BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1989

Reliable Chevrolet

Phone: (972) 952-1500Fax: (972) 952-8171View Additional Phone Numbers800 N Central Expy, RichardsonTX 75080-5204 Send email to Reliable Chevrolet

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1989

BBB has determined that Reliable Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Reliable Chevrolet's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service9
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 10

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
08/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Contract Complaint Issue

Complaint: Signed up for Smart Note program. Finance never once disclose there was a Sign up fee for the same amount of the car payment. I bought 2 cars there.
When I bought the first vehicle a 2010 Cruze i signed up for Smart note. I was never told there was a sign up fee of $365. I went back and traded the vehicle in for a 2011 or 2012 Equinox. I signed up again for Smart note. They did not tell me there was fee of $460. I found out there was a fee by accident looking at the bank statement didnt match with the amount being withdrawl. So I called Smart note and that's when they told me there was a sign up fee. So I have spent a total of around $825 or more. If I was told about the fee I would of not sign up. I felt I been deceived that it was a free service. I was told to call the dealership to resolve it with the Finance Director. That did not go too well after talking to the Director. Looking at the contract it did not look like my signature also.

Business' Initial Response
Case # XXXXXXXX- Have Mr. ************ call me directly at 972/952-1503 to see if I can remedy the situation for him. Thank you.

Dave Anderson
General Manager
Reliable Chevrolet
800 N. Central Expwy.
Richardson, TX 75080
972/952-1500

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide invoice or estimate for repair upon request

Complaint: Reliable Chevrolet have been asked on 3 seperate corrective repairs for copy of repair estimate and warranty in writing; giving verbal only.
10/16/12 As per Reliable Chevrolet advisor Richard repairs needed would be new engine/100k mile mfg warranty, and rebult transmission 12 month/12k mile warranty. Within 9 months the vehicle have been towed back to Reliable Chevrolet 3 times and transmission failed and rebuilt each time with shop only giving me a verbal, no receipt, no repair estimate, no written warranty which they were requested each time and told they can't give me anything in writing.

Business' Initial Response
Case # 91260761 ********* *****- I have traded the customer out of the vehicle she was having trouble with and in to a replacement vehicle which she is very happy with. Customer no longer is upset.

Dave Anderson
General Manager
Reliable Chevrolet
800 N. Central Expwy.
Richardson, TX XXXXX
972/XXX-XXXX

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: a dealer named zaki in the used cars was rude, made comets that was not appropriate, and made faces at me.
on july 17, 2013 my husband, son, and i went to buy car used truck. i asked zaki whatever is broke on the truck i want to make sure it is fixed before we buy it. he said the truck is only $7,000 not a $40,000 truck! we will not fix any thing. he would not let me talk. he would only talk to my husband. he told me i was being rude. i told him we would like to have the payments around $200 or less. he said then this is the wronge truck for you. you need one that is $4,000 or less! then after he ran the credit he said just to make your wife happy i got the payments to $216. he said this with a rude tone made a smerk look. when we went over to the dealership to finish the paper work, we were getting out of the truck and he was making faces at me. we were walking in the dearler ship and i asked if we could get a second key. he said, no!. i asked why. he said, the truck is only $7,000. i said at the other dealer ship where we got our sub. truck they gave us one. he said, well how much did you pay for the sub. truck? i told him not your bussiness. and then he made another face at me. then, he told use the guy that needs to finish thae paper work is in the middle of something. when he finish he will help you. come and find me when you are done. i asked him why do we need to come and find you? he said because i am not staying here and waiting. i told him we are buying the truck from you you should have better customer service than that. he said fine i will stay. and gave me another rude look. i said i guess thats the customer service you get when you only pay $7,000. he said ya, it is. and you can go to home depot and get a second key made. its only $5.00. after 15 mins of waiting he said im leaveing and taking the truck your buying with me because its not your truck yet! heres my cell. and left. then came back after 10 mins. and said i'm sorry. than said i'm really not sorry i'm just saying that because i have too. you was the one that was rude and you need to say sorry. i did nothing to you! my husband told him that is it. stop talking to my wife that why she didnt say anything to you. and then he started yelling with my husband and i in front of the deler ship. i told him go get a manager. after that he was with the other dearler ship sells men laughing. after 10 mins. we talked to two managers. they had to tell him to leave. the two managers was very nice and helpful. i told them after this i want him not to sell the car to us. i want someone els. they said they will change the sells person. i was going to tell someone to go buy a car that the dealer ship has that they want but i will not now. i will never go back. the back thing is after 2 hours we still had to go back to pick up the truck the next day because the dealer ship was closing and could not finish.

Business' Initial Response
In response to case # XXXXXXXX I can tell you that we have parted ways with the salesperson that is discussed in this complaint. If there is another request from the customer for a reimbursement for a key or some other item we would be happy to take that in to consideration so please let me know. Thanks.

