BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/10/2014

Toyota of Dallas

(972) 241-66552610 Forest Ln, DallasTX 75234-7306 Send email to Toyota of Dallas

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/10/2014

BBB has determined that Toyota of Dallas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Toyota of Dallas include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 45 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

45 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues21
Billing / Collection Issues4
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service19
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 45

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Toyota of Dallas

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (45)
09/15/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I've received numerous sells calls from Toyota of Dallas and I have stated that I am not interested and asked to be removed from their call list.
Through out the last year I've received numerous sells calls from multiple sales reps trying to get me to purchase a vehicle. I've stated to each individual that I've spoken with that I am not interested and asked to be removed from their call list. At this point I feel that I am being harassed because the phone calls have persisted with the most recent call being today. When I attempted to call Toyota of Dallas to speak with a manager of some sort to get this resolved the individual only transferred me to the sales rep who called me today.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be removed from Toyota of Dallas' call list and not be contacted by them again.

Business Response
Ms. *****, thank you for taking the time to inform us that you are getting phone calls to purchase a vehicle and that you are not interested. I apologize to you for the inconvenience. I will immediately remove you from our call logs to prevent further disruptions to your day. Hopefully in the future we will be able to assist you with any vehicle needs that may arise. Have a great day!

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The business has agreed to remove me from their call list as I'd requested.

09/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to provide license plates
I purchased a 2013 Hyundai Accent on Memorial Day, 2016. The cost of the license plates were added to the price of the vehicle. It is the middle of August and I still have no license plates. I have called and left messages, e-mailed and sent text messages with no response except for ****** Hunter. He will at least respond but I don't believe license plates are his dept. but he at least acknowledges my text message. I did send an e-mail to the general manager letting him know about this problem and complimenting Mr. Hunter for at least responding to me. Never got any response from the general manager. I just need my license plates and don't understand why no one at Toyota of Dallas can help with this.

Thank you for any assistance you can provide.

******* *******

Desired Settlement
I would like for Toyota of Dallas to provide me with the license plates I have paid for.

Business Response
I called and spoke with customer yesterday. I overnighted plates at her request, she'll have them today. She's good to go.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


06/03/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
bought the 2015 Toyota camery has no master key,no floor mat,no remote entery,
2015 vehicle must be morden ,still no mater key no remote enternce,call nighter manager nor public relation manager responded ,call Toyota head office they promise tuff talk and action give me few days someone will response till today no one has contacted me,they check the vin no of car and told me car has a one remote and a master key witch sales people suppose to provide me,but they refuse to fulfil my demand,iits like a I bought the house without the key,the most frustrating thing is all they wanted is to make a sale ,they have shown no moral responsibility or care about my concern ,such a big corporation should have showed me some response ,the only reason customer goes to big corporation because they fill they can not be cheated, that abjectly what happen to me,i wasn't expecting this experience from this dealership,specialy few month back I purchased brand new vehicle from vary dealer,

Desired Settlement
I want Toyota of dallas to give me my master key if its not available or lost they must provide me another new one, without the master key modern time vehicle you cant program nothing, I want them to provide me keyless remote without that I can not get trunk open,there was no floor mat I need to have floor mat put it on.i am not asking what car suppose to have at start,

Final Consumer Response
Per consumer's e-mail:
Dear bbb
Thank you for your support in fixing my issue with toyota of dallas ,yes they did give me my key ,
In a future i do buisness with them or not in a reality i am not going to but BBB did help me what i wanted ,i thank you for that ,keep it up the good work,
***** *****
XXX-XXX-XXXX

04/07/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Had a $19.99 coupon they agreed to honor. Over charged me for 2 extra quarts of oil. Showed the discount as $40.00. So I was charged 37.40.
I had a coupon from Toyota of Dallas for a conventional oil
change $19.99. Went in and the service writer (Manuel
********) said he would honor it. After some time, he came
in and said it would be a while because they didn't have any
conventional oil. They are a Toyota dealer and I have a 2013
Toyota Tacoma. When I got the bill they charged me for 2
extra quarts, I paid the bill. When I got home I looked at my
owners manual and found out that my car doesn't hold 7
quarts of oil. I called back and talked to Mr. ***** he called
me back after some research and said he would credit me
back the cost of 2 quarts of oil. On the bill for a $19.99
coupon they discounted the oil change $40.00. This seemed
odd that they did it this way. So if we subtract the 2 extra
quarts of oil they charged me without the coupon 58.31 for
the oil change. I called several dealers including them and
asked what a conventional oil change cost for a Tacoma.
They were less than $58.31. Toyota of Dallas, Alisha, told
me they charged $44.95. Mr. ****** first fix was to credit
me for the extra 2 quarts of oil. I would have then paid
$23.40. After talking to him the third time he agreed to only
charge me $19.99. I do not think this is the way a large car
dealership should conduct business.

