BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1963

Sam Pack's Five Star Ford

Phone: (972) 242-6415Fax: (972) 446-14301635 S I 35, CarrolltonTX 75006-7415 Send email to Sam Pack's Five Star Ford

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1963

BBB has determined that Sam Pack's Five Star Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service9
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Sam Pack's Five Star Ford

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (14)
07/11/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Vehicle A/C problem was not repaired. The agreed price was paid, 6 days later the problems appeared again. Dealership wants more money for repair
Ford E150 1FTNE14WX8DBXXXXX was delivered to this dealership to fix A/C problem 06.16.16. Agreed repair price of $420.20 was paid 06.22.16 with credit card invoice XXXXXX Service Advisor - Vincent Grazioso cell XXX-XXX-XXXX.
The same A/C problems manifested again 06.28.16. The vehicle was brought back to the dealership 06.29.16.
07.02.16 the dealership serviceman Vincent Grazioso said that the initial diagnostic and repair price were not correct and additional repair job is needed for additional price of more than $1100.
And the dealership does not warrant the job done! The repair is needed to be done with NO additional charges.

Desired Settlement
The official Ford dealer is supposed to warrant the repair they do and fix the problems at itial price even if they are resurface again in less than a week after initial repair was diagnosed and performed and paid.

Resolution: repair the vehicle at a price which was initially agreed and paid.

Final Consumer Response
As of 07.08.16 the repair of the vehicle was made upon mutually agreed conditions.
Please close
Complaint ID#: XXXXXXXX
Business Name: *** ****'s Five Star Ford

05/31/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

I had paid forward to replace a spindle on the rear passenger side in January. A bolt broke holding the spindle together causing other damage
The broken spindle has now caused other damage. The service salesman has stated the rear axle and control arm need to be replaced as well as a new alignment totaling out over $1000. They are declining any fault for the damage for the work they completed. Now they're calling me and telling me only the boat needs to be replaced and the salesman oversold the job. I believe that the axle and control arm and spindle do need to be replaced. But Ford is stating they will not pay for any of the damages.

Desired Settlement
Replacing the rear axle, control arm, and spindle and any other necessary repairs from the damaged area the original service salesman quoted me at

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Michael ********** Servic
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********
This customer drives a Mustang that has been modified with racing equipment. he brought his vehicle into our service department for a right rear suspension concern where the upper control arm bolt was sheared in half. there was no evidence of a pre-existing crack and usually a bolt failure of that kind indicates that the rear wheel impacted a hard, non-moveable object. based on the bolt damage the technician felt that other components might be damaged. Typically, on racing modified vehicles, failures of this type are not covered by the manufactures warranty. the customer insisted his vehicle never impacted anything so in the interest of customer satisfaction we replaced the upper control arm suspension bolt and performed a 4 wheel alignment on his vehicle at no cost to the customer. we believe his concern is resolved.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
It is unfortunate that I had to file a complaint for the dealership to fix the car. There is absolutely no evidence that anything was struck in my car for the bolt to be sheared. The car was taken in and repaired and drives fine now.

06/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I recently purchased a new vehicle from Sam Pack Ford in Carrollton, Texas. Our agreement called for factory leather interior to be added. The dealer installed an aftermarket leather cover on the seats. The new vehicle now looks shabby and they refuse to resolve the issue. I was never advised that the leather to be installed was aftermarket and not factory.
Product_Or_Service: Ford Mustang
Order_Number: XXXXXX
Account_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like factory leather seats or out of the contract.

Business Response
I have ordered the Leather from Ford and we are going to replace for Mr. ***

07/21/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

We purchase a vehicle 3weeks ago, check engine light on, they don't want to become responsible, they estimate 700-900 to fix it,
We pay cash $9847.18, for an Equinox in May-26, 2016 the engine light came on and we call them to get he truck inspected science we have less than a month with the truck, they told us we bought as is and they were not responsible for the issue and hang on me , I check the inspection record on the truck and find out the truck failed the inspection and 4hrs later it pass inspection, I went and talk with one of the service manager (**** ******* and I told him if he agree with me that it takes time for the system to detect a foult (in most cases 200+ miles) he agree with me, I told him if it could been that they attempted to fix a problem but failed and that's why the truck has the light on, he say it was possible and they agree to look at the truck the comming Monday (6-27-2016) we took the truck and they changed the story saying it was going to be $177 to check it and possible from 1000-2000$$ to fixit depending on the problem, by state law they shouldn't sold a vehicle not meeting state requirement, well unfortunately the state don't care, because I called them and they told me, as long as the record says that it passed the inspection, that I basically had a year to fix the problem and that the only hope I had to get them to fix it and became responsible was the bbb, and that why I'm here opening this complaint, I spend my savings on a truck that is not able to meet state requirements on the level of inspection, the salesman was pilipovski, Oleg the deal# XXXXXX and the cust# XXXXXX, they were very persistent calling us to bring the cash during the rainy days, to a point that I told them "if you need to sell the truck sell it, but I'm not driving on this bad weather to pay off the vehicle" we deliver the money in the time frame that we agreed, but now they don't feel is their responsibility to provide a sound vehicle to us at least thru the time in which we still waiting for our title and plates.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to held responsability and fix the issue with our vehicle, at this point we not eaven pushing he fact that we find out is a wrecked truck and has been repainted and they sold it as a clean car fax, they told us it just had a small bumper benth that got professionally fixed

