in August 2013 and she e-mailed me a form to fill out w/mileage, VIN# and signature to process the cancellation. I properly filled out the form and additionally photographed both the odometer and VIN# and e-mailed both to her. She said it would take 4-6weeks to process my refund. Completed submission of the cancellation was submitted 08/12/2013. I contacted ************ by e-mail in early Sept. to check on the refund status but recieved no reply and multiple attempts to speak w/her by phone were unsucessful.
On or about October 10th, I called Toyota of Lewisville to check on refund. I was told that a Courtney G. now handles warranty refunds and given a e-mail address. I e-mailed Courtney and in her return e-mail she stated my refund was "being processed this week". I was out of town and did not have computer access from Oct. 17th thru Oct. 21st/2013. When I checked my mail I found no refund had arrived. I e-mailed Courtney but did not recieved a response. On Tuesday, Oct. 22nd, I called Toyota of Lewisville and asked to speak to Courtney-instead, a "Richard", who stated he worked in finance, said he would talk to ************ and Courtney to find out what the hold up was and call me back before noon Tuesday. Needless to say, he did not call back. Today, I e-mailed Courtney, detailing the sequence of this issue and demanding payment within the next 10 business days. If not recieved I will have to hire an attorney-which I shouldn't have to do. Toyota of Lewisville is in violation of a legal written contract w/me and will not respond to e-mails or allow me to talk to the person responsible for handling this matter.

Initial Business Response
We puchased the dealership from **** **** on 8/26/2013. Upon doing so, **** **** put in a change of address with the postal office for all mail be forwarded to a separate address. We attempted to get the post master to correct this for almost 90 days. We never received the original request from the BBB or we would have responded to it. In addition, all emails from the BBB have been going to a spam folder which has been corrected.
As far as the customers concern, he purchased the vehicle from **** **** Toyota, he filed the cancelation with **** **** and not Toyota of Lewisville which is now owned by RML Automotive. According to **** **** Toyota, this has been paid to his lienholder because they did not have a payoff confirmation provided.
We did not become a member of the BBB until September of 2013. Of course we want to resolve any and all issues in a timely manner and we appologize for the 2 concerns that we have missed due to documented postal issues and also spam/junk filters. Please call me at ************ so that I can resolve this to the satisfaction of the BBB.


Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 5
05/13/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor money-back guarantees

Complaint: Bought a Toyota RAV4 in August 2010 with money back guarantee if warranty not used. Warranted not used but Toyota of LV has not provided funds.
Bought Toyota RAV4 in 2010 with Money back warranty guarantee. Filed the paperwork with Toyota of Lewisville in October with ******** **** She told me it would take approximately 6 weeks. We have called a couple of times for a status but we still have not received the refund.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ****2toyotaoflewisville.com
Were doing everything that we can to assist Rene Isip's customers in obtaining their refunds. Please note this complaint has nothing to do with Toyota of Lewisville, but Rene Isip's Toyota of Lewisville. We will forward this matter to Rene Isip.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Why didn't they forward this matter to Rene Isip 6 months ago instead of leading us to believe they were processing the request? I was told 6 months ago it would just take 5 weeks. At this point, I would simply like to know how I can process the warranty since Toyota of Lewisville doesn't know how. How can I reach Rene Isip?

11/05/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor money-back guarantees

Complaint: I canceled a GAP and Warranty policy on 9/2/13 and I have not received my refund.
I purchased a GAP and warranty policy from Toyota of Lewisville on 12/26/2011. I recently sold traded that car in and canceled by GAP and Warranty on 9/2/13. I have contacted the companies that I had the policies with and was informed that a refund was due, but that it would have to be issued by Toyota of Lewisville. I have contacted Toyota of Lewisville several times but I have not received my check. Although, the refund check have been issued to Toyota of Lewisville by the GAp/Warranty companies. I was also given an email as a contact to check on the status of my refund (***********@gmail.com) which does not work.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Jack Brennan
Contact Phone: 404.275.9575
Contact Email: ********@toyotaoflewisville.com
Toyota of Lewisville was bought by RML Automotive on August 26, 2013. **** **** Toyota is responsible for calculating and refunding any and all refunds to customers on business completed prior to this date. The warranty refund was processed and sent to **** **** Toyota's management team to refund to the customer. Below is the response from Virginia King as to the status. We will assist the customer in collecting their money from the prior owners.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention

Jack Brennan
General Manager


From: Virginia King mailto:********@johneagle.net
Sent: Tuesday, October 01, 2013 2:50 PM
To: Hamed Parhizkar; Courtney Griffin
Cc: Jack Brennan
Subject: RE: Please let me know when this is resolved so that I can close this case with the BBB

The refund will be process in the next week or so.
BTW Just so you understand the process of how this works
TOL receives a statement from Ethos with new business and cancellations around the 15th of the month. It is necessary to work the statement before refunds cans be sent out to the customer. ***** signed the cancellation request on Sept 2 2013 and the request was faxed on September 5,2013. If additional information is necessary please let me know.



Thanks


Virginia G King
Controller
Toyota of Lewisville
469.671.5522



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I filled out the request in person at the dealership (I sat with Jenny and she helped me complete the form) and never heard from anyone. So, on September 5th I sent it in again. So, the form was actually completed on September 2, 2013. I know that this will make a difference in my refund. The lack of customer service and follow up beyond unacceptable.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

06/17/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
08/29/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
05/17/2012Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/12/2004Business started: 03/01/2004New Owner Date: 08/26/2013
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave.
Austin, TX78731
(512) 465-3000
http://www.txdmv.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jack Brennan (GM)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

Toyota of Lewisville is a premier Toyota Dealership offering New, Certified and Pre-owned Toyota vehicles.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:30 AM to 09:00 PMTue: 08:30 AM to 09:00 PMWed: 08:30 AM to 09:00 PMThu: 08:30 AM to 09:00 PMFri: 08:30 AM to 09:00 PMSat: 08:30 AM to 09:00 PM
Alternate Business Names
RLC- Milarity - Landers Automotive Holdings, LLC
Industry Tips
Used Cars Sold As-Is
Buying a New Car
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

2 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Toyota of Lewisville

1547 S Stemmons Frwy

Lewisville, TX 75067-6312

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1547 S Stemmons Frwy 

    Lewisville, TX 75067-6312(469) 671-5500
    (888) 599-0460
    (469) 671-5599
    (855) 745-7600

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Toyota of Lewisville is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 599-0460
  • (469) 671-5599
  • (855) 745-7600
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.