Desired Settlement
I think they should honor their coupon and stop deceptive business practises.

Business Response
customer showed coupon.
internal computer error overcharged the customer.
customer saw overcharge(which was a computer error).
we refunded the money.
we apologized.
we fixed the issue.
dealership has fixed issue and refunded issue.
no further action at this time needed or necessary.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
They never apologized, It was not an internal computer error. They manually entered this, They lied to me about the cost of an oil change. They have never told me they were refunding me the money. I think they are good at answering complaints to agencies like the BBB.

01/21/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Complete runaround when catalytic converter went out the day after they replaced the engine. Was told they were working with the MPP and delayed fix.
Engine went out at 2.5 weeks, took them 2.5 weeks to replace with used engine. No paperwork delivered. The emission light came back on the next morning and was told the catalytic converter was bad. They said they would work with the warranty company and it would be covered. 2.5 weeks of calling them and was told the service manager was handling it. I went in to talk to him, and he knew nothing about it. He went to check it out and told me to go to the honda dealer where he used to work. He talked to the service manager there and honda would probably cover it under the manufactures warranty. When I took it to the Honda dealer that he specified, they had not heard from him and knew nothing about it. But I was told Honda would not cover it because it was over the mileage. They checked it out and charged me $89 to tell me it was the catalytic converter and would cost $1492 to replace. Since I bought the car less than 2 months ago, its been available to me for 2.5 weeks, spent 2.5 weeks in the shop to have the engine replaced, and the rest of the time with the check emission system light on with a bad catalytic converter. I feel the engine problem (excessive oil consumption) was the culprit for the converter going bad.

Desired Settlement
To pay for Honda to replace the catalytic converter.

Business Response
Dear Mr. ***,
Thank you for choosing Toyota of Dallas for your vehicle needs. We know that you have many options, so I am sorry to hear that you were not truly satisfied with your service experience here. As it is our goal to exceed the expectations of our customers, I see that you feel we have failed you.
On behalf of Toyota of Dallas I sincerely apologize for your disappointing experience.
As you know by now, my Service Director has worked closely with your local Honda dealer and Honda directly to resolve your issue. On Saturday January 16th we were informed that Honda is going to goodwill 50% of the repair, and we agreed to cover the remaining 50%.
Repairs should be completed by Wednesday January 20th.
Toyota of Dallas prides itself on our 40 year history of providing discerning consumers an above-average experience with our products and services, however we missed the mark in this case. It is my sincere desire that our efforts to resolve this underscore our commitment to your complete satisfaction and our deep appreciation for your business.
Sincerely,
/s/
****** ******
Managing Partner
Toyota of Dallas


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The repair is not completed yet due to the part being back ordered. Assuming it gets repaired as stated, the response is acceptable.

Page 1 of 3
08/04/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We drove 46 Miles to purchase Rav4 with 38 miles on it, per advertisement. Being little weird, we checked with salesman, Freddie yesterday and set up an appointment. He sent us video conforming every nuts and bolts of advertisement. When we came to dealership Freddie transferred us to Jorge. Jorge said that they are wrong mileage posted. Actual miles on that vehicle is 17K plus. We were shocked and they were normal since there were three customers like us since morning.

We asked if they have any other alternatives for our need. Mr. Jorge came out with one. But to our surprise he could not find keys for that vehicle even after keeping us waited for 45 minutes ! He took us to show us the car from outside and when we came back we heard from him that the car was already sold yesterday. As a courtesy, he offered us some gas in our old car and asked for the key. We asked him if we can talk to a Manager about these issues. He called Mr. Mitch (Richard). Mr. Mitch came over and shook hand with us and said that I **** take care of you. He started writing, on the back of paper work that Jorge created for us. He wrote *NO YELLING !! *WE UNDERSTAND EACH OTHER ?! AND DRAW A LINE FOR ME TO SIGN. I asked him why he has to write this? He demanded me and my family that we can only talk if you sign the paper. On my denial, he threw our car key on table and said you have a good day and leave the building. This really upsets me so I went to his desk with my daughter(8 months pragnant) with 2 year old Grandson and told him that this is rude and I want somekind of compensation for our two hours with fake advertisement;waste of time and not showing the right product. He picked up the Key from his desk and threw it in the waste paper box ! We were shocked so we said is that all you can do he said I can FIRE you (I don't work for him so does he meant torch me?) and told me in front of two year old kid F**k you you get out of my building right now. We called 911 and filed a verbal abuse complaint.