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: RJ GENERAL SALE MANAGER
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **@SPFORD.COM
We have left messages for ******* to offer to diagnose her vehicle and offer to fix at our cost. We have not had her respond back to us, we are more than willing to help but have not had her answer us back. If she would give me a ring I can assist further

06/07/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Vehicle was taken in for standard warranty. It came back with broken horn. Now dealer demands I pay for repair cost.
My wife took my vehicle in for one of the several recalls items to *** Packs Five Star Ford in Carrolton TX a couple of months ago. When I got it back the horn wasn't working. My major mistake was to not let the dealer know right away. My wife finally had time to get it fixed after several very dangerous situations caused by not having a horn. Now the dealer is demanding I pay ~$300 for the repair. The dealer tried to get me to pay for only the part and they pay for the service. This isn't about cost. It's about integrity. While I understand the components being worked on under warranty are not in the same vicinity as the broken piece the fact stands that the horn was working fine until it was taken to the dealer and it was broke when it came back. Cause and effect and common deduction concludes that it is the dealer's responsibility.

Desired Settlement
Cover the cost of repairs and parts. Additionally I will remove all of the bad reviews I left on various sites across the internet. I will also discontinue pursuit of legal resolution.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Michael **********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********
Contacted customer, he bring his vehicle in on Monday, we will replace the horn at no charge to him, he will need to wait, we will do nothing else on his vehicle and we agreed to part ways after the horn is fixed.

05/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

A problem with my vehicle was misdiagnosed and I want a refund. I have tried to resolve the problem, but I have been lied to and ignored.
The worst customer service experience EVER. I took my car in for a problem and I was told, after waiting for two hours, that I needed a part that would cost over $900 to fix the problem. I was charged over $100 for the diagnosis. As it turns out, Sam Pack Ford-Carrolton misdiagnosed the problem. The problem required a part to be replaced that only cost $270. If I had not gone to get a second (real expert) opinion, I would have had to pay over $600 more than what I needed to to get my car fixed! $900 is a lot of money for me. I'm a military Guardsman and my Guard money is the only extra money that I can afford to put aside every month. It would have taken 3 months worth of Guard duty payments just to pay for a $900 problem that didn't even exist! I doubt that the "technicians" at Sam Pack Ford even looked at my vehicle. I have visited and contacted Sam Pack Ford-Carrolton four times about getting a refund for the diagnostics I paid for. I waited to speak to a manager for 2 and a half hours today, because a sales associate insisted that the manager was in a meeting. Well, as it turns out, the manager had already left for the day. Sam Pack Ford-Carrolton continues to give me the run around. WORST SERVICE EVER!

Desired Settlement
I have wasted my money paying for a diagnostic test. I have wasted gas money driving to the dealership four times to try and get the problem resolved. Several hours of my time have been wasted trying to get this problem resolved. The least that the company can do for me is give me a refund for misdiagnosing a problem with my car.

Business Response
In the interest of customer satisfaction we reimbursed Ms. ****** her diagnostic fee of $117. We have called her twice to confirm that she received it and we have been unable to contact her. We consider this issue resolved.