Dave Anderson
General Manager
Reliable Chevrolet
800 N. Central Expwy.
Richardson, TX 75080
972/952-1500

Consumer's Final Response
the next day we they called my husband around 11:00 am saying, they can not match his info and to give it to them again. also, that they would call asap. after 3 hours my husband called because they had not called. they did not pick up and did not call back. we went up there. the guy said we can not match your info still and there is nothing we can do. my husband asked to talk to the manager. we talked to the same manager as the day before. he said, there is nothing we can do. it is between you and the bank. I asked, well why did yall tell us to put the truck on our insurance and who is going to pay for that. he said not my problem and im not paying you anything. he said, I am shredding the papers and you are on my showroom floor so, don't talk so loud. I asked why? so no one knows how yall treat your customers? he walked off. after 15 mins. he called asking did you make a down payment? my husband said no and hung up. a week latter zaki called saying mr. ******* please come back we will sale you any car you want. my husband said no you were rude and yall do not know how to handle business. he said you can come without your wife so we can work something out. my husband said my wife can go we ever she wants. and hung up. zaki called back and husband didn't pick up the phone.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

07/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: Car serviced twice at Reliable Chevrolet within two weeks. Never repaired properly.
Car information: 2004 Chevrolet Impala, Gray, VIN#*******EXXXXXXXXX, License #*******, Mileage 205,056.
On Friday, May 17, 2013, I called Reliable Chevrolet and made contact with Richard Tucker (129 Service Advisor). I explained to him the problems I was having with my car. I asked about having a diagnostic service on the car and pricing for it. He said no problem and stated $99.99. Then, I mentioned that the check engine light was on and that the car is running hot. He said no problem. Bring it in and we would be happy to take a look at it. I told him I would have to have it towed to the location because I was unable to drive because it was running hot. I told him my insurance company, Geico, would tow it in. He said okay and told me where I should have the vehicle parked. I had a coworker drive me to Reliable and while there, I restated the problems with the car. I told Richard Tucker the check engine light was on and I was unable to drive the car because the hot coolant gauge is moving up to the H. He wrote up the ticket and said we will take a look. I called the following day on Saturday, May 18th, made contact with Richard Tucker to get an update. He said they were pretty backed up and it would be Monday until the Tech would be able to look at the car. I called on Monday, May 20th, and spoke with Richard Tucker. He stated I needed a tune up. I agreed to the work if that would fix the problem. He said okay, we'll get started. I got a call on Tuesday, May 21, letting me know the car was ready. On Tuesday, I was picked up by Reliable shuttle service and went to cashier upon arrival. The total charges were $766.31. I got in my car and proceeded to drive home. The check engine light was off. I drove the car for two days and the check engine light was back on but it did not run hot. So, I continued to drive the car with the check engine light on because I needed to get back and forth to work. Six days later, Tuesday, May 28th, my car ran hot and broke down. I contacted Reliable and they told me (did not get name) to bring it back in. I contacted Geico, they towed the vehicle back to Reliable for service. Several days, went by before I heard back from anyone in the service dept. So, I called Reliable on Saturday, June 1. (Asked for Richard Tucker but unavailable). I spoke with a Bill Mullen(?). Unsure of the conversation. However, I called on Monday, June 3, was transferred to Tech working on car, Bill (unsure of last name) (his direct # is XXX-XXX-XXXX). He explained to me that it (may be) a transmission problem. He said it could be repaired for $1,400.00-$1,500.00 if I did not need a convertor, if I needed one, the cost would be $2,400.00-$2,500.00. At this time, I'm so confused. I told him I would have my brother call and speak with him. My brother called Bill at XXX-XXX-XXXX and mentioned the same info. They mentioned it might be a transmission problem, really unsure. I did not have the money to spend on the car. So, I called back and told Bill not to work on car. On Wednesday, June 5, I decided to remove the car from Reliable. Bill Mullen (Service Advisor) told me I just needed to get a new car while we exited the building. I'm thinking...this could have been solved on the first service before I spent the money on a tune up. Once again, about a mile away the car broke down. I had to call Geico, they could not pay for this tow, since it was only a few days ago and there were no actual repairs done this time. I had the to the pay the towing expense of $116.60. I decided to get a second opinion...this person stated they did an improper repair. He listed details on paper the problem with my car. I've been in a rental car every since. I went to Reliable on Monday, June 25, to get an explanation of what happened the first/second time of service. Spoke with Richard Tucker. He said to bring the car in. I asked for a free tow from company. He said, I'm sure we can. But, I'm not willing to take a risk a 3rd time. Unhappy customer!!

Business' Initial Response
Ms ****** would accept nothing less than a full refund. We agreed to refund the $882.91 as requested by Ms ******.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

11/14/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 2
10/04/2013Problems with Product / Service
11/02/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/30/1989Business started: 04/24/1989
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave.
Austin, TX78731
(512) 465-3000
http://www.txdmv.gov

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Darrell McCutcheon (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Dave Anderson (General Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Reliable Chevrolet II LP
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Reliable Chevrolet

800 N Central Expy

Richardson, TX 75080-5204

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 800 N Central Expy 

    Richardson, TX 75080-5204

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Reliable Chevrolet is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 837-0219
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.