Desired Settlement
Written apology for abusing me and using profanity words in front of two year old grand son, all the employees, all the customers. Even Director of Sales Mr. ***** ******** has witnessed this and asked Mr. ***** to leave the building for his misappropriate behaviour!

Business Response
Mr. ****,

Thank you for taking the time to visit Toyota of Dallas about purchasing a Rav4 for your transportation needs. When we assign a vehicle to our inventory, if it has ever been previously been in our inventory before (ie: it was purchased new from our dealership and then traded back in at our dealership) it automatically reverts to the mileage on the vehicle when it was originally sold. We apologize for the clerical error, it has since been remedied.
As a courtesy to you for your time and efforts for driving to our store, we did offer to fill your vehicle up with gas for our clerical error. At this point, you were already visibly upset, becoming very loud on the sales showroom, making other customers around you feel uneasy. In an effort to get you to calm down and speak with an inside voice, Mr. ******** simply stated on a piece of paper, trying to get you to acknowledge that yelling at him was not necessary. After he realized that you were not calming down and continuing to make other customers uncomfortable, he did ask you to leave the dealership. Understandably, when you refused to leave our premises after being asked to, we felt you were disrupting our customers and we (you and the sales staff) were not making any progress situations do get uncomfortable.
We deescalated the situation by having Mr. ******** to leave the building because we could not get you to leave the building. You did call the police, and they did again ask you to leave our premises.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is a simple lie. We were there in their premises and the most important witnesses would be their security cameras. Other than only single clerical errors we passed **** multiple troubles from their Inventory Management System and Internal Communication.

When Mr. ******** came to our table, everything was still in decorum. He wrote on a piece paper in BIG CAPITAL LETTERS *NO YELLING... *WE UNDERSTAND EACH OTHER !? __________ (He asked me to sign on that line on the paper) I asked him what was that. I am not there to sign that paper which is not a business contract. He got up from his chair throwing our car key on table and told us that we can not discuss anything further if I don't sign.

We were shocked and insulted in front of the entire group of customers and their employees. We got up from our chairs and went to his desk and asked him to get the compensation of gas for our time and travelling, as promised by their sales person Mr. Jorge. He picked up our car keys from his desk and threw in the waste paper box. I asked him that this is what you can do? What other things you can do, I asked. He replied I can fire you (does this mean he can torch me) since I do not work for him. Within this time the General Manager comes in and asked us to calm both of us down. I said that he is aggrevating my family by doing something unusual in front of everyone and that upsets us. He asked me to explain the scenario. While explaining him the whole thing, Mr. Alvarado (Mitch) used the profanity words F**K YOU...M*****R F****R, GET OUT OF MY PROPERTY. At this point we thought its better to get some help from Law Enforcement since he could be worst and harm any one of us. (My two year's grandson was standing by me, my eight months' pregnant daughter was next to me and my son-in-law was standing next to her). At this point, by drawing General Manager's attention to his verbal abuse, GM asked him to leave the premises and go home. This incident was so horrible and first of its kind in our life which left us in mental shock.

They mentioned in the last paragraph that Police asked to leave the premises is completely lie and we can even ask the Police Officer to witness this. First Police Officer (responding to our 911 Call) came in and reported the whole incident and also talked to the GM. Even GM has agreed that he has to send Mr. Alvarado(*****) due to his verbal abuse. Even we had another Police Officer showed up after a few minutes (who was a friend of General Manager and GM told us that let me call him to help you out). After both the Police Officer left we left the premises few seconds later and General Manager was trying to socialise with us and Police Officer warned him that from this point both of you can not converse.

My humble request and question is that why would we drive 46 miles to get into conversation with some one? Our utmost intention was to buy a vehicle for the prices offered. We did not ask anything for FREE or cheap. Both the cars they showed us (after wasting 3 hours) were not actually for sale, since one of the car was having clerical error of abundance miles (they advertised 38 miles and actually it was 44,000 + miles) and the other one they showed us was sold a day before. And even after this we were sitting quietly in the showroom for a proper help with the questions that what is going on. We did not even raise our voice to the Sales Person.

We were discriminated and insulted by Mr. ******** for writing a harsh instructions to be signed.. throwing keys on table... throwing keys in waste paper box on asking for gas (as promised by Sales Person)...agitatively using profanity words in front of two year old kid..my family...all the customers...all the employees and General Manager. If it was our mistake and if we were loud or if we were out of control, best business decision would be to call security on us or call Law and Enforcement on us for violating peace at the business place, NOT SENDING ONE OF THEIR RUDE EMPLOYEE HOME!

I think this was based on the racial descrimination. And it proves it by their above letter with full of lies. They do not have any customer service and respect for the customers in their business philosophy.