12/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Sold a vehicle with known issues stated an inspection had been done and there were no issues with the vehicle, less than 3 days extensive problems.
I purchased a used 2009 Volkswagon Eos with vehicle from Sam Pack Ford. The salesperson advice me they preformed a 125 point check on the vehicle that there were not any issues. I requested a carfax on the vehicle. He pulled it up online however did not provide a copy I also was not provided the opportunity to view the carfax.
Within less than 3 days of driving the vehicle, the engine light came on, I could smell an odd engine odor, breaks were making a squeeling noise, the car also would not excellerate when placed in drive. I took the car back to the dealership within the 3 days. One manager was very disgruntled and advised me the care was mine, it was my issue. They did not permit an out. I requested to speak to the owner. At that time a different manger called, assured me they would take care of any problems with the vehicle.
The vehicle was at the dealership over the weekend (dropped the car off Friday late afternoon noone looked at it on Saturday) the car sat there until Monday morning, the service manager stated there were no issues and they just needed to reset the light.picked the vehicle up at noon.
Within another week or two, the light again came on however, now the light with an engine also came on. I advices the dealership of the issues. They took a week to look at the car, was actually refused when inquiring in a loaner car. They did not provide a vehicle to drive at any point while the only transportation I had was being "looked" at.
I was notified there was an issue with the intake manifold, coils, however, there did not appear any other issues w the vehicle. The dealership was very reluctant to repair due to cost however stated the car was "fixed".
I have had the vehicle for less than a week (4 days) and the engine shook, exceleration ceased and the car stalled out, same lights came on and now additional lights are coming displaying.The issue seems to be getting worse rather than better.
The dealership stated they would not fix anything. They did all they "would do", it was my issue for not purchasing an extended warranty.
From what I have found, these are known engine and machanical problems which should have been resolved prior to selling or allowing purchase. This dealership has knowingly sold a vehicle with extensive engine and other internal system issues. I am a single mom, this has caused me great upset, specifically in my being able to get to and from work as well as my daughter to get to and from school. This places a great hindrance on me and the thought of me and my child not having even at best adequate transportation along with the fear of the vehicle breaking down at night, leaving us stranded.
I have missed church due to this problematic situation.
I have never been in this type of situation before. I find it hard to believe in less than 30 days, these issues all transpired and a dealership turns their back not resolving a known issue and continue to cover up the known repairs required and needed.
All I had requested was the vehicle be repaired, the 125 point inspection they stated they "did" actually be done. Due to their negligence in repairing, it is possible there are more issues. It's a domino effect and this dealership has not represented honesty, care, or a desire to resolve. This leaves me mortified.

Desired Settlement
I simply requested that the engine problems be resolved. That is all, while they are being resolved, I would like to be provided a reliable loaner vehicle.
I had not requested the amount back, I have not requested a better vehicle. I simply ask that they repair these issues ensure the vehicle is running up to its proper performance with NO issues.if unable to display honesty, good service, and stand behind what they sell, then we will work from there.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Michael ***
Contact Phone: 972-242-6415
Contact Email: mikemay@spford.ocm
**** ******'s problem has been addressed. We sent her car to VW Of Lewisville to have repair made and gave her a 2014 Lincoln MKS to drive while the repair was being made. If you need anymore information please let me know.
Michael ***

09/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Repairs taking too long
My car was involved in a minor accident on May 24, 2015. It was delivered to the collision center at Five Star Ford on May 27, 2015 and an estimate was done by the insurance company on May 28, 2015. According to the estimate, it should have taken 9 business days to repair the car, it has now been 27 business days since the estimate was done. The collision center has had my car for six weeks now. I was told it would be ready last week and made arrangements to pick it up, but when I got there, I was told it wasn't ready, that another part was needed and it would be another week. When I checked last Thursday, they said the part should be there Friday and it would be ready on Monday, which was yesterday. On Monday, they said they were now waiting on another part. It should not take this long to repair damage from a minor accident.

Desired Settlement
I want my car repaired and I want compensation for the extended amount of time that I have had to be without my car.

Business Response
We are still in the process of resolving this issue and I am waiting for a response from the customer. I will hope to have an update by 7/30

Final Business Response
In the interest of customer satisfaction Five Star Ford took the following actions to resolve this issue and satisfy the customer.
1) The customer had a $1000 deductible. We initially deducted $250 off of his repair bill and then refunded an additional $750 back to the customer with a check.
2) there was a rear axle repair that he took to another body shop for resolution. The bill was $1,077.61. We refunded this amount back to the customer with a second check

We consider this issue resolved and closed

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Air Conditioning, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 01/01/1962Business started: 01/01/1957
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave.
Austin, TX 78731
(512) 465-3000

Contact Information
Principal: Trey Russell (General Manager - Carrollton)Customer Contact: Mr. Brian Huth (General Manager - Plano)Ms. Karen Blankenship (Comptroller)Mr. Sam Pack (President)Mr. Chris Sherman (Internet Services)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Air Conditioning, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Used Cars Sold As-Is

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sam Pack's Five Star Ford

1635 S I 35

Carrollton, TX 75006-7415

To | From


1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Central Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sam Pack's Five Star Ford is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Used Cars Sold As-Is

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.