07/06/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
TOOK MY VEHYCLE TO GET A RECALL SERVICE DONE , AND MY CAR WAS RETURN WITH ISSUES(STEREO) AND THE DEALERSHIP DIDNT WANT TO TAKE RESPONSABILLYTY OF IT.
TOOK MY CAR (TOYOTA CAMRY 2009) TO GET IT SERVICE IN APRIL 2016 REASON BEING THAT IT HAD A RECALL ON THE DASH BOARD. WHEN I WAS CALLED FOR MY SCHEDULE SERVICE AND TOOK MY CAR IN THE DEALERSHIP MY CAR DIDNT HAVE ANY ISSUES. MY CAR WAS RETURNED AFTER SERVICE WAS COMPLETED I WAS HAPPY AT THAT MOMENT, BUT A DAY AFTER I NOTICE THAT MY CD PLAYER WASNT WORKING, SO I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND TOLD THEM MY CORNCER. I WAS TOLD TO TAKE IT IN FOR THEM TO CHECK IT OUT, SO I DID. WHEN I GO BACK TO PICK UP MY CAR I WAS TOLD THAT THE CD PLAYER DIDNT WORK AND THAT THEY COULDNT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT, THAT THEY AINT RESPONSIBLE FOR WHAT HAPPEN TO MY CD PLAYER. I BELIVE THAT THEY HAD TO TOUCH THE STEREO IN ORDER TO GET THE DASHBOARD SERVICE COMPLETED. I WAS ABLE TO TALK TO THE SERVICE MANAGER ABOUT MY COMPLAIN AND HE ALSO TOLD ME THAT I WASNT GOING TO GET STEREO FIX. THAT THEY WERENT RESPONSIBLE FOR WHAT HAPPENS TO MY CAR WHILE IN THER'RE CARE. AND BESIDE HE WAS REALLY RUDE, HE HAD SAID TO ME AND I QUOTE"YOU JUST HAD A SERVICE DONE TO YOUR CAR WORTH $1500 FOR FREE WITH THAT SAID IM NOT GOING TO FIX YOU STEREO" THATS WHAT REALLY BOTHER ME. I DIDNT ASK FOR THIS SERVICE IT WAS OFFERED TO ME BY THEM. I BELIVE THEY SHOULD FIX ME CD PLAYER SINCE IT HAPPEN WHILE IN THERE CARE. I RECENTLY WENT TO GET MY CAR SERVICE AT ANOTHER DEALERSHIP AND I SHARED MY EXPERINCE WITH A SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY SHOULD HAD FIX MY STEREO, THAT I NEED TO CONTINUE TO PUSH MY CASE WITH THE DEALERSHIP. I HAD ALSO CONTATED TOYOTA CORPORATION ABOUT MY COMPLAINT AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY WERENT ABLE TO HELP ME WITH MY COMPLAIN. THAT I HAVE TO TAKE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP. I JUST WANT TO GET ME STERO FIX, IM NOT ASKING FOR A NEW STEREO JUST WANT MY CAR THE WAY IT WAS BEFORE THE RECALL SERVICE.

Desired Settlement
I JUST WANT TO GET MY CD PLAYER FIX NOT ASKING FOR NEW ONE, JUST HAVE IT LIKE I ORIGINALLY HAD IT BEFORE I TOOK IT FOR THE SERVICE TO TOYOTA.

Business Response
The 2009 Toyota Camry in question was brought into Toyota of Dallas under the name of Jaime Gonzalez on 4/16/2016 to have the Toyota Warranty enhancement ZE6 dash pad replacement. The repairs were performed and completed at no charge to the customer on the same day. The vehicle then returned on 4/21/2016 with the complaint that the CD player would no longer eject the CDs. We diagnosed the vehicle at no charge to be an internal CD player issue which is totally unrelated to the dash pad replacement. The customer insisted it was related but both Toyota Motor Sales and Toyota of Dallas determined that it was unrelated and no assistance was offered.

06/13/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refusing to return phone calls, emails, or now even refuse to pick up my calls regarding end of lease dispute.
I went to Toyota of Dallas to end my lease early with the intent of purchasing my leased vehicle on 4/23/16. They sold me on upgrading to a new vehicle and told me they would "take care" of the old lease - when I asked if I needed to do anything, they said they would handle it. I understood this to mean that they would finish the lease payments, etc. Instead, I got billed for the remainder of the lease (May and June) and when I tried to contact them about this, they have given me the complete run around. First, I was able to reach my sales person who told me he was working on it - I spoke to him last weekend (5/13/16), this week (5/19/16) and today (4/21/16). Today, he hung up when I said my name and since then calls go straight to voice mail. I have tried calling and emailing the financial person I worked with as well as the finance manager. No response. The Toyota customer service rep tried contacting them today and was unable to get a hold of the general manager as well.
In addition, they have demonstrated concerning sales practices. They sold me on a new 2016 model which they told me would only be a little more cost than purchasing my leased 2014 model. In retrospect, looking at the numbers closely, this was mostly attributed to the fact that they were offering me a 5% APR with the 2014 vehicle compared to a 0.1% APR with the 2016 vehicle. Then after I purchased the new vehicle on 4/23/16, I realized after the purchase that it was the wrong model and was missing some features. I wanted to cancel the purchase and keep my leased 2014 vehicle, but they said it was too late and they would "take care of it" on Monday. When I return Monday 4/25, they told me it would cost $3,000 to get the feature I needed. When I again asked for my old vehicle back, they then agreed to the upgrade for $300. However, the vehicle they had was the wrong color - so they said they would give it to me for no additional charge. I again asked for my old vehicle back and to cancel the sale. They then said they would get the right model from another dealer. When I came back on 4/27 to pick up the new vehicle, it was the wrong color inside. They refused to cancel the sale and give me the old vehicle back. They refused to request another vehicle from another dealer. They claimed they had no other colors of this particular vehicle in stock (2016 Prius 3). They said I had to choose between the wrong color exterior and the wrong color interior.
I am filing this complaint because:
#1. unethical sales practices - making statements that seem to convey one thing and purposely misleading me - while in reality they have no intention of honoring what I understand to be their end of the sale (paying off the rest of the lease, the correct model of the new vehicle)
#2. Terrible customer service - completely ignoring me at this point. Stating that they **** call me back by the end of the day and not doing so (5/19 and 5/20) and not responding to multiple voicemails and emails. When I go physically to the dealer, each time they have made me wait 3-4 hours before getting anything done.

Desired Settlement
#1 Refund the $308 of the lease payments that they told me they would "take care of"
#2 Contact me to apologize for the poor customer service (ie for ignoring me for weeks in the hopes that I would drop the issue, without ever directly speaking to me about the issue itself).

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: SARAH MANN, CRM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@VTAIG.COM
Mr. Patel, Thank you for choosing Toyota of Dallas for your vehicle needs. I apologize you were not scheduled for the second key to be programmed in what you consider a timely manner. Vanessa, our internal service advisor, has attempted to contact you to have this scheduled since you first made the Toyota case. I, myself have also spoken to your wife to have this program completed. We **** continue to reach you until the programming is completed. Thank you again for your business.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response is not addressed to me, nor is it regarding my specific complaint. They clearly have me confused with someone else.

Final Business Response
Ms. ***,

Thank you for choosing Toyota of Dallas for your vehicle needs. I am sorry to see that you are unhappy with your purchase. I know we did our best to go above and beyond for you to ensure that you were happy.
You traded in a Prius 2, requesting another Prius 2. We met that request and contracted you on that vehicle. When negotiating that deal, you and Toyota of Dallas did agree to pay off your remaining lease payments on your current vehicle.
After the conclusion of that deal, you decided you did not want the Prius 2, but the Prius 3 due to the addition of Navigation. There is a price difference for that vehicle, which you understood, but you wanted to keep your payment the same. We were able to meet that demand, but the only way that would work is by removing your remaining lease payments all together. The Prius 3 we located for you, you did not like due to the gray color. After you changed your mind and didn't like the gray, we still tried to satisfy you by locating you anther Prius 3 that you were satisfied with.
Even after you changed your mind multiple times, and we absorbed the price difference, our goal was to make you a satisfied customer. Not one time did we try to make you feel bad about locating different cars for you or the efforts used in contracting you multiple times. Your satisfaction is what we aimed for.
When you changed from your original negotiated deal, to the more expensive car with more options, your lease payments were not negotiated into that deal. You do agree that we absorbed the $3,000 price difference to have the Navigation, which comes on the Prius 3 and not on the original vehicle you chose.
Toyota of Dallas is not responsible for your remaining lease payments, as we did not tell you we were paying them for you, nor do you have anything in writing stating that we are to pay your remaining lease payments.
We regret that you feel that anyone here was dishonest in any way. We also regret that you are now dissatisfied with the terms of the contract you executed.
In closing, we **** continue to welcome you as a customer and hope that, upon reflection of all that has transpired and all we have done you **** appreciate our sincere desire to earn your loyalty as a customer.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I traded in a Prius 3, not a Prius 2. No one told me that the lease payments would not be covered with the new vehicle.
In addition, no one from Toyota of Dallas has ever contacted me to discuss the end of lease issue - despite multiple attempts on my end and despite staff at Toyota of Dallas promising to contact me. In fact, my sales person "dropped" the phone call when he heard my name and since then all my calls go direct to voicemail no matter whom I try to reach. This is as much about the unprofessional treatment and lack of communication on Toyota of Dallas' part as it is about the lease payments.

05/12/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The car had a car accident and Benjamin (sales)didn't mentioned to me. Rate was 5.10 I didn't know. Brooks, lied about warrant I can cancel any time.
I bought a car on march 9, 2016, Toyota Rav4, 2013 I paid a deposit of $1,000 by check, dealer# XXXXXXXXXX this is my first time to finance as my dream to buy RAV4, I always buy cash, so Benjamin(sales) and Brooks(sales manager) took advantage of me. 1st, the car had a damage which show on the car fax but Benjamin didn't mention to me otherwise I wouldn't buy a car with damage for that kind of money. After couple of weeks, I had to pay online on 04/11/16 for $58.62 to get a car fax and I found the car had damaged and was not discussed with me, so I printed and handle the copy to Benjamin, first he told me it didn't show on his car fax, then he went to talk to a manager and came back telling he did explained to me, so if it didn't show on the car fax as what he said the first time, then how would he need explained to me?, I felt like he just cared about the sale and not the customer so he could get his commission and asking me to bring more customers that he would give $100 for every customer I refer to him. 2nd, he didn't explained about interest rate which was 5.10%, this is too much I could go to my bank to get for 2.64%, so I found this later, this was unethical sales practice. Then he took me to a guy, Brooks. Brooks lied to me During the finance process with optional protection plans, first I thought $543 was a onetime payment, I didn't know it was monthly payment, so I signed on the papers, in two days he called to go and signed electronically, so when I went through my papers I told him I want to cancel the option protection because I can't afford to make that kind of payment and I'm not making enough hours like I used to plus I'm a single mother I have other bills to pay. Brooks was trying to rush me telling me I could cancel at anytime and he **** help to find full coverage car insurance for $60 only. Brooks refused to cancelled he told me I have already signed on papers and when I was sitting on waiting area, brooks came and took the envelop papers and put different ones, I wasn't sure why he did that and which papers he switched. Later on when I went through the papers, I saw some other bills which were included without discussed or mentioned I was not aware. So when I went back again to him, he denied everything telling me that was the sales, Benjamin and Benjamin also denied, they both throw the ball to each other and Benjamin told I couldn't cancel the option protection until after 6months while Brooks told me I could cancelled at anytime, they both played games lying to me. Until today no one has to call me for On -Gard protection after charging all that kind of my money. And then I can't even open the boot, it stucked. So I went back there and manager was telling me to look for another car to trade in , here we go, they charged me even more, $11,000 more and Benjamin put a selling price different more than $3,000, the car was 22,500 and he wrote selling price 25,5000, when I asked why he overcharged me, he then went and changed the price and wrote 22,500 BUT he added option for $3,000, and when I asked what was $3,000 for he said, it was just number and I should not worry. This guy played games lying to me again, so the sales director came and talked to me that I **** make a payment of $500 per month instead $543, so I refused I left the place because i had to go and my pick my child from school, so I was so mad for lying to me, overcharging me unnecessary. The next day, I called the manager, they kept transfer me different places, they didn't let me talked to a manager, so I called back I left a message in his voice mail to call me back but he didn't.

Desired Settlement
being that there are many dishonesty, lies, inconsistencies, and contradictions, this has really affected me emotional, physical and financial. so I want to take the car back to Toyota, refund my deposit $1,000 and leave in peace. I don't want to do business with them, I don't trust them anymore. I thought they were helping me but they did not.

Business Response
Ms. ***** ******,

Thank you for choosing Toyota of Dallas for your vehicle needs. Knowing you have many choices in the Dallas area, we are grateful for the opportunity to serve you.

In regards to the 2013 Toyota Rav4 (2T3YFREV4DWXXXXXX) you purchased from us on March 9, 2016, I have no reason to believe you were not given a CARFAX report. Our policy is that every customer who purchases a pre-owned vehicle is given a copy for review and must also sign the CARFAX showing that you did review it. I do have the copy of the CARFAX, signed by you showing you did receive it. I also have a USED VEHICLE CARFAX DISCLOSURE form that is signed by you-both dated March 9, 2016. On the CARFAX report that you signed, it does show the vehicle to report "Accident / Damage." It also states there was an accident reported 07/16/2015. Given these two documents, it does indicate that you reviewed the CARFAX, agreed to the CARFAX and proceeded with the purchase of the Toyota Rav4 (DWXXXXXX).
When in the finance department during your purchase, you chose to purchase multiple products. Most of the products are cancellable and have the cancellation details on the back of the contracts that you signed and have copies of. The only non-cancellable product is ZAKTEK, and that is stated on the contract you signed. The cancellations can be done at any time, but must be initiated by you, the customer. We do also have cancellation forms at the dealership that you can fill out and have submitted. Please let me know if I can get these for you. The interest rate you signed and agreed upon is 5.10%. This is documented in the retail and installment sales contract. If you choose to have a lower rate, you are welcome to refinance with the bank of your choice since you state you are pre-approved for 2.64% outside of our lending. You are refinance the vehicle at any time of your choosing.
Your contract has been cashed and you have taken delivery of the mentioned Toyota Rav4, the vehicle is titled in your name. The deal is final as agreed upon.
Thank you again for choosing Toyota of Dallas.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First I don't even drive this car that much because I have Camry Toyota which I use to go to work, so I didn't' know about this damage and other stuff until couple of weeks, this is when I found out. No, No, No,I don't agree with you, first of all why should I pay all that kind of money for the car has damaged, for that price I could get a brand new RAV4, also why should I pay $58.62 to go online to get a carfax, I was shocked myself to find this car has a damage and Benjamin didn't explain to me, so when I printed a copy and handled to him, he first said, "Oh the damage did not show on my carfax" then he went to talk to a manager and came back to me stated, "Oh I explained to you" so if it didn't show on his carfax for the first time, HOW or WHY would he explained to me about a damage and there was no damage, how would someone explain there was damage on the car and it didn't show on the carfax, this does not make any sense, this is to prove its a lie, he played games together with the manager, even if I signed, it doesn't mean he told me about the damage, he hided that part and let me signed because he took advantaged that I don't know much about cars and when I told him let me call one of my relatives who understands about cars, he told me, "No, is not going to help you with anything, is not going to make any difference".You guys, I'm so angry with you the way you took advantage of me, you put me in a situation that I regret to buy a car from you or any one from my family or friends to come over there to buy any car. Now you throw the ball on me stated that I signed. when I was sitting in a waiting area, Brooks, the finance manager came on my table,took my envelope, removed other papers and put new one without explaining to me what kind of papers and why he switched without my knowledge. Are you supposed to treat your customer that way switching papers without asking permission or explaining anything. Please please stop playing games, you don't know how much angry I am. Why should I do business with you after you ripped me off, I don't trust you any more. Everyone I explain about this car, they told me, you guys you overcharged me,high rate, you lied to me and took advantage of me because you could tell
the first day that I didn't know much about cars, this was my first time to finance, I always buy cash, but I didn't have that kind of money to buy cash the car I was dreaming about. You took my happiness away.

Final Business Response
Ms. ******,

I apologize that you are unsatisfied with your experience at Toyota of Dallas. When you were here at Toyota of Dallas you were extremely pleased. You were satisfied with the price, the rate and the vehicle. You state that it's not until after you spoke to your friends and they tell you that you did not get a good deal, you wish to return the vehicle and have your down payment refunded. Unfortunately, there in not a right to recession in the state of Texas. We are within our parameters in holding the deal as final. You did have the opportunity to review the CARFAX report before you signed stating that you did review it. You also reviewed and agreed to the terms of the loan. As a dealership, our goal is to have satisfied, repeat customers, in no way did we take advantage or mislead you because ultimately we DO want you to return to our dealership with your friends and family.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Who ever is writing this messages, were you there during signing papers, so why are you telling me I was explained everything, agreed and signed. I don't you know if you guys understand me, you only focus one part, "You signed". My friends or family did not ask me to return the car,it was my decision. I told them after I found the car has damage and Benjamin, sales consults did not mentioned to me, he hided that part and asked me to sign, I told you before this is my first time to refinance to buy a car, I always buy cash, I didn't even know what carfax was, so why when I proved to Benjamin first denied stated it didn't show on his carfax that the car had damage why later changed a topic stated he explained to me and I agreed & I signed. I have a recording as a prove of what he said. I'm sick and tired repeating the same over and over again, you are trying to play games with me. I don't understand how Brooks, a finance manager and Benjamin, sales could sleep at night knowingly that they lied and robbed a customer. One of the most respected features in a person is the ability to admit wrong, the ability to be humble and seek forgiveness, that's what my religion is teaching me.
You guys yo put in a situation and this is what I want.
1. I want you to cancelled all the warranty except Gap.
2.I want the monthly payment to be less per month like it was from the beginning before warranty.
3. Being that this car has a damage without being informed, I would like to trade in and get the one with no damage. So if you agree all the three above, I will come to pick another car & sign a contract. If you don't agree, I'm not going to respond anything, The next time you will hear from my lawyer.

02/09/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a new car at Toyota of Dallas on 1/19/16 & the finance officer, never gave us the bill of sale, three weeks later he is still reluctant.
I bought a car on 1/9/16 @ Toyota of Dallas (ToD) and Francisco Ovalle from finance did not provide a bill of sale before I walked out. He said it was all electronic now but since my husband was going to return on Monday to give down payment, he would give him the paperwork then. My husband went to pay, all he got was a receipt for the down, no bill of sale, plus nothing sent electronically. Since the beginning of our transaction, I notified him that I would be financing through our credit union. He said that if i stick with Toyota Financing for 6 months, he would be able to offer me 0 interest, which i thought was odd, never heard of that. I told him i'm not trying to refinance my car in six months at 0 and he said is would not be a refinance, that Toyota would be able to offer me 0 interest so as long as I made payments on time (he had my information to draft my account, so of course it would auto deduct, thus the payments would be on time. I didn't think about a catch until later: they probably want me to go back and purchase a new car and then they can offer 0 interest. I thought about that but decided to instead go with my CU after all. Since 1/13, I texted him and stated I would use my CU. On 1/15 he gave me his email for me to send the contact person/fax number to where he should fax and I emailed him the information. On 1/19, my CU at the end of the business day, my CU still had not received fax. My husband & I both have called and left messages. I spoke to the Director of Finance at ToD and he said my bill of sale would come to me after my 1st payment. On 1/25, we received our 1st statement and the NEW cost of the car was over $37000 (when we left it was $25000, plus GAP insurance. I never agreed to pay for any extra services. My husband & I went back to the ToD and he told the sales guy to tell us that we should get the bill of sale 7 to 14 days after my 1st payment. we waited for an hour or more and he finally came out and said that we should have received the bill of sale before we received our 1st statement. He took a copy of my statement and wrote down the fax number and he said by noon on 1/26 everything would be faxed plus an assistant manager would call me to let me know it was taken care of. I got a call at 5pm from my CU and still no fax. I left him a VM on @ 5:34 pm and he returned my phone call at 5:51pm telling me he thought it would have been completed by his director and that he was 3 miles from the agency (just finished at the gym) and he was going to check on it and call me back. I am within my right to receive the Bill of sale that I should have received the day I purchased the car but since he said he was going to give it to my husband on that Monday plus also electronically, I took his work for it. I know if I cancel with ToD they lose (commission, credit or what not) but since my CU is offering lower interest I want to go with them. If they wanted to give me 0 interest, they should have offered it to me when I purchased the car. All want if for them to provide me my bill of sale for the purchase of the car & GAP insurance. I did not authorize anything else to be charged. I am not paying Toyota Finance because ToD/Francisco doesn't deserve credit for my business.

Desired Settlement
I want the correct Bill of Sale that indicates the balance of my car which was about $25,000 plus GAP insurance. I did not authorize any extra services. I need to know why there's a huge discrepancy. And in order for me to finance through my CU, I need the bill of sale.

Business Response
Dear Mrs. *****,
First I would like to take the time to thank you for choosing Toyota of Dallas for your transportation needs. Thank you for accepting our offer to make you satisfied with your purchase. We appreciate and value your input as both a customer and a Toyota of Dallas family member. We look forward to being your future dealer.

Thank you for giving us the chance to correct our short comings. We were to going to give you the paper work when you came to finalize your purchase with the down payment, but your husband came at that time and was not on the loan, therefore, we did not give him your documents.

As far as the 0% financing, it is available on the Rav4, for a term not to exceed five years (sixty months) and to acquire the 0% you would have to forego the $750 rebate from Toyota. You chose to have a longer than sixty month term, which does disqualify you for the 0% financing.

We have faxed a copy of the buyer's order to your credit union if you choose to refinance your loan with them. Also emailed you a copy of the cancellation forms for some of the products you are no longer interested in keeping.

We take pride in our customer's satisfaction and maintain a high level of integrity here at Toyota of Dallas. Thank you again for your business and becoming part of our family!

Page 1 of 7

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/10/2001Business started: 02/01/2001New Owner Date: 02/01/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave.
Austin, TX 78731
(512) 465-3000
http://www.txdmv.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2001, TX

Business Management
Customer Contact: Mr. Chris King (Administration)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Darren Dortch (Managing Partner)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
TODVT Limited Partnership
Industry Tips
Used Cars Sold As-Is

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Toyota of Dallas

2610 Forest Ln

Dallas, TX 75234-7306

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2610 Forest Ln 

    Dallas, TX 75234-7306(972) 241-6655

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Central Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Toyota of Dallas is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Used Cars Sold As-Is
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.